DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2019 16:57:23

I made a video review of this book! Check it out:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iqdd2NsyslY&t=1s



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by Jeffrey Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 12:09:01

This book is really really good. The setting is very cool and very dark and the race and class options mesh well with it.

The new exhaustion rules are fantastic and I am using them in my Dark Sun 5e campaign, along with some of the new spells and tweaks to the spell lists.

There were a couple things this book tried to do that didn't really pan out fully, and will need further clarification, maybe in future PDF updates?

The first of these was the introduction of Blood and Grit points. Hit points essentially become grit points, and you get your max hit dice (no Con modifiers) per level. You get Blood points equal to your level plus your Strength and Con modifiers. When you take a critical hit, you lose blood points, which is really really bad. Grit points are regular damage. This all seems fine and good until you try to apply this to monsters. There were a lot of entries from the Monster Manual that just didn't mesh well with these rules. There needs to be a mention of how to calculate monster grit and blood points somewhere, because using the rules for characters just doesn't work.

The second was the rules pertaining to armor and weapons. The weapon breakage rules were taken almost whole cloth from the Dark Sun 4E campaign setting. While not necessarily bad, they have the potential to be abused (essentially giving players a minor monetary cost to reroll critical misses). Physical armor lets you absorb critical hits depending on how heavy the armor is. While thematically a cool rule, it makes no mention of other sources of armor or AC bonuses. There are class features, magic items, spells, and other rules that grant armor bonuses, not to mention natural armor but this book makes no mention of those.

So while the majority of the book is very good and well written (with beautiful art), I found these two rather large and sweeping rules changes to be a bit jarring, and lacking in playtesting perhaps?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by Zachary N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2018 21:28:24

I loved this book so much I made a video for youtube about it. Everything about it blows me away, from the art to the creative backstory to the class and backround designs. A harsh survival setting is just what the world of dnd 5e needed and these guys delivered. I can't say enough good things about this setting and the book just buy it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2018 13:49:03

Well, it doesn't look like we're getting Dark Sun for 5e, but this setting is more than worthy to take its place. The "house rules" included make 5e a much grittier game and they're worth the price by themselves. I plan to use them with other 5e settings and in any homebrews I might run in the future. The races are all very cool, though I think the Incarnum aren't very suited to being a PC race. The changes to existing classes are all evocative of the setting, and it's a pretty cool setting. As for the book itself, the artwork is good and consistent in style - and it's a style I enjoy. There are a few tables throughout the book that are split between pages, which is not a great layout. Other than that, it looks good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by Tate R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2018 09:49:54

So I finished my first read through and that should tell you something. I never make it through a first read through of an RPG supplement in a day and a half. Hell, usually I get bored and move onto the next shiny object. But other than a few minor editing issues, which caused me to pause and reread a sentence or example, its an easy and enjoyable read and I absolutely loved it.

For me, this is what Dark Sun should look like. Crifoth makes Dark Sun look like a walk in the park. This world is brutal and bleak. There are a lot of great ideas that will be ported over to any and all D&D games I run.

PROS: -Blood and Grit. This is how hit points should be done. (And will be from now on) -Exhaustion - even in a non-brutal world, this has a lot of merit. -Armor breakage - again, needs to be in the main game -Tieflings! Creating an entire supplement simply to make a single race cooler is awesome. -Succinct and to the point. This book gives you the information you need without bogging you down in a ton of fluff. They give you what you need and leave the rest up to the individual DM. -The style of the artwork is just phenomenal.

CONS: -My biggest issue... I don't currently have a group to run this with. -I do wish more of the classes had tweaks or new subclasses. -I wish Burpoross had his own stat block. He's the true end boss of this world and needs more differentiation from the other Archfiends. -I don't feel the map and the descriptions of the lands match. Could just be the way I read into it though.

Seriously, my cons are minor nitpicks. I first saw this when it was going through the kickstarter and I even saved it to watch. I didn't end up funding it because I'm very hesitant to fund unknown companies, especially on their first attempt. Now, I know better and I'll be watching for the next thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by Sarah R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2018 01:04:28

This setting is perfect for DMs/Players who want something different from the usual. It is gritty, harder and hell of a lot of fun, with clearly detailed mechanics and lore. There's a perfect balance between the crunch and the fluff in this book, since exhaustive information like tables, charts and data is broken down into segments and presented logically, with a clean layout. The beautiful artwork sets the grim and sombre tone for the setting. The world presented in this book has a lot of scope for great characters and stories.

Overall, if you are looking for survival and/or horror gameplay, this is a great setting for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
(5E) The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth
by Micah P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2018 18:11:15

The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth is 150 pages of brutality. I love how the setting portrays a world past the point of hope or redeption, where every day is a struggle to survive. Crifoth is savage, bloody, and deadly. With the tone of the book and the and the artwork it really shows the despair of a dying fantasy world. Also, I really like the changed (D&D 5E) hitpoint and exhaustion mechanics, great rules for really putting a lethal factor back into D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth PLAYTEST v0.2
by Jeremy L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/18/2018 15:08:28

While obviously incomplete at the time I write this, I find that this product is interesting and quite refreshing as far as settings go. While not at the level of a few other settings, Crifoth has the potential to be something great. I can't wait to see how evolved this setting gets, what secrets the world holds, What I have read really makes me wonder how many stories can come from it.

Now on to some minor critiques: Things I know will likely be forthcoming in future incarnations of this setting just have to be queried - You've mentioned a race that you haven't covered, whether this is going to be a playable race or not doesn't really matter, I would like to see how the race comes together. Monsters are twisted, so I wonder if there will be a template offered to reflect this in some way or if that would be up for the DM/GM to determine; either way suits me fine.

With your setting, the layout and graphics are good, actually more than good, I would be inclined to say perfect for the setting itself - keep your illustrator(or illustrators as the case may be). One problem i have though is the amount of white space, I'm guessing placeholding for the graphics meant to be inserted into that space at a later time - I mention this because its a lot of space before the chapter heading that can be a put off for a lot of people who may not want to scroll through the page to find the chapter header.

Disclaimer: I am by no means a professional editor or reviewer, though I have a little experience as an editor and sometimes feel the need to express my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Ravaged Wasteland of Crifoth PLAYTEST v0.2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates