DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
World of Farland Campaign Setting
by Jesse V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 13:38:06

Great art and stories all in one easy to use place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland: War of Immortals Campaign Setting
by Rob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 14:10:59

Amazing content perfect for a new campaign or for 'modern day' Farland settings for a dreamscape or a time travel scenario. An extremely rich history to flesh out the setting of Farland.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland: War of Immortals Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland Campaign Setting
by Rob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2018 06:18:22

Great setting for those looking for a world that gives a game a very realistic feel



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland Campaign Setting
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2018 22:18:14

i play D&D 5e, but I'm new to the World of Farland. I just got a copy of this setting, and while I haven't had a chance to go through it carefully, so far I have to say I'm blown away by the amount of quality detail in the setting. I think it's really going to help my DMing if and when I run a game set in this world. I may modify a few things, but in terms of game balance and 5e, it looks pretty balanced. So far, I really like what I see.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland: War of Immortals Campaign Setting
by Juan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2018 05:15:36

War of Immortals is the prequel setting to World of Farland. Here you will learn how it was like before the Lords of Sin ruled. The book has 195 colour pages and it is intended both for players and DMs. Art is both open license content and commissioned.

SETTING The setting has an overal classic feeling with nice twists here and there. The scope is epic but through a darker, grittier, lens.

Humans and halflings are newcomers; elves and dwarves are trying to enlight this primitive cultures while defending the wold against the Dark Folk. Magic is powerful but rare (or sparse) and traveling is slow and perilous.

The Dark Folk are mainly goblinoids (and some kobolds) ruled by an orc-demon but the chapter dedicated to the evil kingdom of Stor-gris makes it clear there are monsters a plenty and we learn that they are not a reliable group. There are different factions with different goals... and even the orc-demon could be but a toy of a clever villain... I just can´t stress enough how much I like the Evil Kingdom chapter because of the great ammount of information and detail about the main antagonists.

All the races -being good or evil- feel credible, three dimensional and rich textured.

Something not very usual: we get different "what if" for the DM to decide the future of Siriand... even breaking the Farlan canon! There´s an starting point (year 9770) and some posible events are discussed besides the official story.

The book is story reach (there´s even some short fiction) and evocative; it´s a good read and anda very interesting setting. If you already own Farland, it reads somewhat between an history book and a bible; if you don´t own it... well, make yourself a favour and buy it.

RULES & CRUNCH It´s a 5e without rules changes of note. Some spells are unknown, some magic items do not exist, and healing is slower, that is. On the other hand we get many race variants (or subraces) in adition to those in the SRD. I love it for they enrich the racial tropes for humans and non-humans alike and could easily be included in any setting you like.

ADVENTURING IN SIRIAND Althought the DM gets free hand to plot the events as she desires, there´s an official Outline which leads to the events described in World of Farland. It feels pretty interresting and worth of playing.

Two adventures are included. Both are exploration adventures which are mean to give a lot of information of past events and sowing adventure hooks for a longer campaing. Be cautioned: as introductory adventures they are good, but can be deadly... We´ll, we said it was dark and gritty and we like it that way, isn´t it?

My two cents: I think it would be more useful to play one of the adventures and use it as an starting point. When the first campaing is over... well you can play the second adventure as an starting point for a new campaing.

QUIBBLES I just found one thing I do not like. Althought it is said this is a stand alone product you are told to consult the World of Farland Campaing Setting now and again. There are gods´names equivalence tables for all the races but you will find no description of deities. Some words about Oluk orcs would have been nice as well.

Of course it´s a minor quibble for the World of Farland Campaing Setting book is a must and, on the other hand, there´s a lot of free stuff in http://farlandworld.com/

VERDICT Buy it, read it, play it and enjoy it. I think it´s a work of love, rich in details and fluff. The book looks very nice and it os well layed out. I´m eager to get more War of Immortals stuff. I think there´s nothing better I could say about a RPG setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland: War of Immortals Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland: War of Immortals Campaign Setting
by Brad W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2018 22:26:51

This is another great supplement in the World of Farland product line.

War of the Immortals is epic and heroic storytelling in an age of legends that doesn't feel like it was a rewrite of the Silmarillion. This is a World of Farland take, and it's done very well.

This team does a great job of doing two things that are critical, at least in my mind, for succesful world building, storytelling and ttrpgs.

  1. They present you with useful information in a way that's not overwhelming and very easy to absorb and use.
  2. The information the book provides injects so many plot hooks and campaign ideas that the world really comes alive.

The layout of the book is well done, so much so that I'd recommend reading it from start to finish.

I like the way they relate the various racial histories with the over all world history. Seeing historical data that was presented elsewhere in the book reinforced via a specific races section helps tie everything together.

The section on the Dark Folk aka the bad guys, makes them more real. There's enough information presented that you could run a dark side campaign without much trouble.

The Campaign Outline is very useful, especially after you have absorbed all the detailed world building that precedes it in this book.

The decision to go dark and gritty with an ancient world history is enjoyable. I was expecting more high powered magic and people, but I think that could have been a mistake. This setting feels real and playable, and plausible, at least as much as a world with dragons and elves can be.

The two included adventures are for mid level characters, 5th level and 9th level respectively. I would have loved to see a 1st or 2nd level adventure included that was tied to the campaign.

I'm going to be forcing the group that's currently playing through Tomb of Annihilation, to take a detour for a bit in War of the immortals. I'm pretty confident that I'll be able to use this to convince them to play a campaign in World of Farland.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland: War of Immortals Campaign Setting
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2018 12:20:11

The World of Farland continues to impress and exceed all expectations. Playing in this world feels deep and immersive due to it's highly detailed information and it's realistic assemblage of history, lore, society, and geography. This campaign is set many years before the original "world ruled by sin" and has a depth and mystery all it's own, while still feeling familiar. Even if you haven't been playing in Farland for years, you'll find this world is easy to assimilate into your campaign. Standout homebrew elements include feats, subraces (the Galan elves!), and villains with depth and purpose. This campaign guide is truly epic - an incredible achievement. I can't wait to own my physical copy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Campaign Setting
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2017 13:09:10

I've been gaming in Farland for over two years now. Farland is a unique setting - a world conquered by evil. Perfect for use with Dungeons & Dragons, but easily adapted to other systems as well. This campaign setting is the perfect collection of all the information that Farland has to offer - history, geography, races, and beyond. The information is dense, but well-organzied and never superfluous. The orginal art within is breathtaking and the overall look and layout of the PDF is gorgeous and very professional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Campaign Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland Game Master's Handbook
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2017 16:56:25

So immersive, expand on your World of Farland experance and pick this up. That art work though!!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Game Master's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland Game Master's Handbook
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2017 13:29:57

The GM Handbook is well-divised, thoughtfully arranged, and indispensible for your World of Farland campaign. Although supercharged for DnD 5e, the setting, beasts, tips and mechanics are easily applied to any system or campaign setting. Full of original baddies and a full breakdown on the Lords of Sin, this handbook captures all the info a GM needs from the wealth of online information. As an added bonus, the full-color map is gorgeous and inspires a mulitude of adventures just looking at it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Game Master's Handbook
by Brent A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2017 15:57:31

The World of Farland Game Master's Handbook is a must have addition to your collection. The handbook comes in PDF format. The organization of the material in this book flows naturally. I have it on my iPad. This handbook brings the information, artwork, etc. a GM may need when running a World of Farland campaign. I use it alongside The World of Farland Player's Handbook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Players Guide
by Rob W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2017 01:53:05

Great quality and layout. This setting is the best I've found. There's so much information on the website. This condensed version of all the most important information for getting started in Farland is superb. If you're looking for a new setting or have been playing in Farland for years, this guide is exactly what your gane has been missing. Enjoy!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Players Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Farland Players Guide
by Casey I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 21:11:29

I love playing in the World of Farland and this will be an indispensible resource.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Players Guide
by Brent A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2017 14:48:13

I have been using the World of Farland campaign setting for several years now. The World of Farland setting has years of thoughtful development and is outstanding. Now to get to business. The World of Farland Players Guide is a great companion to the campaign. A lot of work has gone into the developement of the Players Guide. The artwork, organization, and overall design are quite appealing. The Players Guide has good flow to its order of things. It is easy to follow and very descriptive. Anyone interested in expanding their RPG universe really needs to check out The World of Farland Player's Guide.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
World of Farland Players Guide
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 19:44:53

As a new player in the World of Farland, I found it easy to adapt to the flavor of the setting. The world ruled by evil is a unique environment for classic DnD gamers. Farland's backstories are rich and detailed. Despite the fantasy nature of the game, the land and lore is realistically conceived which makes it feel more immersive when roleplaying. Custom races, classes, feats and spells help define the realm and feel like logical steps for characters in Farland. Having all the info from the website collected into one guide is nice for tactile gamers who love a good handbook to flip through.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates