DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Battle Above the Earth
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:56:00

You gotta love the 1980s! The superhero concepts and ideas would have been fun to read in a comic book, especially those presented in BATE. Something is missing, though, when you read the adventure that an actual comic would have filled in. That's when you realize it's a product designed for the gaming to fill in the details and bring it to life. Brilliant? Maybe not. But with the fun stuff in this adventure, from a space station to the sterotypical battle above the earth (it's even in the title!), it certainly takes you back to a time when that might have been all you needed for a game system to work on a sunny, breezy afternoon / evening.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Above the Earth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Super-Crooks & Criminals
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:51:22

I'm never disappointed with my purchases of V&V products. They each offer something interesting and new to one's campaign and ideas. SC&C comes up with some interesting villains/criminals/thugs from a variety of angles. This is how such products need to be written...graphics for each character and all the information you could ever want in just a few "text-bites". If I had a complaint with this product, it would only be that it suffers from its era as these days gamers go ga-ga over all-color books more than they do over B&W ones that think of your wallet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Super-Crooks & Criminals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The DNAgents Sourcebook
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:47:11

I loved the comic as a teenager & I love this interpretation of the characters for a game system worthy enough to present it! The spirit of the comic is preserved and offers gamers to experience one of the more interesting comics from the 1980s that had some of the most potential with where it could have gone. It's also fun to see certain elements of the comic come to life, sometimes comically, like the idea of MEGA-MAN (which somehow seemed cooler when you're younger but doesn't age very well, in my opinion)!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The DNAgents Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by Edward J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2008 15:42:56

Take a walk down memory lane! This game reminds me of everything that drew me into gaming (old school style) in the first place. While it's not perfect in the way it presents its materials and rules and makes you have to go searching without a handy summary page available, it does make up for this in its imaginative way in presenting a supers setting. It was the 1980s, and its fun to see how the games today still need to give kudos for the ones who first blazed the trails...like V&V. Even with its flaws, this game system is still much better for me than some of the ones sold today. Somehow the innocence of the comics I read as a kid remains in V&V. Not to say that other games can't capture that, but it's nice to find a game where the innocence is part of the allure of the system!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by michael s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2008 13:28:08

Simply The best SHRPG ever Trully balnced despite all its 80's math



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Fighting Sail: Heart of Oak
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2008 10:45:09

Scan of original 1978 rules. Invaluable resource for anyone interested in sailing, Age of Sail naval history, or intermediate wargamers. Sailing diagrams are very useful. Ship data tables are very extensive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age of Fighting Sail: Heart of Oak
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by Marc Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2008 08:46:07

Classic game with heavy combat rules. Like the fact that it is "real world" setting with you as the focal point. Twist on Player Character-based gaming.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flashing Blades
by Patrick C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2006 17:12:59

Very good game. It really sets the tone. A wonderful combat system, not very complicated but full of flavour. The adventures, also available on drivetruRPG are real little gems. So sad it was not continued. The game would need revamping and a second edition. I think it would be a hit. Buy it, play it. You won't regret.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flashing Blades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bushido
by Barry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2006 20:22:07

I played Bushido back in the 80’s and loved it. As the other reviewers have noted the layout of the books is not great, but once you learn to navigate the content you will find one of the best RPGs ever written. The mechanics are complex, but they did force players out of the trad D&D thud n’blunder mind-set and forced them to consider a more rounded vision of Japanese culture.

This was the first game I saw where you could gain as much advantage through a well composed haiku as walloping someone with a sword, peasants HAD to be humble around their social superiors or get their heads chopped off and personal honour created genuine dilemmas for players. I have not seen any of the more modern Samurai role playing games, but I doubt they have improved on this marvellous game.

One warning, the PDF is not clear in places and they have left out the crucial encounter tables and critical hit and fumble tables from the DM's screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bushido
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psi World
by Richard S. Date Added: 12/10/2006 14:28:18

Hi even though I have not downloaded the game I have played it and I loved the game . If you want a fast and fun game for PSI this is it .

The rules are simple and clear . Only 2 books in the core game ( Small ones at that ) but more than enough to play good games .

Now that it is hard ( if not impassable ) to find in HARD COPY of the game This is A real treasure to get . Even at a higher price .

Have A Nice Day :-)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psi World
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Psi World
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2006 03:03:58

Oops!

My mistake on the last review -- please edit or delete it. The scan looks great -- it was just coming up poor in my reader.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Psi World
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2006 03:00:06

Great game -- sloppy scan.

This is one of the original gritty psi games -- well-suited for Scanners-like play or a kind of low-end X-Men style game.

However, the scan is sloppy -- the pages have bands running through them like every other inch somehow got displaced to one side.

One could read around it but there's no reason a professional company should be offering a scan this poor. Scanning's not that difficult a process and someone should at least be tasked with checking the result.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Bushido
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2005 10:39:36

Bushido is a game that I was aware of in the 80's when I was playing Ad&D and TMNT RPG. I was curious about it but never bought it or played it. So I decided to download it and try it out.

The bottom line is this, Bushido is an awesome game. There is a certain nostolgic appeal to this game. I have read the book but have yet to play it. I have made two characters a Yakuza and Budoka.

I feel that this game is a refreshing change from this current trend of glossy art and 1,000 sourcebooks. Bushido is not a munchkin or power gamer's game. It is a game that forces it's players to think about creating a complex character to adventure in a complex society.

This game is not without it's faults. It is set up in a confusing layout. There are no chapters and some of the rules seem out of place. The type is very small and the artwork is not the best.

All this being said though I have overlooked these flaws. I just wish the FGU would get there act together and get this game revised. I do not feel that this game should be given a third edition, just a revision.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bushido
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aftermath!
by Alan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2005 01:15:24

Not recommended very poor scan of product, difficult to read and almost impossible to print.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flashing Blades
by Thomas Z. Date Added: 10/09/2004 11:28:35

Flashing Blades is a lovely recreation of the 17th Century France of the Three Musketeers and the Man in the Iron Mask. The system is essentially a relative of the BRP system used in Cthulhu and RuneQuest, but using a d20 rather than d100. The duelling system adds a few twists to make it better reflect duelling between those of siferig styles. The basic game comes with a good scenario and the adventures produced for the game, which I guess are also here on DriveThru are excellent. If you like swashbuckling with a French accent then this is the game to get.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flashing Blades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 91 to 105 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates