DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
ALIEN RPG Destroyer of Worlds
by Nate L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2022 00:49:15

Unfair, really f-ing stupid at times, but what a ride.

I felt like I had to write up a heck of a lot compared to Chariot of the Gods because the force structure for the Colonial Marines is completely FUBAR even though they're all getting reassigned to Charlie Squad. Like, give me more context for this, and why it's so f-ked up that they're pulling Marines from all over to create a separate fireteam because it makes no sense.

You can make it make sense, but it's not inherently there. And a lot of the scenario feels that way because there's a lot of interesting mystery and a lot of stuff that seems just bonkers.

At least two of the pregens have really f-ked up secrets to them. If you play them straight up, then it's possible that those players are just f'kd from the start, which feels totally bonkers and unfair. You really have to structure the storytelling to make some of it not as fkd up, IMO... which you can do, but you really really have to commit to un-fking those characters in the scenes.

If your player won't react well to being fkd, then it can go fking badly. I totally love the concept as long as you're committed to the story and not just creating a TPK, but it's so easy to trigger a TPK in this one.

There are ways to stack the deck a little more in favor of the players, but there's so much where they can just be fkd. So if you like old school concepts where you have a million ways to fk your player, there's that in bunches here.

The other challenge is putting context to the Colonial Marine presence at Kruger 60 & 61-Cygni. IMO, it's better when you've got military structure around these guys, so filling out the organization helps lend more "realism" to it. You can tell this came before the Colonial Marines handbook due to the weird lack of organizational structure. I kind of made up my own stuff, combined with the US Marine Corps structure and the known structure of the US Colonial Marine Corps (like Marine Space Force Eridani in the USCMC versus the Marine Expeditionary Forces in the US Marine Corps, the use of Marine Assault Units in the USCMC versus Marine Expeditionary Units in the US Marine Corps, etc.) Adding quasi-military structure to the setting of Destroyer of Worlds helps make it feel less wrong, but also a lot more wrong in other ways (like, why are these dudes being detached from their MAU and embedded with a black ops Special Operations Regiment? There are many possible reasons, but nothing you ever really learn).

And, yes, the pregens mostly have boring Agendas that don't move like they do in "Chariot of the Gods". There's nothing in the Agendas that make me go, "AH HA! That is AWESOME." It's mostly just Colonial Marines getting fkkd into a sh!tty situation.

Don't get me wrong. I absolutely LOVE "Dante", but it's not like her Agenda is anything amazing despite her backstory.

I'll recomend this if you spend the time to make it work for your players. I wouldn't play it straight up, especially now with the Colonial Marines handbook giving you more resources to work from. IMO, I'd prefer to drop in a whole second squad (to make up a full section)... and they can serve as backups to guard the APC while the main team does its thing. At least that can help justify a high body count rather than stick unlucky players with Iona or Zmiejewski as a replacement.

I'd avoid this if you're only looking to fk with your players. It's too easy in this scenario to be a d!ck of a Game Mother.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Destroyer of Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coriolis: Last Voyage of the Ghazali
by Joseph Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2022 00:02:19

Unreadable. Grey on Black background. Neither Kindle nor Goodreader can render the text visibly. even with max brightness, the pdf is illegible.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Last Voyage of the Ghazali
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Twilight: 2000 4th Edition Core Set
by Aaron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 22:23:56

I was 13 when I purchased the original game, and I have nothing but praise for this new edition!

The production values in the physical starter box are excellent. The art is well done and evocative of the original game. The maps are beautiful and on high-quality stock. The encounter cards are detailed and useful.

I'm still making my way through them, but so far the books are very well written and logically presented. I remember the original game having a lot of math during character generation, and that's been replaced with a choice of pre-built character templates (Archetypes in the rules) or a longer "Lifepath" method. Nice and flexible for groups with different needs.

I like the way the game provides suggestions for campaign priorities: will you try to escape Poland and find your way back home? Will you try and establish a safe home somewhere? Or will you keep fighting, linking up with other friendly forces?

Overall I'm very pleased and happy Free League published the new edition!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Twilight: 2000 4th Edition Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 12:05:17

GM workshop talk with the guys behind the game..!

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10803555



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ruins of Symbaroum - Bestiary
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 02:03:33

Our GM Workshop review

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10761449

Our GM workshop talk with Mathiias about the game

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10339311Ø

Our GM workshop talk with Jacob about the game

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10392772



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Symbaroum - Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ruins of Symbaroum - Player's Guide
by Jacob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 02:02:17

Our GM Workshop review

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10761449

Our GM workshop talk with Mathiias about the game

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10339311Ø

Our GM workshop talk with Jacob about the game

https://www.buzzsprout.com/1883725/10392772



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Symbaroum - Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2022 10:36:18

The short version: Isn't this just Mork Borg in space? To be honest, yes. But that's not a bad thing! Death in Space is a rules-light, D20-based, dark sci-fi RPG with cargo holds full of tables, tools, and information to shape your campaign however you want to. The rules are simple and easily hackable and the default setting of Tenebris has plenty of dark, gritty sci-fi flavor and is interesting enough to run as-is for a campaign or two. If you want a more detailed review describing the rules and character options, etc, check out my full review below: https://www.rpg.net/reviews/archive/19/19074.phtml



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Coriolis: Tanapur Corvette
by Nate L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2022 19:18:32

It is a brief PDF, but very much dedicated to tellilng you about a specific ship that fits precisely within the Coriolis universe. The deck plan and illustrations fit the style and themes of the Coriolis rulebook.

The ship itself is not going to overpower other small ships in the universe. By its stats, this one fits in Class II, as a large/glorified shuttle more than the more spacious Class IIIs. It's the kind of Class II that a small party of Coriolis players would want to use, whereas a Class III begs for a more robust-sized group of players. (The ship has crew berths for 3, plus 1 extra, and 4 stasis pods total... so it's specifically meant for a smaller crew.)

If you have a smaller team of players that doesn't want a ton of extraneous NPCs on their ship, the Tanapur Corvette would make a lot of sense for their needs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Coriolis: Tanapur Corvette
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mörk Borg English
by Cannibal H. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2022 12:23:25

"Reading Mörk Borg is an essential part of playing the game, and even if you were to hack a rules element from Mörk Borg into another OSR game, it would not land the same unless your players see the manner in which it was originally presented. Mörk Borg is a game for which “style over substance” is not an insult, and it’s my hope that there are lessons to be learned here about where the experience of reading an RPG manual fits in the broader notion of playing a game." - Aaron Marks

Read the full CHG review here: https://cannibalhalflinggaming.com/2020/04/15/mork-borg-review/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mörk Borg English
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fejden på Stevns - Et Vaesen eventyr
by Rudi N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/07/2022 07:37:30

Excellent adventure, with a great many details that really had the investigators heads turning trying to solve the mystery. Open enough so different approaches can be used by the players yet still with a good structure to drive the story forwards towards the conclusion however good or bad that may turn out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fejden på Stevns - Et Vaesen eventyr
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Alberetor - The Haunted Waste
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/06/2022 18:16:48

No where near as good as previous books. Scenarios don't make logical sense ... the actions of various factions only work for convience. Many of parts of the campaign only happen to thwart the PCs, convient magical excuses and creatures appear or disapear just in time for the PCs with no logic for the wider world. Its as if someone made an adventure trying to demonstrate everything not to do when creating somthing to give a gaming group any sense of agency.

Have played through and loved the previous books ... now I'm stuck trying to rationalize an entire adventure. I have very little hope for the final installment.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Alberetor - The Haunted Waste
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Death in Space Core Rules
by derek r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2022 12:34:52

Got this free for buying the hardcover. Worth every penny!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Death in Space Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
by Luke H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2022 13:16:39

If I could give it more stars, I would. I love Vaesen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaesen - Nordic Horror Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring™ Strider™ Mode
by Kenny S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2022 11:27:26

Having an absolute blast with Strider Mode. I stream my game on Twitch at HeyGMKenny and it's always a great time. Mechanics are fun and engaging, the storytelling and interpretation of the Lore tables is fun and exciting. It really does weave together an amazing story. In love with this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Strider™ Mode
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Road to Armageddon - Gear Book
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2022 19:11:59

As a stalwart Twilight 2k, RPG, and military science fan, I have to say I'm of mixed mind on both this book, and all RtA content thusfar.

On the one hand - this book is full of fascinating insight and detail into a variety of topics. A vast amount of information, from a detailed weapon and equipment list, to figures on biological weapons, post-armageddon economics, and more. This is clearly a labor of love, and it shows, with the sheer breadth of subject matter available for a GM.

On the other hand - non-insignificant amounts of this information is either opinion presented as fact (the entire segment on Category-IV mobilization division organization and what equipment they'd have, claims on Soviet vehicular reliability, and claims on the impossibility of the setting as presented in T2K4E) or is simply not correct. Author confuses, or gets wrong, details about firearms in the segment - examples include asserting the FAMAS F1 fired 7.5mm French (it did not), that the M16A4 was fully automatic and used exclusively by USMC (it was neither - he may be confusing the fully automatic M16A3, issued in limited quantities to the Navy and Seabees, and not know that while the -16A4 was issued to the entire USMC, it also featured widespread Army usage), and incorrect information on the proliferation of the AEK-971 and AN-94. While the vast majority of information presented is correct, just enough is gotten wrong that it is difficult to take everything at face value, without double-checking. Some design choices presented in said segment as well can be considered strange - the IAI Desert Eagle is stated, not in .50AE, but in .44 Magnum, the AN-94 has no note of it's unique "double tap" mechanic, etc. The latter is not a major criticism, but it is worth noting. As well, the equipment "cutoff" date is not the standard Twilight date of late 90's, but includes equipment all the way into the present day. Without independent knowledge of the equipment within, it's very easy to fail to see the anachronisms, and use anachronistic equipment.

In addition, the author insists on using many custom elements of mechanical design. For instance, all gear mass is measured in Kilograms instead of 4th Edition "encumbrance units," which renders conversion to 4th ed standards an irritating task. Vehicles are stated up with custom turret armor and top and bottom armor, which requires five additional pages of custom ruling detailing additional hit locations, maintenance, and the intricacies of modern armor. Smallarms ammunition has custom rules for handgun and SMG ammunition. And so forth. While all of these, in a vacuum, could be successfully presented as variant rules for increased intricacy, the author does not offer the choice to use or not, but presumes that, simply, they will be used. This makes the rulebook very self-contained - it's more than a little difficult to use "Road to Armageddon" stats or equipment with other third-party sources, or even with content contained within the core rulebook itself.

As a side note, the author is highly disparaging of 4th edition, and makes no attempt to hide this. While they're of course entitled to their own opinion, it became somewhat irritating to be reminded of the author's displeasure of the current edition every ten pages (metaphorically).

Overall, I would recommend purchasing this if you have the money, have a firm knowledge of what you want out of this book, and have your own independent knowledge of the contents within, so that you can read the opinion presented within with a critical mind, and draw your own opinions. Again, the breadth of knowledge presented in here is fantastic, and, even if you don't take everything in here blindly, the information within can help you shape your own opinions of gear and how to run a Twilight campaign. However, do not purchase this book if you're looking for a quick list of equipment to "slot in" to an existing campaign. All contained within here must either be used exclusively with other RtA content, or converted out of the RtA rules system, and information contained here is best served independently reviewed by any GM.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Road to Armageddon - Gear Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
You are of course, correct about some of the weapons data ... mainly because the text was taken more or less straight from a previous non-TW2000 product of the same name and used the best information available to me at the time (though how I missed tghe FAMAS F1 data is a mystery - however, the Desert Eagle, the latest model, IS available in .50 AE) ... as for the 'anachronistic' weapons. Well, there is a note somewhere stating that, yes, some of the gear included wasn't historically available in AD 2000 ... and that often this seems to have been because defence procurfement budgets were slashed around the world after 1989 ... if we accept the proposition that this is NOT the case, which the background does, then it is not at all unreasonable to assume that the 'anachronistic' programs would, indeed, have been available by AD 2000 (indeed, a number of them were *intended* to be, before said cutbacks) ... GMs are, of course, able to use or not use such gear at their option. As for the equipment of Category IV Divisions, well, if you have been following the coverage of the current unpleasantness in Ukraine you may have noticed that some units raised by the Donetsk and Luhansk 'republics' have been equipped with ... Nagant Rifles ... indeed, even before this, these Republics also fielded T-55 Tanks and other older equipment. One can reasonably equate these units with 'Category IV' units. And, in any case, we do know that the equipment parks for Category IV Cold War era units *were* WW2-1950s era gear (or at least seemingly authoritative cold war era sources did ... and the examples cited would seem to support that assertion) Russian Vehicle Reliability: Well, it's no secret that, compared to Western/NATO stuff that Russian vehicles were comparatively rubbish ... even during the Cold War this was understood by analysts (as, indeed, a perusal of any Cold War era source on the Soviert army will probably glean) and, again, as we have been seeing in Ukraine, they're *still* rubbish. Part of this is due to poor design and equally poor build quality (as, indeed, I indicate in the book) and part is because the Russian economy through the entire 20th century has lacked the required number of technicians to run both their civilian economy AND keep their armed forces vehicles fully functional ... and this has not changed all that much (again, as reports from their rubbish performance in Ukraine has been showing). As for turret armour and custom ammo rules, well, I understand that not everyone was pleased with the decision to pretend Tanks don't have turrets. If anyone thinks that turretless tanks are the best thing since sliced bread they are, of course, welcome to ignore the Turret armour values and simply use the Hull values. As for ammo, well, some of the values in the core rules make little sense ... hence the changes. In almost all cases, however, the changes can be ignored and the core values may be used instead ... Weight in kilos vs Encumbrance units. Ah. The latter, are ... interesting ... but are all over the place and (to me) make little or no sense ... but, sure, anyone who really wants to use Encumbrance Units is welcome to. As I recall there is even a statement in the core rules that (from memory) I EU is 'about' 3 kilos (or is it 2 kilos?) ... which simply doesn't work for a lot of gear .. but anyone who wants to use EU can simply say 2/3 kilos = 1 EU. A doddle, basically. As for my dislike of many of the design choices made to convert TW2000 to the MYZ system ... I've owned every iteration of TW2000 from 1st Edition and ALL of them made an attempt (not always with complete success) to closely model real world values. MYZ rules are mostly fine for the fantasy background OF Mutant: Year Zero (a fun game, which I also have) IF you don't look at them as being realistic in any way, but, as used in 4th Edition, well, I am not the only gamer who expressed concern about many of the design choices. So, I guess, if I present rules that make the game more realistic and people don't want that, that's OK ... in almost all cases the differences can be ignored ... or considered as 'chrome' for occasional use. Still, sales are steady, so I guess there are enough GMs out there who seem to have ideas similar to what is presented to be viable.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 315 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates