DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 22:46:21

I have 42 years in the hobby. I bought this on the reccomendation of PDM. I am so happy I did. Already played it with my kids, we all love it. Lovely stuff. Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EZD6 Core Rulebook
by phil g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 22:37:16

Awesome system to teach beginners and children- Thank You GM Scotty!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by kemper s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 22:07:36

Great game that's highly adaptable to any genre of play. Physically the book looks great, Hankerin's design skills and Sean Bova's art are evocative and on point, making picking up the book a pleasure.

The truly great thing about the system, though, is that it allows Scotty's personality to shine through. Scotty understands the importance of being his player's greatest "cheerleader" and this is reflected in a game system that, while not overly easy on players, let's them have meaningful moments in the spotlight. The game emphasizes thrilling combat, role-play, puzzle solving. Its an accessible system that can be readily picked up for the aspiring DM and taught to new players. It also works well for groups ranging from 2-8 players (something more technical systems struggle with).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Liam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 17:42:10

Really high quality hardcover, and an awesome system. DM Scotty + Runehammer is a dream team, and the system obviously reflects years of experience at the table! An easy recommendation!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Steve K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 17:20:36

Very nice hardcover. This is an extremely simple yet elegant system designed to keep the story flowing. It's written with fun in mind but still allows for strategic decision-making, specifically with the magic and karma systems. It feels outrageously easy to adapt any other system modules in a matter of minutes and get on to the business of role-playing. Can't wait to "Rabble Rouse" my first game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by mikkel f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2022 07:31:47

As a DM with attention deficit disorder, the simple monster stats are great. It allows me to quickly choose a template and then "stat it out" using boons, resistances and tactics that fits. I will minion the shit out of my players: Guerilla shoot/n/scoot minions? Check! 15 minions stacked as a mecha with a lieutenant acting as the head? Check!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Alex P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 20:21:34

This is maybe the best rpg system I've ever read! I feel like DM Scotty looked into my soul and gave me everything I ever wanted, all in one book! 10/10 I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Colin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 04:10:13

EZD6 abstracts a lot of the typical rpg stats, skills and modifier mechanics, to give players more creative freedom, character creation is quick with some interesting choices, a free-form magick system and the action resolution is fast, easy and fun without the heavy reliance on rule books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Tyler M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2022 12:12:50

DM Scotty has somehow made a rules-light system that still has meaningful mechanical choices for character generation - I adore rules-light systems, but usually they (by design) don't have much by way of mechanics for character building. I haven't even read the monsters or the spells yet, but if they follow the rest of the book, they're going to be great!

Also, I really appreciate the author's "make this book your own" attutide - he very clearly intends primarily for this system to enable fun at the game table, whatever that may look like for each individual table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2022 10:10:47

Cutting out all the lame math has been awesome. My players turns have gone from "I attack, I rolled a 17, does that hit? Shucks." "I jump into the fray crashing my Axe down on the group of goblins. Sweet I got a crit, let me confirm it. (rolls dice) I use 2 karma and strike again, kicking the goblin king in the Face!!"

Thanks for all the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Index Card RPG: Master Edition
by Stephen A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2022 00:13:07

ICRPG was a blast. It plays like a lot of other RPGs, but it's so simple. We made it through three large combats in less than three hours. Each encounter or room has a target number, and everyone knows what it is. That target number is what you must roll to succeed on any check. Want to find some loot? Roll the target number with a wisdom check. Want to hit an elf with a warhammer? Roll the target number with a strength check. Each player immediately knows if they fail or succeed, and that makes it very fast.

Another awesome concept of ICRPG is the easy/hard mechanic. You can make some rolls easier, which makes the target number decrease by 3. Let's say you attack and miss one turn. On your next turn, if you try that again, it's an easy roll now. That makes combat more enjoyable for both fighters and mages. It also gives a great opportunity cost: do you retry what you were doing, or are you out of time? Then there are hard rolls, that add 3 to the target number. You might make something harder for an enemy, or maybe the environment makes your checks harder.

Some other easy-to-learn mechanics make ICRPG a joy to play. The hit points system is sublime and so concise. The best part is, you can apply that system of "effort" to other rolls as well. Perhaps climbing a cliff requires a certain amount of effort, so as you make checks you add to your total effort until you reach it. Another one is the dice pools for effort. For example, a dwarf with his warhammer would roll a six-sided dice whenever he hit. That's the dice for Weapons & Tools. If that dwarf was instead trying to craft something, he would also roll a six-sided dice to see how much effort he applied to that craft. Magic weapons, tools, and effects roll ten-sided dice, which represents how they are more powerful. The basic effort, such as with your hands, is a four-sided dice, guns are an eight-sided dice, and finally, the twelve-sided dice is for your ultimate, which you get when you roll a natural twenty or with certain abilities.

I could go on and on about ICRPG. I haven't even mentioned how abilities and equipment work. Everyone has ten equipment slots and ten carried slots. That inventory space represents a good chunk of your abilities. Spells are equipment! So if you want to carry a lightning bolt spell, you'll have to have the tome for it in your inventory. It's a great tradeoff system that is so easy. There is nothing cumbersome about ICRPG. I can't recommend it enough. It offers such flexibility and hackability that you can get such depth out of every game. On top of that, the rules are so light and easy to digest that it's a no-brainer for someone new to tabletop RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Index Card RPG: Master Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Karl A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2022 13:28:47

Fast and loose, just the way I love them. The core rules are very straightforward and can be grasped in minutes, and the various options the players have to boost their rolls (hero dice, karma, boons etc) should make for some good epic adventures. There's no book keeping and the limited pool of hit points (strikes) can easily be used to build tension.

The system is setting agnostic, but there are some very interesting unique creatures in the bestiary section along with the old favorites.

My favorite part is the freeform magic system, which feels more like magic and less like a toolbox.

I have purchased the hard cover version which is still on the way so I cannot comment on the printing just yet, but the PDF version is clearly laid out and information can be found very easily; but then again the rules are simple enough that you probably won't need to look things up very often.

I suspect players who prefer hack and slash dungeon crawlers might want a crunchier system, but this is great for anyone who wants a flowing system where the rules don't get in the way of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Justin W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/13/2022 12:25:42

I must admit I was slightly skeptical about EZD6. I have read a few simple d6-based games but they tend to lack depth or atmosphere. Anyway I loved the look of the art and design, so I decided to take a punt. I dont think "pleasantly surprised" does justice to my initial feelings. EZD6 takes me right back to my early gaming experiences of the mid nineteen eighties, a world of black and white, larger-than-life fantasy with dark humour wovern into its fabric, fuelled by Hawk the Slayer, Krull, Beastmaster and Jabawocky.

The system is deceptively simple. Roll a six-sided die and hope to equal or beat a target number, from 2-6 (typically 3+) that might be based on an opponent, as in combat. or circumstance. But where are my stats and skills, you ask? All of this is handled with Boons. Players are defined by their Heroic Path (basically their class), Species, Inclinations (special abilities and training) and Aspects (statements defined by the player to reflect areas of training, personality, knacks or background). Many of these provide a Boon under special circumstances. For each Boon that applies, roll an additional d6 and use the highest result. Conversly, sometimes a Bane applies; if you are just rolling a single die, roll two dice and use the lower result. If you have any Boons, each Bane cancels one of them.

But what if the dice hate you? Well heroes (or rather Pushers & Shovers), have access to two meta currencies, Karma and Hero Dice. Karma can be spent 1 for 1 to increase a die result, potentially turning a failure into a success, but with two restrictions; you cant change a 1, nor can you modify magick or miracles- these will always have an element of risk. Thats where your Hero Dice comes in; you can use it to reroll a die, even if a 1, or using magick/miracles.

Character generation really highlights the breadth of the system. Its possible to build interesting, colourful characters in under 15 minutes, with hardly any knowledge of the system or game world. This is all helped tremendously by the evocative illustrations of Sean Bova, the exciting graphic design of Brandish Gilhelm, and the atmospheric writing of Scotty McFarland. I must admit to have become pretty bored by traditional fantasy rpgs. They all usually model themselves on the classic archetypes set in stone by Mr Gyjax, and aped endlessly by proceeding systems. But EZD6 tries and succeeds in breaking from these conformities. Hero Paths provided us the opportunity to portray an acrobatic Rascal, a savage Brute, or even a Skald, blessed with lore, storytelling and prophecy! And dont think any of these lock you into any particular set of abilities. You also get to freely choose a Species (Human, Dwarf, Elf, Halfling or Goblin), a choice of 2 Inclinations (+1 for Humans and/or the Delver Heroic Path) which provide extra abilities, skills or training, and if that wasnt enough, you also get two unique Aspects. Aspects are very much like Aspects in FATE, in that they are defined by the player to set the character apart. Perhaps they were "Raised by Goblins" or "Unnaturally Attractive". Or perhaps they are "Cursed by a Hag". whenever a task may be improvd by that Aspect, the player gains a Boon, and rolls an extra die. So essentially you can define exactly the character you want to play, with a few prompts along the way.

Combat is fast and deadly, employing the games solid d6 mechanics, and uses a familiar action economy- each hero can move, perform a turn action (cast a spell, attack, move again, use a skill etc) and one free action (drink a potion, draw a weapon etc) every round. And forget about tracking tedious Hit point totals, or worrying about secondary damage rolls. Instead every combatant, including the characters, can take a number of "Strikes" before falling. Most characters require 3 strikes and they are out. Each monster lists the number of Strikes it can take, and a To-Hit value; the number on a d6 required to hit them. They usually require a 3+ to hit a character, although this can be modified for more dangerous or weaker opponents. If a to-hit roll is successful, the target takes a Strike, or two if employing a very large weapon such as a trebuchet. If you rolled a 6, roll again; if this is another 6, inflict an additional Strike and roll again. Karma may be spent in any of these rolls to bump a die roll up to 6.

If that sounds lethal, armour can protect you. Depending on what you are trained to wear, based on your Hero Path, you get an armour save of 3-6. For each Strike inflicted, roll a die; if you equal or beat the required number on a d6, the Strike is mitigated.

Ok so you know how to hit a pesky goblin, but what about magic or divine powers? Magick (see how more awesome that is with an extra k!) and Miracles use a variation of the standard system. Rather than a set list of set spells, treating magic like a shopping list or flapjack recipe, instead you have a circle of magick representing the general sphere of effects you can do. Perhaps you are a Necromancer, Seer, Air Elementalist or a highly destructive Blastermaster! Then whenever you want to perform a spell, the GM (sorry, Rabble Rouser!) rolls a number of dice to reflect the target's resistance or the difficulty, using the highest value. The player then chooses 1-3 dice to roll to try and match or best that value. The reason this is a choice is that if any die rolls a 1 the spell fails. So rolling more dice increases both the chance to fail and to succeed. Although you cannot spend Karma, you do have the option of Spellburn; you can ignore a 1 for the purpose of spell failure, but suffer 1 Strike for each that you do.

Miracles use a similiar system but you are instead trying to appeal against the alloofness of your chosen diety (basically 1 or more d6). although you cant use Karma or spellburn, you can provide offerings, which allows devout characters to reroll their miracle attempts.

After the player centric rules, EZD6 provides some very useful guidlines for running the game as the Rabble Rouser (RR), along with a bestiary and collection of magickal artifacts. All of this is dripping with fantastic atmosphere- the collection of 20 unique monsters are screaming to be employed against the characters, all fantastically illustrated.

As you may have guessed, I absolutely love this game. If you tire of the blandness of fantasy rpgs, and are desperate to cut out unnecessary dice rolls and complex rules, this us a must have. It proves you can have a smart, simple and rich roleplaying experience. If you have been gaming for as long as I have, and want to rekindle those glorious days of well-thumbed gamebooks, then why hav'nt you bought it already?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by william g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2022 23:26:55

Great game. I will likely use it to introduce others to TTRPGs and for one-shots. I think after you get really into this game you can throw together a character in less than 5 min and jump right into the action. I am working on converting the character sheet to PDF for my own games. I hope one is released sometime in the future.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by benedikt d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2022 10:35:44

Very nice! Could work with a few changes for post apo or pulp sf as well. Recomended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 254 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates