DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Wretched
by Curse o. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2021 08:25:24

The Wretched by Chris Bissette aka Loot the Room (@pangalactic)

Live the Alien sequel you always wanted as you take on a role similar to that of Ripley, only this time the creature is trying to get back in, the ship’s falling apart and you need to do everything you can to keep yourself and it together.

Despite being incredibly simple to play with a tumbling tower, pack of cards and dealer’s choice of recording logs (with audio recordings being so much fun as the situation truly comes alive), the depth of emotion and stress concisely conveyed in the results is truly harrowing and effective. It’s even possible to play this purely digitally, as I did, with free card and tumbling tower apps, or without the tower at all, so it can be easily played anywhere.

This was my first experience with a journaling game and I absolutely loved it! There was definitely something about playing this during our ongoing quarantine that heightened the experience, but I became absolutely obsessed with The Wretched, making countless recordings and unravelling along with the character as I got more and more into the acting and performance elements of the logs.

This is a seriously awesome game that really brings the solo journaling experience to vivid life, placing you in a familiar and altogether... Alien experience. I thoroughly recommend it and can’t wait to play my way through the whole of the Wretched & Alone Jam games!

This was the game that really showed me games could be more than D&D or some other large TTRPG. I fell in love with the whole Wretched & Alone family and the wide variety of wonders here on itch! I can never thank you enough Chris!

Update coming when I get my hands on my ridiculously exciting physical goodies from the Kickstarter!

My Affiliate Link: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/311334/The-Wretched?affiliate_id=1507682



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wretched
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Under The Floorboards
by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2020 14:45:35

Under the Floorboards is a system-lite tabletop RPG published by Loot the Room that is inspired by stories, movies, and shows about little people living in a big people world, such as The Borrowers, The Littles, and The Secret World of Arrietty, to name a few.

Under the Floorboards uses a simple dice+stat system, combined with a basic three-phase story structure to set up a scenario that the players and gamemaster – or “Guiding Voice” – can collectively build a story from.

The game uses a simple 2d6 system. Characters are described in 8 abilities, and are built with point buying, or can be selected from a collection of premade Roles. Ability rolls are 2d6+Ability versus a target number. Success gives the player story control, while failure gives it to the Guided Voice. A Lucky ability allows players to roll to change the environment to their benefit, but it drops by a point every time it is successful.

The game has no system for combat or hit points, as it is expected that any sort of combat would be avoided by the little people. “Floorboard folk have no word for coward, because there is no shame in running away.”

This game would be a fantastic introduction to RPGs for kids, or for anyone who enjoys the genre. The system is simple and easy to grasp, and the story structure is an excellent method of giving new players some guidance when trying out an adventure game for the first time.

The writing is clear and well organized, and the majority of the PDF contains locations to explore, with lists of goals and complications related to each one – a wealth of options for potential scenarios, and something that really increases the replay ability.

I also really enjoyed the name table, for players having trouble coming up with a character name. It includes names like Stumble, Bucket, Percivie, and surnames like Underbed, Overmantle, and Chimney-Stack – this was an excellent addition that helps establish the feel and theme of the game.

Bonus point for gender inclusivity – there’s a space on the character sheet for gender pronouns. I’m always happy to see this, and happier to see it occurring more and more.

Overall a well-written and well organized product that captures the thematic elements very well, and would be an excellent choice for kids, a quick-prep one-shot, or a convention game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Under The Floorboards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinkets - Adventurers' Gear
by Samantha L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2019 21:04:53

This is an interesting take on trinkets but I find it workd best when it is used with it other trinket books.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinkets - Adventurers' Gear
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinkets - A Miscellany
by Samantha L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2019 21:04:40

This is an interesting take on trinkets but I find it workd best when it is used with it other trinket books.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinkets - A Miscellany
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinkets - Bottles
by Samantha L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2019 21:04:22

This is an interesting take on trinkets but I find it workd best when it is used with it other trinket books.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Trinkets - Bottles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Whispering Darkness - A 5th Edition Adventure for Levels 4-6
by Cody F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2018 17:24:17

This is a perfect example of why Loot the Room content is so good and quite noteworthy. I needed an adventure for my group of 4th level PCs and this adventure popped up just in time. The monsters are innovative and creative, the adventure hooks are fun, and the whole thing is a blast to read through. As always, the production values are top notch, and the fact it's intended for Shadepoint but can be used on its own is a huge bonus. A+ work!

I have worked with Loot the Room before on other projects, and products like this are exactly why that's whom I choose to work with. Disclosure: I did not contribute to this product and this review is entirely genuine and unsolicited.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whispering Darkness - A 5th Edition Adventure for Levels 4-6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The College of Cadence - A 5th Edition Bard College
by Jeffrey S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2018 06:00:43

What a great idea! I'm a drummer, so I know how drummers can be - busting out in vocal sounds and rhythms that no one else (other than fellow drummers) understand or tapping away at the steering wheel as you sit at stop lights. This bard college offers a lot if you are looking for a percussionist feel for your bard. I also really like that the creators included a few pre-gen bards. That's a very nice touch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The College of Cadence - A 5th Edition Bard College
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonfly: A Short Story
by Ashley W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 21:39:20

“Dreams are not as fragile as you imagine them to be,” he said. “It is only our memories of them which shatter.”

This was a beautiful story! Chris writes effortless prose that is a joy to read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonfly: A Short Story
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hex Geomorphs: Caverns & Caves Set 1
by Anna K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2018 10:26:16

I love the idea of creating my own modular maps and I'm excited to see more in the Geomorph series! I run a lot of homebrewed games and one-shots, so these types of tiles will make it easy to create new maps quickly. I appreciate that the download includes gridded and non-gridded options. I'm using a smaller print of the non-gridded tiles to run a game where movement isn't restricted to 5 ft tiles.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hex Geomorphs: Caverns & Caves Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trinkets - Books
by Cody F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 13:37:25

It's simple and straightforward, but it's creative and innovative. Most importantly, it's useful! Every DM or player needs some inspiration sometimes, and this is just the kind of thing I reach for when I need something like that. In this case? What DOES that book they found look like? Well, let's find out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trinkets - Books
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cities: Shadepoint
by Bayley G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2018 15:42:56

I've been trying to make my own city for a setting, and Cities: Shadepoint was just what I needed to get the gears turning and figure out how to colour code the thing. The landmarks and rumours section flesh out the city enough to make it interesting and unique while still leaving the game master enough room to do their own thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities: Shadepoint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Terror At Tightwillow Pond (A 6th Level Encounter for 5th Edition)
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2018 00:08:23

As always, Loot The Room has come up with a great little encounter for the already great Shadepoint supplement. This is well worth the price of admission, the details are just so, the fun factor is high, and any players would love to play through this encounter, and the production values are as crisp as ever. I highly recommend this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Terror At Tightwillow Pond (A 6th Level Encounter for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cities: Shadepoint
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2018 09:05:31

Loot the Room does it again, providing an extremely well thought out and in depth write up on an entire city that you can just drop into one of your games. It's got detailed maps, intrigue, lore, and all the background you might need to make a city come to life for players and DM alike. This is well worth the price of admission, which is EASILY 5 bucks or more, in my opinion. You would do well to pick this up for use in your home game, regardless of the overall setting. LTR has done the work for you. What more could you want?

To be fair, I feel as though I must provide SOME criticism. I think this counts as a medium city, not a small city, technically. But obviously that one little technical detail that I can't even verify with any meaningful scale given that an exact population number is also provided isn't going to keep me from enjoying this awesome offering.

As always, LTR, shut up and take my money! You've outdone yourself yet again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cities: Shadepoint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates