DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by Derek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2019 19:24:56

It is the outstanding quality of the book that gets me. No scribbled line drawings here, just gorgeous artwork enhancing the experience of owning and using this book. The layout is easy on the eye and a lot of thought has obviously gone into the book to make it easy to use as a reference to the game. Rarely have I been so pleased with a purchase from DriveThru



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by Wayne S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2019 10:24:57

Its good, very good and I dont even like 5th ed. Its artwork and world building are Great. Its rules are solid enough and the classes are well thought out.

It would get 5 Stars but havnt quite hit that Cyberpunk vibe, needs gritter rules, some tidy up of combat etc, background etc well worth it and you can convert 5th ed players over :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by chris c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2019 15:58:02

I was a kickstarter backer, and had a lot of faith in this project from the start. Since getting my copy of the CRB, both digital and physical, I can enthusiastically say that faith was well earned. I've loved cyberpunk game for years, and have wanted to bring that joy to my gaming tables. Being based on 5e makes this so easy to teach new players to play.

The system is well designed, and we've had a lot of fun playing it.

Like any system, we've houserulled a couple of things, but all in all its a really solid system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2019 10:19:54

Possibly the best sci-fi treatment of the 5e OGL ruleset that I've come across. The setting is evocative and the rules have been well-tailored to it. I think one of my favorite aspects is that hacking is treated as just another skill check instead of its own mini game, and doesn't take place in some separate virtual world.

For the sake of transparency: I was a Kickstarter backer for this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2019 09:54:42

This rulebook is the first ever TTRPG I have ever gotten.     I loved getting it on pre release and running a few games with my friends who have never played a TTRPG before. It was very easy for them to learn



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by Matteo S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2019 06:59:06

Carbon2185 is a Cyberpunk TTRPG set in a dystopian future, where Corporations took over the world, criminal gangs are everywhere, and people stuggle to survive in a harsh world destroyed by climate change. The only faint hope for these people is either to go to an offworld colony or to become so powerful that you don't care about the world's problems. In all of this, Synths, humans created artificially in laboratories, are used to do labour for Corporations and whoever can afford them, and some of them are on the brink of a rebellion.

C2185 is based on the 5e SRD rules, but builds on them and adds its own twists. It's a very easy system to learn if you're familiar with 5th Edition Dungeons and Dragons, but if you haven't played it it's still very easy to get into. You have Stats (Strenght, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Tecnology and People), Origins, which define where your character grew up and grant you stat boosts and abilites. Classes are in the game as well, and they grant you abilities that define what your character can do; most of them will feel familiar to people who played 5th Edition. Classes go up to 10th level, but you have other means of progression, such as Augmentations, which give from flat modifiers to brand new abilities, such as becoming invisible or flying, new weapons and Criminal or Corporate Influence, which grant your character new possibilities to approach the world by working for one of the two factions. One of the big changes here is the Background generation, in which you pick a job type and then you roll to get bonus proficiencies, languages, and starting money, called Wonlongs. If you fail one of these rolls, you get an injury during work, you get fired, Background generation stops and you get what you rolled for. Background generation conveys the feel of the setting really well, but I have to point out that if you fail your first roll, then your characters gains basically nothing. I personally do not have a problem with this, but you can easily make a house rule that your first job roll is always succesfull.

Combat in C2185 is very straightforward and is very similar to 5e combat; you have movement speed, attack and damage rolls, cover, advantage, disadvantage, ability checks and saving throws. But in this game, combat feels a lot more dangerous than 5e, due to the fact that Cyberpunks (how this book calls Player Characters) have lower hit points and attacks do a lot of damage; critical hits are especially brutal in this game, as they are capable of removing limbs or, if you're unlucky, straight up kill the Cyberpunk. Combat is fast, engaging and high stakes.

The base setting for the Core Rulebook is San Francisco, with more to come in future supplements. The book gives you a lot of information about it, a timeline of events that brought Earth to climate collapse, corporate brands, info on gangs and corporations and what they're up to, and other groups of interests. On the back of the book, you have lots of tables that you can use to generate missions or random encounters, and the "Enemies and Villains" section, which is where Game Masters will find the statblocks for NPCs and enemies.

The art of this book is generally very good and conveys the setting really well. You have art for weapons, armor, classes, NPCs, scenary art and Corporate logos.

Overall, I give Carbon2185 a solid thumbs up. Whever you're looking for a Cyberpunk TTRPG that has a familiar feel, or you're looking for a very different setting, this game might be for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by andrew l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2019 14:13:26

(disclaimer; I wrote some of the history in this book for Dragon Turtle and the majority of thier Interlinked adventure.)

Okay so I am a little out of practice with the 5E system so I can;t speak to howrigid or accurate the translation to a futuristic setting it is, but my God does this game capture the cyberpunk mythos.

a clean chrome cyberfuture of sleek robots , grungy nameless criminal underworld and illegal hunted synths. If this sounds familiar it both is and isn't. Carbon as its own take on sci fi trops like Bladerunner, Terminator and yes even The Expanse. The view is spectacular but like all good cyberpunk it is from the bottom up. Sure you can see the spires of the upper echelons of San Francisco in the distance and beyond the Utopian outworld colonies - but only dimly.

Your world is dirty grimy and filled with copr sponsered polie crackdowns and running from one suicide scam to another just to put food and bullets on the table.

The fact that bullets are the currency that runs the blackmarket shoucl tellyou everything you need to know about this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Carbon 2185 | A Cyberpunk RPG Core Rulebook
by Jordan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/03/2019 19:29:51

great story, and easy to get into and play! I enjoyed the lore, backstory and history. All in all, a well crafted world to drop into and enjoy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Drop Adventures 5e
by Mario D. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2018 13:03:58

I've only used two of the adventures so far and they alone have been worth the price. [EDIT: Now I've used 3 of them and wish I could rate it 6 stars. So good!]

My campaign started recently and I needed a solid base to get into the swing of things. This product made it super easy and pretty stress-free, allowing me to spend a lot of pre-first-session time with the players to hone their characters.

The adventures are easily scalable, well paced, and wholly adaptable. I've slotted the two I used with minmial fuss into my overall campaign idea and plan to use the rest in coming sessions.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Drop Adventures 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Snowbolds & Snowmen (Level 1)
by pearl b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/22/2017 17:25:24

Very Fun! I used this as a small one-shot to prep for a bigger campaign for christmas. This was really nice to do and I really enjoyed it. It was fairly simple, but very easy to fit around a bigger campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Snowbolds & Snowmen (Level 1)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Drop Settlements: Atmos Vale
by Simon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2017 16:42:57

Really cool little PWYW title. It really reminds me of Phandelver from The Lost Mines of Phandelver. I love the characters, the map is great, and the miniquests are cute and fun. This would be the perfect place to start an adventure, or for your players to rest in a wholesome town inbetween dank dungeons.

I am printing this off and adding it to my GM folder for future use.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Drop Settlements: Atmos Vale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Drop Adventures 5e Vol. 2
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2017 14:18:17

Got this from Kickstarter. One of the best adventure modules I have ever played. My players loved it, it was easy to run, it has great characters and storylines. I really like the new monsters and magic items. Great for when your players start to get used to the monsters from the monster manual.

Can't wait for the next one



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Drop Adventures 5e Vol. 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch's Hideaway (Level 2)
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2017 12:03:58

Loved this adventure. I'm a relatively new GM and it was very easy to use. My party enjoyed it and I am going to use the suggested plot hooks as the foundation for my new campaign. You are given just enough descriptive text to give your party a feel for each room or bad guy, without making your players sit through a long rambling description. I loved the plot and characters and there is no way my party will forget them anytime soon



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch's Hideaway (Level 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Drop Adventures 5e
by Hugo C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 12:50:02

awsome adventures. My kids really enjoyed them! keep up with the good work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Drop Adventures 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Drop Adventures 5e
by George C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/21/2017 05:49:59

I got this through the Kickstarter, so the price was slightly different for me. I am using these adventures as an easy way to introduce my son and his friends to D&D. I have only run The Bronze Bandits so far, but it was great. The adventures are simple to read, well written and the maps are brilliant. Excellent quality adventures, well worth the $20 price. Looking forward to seeing more from this publisher



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates