DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Battlelords of the 23rd Century Rulebook (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by Paul W M. I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/10/2020 16:20:37

TLDR: As a product, I think this was great - the layout isn't perfect, but it's still a well edited set of rules. It's a fun skills-based system, and if you're looking for crunch (vs rules-lite) this scratches that itch.

I wish that some of the minutiae was boiled down or distilled a bit more - broader rules/modifiers that encompass a wider array of situations. Extending things can be tricky from a balance perspective (because there's a lot to account for).

I just think about how Advantage/Disadvantage and the "Curve Squash" in D&D 5e were such huge improvements over the massive array of modifiers, but I'm not even looking for something THAT streamlined. Just look at some of what goes into figuring out the modifiers for combat:

Single Strike/Shot: Each (subsequent) shot suffers a penalty Hard Cover: 1 Section behind cover, 2 Sections behind cover, etc... Relative Speed (M/SEC): 01-10, 11-20, 21-30, etc... Weather/Environment: Lighting (Dusk/Dawn, Dark Night, Total Darkness/Blind), Rain (Light,Moderate, Downpour/Monsoon), etc...

All that doesn't even take into account which "Range Bracket" (OUT OF 8!) you're in. And the reason you need to factor all that in, is because that's how the game balances things (in much the same way escalating modifiers and AC in D&D 3.5 & Pathfinder balanced things) - skills can go well over 100% (to a cap of 150) and unless you make use of modifiers, it's rare to miss.

I also wish that there were more pre-made monsters and NPCs that I could make use of - I've taken a look at the Uncle Ernie book, but the format of those doesn't quite lend itself to use. I'd like more pirates/mercs/etc. that aren't creations of Ernie - look at how many "Monster Manuals" have been put out by different people, much less the official D&D folks. Something like that would be awesome to see, even if from the community.

All that isn't to say I don't enjoy the game, it just makes it a lot tougher to run than I would like.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century Rulebook (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by Scott K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2019 15:32:49

Awesome! Feels like the original the artwork is top notch!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by David W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2019 21:42:19

Battlelords of the 23rd Century is one of those games that if you haven't played, you have a friend who has, and they are a better person for it. Want to play exotic alien races who carry powerful weapons? You know you do! Want to travel to new, strange worlds? Of course you do! Want to kill the inhabitants of thoee worlds? Of course you have to, or they will kill you. And if they don't, your commanders will. Really. So it's a good thing your character is an efficent killing machine.

This updated version has a streamlined system that helps keep the game going, and the new artwork is amazing. This really is one of the most fun games out there. They get the idea that gaming is supposed to be fun, and maximize on that. These quickstart rules get the job done, and you will be playing the included-adventure in no time. So get your friends together, roll lots of dice, make sure you're character is friends with the Ram Python, and kick butt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2019 23:16:12

Excellent summary of the rules, far more robust than most quick starts I've seen. Can't wait to see the full rules!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by andrew b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2019 18:37:29

I think offering a sample of the rules and the scenario is a step in the right direction for growing the playerbase. Battlelords has endured for 30 years for a reason. Everyone I show Battlelords to finds the setting intriguing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by John K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2019 01:46:15

The quick-start rules do a very good job of describing the basics of play and establishing what the universe is about.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by J P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2019 19:00:51

Owned all editions of this game, this seems to be a paradigm shift, the biggest rewrite of the rule set since the first edition and by the looks of it a major step forward. Looking forward to the full release.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by fletcher b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2019 17:42:40

Battlelords!

Having been a diehard fan of this game/setting/system since the very early 90s and the fact that i own all of the published rulesbooks, including The White One and The Red One, I feel comforable saying that this iteration is by far the best.

The rules have been streamlined, without deviating from the gritty realism, the art is better than ever and the player races have been tweaked nicely to add a bit more balance.

When trying to sell this game to my friends, the words “gritty”, “paramilitary” and “space-opera” inevitably were used. I also would sell it as a foil to traditional fantasy roleplaying stating that there were no elves or dwarves. Of course, the later inclusion of the Goola-Goola Space Dwarves In sourcebooks proved me wrong... but, they are gone in this version of Battlelords!

This game is so much fun. The combat system, while realistic doesn’t bog down the game with endless dice rolling. Speaking of combat; weapons systems galore... laser rifles, pulse cannon, archaic power weapons (guns!) as well as more exotic methods to destroy your enemies: Omega cannons, gravitational sheers, shoulder mounted missile systems, and on and on... Armour in Battlelords is just as varied and offers a near infinite combination due to a wide array of armour systems and a huge selection of armour options.

I could go on and go about the qualities of this game. What it really comes down to is Fun. This game is so much fun to play. It’s a great amalgam of military roleplaying, space opera, hard sci-fi elements, horror with liberal amounts of humour. Getting your RPG group together, strapping on your Kodiak battle armour, making sure your M20 pulse cannon is charged and that you have a BRI (body rehabilitation injection) or 10 handy and heading out on a mission is endlessly entertaining. With total freedom of how you want to approach any given challenge, each adventure can have a huge number of possible outcomes; some good, some bad, so very bad, but all fun.

Buy. This. Game. Actually, download the FREE QuickStart rules first and check it out. You will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century QUICK-START RULES (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2019 10:08:45

Many times I avoid quickstart rules, viewing them as not worth my time. However, that opinion has recently changed. I quickly grabbed the quickstart rules for Battlelords of the 23rd Century as soon as I had seen that they were posted. Why? Because I knew that the quality, craftmanship, and the love of the game would be present, and it was. The rules are explained and given examples making it easy to understand, with a layout that is not cluttered. The art is used to represent the chapter and is beautifully done. The scenario presented highlits the setting, and does a good job in highliting the system mechanics. All told, it is a perfect introduction to the Battlelords setting, and the 150 system. Now, lock n' load!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century, 7th Edition - OPEN PLAYTEST
by Paul C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2019 15:20:31

As a long time Battlelords player and GM, I eagerly await the full product when it is printed. I will be purchasing it as soon as possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century, 7th Edition - OPEN PLAYTEST
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battlelords of the 23rd Century Interior Preview (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
by fletcher b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2019 14:07:06

Having played this game through all its iterations and having had a chance to peruse the preview and play it at GenCon this year, I can confidently say that this is the best version of Battlelords yet. Fantastic art. Expanded races. Streamlined gaming system while still maintaining the gritty feel of the original game. I can’t wait to introduce my players to this newest version of the greatest space opera sci-fi roleplaying game ever.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battlelords of the 23rd Century Interior Preview (Kickstarter/7th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates