DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Samuel P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2018 19:06:28

I like this dungeon a lot. It was the first OSR thing I ran, and the first RPG experience for a dozen or two people who played with me over several runs. It has been very successful in putting my players into the OSR mindset; the first level (about 7 rooms) sets expectations for the rest of the dungeon perfectly, making players treat everything they find as both potential threat and potential treasure.

The first level and a half is somewhat linear, but the dungeon opens up pretty quickly after that. Some of the things in the dungeon are brutally dangerous, but that won't come out unless your players are constantly aggressive, which is good fun either way.

If nothing else: the PDF is free. Just grab it. The worst case scenario is that you delete it and forget about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tomb of the Serpent Kings - Deluxe Print Edition
by Stephen P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2018 09:16:59

Don't listen to the hype, this isn't worth your time. It's a railroaded dungeon with high-lethality traps that have no warnings and "lessons" which either don't come up or aren't clearly written. Skerples has been asked about why the encounters fail to communicate lessons and dodged by saying that not ever lesson in his training-wheel railroad dungeon needs to be learned. But if there every lesson doesn't need to be learned why are you playing/running a teaching dungeon instead of a regular dungeon? What Tomb of The Serpent Kings does teach is to play in that particular flavor of False OSR full of "gotcha!" death traps and "deep" but pointless fluff.

Could it be fixed? Yes, but so could N1 and Castle Spulzeer. By the time you're done "fixing" TOTSK you might as well have written a new module



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
by Wayne G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2018 13:44:47

Excellent old-style adventure. Flavorful and to the point. Enough NPCs with just enough detail to be useful at the table. A quick read by me the night before allowed us to play throughout the next day (6-8 hours). Only about 30% of the module ended up being used but that's the point - I was armed with ideas whichever way the PCs went in accomplishing their goal. I was able to add rooftop chases, catacomb skulking with attacking skeletons, and triple crosses on the fly with the briefest consultation. SPOILER Both my PCs were doing the job unwillingly - they backed the archpriest's views. As the ending, I had the archpriest actually wanting to be kidnapped to make the church look truly bad AND accomplish his escape to his stronghold; when the PCs got him to the Angel Wings he calmly said "take us home" and the captain replied "yes, your excellency". My PCs were stunned and happy.

"We'll make all sorts of plans - but eventually it ALWAYS becomes an Italian Job!"



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Kidnap the Archpriest
by Seth W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2018 23:05:27

This is a very thorough city module. The Npc blocks give me everything I need to know (plus more than I wouldhave known to askfor). Love the very believable medieval feel of the scenario. Well worth the $5 and hope to see more adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2018 08:23:03

I like the premise of this adventure: heists, kidnappings, jailbreaks, burglaries and manipulating events without slaughtering everything in sight seem underrepresented in modules. The materials have been edited down to the essentials; the minimalist key for the castle where most of the key action takes place is a particularly good feature. The section on possible plans and their potential flaws is helpful. What isn't clear is how the adventure teaches the PCs the tricks of stealth, bluffing and planning etc in a gradual way. A possible solution would be a notoriety system.

A very strong prisoner rescue scenario is WGR6 City of Skulls; it makes us of a notoriety system. Bascially the PCs pick up points for who they are (e.g. elves look out of place in an evil kingdom), but more importantly, what they do (e.g. leaving witnesses, corpses lying about, broken locks). Squads of increasing power are dispatched to locate and destroy the PCs as points accumulate. This could be adapted to Kidnap the Archpriest. Asking questions without subtlety e.g. "Where are the Archpriest's rooms, and when is he least guarded?" would gain points. The leader of the squad might have a written order stating "track down the foreign traders who were in the Market Square asking questions about the Archpriest". The PCs might realise they need to be more subtle, and change disguises. Tougher squads could comprise a couple of Black Endoguards.

Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2018 17:36:38

(Aside: I helped playtest this) I always put priority on usability, and this module delivers. It can be plugged in to any setting, any system, and any campaign, the writing is clear and consise, it provides all the moving pieces you could possibly need for your heist but doesn't bog you down with the task of keeping track of things that are irrelevant. It's written to help you run it. The art's great. There no wasted space or excess verbage. It's large amounts of bang for small amounts of buck.

Plus, you get to steal the pope. That's just great on its own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
by nicholas e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2018 10:40:44

Fantastic Module, clean layout, great art, and a through and welll designed heist adventure. the system and setting neutral design considerations really pull through, with little reskinning this can be dropped into any campaign. The heist design principles at the end are concise and good thought fodder for building your own heists. like skerples previous work, this module is grounded in teaching players and GM's OSR approaches to playing RPGs. having scoured the Internet for hesits adventures, this stands out as well researched and well constructed. it's easily worth the $5 price tag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kidnap the Archpriest
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2018 10:09:54

The very best. Nothing is quite like it, but Kidnap the Archpriest will probably outdo anything that imitates it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates