DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
Car Wars Vehicle Guide (Sixth Edition)
by Sureyya D [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2024 18:21:52

Good source for instant pre-designed cars. Just pick a couple of cars and go.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Car Wars Vehicle Guide (Sixth Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pyramid #3/121: Travels and Tribulations
by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2023 13:08:54

Last issue of Pyramid Volume 3, produced with the same impeccable smooth style and succinct content, and coherent to the theme as ever.

I still miss the huge lost online web repository of Volume 2.

Pity too, that Pyramid and Gurps products are almost forever out of reach for ultra-frugal me in relative poverty: almost USD 1,000 for 121 issues, currently discounted 25%. Whew!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pyramid #3/121: Travels and Tribulations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Classic: Creatures of the Night
by Semen T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2023 18:18:31

A real classic. Sixty seven creatures that can be played as unique or as whole groups - or species - or strains, each one with their own special abilities, stats, weaknesses, and adventure seeds. While each creature is special in its own way, the habitats of many of them are close enough to use several creatures in the same adventure, having them play along against the player characters, or acting against each other. Though written for GURPS, the stats and abilities are easily convertible into other systems. One of my all time favourites.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Classic: Creatures of the Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Cardboard Heroes: Set 18 - Car Warriors
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2023 22:43:12

I've had a physical copy rattling around in my gear since 1987, and bought these, here, for convenience.

Denis Loubet's work was practically required reading back then, and I tend to think of his sharp, dynamic portraits to be the industry standard when considering paper miniatures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cardboard Heroes: Set 18 - Car Warriors
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Classic: Old West
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2022 09:27:11

WARNINGS: This book REQUIRES three other products to play it:

  • Gurps Basic Set, Compendium I, and Compendium II This is the SECOND EDITION of Old West. not the more current Third Edition.

Now for the good stuff: The artwork is what you expect from a Gurps game. The cover is beautiful, most of the interior illustrations are royalty-free or small sketches. Quite a few drawings are .. charming. They are not great works of art but they were obviously done by someone with a passion for role-playing and contain lots of ideas for characters, npc's, and settings.

The background material is AWESOME! It covers huge areas and many, many cultures along with technologies, battles, biographies, and various waysto gain and spend loot.

The terms and descriptions of Indigenous people are not very polite. They reflect the language and clichés of the movies and TV of the 60s and 70s. This is not unexpected from a supplement written in 1991 but I would hope that vhanges have been made in the third edition. Unfortunately, this is NOT the third edition.

The rules and bckground for Horses is adequate, but I didn't get the feeling that I could create a character, or npc, who was "living the saddle" or working on a ranch or cattle-drive.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Classic: Old West
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
In Nomine Superiors: Lilith
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/29/2022 12:01:08

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2022/08/100-days-of-halloween-in-nomine.html

The second game that many draw on for Lilith is the classic In Nomine. I spent a lot of time with this game in the very late 90s. Right around 1998 to 99 when I was looking for a new modern supernatural game to play. There was this one, World of Darkness, and the ultimate winner, WitchCraft. Though I used ideas from all three in my WitchCraft games then.

In Nomine Superiors: Lilith

PDF. 43 pages. Black & White art.

This document contain notes and stats for both the In Nomine RPG and GURPS: In Nomine. By extension, it could be used with any GURPS game. Despite the publication date (2005) I think this is all for GURPS 3rd Edition. But I could be wrong. Just checked, yes GURPS 3rd Edition.

This supplement features all the strengths of most good GURPS supplements. That is there is a ton of information here, some stats, and a lot of great fluff.

This one also gives us the history of Lilith and what she has done in her immortal life. In the In Nomine game she seems to be one of the few immortals that can move between the devils and angels with some relative ease.

While I have not touched In Nomine in over 20 years (much to my own disappointment) there is a lot of great material here and makes want to dig up my old copy (if I still have it). In any case, true to the nature of GURPS this booklet can be used just about anywhere. There is nothing here that could not say be combined with Revelations of the Dark Mother. Where there are contradictions...well only Lilith herself knows the truth and true to her nature there are likely to be thousands of contradictions.

While this might not have the art that RotDM has, it does have plenty of game material.

Lilith should be wonderfully complex in any game and this supplement helps with that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
In Nomine Superiors: Lilith
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Pyramid #3/063: Infinite Worlds II
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2022 04:47:20

Not a GURPS player; I bought this for the alternate world articles, and I only skimmed the first two articles (on rules for an alternative magic system and pocket dimensions). Of the new alternate Earths, Igor-1 and Stormbomb-1 are the most interesting, especially the latter. The Infinite Aisles are an amusing concept, but not very detailed. Patchwork, on the other hand, is extremely detailed... and honestly didn't do much for me, a bit too dry. (The author did put some serious historical work in, though, so it may work better for others.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pyramid #3/063: Infinite Worlds II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Car Wars - Deluxe Edition
by márton n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2022 14:30:51

It's car wars. Everyone knows car wars. The only reason I'm writing here is to warn other potentional customers: Quite a number of map sheets in this package is horribly warped. Almost as they were not even scanned but photographed and then inadequately "fixed up" in photoshop. It's just really bad quality work. I tried to contact DrivethruRPG about the matter, but so far I got no response.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Car Wars - Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Powers
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2020 22:16:43

Some people have called this the "Third basic set book for Gurps fourth edition." And, in many ways they're right. Powers greatly expands on how to utilize the options in the basic set to emulate many abilities in fiction. It also adds a few new advantages like the ability to control or create (or destroy) matter. There are also hundreds of example abilities ranging from turning someone into a frog to having a built-in weapon. Most importantly it covers what makes an ability a power. This is about what differentiates a bird’s ability to fly from a superhero's. If you want to play Gurps in any genre that uses extranormal abilities be it super powers, magic (if you aren't using the default magic rules), chi abilities, divine gifts or any other type of power you need this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Powers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Basic Set: Campaigns
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2020 22:02:14
I bought the print cYesopy of this on preorder when it was first published and it's my favorite rules system. I got the digital copy now for the ease and speed of reference. The print copy is wonderfully indexed but let's face it finding something in a digital copy always goes faster. For anyone worried about the price these rules (minus some errata in this edition) have been the same ones since 2004. Gurps third edition was the rules set for twenty years or so before they decided it had enough issues it needed a revamp. No one is really complaining about issues with this edition, so I think it's likely to outlast its predecessor. Comparable games that sell for less have already asked you to go through two or three editions since this was first published and will probably ask you to go through one or two more before Gurps gets a fifth edition. As to the rules themselves, Gurps has the best personality mechanic of any RPG I know. The in-play game mechanics are quick and easy and designed to allow you to add as much detail as you like. Gurps is sometimes referred to as a toolkit for making the game you want to play. Options exist to be incredibly detailed or just keep it simple and range from extremely realistic to epic heroism to slapstick. You generally don't just play Gurps, you use it to play in whatever setting you want. If there’s a book or movie setting, you'd love to play in but there's no game for it (or you don't like the interpretation in game that exists) you can play it in Gurps. If you've got a setting idea, you'd love to use but aren't sure how to make it work homebrewing mechanics from another game Gurps can do it the way you want. They come out with new supplements every couple of months (usually short) that can help you customize the rules for specific genre. Speaking of supplements most of the supplements for previous editions of Gurps work just fine with fourth edition with minimal adjustment. By the way there's a free update booklet to tell you how to make most of those adjustments. A few fourth edition supplements are updates of third edition books that assume you already have the third edition book. Reign of Steel: Will to live and Transhuman Space: Changing Times are two examples. If Gurps has any problems, it's that it frontloads the rules. In many class/level-based games (D&D, Pathfinder, or anything else D20) you can pick race, class and starting attributes and learn the rules as you go. Gurps is a point-based system with hundreds of options. You want to put a western gunfighter in a fantasy game the rules let you do that, but the number of options can be daunting to new players. Fortunately, Gurps has anticipated this issue and provides templates to give new players somewhere to start. Many of the supplements are books of templates to use for different genre. If the math involved in creating a character is what daunts you, I suggest you go to Warehouse23.com to grab Gurps Character Assistant one of the few Gurps items they haven't brought to DriveThru RPG. Actually, check here first they might have brought it over since I wrote this review. Either way GCA handles all the math for you and has files for many Gurps supplements with more user made ones available at the GCA Repository website (including a few I made). Yes I did copy and paste my review from the Characters book. The two go together to make my favorite RPG.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Basic Set: Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Basic Set: Characters
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2020 21:58:03
I bought the print copy of this on preorder when it was first published and it's my favorite rules system. I got the digital copy now for the ease and speed of reference. The print copy is wonderfully indexed but let's face it finding something in a digital copy always goes faster. For anyone worried about the price these rules (minus some errata in this edition) have been the same ones since 2004. Gurps third edition was the rules set for twenty years or so before they decided it had enough issues it needed a revamp. No one is really complaining about issues with this edition, so I think it's likely to outlast its predecessor. Comparable games that sell for less have already asked you to go through two or three editions since this was first published and will probably ask you to go through one or two more before Gurps gets a fifth edition. As to the rules themselves, Gurps has the best personality mechanic of any RPG I know. The in-play game mechanics are quick and easy and designed to allow you to add as much detail as you like. Gurps is sometimes referred to as a toolkit for making the game you want to play. Options exist to be incredibly detailed or just keep it simple and range from extremely realistic to epic heroism to slapstick. You generally don't just play Gurps, you use it to play in whatever setting you want. If there's a book or movie setting, you'd love to play in but there's no game for it (or you don't like the interpretation in game that exists) you can play it in Gurps. If you've got a setting idea, you'd love to use but aren't sure how to make it work homebrewing mechanics from another game Gurps can do it the way you want. They come out with new supplements every couple of months (usually short) that can help you customize the rules for specific genre. Speaking of supplements most of the supplements for previous editions of Gurps work just fine with fourth edition with minimal adjustment. By the way there's a free update booklet to tell you how to make most of those adjustments. A few fourth edition supplements are updates of third edition books that assume you already have the third edition book. Reign of Steel: Will to live and Transhuman Space: Changing Times are two examples. If Gurps has any problems, it's that it frontloads the rules. In many class/level-based games (D&D, Pathfinder, or anything else D20) you can pick race, class and starting attributes and learn the rules as you go. Gurps is a point-based system with hundreds of options. You want to put a western gunfighter in a fantasy game the rules let you do that, but the number of options can be daunting to new players. Fortunately, Gurps has anticipated this issue and provides templates to give new players somewhere to start. Many of the supplements are books of templates to use for different genre. If the math involved in creating a character is what daunts you, I suggest you go to Warehouse23.com to grab Gurps Character Assistant one of the few Gurps items they haven't brought to DriveThru RPG. Actually, check here first they might have brought it over since I wrote this review. Either way GCA handles all the math for you and has files for many Gurps supplements with more user made ones available at the GCA Repository website (including a few I made).

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Basic Set: Characters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Classic: Atomic Horror
by Jenn Z. c. C. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 08:12:48

The filmography in the back is worth the price of the book alone. My one stop shopping for all game elements set in the 1950s. A copy of this and Attack Squadron Roswell from Zozer games will give a gamer/reader high caliber material for the decade of A Bombs and giant radioactive ants! Six Stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Classic: Atomic Horror
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Classic: Espionage
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 10:52:09

Exactly the kind of excellent quality you should expect from a GURPS sourcebook. Whether you want to run a gritty 'beer and pretzels' style of spy game or a 'champagne and caviar' James Bond adventure this book has everything you need to get the job done. Includes spy job descriptions, gadgets, organizations, mission types, and historical anecdotes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Classic: Espionage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Power-Ups 8: Limitations
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2018 00:02:31

Although the title seems counterintuitive this is perhaps the most usefull of the Power-Ups Line. Often when translating an ability from fiction or defining something you came up with on your own making it unique is as much what you take away from the stock advantages as what you add. This book compiles and expands on the existing limitations in GURPS in marvelous ways alowing far more customization of abilities. If you use Gurps it's well worth buying.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Power-Ups 8: Limitations
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
GURPS Lite (Fourth Edition)
by Richard B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 00:24:27

A great free introduction to a great game system.

GURPS has gained a reputation as an overly complicated RPG. This 32 page PDF shows how simple it realy is to play. The game is complicated, I won't lie. However, GURPS is no more complicated than Dungeons and Dragons or Shadowrun. GURPS has gained it's reputation because it loads the complexity into starting the game. While D&D allows you to just pick a race and class and learn more as you go GURPS requires an understanding of the system to create a character. GURPS Lite helps this process by reducing the list of abilities you have to chose from to some common ones usefull in most genre. The full rules offer other means of simplifying the character creation process for new players such as using templates. Once play starts the game becomes fairly simple with rules to adapt to many play styles, levels of realism and different genre.

If you're tired of having to learn new rules every time you want to play in a different setting or want to have adventures that jump from one genre to another GURPS is probably the best system available. It's also great for adapting your favorite book, TV show or movie into a game setting or just adventuring in a setting you cook up yourself.

Best of all GURPS Lite is free so if you decide you don't like it all you lose is the time it took you to read 32 pages.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GURPS Lite (Fourth Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you for the vote of confidence in GURPS Lite! We appreciate the kind words and hope that your review helps others.
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates