DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Space Opera
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:10:03

This is just an incredibly detailed and amazingly complex set of rules that really can cover just about any event or action that you can consider. I loved the character generation rules and i see where the basic concept was carried on in other games later on.

I still have my dog eared copy of the original book but wanted to get this one as well.

It's sad that such a detailed set of rules had such awful adventures to go with them, but i guess that is just one of the reasons it never really took off. Too bad really.

The bonus of having the equipment included in this package made it worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 2
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:07:16

This is why i really bought SO. The ships, although you can definitely tell they are dated in the design side of things are just too good to pass up. I use the designs provided in this and the other Seldon's supplements in my Traveller campaigns in just about every era. I'm going to dust off the SO brain cells soon and see if i can run a SO campaign as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 3
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:06:58

This is why i really bought SO. The ships, although you can definitely tell they are dated in the design side of things are just too good to pass up. I use the designs provided in this and the other Seldon's supplements in my Traveller campaigns in just about every era. I'm going to dust off the SO brain cells soon and see if i can run a SO campaign as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 1
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:06:20

This is why i really bought SO. The ships, although you can definitely tell they are dated in the design side of things are just too good to pass up. I use the designs provided in this and the other Seldon's supplements in my Traveller campaigns in just about every era. I'm going to dust off the SO brain cells soon and see if i can run a SO campaign as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Seldon's Compendium of Starcraft 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera: Casino Galactica
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:04:26

Another of the so-called "adventures" that were done for SO, this one is pretty skimpy. I liked the layouts that were provided and some of the details, but overall, this just doesnt seem to be worth buying. A GM with a little amount of time could do much better.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Casino Galactica
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera: Alien Base
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:02:30

This product, while not quite as skimpy as the other SO adventures, just really didnt have enough there to warrant purchasing it. I would like to think that it is worth the price, but any halfway decent GM could come up with way better if they just sat down for a few hours and cranked up their pencil and brain.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Alien Base
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera: Martigan Belt
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2010 23:00:49

I always loved the way that Space Opera made you feel larger than life. That was really the whole point of the game, even though sometimes it was way over the top. The detail in every level was just amazing and I just thought it was the best thing since sliced bread when it first came out.

Unfortunately the adventures, if you can call them that, were never any good and were really more a collection of basic information that i could have rolled up myself in a few hours if i wanted to. Completely lacking in the details that i think need to be included to make this a product that i wanted to invest more time in, it really just ended up sitting since i know i could do better.

Not sure why i bought this, since i've usually been disappointed with the SO supplements, but i guess nostalgia got the better of me.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera: Martigan Belt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bunnies And Burrows
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2010 23:41:17

I was glad to see this role playing classic from 1976 available once again. If you liked D&D back when it consisted of only Greyhawk and Blackmoor. Then check out B&B. Character creation is very similiar. Good basic role playing. Based on Watership Down its definitely a special taste game, but fun to play. Well as an officer in the Owsla I have to get back to the Warren.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bunnies And Burrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2010 20:01:38

If you are looking for an old school game, this an an excellent one to start with. I found V&V a good read, and I always enjoyed the artwork, but I honestly never really found it to be much of a playable game.

Back in the (very) early 80's, several of us had gotten tired of playing nothing but “that Fantasy RPG.” My roommate was big into comic books, and found a copy of V&V, so we thought we would try it out with our gaming group. First, we did a little play-testing, to make sure we understood the rules and such. We quickly realized that it needed a bit of a rewrite to be a good playable system. My memory is a bit fuzzy now, but I know our greatest dislike, by far, was character generation.

First, the character is based on the player. Your stat's are the characters stats. In general, most people think they are better than they really are, compared to others impressions. This can lead to conflict and opinions better kept to oneself. This is an unnecessary complication when you simply want to escape the real world and have some fun. Next, you use random rolls for your characters powers. Anyone who is a fan of comic superheroes knows that most characters have a set of cohesive powers based on a theme or shtick. Random rolls result in characters that have random powers, which are hard to pull together in any kind of theme, and sometimes end conflict with each other, or are downright silly. Same goes for Skills and Weaknesses, though kudos for including Weaknesses ... something especially good in a superhero game.

Bottom line, if you like playing a character based on you, after throwing a bunch of dice, hoping to get lucky with them, then playing the random conglomerate you come up with, this game is for you. That’s not sarcasm … I know people who like the throwing the dice and playing what they get. If you prefer to escape the real world and play a character that makes sense (tongue in cheek, as this IS a superhero game), then V&V is a pretty weak game system.

As for the rest of the rules, they left little impression on me, other than being no better or worse than other games at the time. Before we could rewrite it to our satisfaction and bring in the whole gaming group, one of the guys found a copy of Champions, and that's the game we fell in love with, and played superheroes with for many years.

Still, I always enjoyed FGU’s V&V material, and collected almost all of the adventures (missing one) ... most of which can be found in PDF form here. They are very much worth checking out even if you prefer a different rules system.

In conclusion, if you are into old school games, this is still one you will want. Note: this is a scan, but you can search for or copy text.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Space Opera
by Hamilton R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2010 04:01:18

The reason for buying this product is for the information in it. The game system is entirely dated, and overly complex, but it has a lot of information about how to run starships, psionics, weapons and types of items. It is loaded with stuff.

  • Us older gamers will buy it for nostalgia too.

However, I must rate it as a stand-alone game, for it may be the only game someone plays. If this person stops at this game, it would be a shame for him to miss out on the other excellent products available.

QUALITY: Fair VALUE: Good EASE OF PLAY: Poor VOLUME OF INFORMATION: Excellent LAYOUT: Poor ARTWORK: Good (but BW and limited)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Space Opera
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by lee w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2010 17:11:33

Villains and Vigilantes brings back great memories for me. It was the first superhero game I ever played and that set me on a course for the rest of my life. It's quant and has a nice list of power descriptions, but by todays standards it has a lot of features that are just too cumbersome. (I still have nightmares about calculating a new character's Hit Points) don't try it without a calculator.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flashing Blades: Parisian Adventure
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2010 15:11:52

Great module for Flashing Blades or any other Musketeer role playing system such as All for One and One for All. Characters are detailed, interesting plot line, and period accurate. Excellent chrome for En Garde games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flashing Blades: Parisian Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Flashing Blades: An Ambassador's Tales
by Gunther B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2010 15:10:09

Great module for Flashing Blades or any other Musketeer role playing system such as All for and One for All. Characters are detailed, interesting plot line, and period accurate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Flashing Blades: An Ambassador's Tales
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aftermath!
by Thomas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/03/2010 22:11:19

Initially I was skeptical to purchase this pdf based on the reviews but it was much BETTER than I expected. As for game, if you like a highly detailed rule set to cover most every aspect of a post ruin genre this is the game for you. Aftermath is an excellent non-level based system that could be adapted to most any desired genre with a little work. Not recommended for the first time GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aftermath!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Villains and Vigilantes
by Bill D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2010 13:37:31

A good game and a pretty good scan too. Now, if my old print version from the early 80s completely breaks down, I've got a backup.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Villains and Vigilantes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 111 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates