DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Sorrow At St. Bees - A Vaesen Mystery
by jules [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2024 10:07:57

Wonderfully atmospheric and haunting. I'm really hoping for more UK based adventures of this sort



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sorrow At St. Bees - A Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Tower of the Lich Lord: A Symbaroum Solo Gamebook
by Brassmonkey [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/04/2024 08:22:59

I really enjoyed this solo game book! It was clear, straightforward, and a good little story. Also there is real replay-ability packed in here. I had never played the Symbaroum system before (I hadn’t even heard of it, to be truthful) and I really enjoyed it! I like the simplified system presented and will definitely keep and eye out for more titles like this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tower of the Lich Lord: A Symbaroum Solo Gamebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
CY_BORG Core Rules
by Gabriel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2024 08:01:32

So much fun to run with a lighthearted group of friends. Keep it goofy, and brutal. The world building in this game awesome, and the community is great to boot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CY_BORG Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Ruins of Symbaroum - Adventure Compendium
by Larry [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2024 00:09:22

The adventures themselves are very compelling. I am however struggling with the writing. I find that there are a lot of forward references to places, characters, or events that have not been properly introduced yet. I'm constantly searching to figure out what is going on. This is annoying but workable in digital form. I can't I imagine what I would do if all I had was the print edition.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ruins of Symbaroum - Adventure Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Drakar och Demoner Grundspel
by Mikael [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2024 10:25:41

Håller med, absolut bästa hittills, lätt att spela och lätt att spelleda



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Drakar och Demoner Grundspel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Troll in the Barn - A Vaesen Ghost Story
by Kurt [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2024 03:08:30

I just finished running Troll in the Barn, and it worked well for a truly dark, memorable, and contained adventure. The repeated content warning was appropriate, as was the storyteller's advice. Thank you Morten!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Troll in the Barn - A Vaesen Ghost Story
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Profession: Barbarian
by John [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2024 08:41:31

Kinda bad. Its seems like the author was trying to convert DnD barbarian into FL, but created something thats completely imbalanced and does not really fit into FL mechanics.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Profession: Barbarian
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dragonbane Core Set
by Jay S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2024 03:46:45

Being someone who missed the bus on the original D&D in the 80’s and only having truly come into TTRPGs in the 90’s with Legend of the Five Rings and World of Darkness, I will admit that I only had a passing understanding of what made dungeon crawling RPGs a thing.

I knew they were fun. And I knew that people weren’t in it for the story.

So I came into this Let’s Study for Dragonbane with the lowest of expectations, and come out with the highest of praise.

A Thing of Beauty

One can’t begin talking about Dragonbane without actually considering the aesthetics. Free League Publishing is famous for it’s amazing work in terms of the look of their games, and Dragonbane is no exception.

The artwork of the game manages to convey the feel of the game’s claim of “Mirth & Mayhem”. Cartoonish elements like the Mallard race, mix delightfully with the darker fantasy bits of the game giving it a strange balance between a beer & pretzels kind of game… but also one that doesn’t let you let completely go of your tactical thinking.

The illustrations in the Core Rules are top notch, and consistent in tone, never feeling like they were cobbled together haphazardly. There was clearly very strong art direction, and the monster illustrations, in particular, were a highlight for me.

So Much Game In So Little Pages

Dragonbane doesn’t have much in terms of setting. Some things are implied, but hardly anything is really explained. That said, what IS there is a solid game where the mechanics are conveyed clearly, and in a fashion that gets you playing as soon as you can.

Players have a good number of options to play, and nothing feels particularly wrong. I don’t think there terrible “builds” in the game, as the skills and relatively small spread of HP means people occupy similar levels of power.

The Mechanics for Combat and Adventuring are complete, and while it might be a bit deadly, it does manage to play up the tactical nature of the game. Sure it’s funny at times, but there’s plenty of tense moments too when you’re not sure you’ll manage to survive an encounter, especially when up against a monster.

Solo Capable

As I mentioned in my coverage of the Solo Rules, Dragonbane is completely equipped, and adds what amounts to a full campaign for solo play in the Alone in Deepfall Breach. What’s more, there’s no need to go get a separate GM emulator or other tools, Dragonbane already has them all right there for you to use.

A Full Campaign

The Adventure book that comes in the corebox also includes 11 different adventures, all of which are strung together to form a campaign. That’s already quite a bit of playtime stuffed into a single box. Sure there won’t be too much in terms of say, cultural exploration, or A Game of Thrones-style backstabbing and politics, but Dragonbane knows what it wants to be and does it well.

Everything Else

The promise of a core set that had everything brought me way back to 1989, when I first opened my Star Frontiers Alpha Dawn boxed set and got dice, maps, the rules, and cardboard counters.

Finally seeing this format return in Dragonbane brought a tear to my eyes, as it makes it for an excellent gift to a budding new GM or a gaming group who is looking for a game that they can quickly get on the table and start playing.

Conclusion

Dragonbane deserves to be on your shelf, whether in physical format or digital via VTT. Free League Publishing delivers on the promise of a complete game in all fronts, and does so without sacrificing quality.

There’s so much already said about the value of this set, but I can’t stress enough the fact that the game itself is already worth almost twice the cost of the set itself. Sure there’s so much that hasn’t been written about the setting, but that’s something that I imagine Free League will be working to expand on very soon. Already they’ve released a Bestiary, and at the time of this writing they’ve already gotten The Path of Glory Adventure Campaign on Pre-Order!

Dragonbane is a must buy on anyone’s list and will certainly be among my first and strongest recommendations for anyone, from those new to the hobby who are intimidated by big rulebooks, to someone who is looking for a nostalgic kick with a streamlined system that’s easy to teach and run.

This is a portion of a full series of Let's Study articles focused on breaking down the various sections of Dragonbane. If you'd like to read up on more of it, please visit

https://philgamer.wordpress.com/category/roleplaying-games/dragonbane/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonbane Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dragonbane Core Set | Roll20 VTT
by Jarrad [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2024 09:54:36

Great to have and very nicely done, but I don't understand why the art hasn't been added to Art Library > Premium Assets > Marketplace Purchases.

I appreciate art has been linked to entries in the compendium and journal (e.g., pregens and npc), so I can drag one onto the map and reuse it where I want (e.g., I can drag the token used on a specific npc and repurpose it for a new npc I create), but this is pretty tedious and not very user friendly.

It would be great if all the token and avatar art used for entries in the compendium and journal items were also in Art Library > Premium Assets > Marketplace Purchases for ease of use.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonbane Core Set | Roll20 VTT
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Old Man and The Lindworm - A Haunted House Vaesen Mystery
by Gabriel [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/17/2024 07:14:25

This was a fantastic first full mystery for our new Vaesen game! Well crafted NPCs and a fun twist to a haunted house story. We combined it with the Krämarhuset supplement and will be enjoying that resource for sessions to come.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Old Man and The Lindworm - A Haunted House Vaesen Mystery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
by Britton [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2024 12:08:07

I love this system and the quality of the book. I only wish the PDF were hyperlinked internally.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALIEN RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The One Ring™ Character Lifepaths
by Patrick [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2024 03:37:35

I can only agree to what another reviewer wrote and should have taken his advice! "Nothing in there that I would expect from a Lifepaths system i.e. Tables to roll on wit a ton of different options to flash out characters. Here you basically just get lists of half-premade characters with two lines of very basic and superficial background story. Disappointing and useless. Even at its low price a waste of money." - Manuel

Maybe this is useful to someone else, but I would have expected much more. In other games more comprehensive documents full of nice ideas are either included (Cyberpunk 2020 or Red) or available for free as a little add-on (Warhammer Dark Heresy)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring™ Character Lifepaths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Embers of Horncrest
by John [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2024 18:55:30

Excellently crafted Module. A perfect Forbidden Lands tale. Intelligent, Rich, and Fun. Can be run as is or has plenty of suggestions to change things up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Embers of Horncrest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
LEST COIN FLOW LIKE BLOOD
by Rui [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2024 18:31:39

I ran this scenario last night. As per a user's feedback, I replaced the changelings by demons, and it was terrific. There are potential loopholes, such as the changeling being gagged, but also being able to become a rat, which would allow him to drop the gag and be able to shout for help while in the cellar. I circumvented these by having both demons face each other at some point, with the meditation of the party. The effect was very similar to what I think was intended for the scenario. Overall a good one to run in less than 3 hours. Well worth it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
LEST COIN FLOW LIKE BLOOD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Dragonbane Quickstart
by owo [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/20/2024 06:18:39

Short: Cool simple system Quickstart does showcase mostly dungeon crawling, but system itself seems quite flexible in terms of supported gameplay.

Long: I will say that the system in quickstart is quite fun and does allow for interesting choices despite it's simplicity (even if resource management isn't everyone's cup of tea). Also, one of the players brought up how all characters felt kinda same-y due to not having many unique moves and such I will say that the biggest problem for this quickstart is that it's a sole quickstart - the game's website points at the system accomodating for non-combat gameplay too, but this is the only quickstart and it's a dungeon crawl. Not everyone's cup of tea, even the crawl included was interesting. So yeah, nice system, but it could use a quickstart showcasing other gameplay styles it can be used for. It sure seems less focused rules-wise on dungeon crawling than dnd5e (even though i suspect this game is more suited for dungeon crawls than dnd5e, despite this).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonbane Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 637 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates