DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Legends of the Wulin - pre-sales edition
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2014 03:57:23

I previously posted a poor review as I erroneously believed that DriveThru was providing the old, un-errata'd version with incorrect information. I was very tired at the time and apparently I am a dummy head.

This RPG is great, and this is the correct version. It isn't ~70mb because it lacks bookmarks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legends of the Wulin - pre-sales edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Legends of the Wulin - pre-sales edition
by Reuben M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2012 13:37:19

A worthy successor to Weapons of the Gods, ironing out the many small kinks of that previous edition and increasing the level of accessibility for all players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legends of the Wulin - pre-sales edition
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2012 14:36:46

Absolutely buy this game. No excuses. Slogging through the occasionally clunky prose is more than worth it for the elegant core mechanic, simple and versatile combat system, and downright delightful character-advancement system. Seriously. Shut up and get your credit card out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Unhallowed Metropolis - Detective Calling
by Nicola L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2010 05:52:11

A good calling which should fit well into a campaign with the callings in the corebook, with interesting specialities which defintely make you think of Sherlock Holmes in some places.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Unhallowed Metropolis - Detective Calling
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapons of the Gods
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2010 13:15:11

One of the great, undiscovered RPGs and a true cult classic, Weapons of the Gods emulates wuxia action in a manner I have never seen in another game. It's based on a popular set of comics from Hong Kong, but it can easily emulate any wuxia-style setting. While the layout is clumsy and the concepts very different from other RPGs, and thus difficult to grasp, the art is fantastic and the game play makes it worth it. If you love high-kicking kung fu action and indie games, you owe it to yourself to check this out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapons of the Gods
by Matt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/21/2008 10:07:58

The book is a massive one, totalling out to nearly four hundred pages interspersed with illustrations that are mostly small, so that’s an intimidating amount of text, though most of it is background and plots, and thus optional. It includes the general rules, combat rules, character creation, kung fu, secret techniques and powers and an enormous section of plot and background providing a great many hooks and ideas to players and Games Masters alike.

Check out the full review at FlamesRising.com



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lesser Shades of Evil
by Joe B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2008 21:28:23

Sad to say, but the nicest thing that could be said about this book is that the page lettering is quite pretty. In a way it's okay that quite a bit of the material is derivative; companies borrow concepts from each other all the time. However in the hands of the writer(s), this comes out clumsily and amateurish. There's a lot of material, but it reflects an almost grab-bag approach to the "Dark Angels amongst us" genre. This would be forgiveable in one of those freebie games, but this is a gamebook that is $29.99

After getting the excellent Weapons of the Gods books from Eos, seeing the way this book was made is a huge disappointment. Now here's an example of what I mean, when I say this book goes carpet-bagging material. In the chapter of theirs, that describes golems - they have drawn examples of their "golems". The problem is that the pictures are taken from a number of Fighting Fantasy gamebooks. Now did they get permission from the artists to use them? I don't know, but at the very least wouldn't it be better to try to make your own artwork and consistently use it rather than riffing off someone else's more polished drawings (one of the pictures used is that of a giant blob monster, I cannot remember the name of the Fighting Fantasy book, I think it was something involving vampires, but the monster blob is Dr. Oeckeller or something like that).

This book tries to be ambitious and "epic", but comes across as a lazy attempt that brings little new and tries to validate itself by having a decent number of pages. There are plenty of other games that deals with similar topics; I say you're better off skipping this and looking for a game of this sort elsewhere



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Lesser Shades of Evil
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapons of the Gods
by Trevor B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2005 12:21:47

Weapons of the Gods, is a very well written and designed game.

It's been on my radar for many months, due to good word of mouth. Finally it's released, and as a PDF too.

You get your moneys worth with this. 380+ pages of rules, setting and coolness.

It's a game of Wuxia (Thats Chinese style High Fantasy. The Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Hero, House of Flying Daggers to name some recent movies). It's based upon the Comic of the same name. Dont worry if you dont know the comic as it's not too important. The game is about emulating the Wuxia tropes and does that perfectly.

A quick and easy system, that has many player options.

This book is a thing of beauty. It is well layed out, with an easy to understand type font.

The only negative point is the fact that it is very lush visually, which would make printing this out far too expensive. A shame that the publisher didnt include a second picture and border-lite PDF for printing purposes.

Overall 5/5

Trevor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
by Brandon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2005 00:00:00

This is the entire chapter dealing with character creation; however, advanced topics such as Kung Fu, Secret Arts, and Lores are not covered within, neither is any equipment. However, this is a really good place to learn the basics of the system, and the developer (www.eos-press.com)is going to have a special that will be offered to the people who purchased this. Those familiar with Godlike will be pleased to see these streamlined dice conventions.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: The peek at the system<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not entirely complete; but that is the point.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
by Paul P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2005 00:00:00

It's only the first chapter - enough to get you all salivating. The rules look exactly as imaginitive and exciting as I'd thought. I just wish there was more - I was frustrated at what we didn't know about different martial arts styles and so on. And, as usual for such things, I think the art is fugly, but that didn't put me off the potential.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
by Joseph H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2005 00:00:00

This is a great buy if you are one of two people. Someone who is curious about the game or someone who wants to support it. This product should satisfy you in either case.

It's also for anyone who just wants to see a very elegant and evocative game system in one easy package. So if you're a technical communication junkie like me then I can't recommend it enough. It's beautiful in architectural sense, ornamental and functional in one harmonious package.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: I liked the look of the product. This is without a doubt the nicest looking .pdf I've ever purchased. I also liked that it worked on two very helpful levels. The first was that it was a nice introduction to the mechanics of the game, a sort of glorious teaser or modest preview in the cinematic sense. The second was that it unlike most .pdfs it seems that this one will make a very functional supplement to actually playing the game. The skill set up was really very cool.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There's not much I didn't like about it. I'm just very eager to have the full work in my hands. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
by Matthias H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2005 00:00:00

If you could only buy one single RPG this year, it'd have to be Weapons if the Gods. Now I know you're going to ask "Is it really THAT good?". My answer would have to be YES. If the rest of the book can manage to maintain the quality of this first chapter(and everything I've seen so far on the EOS Press boards and chat indicates it WILL) then we've got the "Best RPG of 2005" award right here, no doubt. The first chapter covers the Rules(besides Combat rules, you can download those from the EOS Press Homepage for free though), Character Generation(complete with descriptions of Attributes, Skills, Advantages and Disadvanatges) and a breakdown of the Social Organizations in Shen Zou.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Some of the artpieces are of outstanding quality(and the others are almost all well above average). The whole book is Full-Color(!). The Rules-System is innovative, detailed and still manages to be surprisingly fast. I can easily imagine someone picking this up, just for the Rules-System alone. I could go on and on about how good this book is, but do yourself a favor and buy it already so you can see for yourself ; )<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The wait for the full Book is going to kill me.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
by Arik t. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2005 00:00:00

Is it worth it to buy just one chapter out of an entire book? The answer is: "no... unless it's Weapons of the Gods we're talking about."

Really, don't think of this as just a preview. Think of it as a piece of art.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Every single page. Good art, fantastic system, solid writing... basically everything a ranting fanboy loves to extoll about.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: As excellent as the first chapter proves to be, I am now faced with the long wait for the actual book itself.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weapons of the Gods: The Book of Wood
by Jye N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2005 00:00:00

This is a great buy for fans keenly anticipating the system - not only does it set out the core rules, the game's attitude, and a chunk of the setting (specifically the factions PCs can be members of), but it will make a great handout for character-creation sessions when the book arrives - especially since the book is likely to be print-only!

What this DOESN'T have is Kung-Fu or magic, so it's not sufficient for play, unless you wanted to do a low-powered but non-gritty game without many mystic powers, like Three Kingdoms.

Probably best for fans who are already anticipating the game - it's a great deal for anyone who can be reasonably sure of playing the game.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Core system very accessibly explained, and it rocks. Excellent hand-out for character creation.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The rest of the book isn't out yet :(<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates