DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by john n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2020 10:10:36

Introduction I am coming at this review from a slightly different space than some of you that are reading this. I have played tabletop baseball since the age of 11, when I picked up my first set of Strat-O-Matic Baseball. Along the way, I have played APBA, Sherco, PTP/Dynasty League Baseball, Throwback Baseball 1.0 and countless others. I know there are far more games out there and there are many who have played more than I have, but I feel confident in saying that to me, games were a solo pursuit, a hobby shared by me and me only.

Late last year, I bought the computer version of Strat's baseball game and immersed myself in it. While quite good, it also got me in front of a computer screen for even more time each day. As I got older, it's funny how tired my eyes get now. I also was in a couple leagues and while they are great for some people, they weren't great for me, for a variety of reasons. When the COVID-19 pandemic hit, I was at a place where I wanted to make some changes anyway, especially with my leisure time. I wanted a hobby, that well, was just a hobby again. It wasn't a side hustle, or ultra competitive, it was just fun.

Enter Deadball.

Playing The Game I first got Deadball a year or so ago, but didn't play due to other commitments. Since I was at a place where I was more open minded and willing to learn, I delved back into the basic rulebook. The game runs on a similar mechanic as other baseball games do - the interaction between pitcher and batter. The main difference to me is that the game does not have a 50-50 mechanic, where sometimes you roll on the pitcher's card and other times, the batters. Both pitcher and hitter are incorporated into each interaction, in a simple but sophisticated way.

Each batter's hit numbers are broken into the first two of his batting average. For example, a .300 hitter would be 30; Each pitcher has a die rating that is tied into their ERA rating. For a pitcher who's ERA is say 2.00-2.99, his die may be a D4. Yes, D4 - the game runs on standard RPG dice. So to resolve an at-bat, you would roll two 10-sided dice, and let's say you got 2-0, which is 20, and you would also roll the D4 for the pitcher. If you got a 2, that is a 22; the batter has a probable hit, so you would roll on the hit table. If you got over a 30, say a 44, that is an out. By taking the last number of the roll, 4, you would see that it is a groundout to the second baseman.

If you are familiar with scoring a baseball game, and the positions on the diamond (1-pitcher; 2-catcher, 3-First base), you can appreciate how genius that is. There are additional modifiers too, such as individual player traits - sluggers, slick fielders and pitchers, all have their place and will shine - strange events - I had a game recently that was impacted by vultures, which was a hoot; and the ability to rate any player and any team you want - ANY PLAYER. ANY TEAM - are strengths of this game that are too hard to ignore.

There are currently 4 books - the original, Deadball Year 2; Year 3 and a 1909 version, that all add to the baseball universe in their own way.

Conclusion For me, the biggest impact is how fun this game is. I find myself getting angry at the scorecard when my players don't do well, and I have never, ever, played a game that felt like baseball more than this one, and that is the biggest win. It is amazing solitaire fun. There always seems to be quite a debate from baseball gamers about which game is best. We are baseball fans after all. To me, they all have their place, and the most important thing is, if everyone is having fun, then the game is doing what it is supposed to do.

Overall, it's brilliance lies in its simplicity, much like the real game. You see the ball hit and caught, you will become emotionally invested and you will have fun. There is nothing dead about Deadball. It is amazingly vibrant in so many ways and well worth your time at the park in your mind, solo or with friends.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lost Ship: A Survival Game
by Stephen B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 15:26:08

This is a neat solo dice roller to play a Battlestar-Galactica-em-up. Despite the quick reference though there's a couple of bits I found a little confusing but after a few round it settles into a pattern. Of death! And despair! And a new home, phew!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Lost Ship: A Survival Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by Jack D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2020 18:58:03

I've wanted to buy this game for years. As a treat to myself this Xmas -- couldn't quite afford that bottle of Lagavulin -- I finally picked up the book and PDF. This game, courtesy of the witty Mr. Akers, did not disappoint. This is a game for people who love baseball.

For my first outing, I generated the Victoria Victrolas, a power-hitting bunch of 20th century ballplayers if ever you saw any. I played my lovable AAAA team from my home town against the 1899 Cleveland Spiders and had a lovely afternoon out of the rain. I enjoyed the easy dice rolling and score keeping so much that I had to have someone join in the fun. I invited my beer-slinging ballpark employee pal over and we proceeded to see Josh Gibson, Cool Papa Bell, Star Trek's Buck Bokai, Catfish Hunter and Marco Estrada play baseball together before our eyes. My baseball fiend of a friend enjoyed himself so much we had to play another game right after the first one.

I run a weekly 5e game for friends, and I need some chances to get away from that large (sometimes anxiety-inducingly bloated) game, full of rules and dramatic license. Deadball is the perfect kind of vacation from those hours of hefty game prep. I guarantee that, as you contemplate your team's chances of avoiding the bottom of the division this upcoming baseball season, Deadball will keep your heart beating baseball and your stomach screaming for red hots and cold beer.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadball: Year III
by Wes N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 19:57:51

Another great expansion to a great game. I love that I can make it complex or I can tone it down if I want something a bit lighter. Keep up the great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Year III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deadball: Year III
by Jere D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2019 12:21:45

Really enjoy this series... Quick easy and entertaining. We are planning a 10 team league for year 3. Should be fun !

jere dutt



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Year III
by Adam C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 17:08:10

Quick and easy to learn with as much (or little) depth as you want. Super easy to create a fictional league or recreate a MLB season. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by Phillip G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 01:09:06

I don't mean any hyperbole when I say this may be the most perfect baseball game ever made. It's certainly the best baseball game I've played (and that includes the excellent History Maker Baseball from PLAAY.com). It's not the most statistically in-depth or accurate (I'd say that title belongs to the Strat-O-Matic games), but it is the most accurate to the spirit of the game. This game feels like baseball, there's no other way to describe it. Every pitch, every hit, every out screams "baseball!" I can see Ian White hit back-to-back home runs, I can feel the excitement of the Chickadees as they chase their first-ever pennant.

Everything works together so seamlessly. Games are quick and easy to roll up without losing any of the fun of the real game. The games aren't bogged down by having to check player cards or a dozen charts, but they're not so simple that it doesn't feel like baseball. All of the different dice make me feel like I'm playing an RPG (which I know is what the creator was going for) and I really love that about this game!

Leagues and players are super quick and easy to create. I'd say that after you have everything memorized (which isn't hard), you can roll up an entire league with full rosters in about an hour! The last thing I want to mention is the worldbuilding. Wow, the worldbuilding! I'd kill to see a sourcebook full of nothing but the history of the Southern Circuit! That's how intrigued I am by just the little bit of backstory this game gives us. Every team is listed with its roster and a small bio talking about their prospects for the current year, and it's so well-thought out and interesting that I just want more! Kudos to WM Akers for creating what may be the most faithful tabletop simulation of baseball ever conceived.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by evan c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2019 16:13:06

An amazing use of the AW mechanics, great examples and pre-set settings and instructions for your own, and you can bash the fash and spread the word while gaming!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Todd E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2019 17:51:32

I love the author's work, from Deadball the great baseball simulator to his new novel Westside that hit shelves this week. "Comrades" is another example of his great vision for finding and writing great stories based on important details from history. In this RPG, your group selects roles to create a group of revolutionaries. The example setting is essentially right out of the Bolshevik Revolution, but he also shows examples of stories set in present day and the distant future. The common element is that you and your friends are out to fight "the man" and create a future where the oppressed rise up and take the power back.

The details are well thought out and provide a framework for a GM to let loose their creativity. It's well worth the small investment to get involved in an RPG that puts the fun back into raging against the machine. Akers is a master of using history to create experiences that are engaging and realistic. This is no exception. And you should also check out Deadball (also here in DriveThruRPG) and his other work too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2019 18:17:37

I backed this on Kickstarter, and I'm very pleased by it. The art is good, the rules are straightforward, and I can't wait to play it with my friends. Revolution is good and fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Blaine W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 00:03:19

A flexible, dramatic, and entertaining PBtA game.

I'm genuinely impressed by the obvious effort that went into this game. I, for one, appreciate the portions of the rulebook that are focused on the customization of the setting and rules.

Looking forward to toppling tyrants of all stripes with my comrades.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Oliver K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:17:08

Kickstarter was handled excellently, pdfs were sent out within a super short time after it concluded. The system also looks solid, and very thematic. Good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:10:56

Personally, I run hot and cold on ptbA games. I love the simplicity of the system and the clarity of design that a good execution of pbtA enforces. But Apocalypse World 1e had some rough edges and some fuzziness about its version of the wasteland that made it hard for me to see how I'd ever play it. Dungeon World is alright, but if you want to have high fantasy adventures, why not just play D&D, or 13th Age, the best version of D&D? And while Night Witches is absolute masterpiece of design, I'm never going to find another person to play it with. Comrades is the antidote to my all my problems with pbtA.

Comrades distills both pbtA and revolution down to their essences, and what remains is as close to a utopian ideal of an RPG as I can imagine. This is a game about your revolutionary vanguard, about a small band of comrades who are willing to dare everything to bring about a better world. You'll throw down with thugs from across the political spectrum, out-manuever splinter factions in your own movement, suffer under the oppressive tactics of the secret police, hear a dying comrade's last words, raise a mob, and strike a blow for revolution.

The moves and playbooks are wonderfully calibrated to revolutionary action: I especially appreciate the inclusion of a universal Start Something move to incite a mob, and the perceptive list of questions on the What's Going On Here? move to read a situation. The GM advice helps develop the ideology of the comrades, and put them under pressure from adversarial fronts, which work through a series of steps that cause the world to crumble. I particularly like the Pathway Moves, end of session rolls which describe how the comrades are advancing towards revolution on five tracks, ranging from a democratic victory at the ballot box to assassinating the head of state.

Nearly a decade on from the release of Apocalypse World, designers have a good sense of how pbtA works. W. M. Akers has written one of the best examples of the ruleset, perfectly calibrated for telling a thrilling tale of revolution, with plenty of examples on how to make the game the your own. Comrades includes a fully-fleshed out setting for Khresht 1915, a fictional country inspired mostly by the Russian revolution, and thumbnails settings for New York 1776 and Callisto 2219. You also get 10 playbooks for comrades from Artist to Worker, and great advice on running the game, and building your revolution. The visual design is spare and evocative, with well-chosen black-and-white prints standing out against a red and yellow color scheme. Comrades is inspired by the radical leftists of the 19th and 20th century, but there's not a set ideological stance in the game. This game is about anybody who is willing to die for their ideals, to fight bravely for a better world, and bring down the evil SOBs in charge.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Comrades: A Revolutionary RPG
by Bradley F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2019 16:09:52

I like the flexibility and simplicity of this RPG. Straightforward and intuative, it's quick to pick up and place and easy enough to modify for any type of setting neccesary!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2019 18:02:08

The best way to experience baseball short of grabbing a glove.

Baseball has a great many things going for it—it's tense, it's exciting, and it's a strategy game. Few sports so completely mix strategic and tactical planning with needing genuine physical activity to carry those plans out. On the other hand, those things make up perhaps ten minutes of a ninety-minute game. The rest involves watching people stand in a field and sweat.

Baseball With Dice gives you all the tense excitement of wondering if the home-town boys will convert on a double, with the speed and efficiency of Yahtzee, and that's just the start.

Then you get into making your own teams, and growing to love these imaginary people in the same way that you might love your RPG characters, or your little plastic men in a wargaming army. Then you get into deciding who's better, the 1908 Tigers with Ty Cobb leading the way, or the 1927 Yankees, sporting Lou Gehrig and Babe Ruth. And you realize that I wasn't mincing words above: I'm not talking about the best way to play a single game of baseball. I'm talking about the best way to experience baseball.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deadball: Baseball With Dice
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates