DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
M-space
by Ariel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2022 07:54:59

In here is basically everything a growing sci-fi GM needs to run a rune quest-ish campaign in space. Included are a modified ruleset based on Mythras to better account for a sci-fi setting, as well as optional rules for more simplified combat. In addition, there is an entire section on alien creation, guide to creating cultures through "circles", and even a planet generator. The art inside is also gorgeous and very evocative of the kind of space opera setting that the system sort of defaults around (although it should serve fine in any sci-fi setting). The only absence to the book is perhaps a more beginner-friendly GM guide on running a sci-fi setting and the kind of goals players might have in those settings. Otherwise, this is an excellent book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Junkyard Blues
by Christopher P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2022 09:07:40

I love the style, art, layout and general approach that Frostbyte takes with their material. I was pleased with the quality of the product (pdf). On the adventure itself I have mixed feelings which I will address while attempting to avoid spoilers. The main storyline, race against time, struggle for resources, not enough room on the lifeboat... it's great. It also "felt like" a Traveller in a little black book (chef's kiss). I might tone down the lethality of the environment though. I've played a fee games of Mythras, and if my group rolled dice like the folks I've played with roll dice? TPK on atheir first moonwalk! There's a side-quest though, (that's also incredibly, potentially lethal). It's railroady morality play that forces the players to confront child sex trafficking. WTF? There needs to be an advisory or something. I'm not a prude and I didn't have issues with any of the other elements, but this side-quest is a lot of the material and I would not choose to include that whole segment. That arc is a fine story and complex set of characters... the characters are great! but people are in therapy for that stuff and I won't inflict that on my players. It's a shame because I wanted to be more supportive of the Frostbyte enterprise, and Clarence in particular. It's a great Classic Traveller adventure with a creepy, upsetting nightmare bolted on. I enjoy my Lamentations of the Flame Princess, but I know what I'm getting into.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Junkyard Blues
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Junkyard Blues
by Seth A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/28/2021 14:46:15

I have read through Junkyard Blues but have not played it with my group. We play a different sci-fi system, but most of the ideas here are easily transfurable. While I do plan to run this later for my group, I have some major reservations about this scenario that prevent me from giving a recommendation.

The Ugly: This scenario should come with the warning, contains child sex trafficking. If you intend to run this as written, you will roll play parents pimping out their daughter to the players. This is one of the 'moral dilemmas' that the game presents to the players. (I have noticed that many authors will use child abuse to make their game 'gritty'. My recommendation, don't. It takes a talented and experienced writer with first hand knowledge of child abuse to make it work, and only such an author should make the attempt. There are plenty of other options to make your game gritty.) Over all, I find the moral dilemmas shallow at best, railroady at worst. Honestly, I don't think this game needs pre-written moral dilemmas, as the setting naturally generates moral questions for the players to answer. Let your players generate and answer their own questions without trying to shoe-horn in your own.

The Good: Lots of content! Awesome value! Over 80 pages of setting, NPCs, problems, maps and ship layouts. Junkyard Blues would make an awesome hex crawl, if one was included. I plan to make one for my players before crash landing them here! I like the NPC portrates and the art helps set the atmosphere.

Final Verdict: A cautionary recommendation. Know what you and your players are comfortable with before diving straight into this scenario. If you want to run this scenario, think about what tone you want for your game, and adjust accordingly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Hi Seth, thank you for the sincere review. I’m sorry if you feel that we treat a sensitive subject in a bad way. That wasn’t our intention. Like you, I don’t care much for games using adult themes to appear gritty. But I feel that including an NPC with child abuse in her background was justified in this case. It explains why the character Maria has made several choices putting her life at risk. We did not add these themes lightheartedly, with a speculative mindset. Like books or movies, roleplaying games reflect the world we live in - both the good and the bad sides. If we failed to be respectful, despite our good intentions, I apologise. For those that don’t want issues like these in their scenario it’s easy to remove. It’s a small part of a single scene and the scenario does not break if it’s taken out. To me, it’s important that every gaming group shapes the raw material I provide in my books to their needs and tastes. Feel free to send me an email if you have more questions or want to discuss the book further. Clarence (clarence.redd@gmail.com)
Junkyard Blues
by Mario C. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2021 06:52:40

I found this adventure very interesting. It is challenging for players, full of surprising details and ideas. I have talked about it on my spanish blog "Murallas Blancas": https://murallasblancas.blogspot.com/2021/12/el-blues-de-la-chatarreria.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Junkyard Blues
by Anthony L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/24/2021 06:51:28

Another beautiful M-Space supplement from FrostByte. There's enough material here to run several interlocking (or overlapping) adventures that could easily fill a short campaign, depending on the choices of the players and the referee. The opportunities for deep, rich storytelling on the galactic equivalent of the great pacific garbage patch seem boundless.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Junkyard Blues
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2021 01:55:23

Well done, same high quality of layout as previous offerings. Art is very nice, evocative, with simple and clean maps. On a quick read-through, there is a good sense of urgency and atmosphere, with interesting set-pieces, and colorful NPCs. Recommend for fans of M-Space, good story for conversion to other gritty sci-fi systems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Junkyard Blues
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2021 14:50:47

As a gamer who loves the Mythras system, I find M-Space a great addition for SCI-FI games. At first look I like this adventure, I do need to have a good read through when I get the chance. This is an interesting adventure as players could end up very lost if they are not careful. However it looks like it will repay a balenced and thoughtful group. Clarence is doing a great job with M-Space. He has various unuseual adventure ideas and this looks like a wonderful one with some unuseual aliens and ships.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Junkyard Blues
by Daniel Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2021 14:41:36

I'm a big fan of M-Space so I am delighted to see quality content being produced for it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Junkyard Blues
by Ville K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2021 07:53:05

Scott Crowder has put together an excellent adventure for M-Space. The atmosphere is really something, the npcs and factions work are evocative and full of plot hooks. M-Space has good published adventures, but this stands out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you, Ville K!
M-space
by Darren P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2021 14:05:35

Mythras is a greaat games system and this is the perfect way to use that rules system in a Sci-fi setting. Very intelligently put together. It was easy to generate characcters and get started. Hope there will be more adventures for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Odd Soot
by alx n. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 12:13:12

This is a little jewel of a role-playing game, a quasi-perfect introduction to an alternate Earth of the 1920s where space-travel, alien species, and rare but potent magic co-exist, all of it informed by Scandinavian ethics and aesthetics.

The system is Mythras, a branch of Chaosium's famed Basic Role Playing system. Although Mythras can be quite crunchy, here, thankfully, it is presented with a light touch, emphasizing narration and social interactions over hard-core simulation. The book also contains a good, mood and theme-setting first adventure for two to five players.

The world of Odd Soot is very intriguing, lightly allegorical at times, and suffused with hints of Nordic Christian and pagan morality. Evocatively described in light but assured strokes, the vast world is one of low clouds, conspiracies, baffling contraptions, people harboring dark destructive obsessions, and sudden dreamlike visions and encounters.

More, please.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odd Soot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by Stéphane J. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2020 03:42:55

no big pictures of aliens in this core book, but a deep feeling of vast possibilites. rules allows a lot of flexibities. You can manage a world wild and dark or better a more funny place like star wars, but if you pay attention, you can develop a world with a lot of poetry and strange meetings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by David C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2020 09:51:53

Over the years, I've wanted to run a sci fi campaign, and I have collected A LOT of different games in hopes of getting one to launch with my group. Alien RPG, Stars Without Numbers, Eclipse Phase, 40k games, Star Wars FFG, Traveller, etc. An eclectic mix to say the least. The reason I love M-space, is because it's a versatile toolkit that helps me tell any store in any tone that I like.

The rules mechanisms are beautiful and easy to learn (Disclosure: I dig d%, skills-based games). The Special Effects aspect of combat seems a bit tricky from a learning curve perspective, but also adds some flair to combat. Starship/vehicle design, alien and world design, this game has exactly what I need at the perfect level of abstraction:detail that I need.

What I love most about this game, is that I can take any published adventure in any of the different systems I noted above and easily convert those adventures into M-space. This means my sci fi exploration campaign can land my team of players anywhere and I can radicaly change tone to reflect a new world or the party's mood.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2020 12:11:31

Link to my review of the M-Space Companion https://chrisbrann.wordpress.com/2020/06/25/review-of-m-space-companion-by-c-redd/ Well worth adding to your M-Space collection for running Sci-Fi games



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-SPACE Companion
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-SPACE Companion
by Marc A. U. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2020 09:23:53

The companion opens up a whole new dimension of character creation but for me the hacking rules are the cherry on top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 37 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates