DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Mia P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2022 11:53:30

Not way could I resist buying this after participating in a handful of session at conventions. Truly a master stroke in mayhem and marvelous adventuring. A few of my players have bought, read and LOVE it! Rabble Rousers United! Thank you DM Scotty for sharing this with all of us.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Jacob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2022 03:46:30

I bought a copy of this based purely on my liking of the author's YouTube channel. I intended to put it on the shelf with all my Runehammer books. I tend to play OSE and kind of stick with that but I wanted to support both Scotty and Hankerin. Then I watched Dave Thaumavore's review of it and decided to give it a try with an old RPG buddy and run a solo game. I don't think I could have had a better time! It worked splendidly! Super fast, minimal rules breaks and a game that is able to adapt on the fly! I absolutely love this game. It works extremely well for a more narratively driven game with minimal rules interference. I printed a really rudimentary copy of the bare minimum rules needed to run. Gave it to my friend and just used the PDF to run it. I CANNOT wait for my physical copies. Highly recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Jordan C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2022 02:51:26

Simple to the point system with a supprising amount of depth. Extremely refreshing in comparison with 5e / Pathfinder. Im a relatively new dm (7 months experience) and find this much easier to run then other systems. The dm section is also very handy.

I often struggle with teaching new players 5e / Pathfinder and find that they get so hung up on the rules, the story/gameplay gets slowed down. Have run this at the table once and has sped things up significantly. Players are loving it and are suggesting switching over for our main campaign.

I have seen some concerns about long term campaign play and i personally think it would work fine for me as story trumps mechanical progression at my table everytime. The system still has enough meat to it to keep people interested in my opinion.

Great buy, i have the hardback on the way so cannot comment on that yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Pablo A. A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2022 20:12:19

D6 pool systems and aspect and free form magic systems are in fashion right now. EZD6 has the typical issues of those.

The difficulty of a roll can be both regulated by changing the target number or by adding boon/banes (extra rolls). Even if the former is favored it is not always clear which one to use and sometimes it is advised one or the other, without considering probabilities. In a section, the author even suggests using the critical exploding system.

When creating a character, Aspects may easily overlap with inclinations or even classes. Magic also requires tuning spell effects, number of dice, etc. It is not a system for new players, much less new DMs. There are two meta-currencies to track, karma and hero dice. Each with its own particular rules and a magic variant, spellburn.

Finally combat is not simpler or faster than basic d&d. Both the attacker and receiver have to do one roll (with numbers that vary depending on class and monster) so we are at the same or more complexity. The author even acknowledges this by making combat asymmetrical, monsters don't roll for defense/armor. Instead the DM just adds strike/wounds for harder foes. This is quite a mental overhead for a system promoted as simple.

Playing this game requires extensive experience with d&d and even narrative systems. Something the author does not see probably because of his own expertise, but the book fails to explain many things clearly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Bryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2022 18:26:55

I have played in several games over the years at conventions with Scotty while he was developing the EZD6 System. I have played a nonverbal alien in a sci-fi setting, a vampire hunter in a near future setting, a nun with a gun in a Lost World type setting, a ex con in a horror setting, and a lowly fighter in a dungeon crawl. I had a blast in every one and the system was easily learned and highly adaptable. If I were start a new campaign or run a quick one shot at a con, I would use this system regardless of the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 22:46:21

I have 42 years in the hobby. I bought this on the reccomendation of PDM. I am so happy I did. Already played it with my kids, we all love it. Lovely stuff. Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by phil g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 22:37:16

Awesome system to teach beginners and children- Thank You GM Scotty!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by kemper s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 22:07:36

Great game that's highly adaptable to any genre of play. Physically the book looks great, Hankerin's design skills and Sean Bova's art are evocative and on point, making picking up the book a pleasure.

The truly great thing about the system, though, is that it allows Scotty's personality to shine through. Scotty understands the importance of being his player's greatest "cheerleader" and this is reflected in a game system that, while not overly easy on players, let's them have meaningful moments in the spotlight. The game emphasizes thrilling combat, role-play, puzzle solving. Its an accessible system that can be readily picked up for the aspiring DM and taught to new players. It also works well for groups ranging from 2-8 players (something more technical systems struggle with).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Liam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 17:42:10

Really high quality hardcover, and an awesome system. DM Scotty + Runehammer is a dream team, and the system obviously reflects years of experience at the table! An easy recommendation!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Steve K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2022 17:20:36

Very nice hardcover. This is an extremely simple yet elegant system designed to keep the story flowing. It's written with fun in mind but still allows for strategic decision-making, specifically with the magic and karma systems. It feels outrageously easy to adapt any other system modules in a matter of minutes and get on to the business of role-playing. Can't wait to "Rabble Rouse" my first game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by mikkel f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2022 07:31:47

As a DM with attention deficit disorder, the simple monster stats are great. It allows me to quickly choose a template and then "stat it out" using boons, resistances and tactics that fits. I will minion the shit out of my players: Guerilla shoot/n/scoot minions? Check! 15 minions stacked as a mecha with a lieutenant acting as the head? Check!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Alex P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 20:21:34

This is maybe the best rpg system I've ever read! I feel like DM Scotty looked into my soul and gave me everything I ever wanted, all in one book! 10/10 I love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Colin [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2022 04:10:13

EZD6 abstracts a lot of the typical rpg stats, skills and modifier mechanics, to give players more creative freedom, character creation is quick with some interesting choices, a free-form magick system and the action resolution is fast, easy and fun without the heavy reliance on rule books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Tyler M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2022 12:12:50

DM Scotty has somehow made a rules-light system that still has meaningful mechanical choices for character generation - I adore rules-light systems, but usually they (by design) don't have much by way of mechanics for character building. I haven't even read the monsters or the spells yet, but if they follow the rest of the book, they're going to be great!

Also, I really appreciate the author's "make this book your own" attutide - he very clearly intends primarily for this system to enable fun at the game table, whatever that may look like for each individual table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
EZD6 Core Rulebook
by Ben H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2022 10:10:47

Cutting out all the lame math has been awesome. My players turns have gone from "I attack, I rolled a 17, does that hit? Shucks." "I jump into the fray crashing my Axe down on the group of goblins. Sweet I got a crit, let me confirm it. (rolls dice) I use 2 karma and strike again, kicking the goblin king in the Face!!"

Thanks for all the great work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 259 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates