DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
M-space
by Sebastian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2020 07:06:24

Being very expierenced GM that I am, I hate being dictated by the rules on how should I run my games, which is the reason I don't really buy into modern RPG design. BRP family is one of a kind; a tabletop-rules systems that is what RPGs were supposed to be in my eyes - a toolbox of rules and statistics that paves the way to our imaginations and helps bringing balance to the adventures and worlds that we create. No more, no less. This is what M-SPACE truely is. It is a complete system, one that does not require you to add or substract anything from in order to run your space-faring game. However it will also not break if you decide to do things your own way, which is not a common thing in a modern era of RPGs, that resemble board games with rules that are there to limit your potential and your imagination, so that every game session plays at the same, rather average level. There are no rules that will dictate how your players should roleplay their characters or how you should run your games. It's a sandbox of a rules system, which means that it has all the necessary rules to run a game in a SCI-FI universe - from PC's skills and attributes to equipment, combat rules, space-faring, alien creation, force (psionic) users and world building.

You can run anything SCI-FI related with M-SPACE and with very little changes. You can easily create Jedi Knight with the rules written here, Space Marine, galactic politican or Stormtrooper. As it is with all the BRP-related games; M-SPACE is very universal in a sense that every character, monster or robot is made of characteristics, attributes and skills. They all follow the same rules, making them more believable and easy to create. I could write much more on why D100 is the best system ever, but it has been said already so many times on the internet, that I don't see a point of repeating what other great minds have already said ;)

I cannot recommend more this game. Buy it! It's the best SCI-FI system that I know, that's for sure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elevation
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2019 15:19:48

Definitely worth getting. Expands on the already excellent M-Space core rulebook. Is well thought out and a very interesting setting with plenty of room for GM's to build upon. This is a great sandbox setting and the three adventures provided really get the ball rolling. What I liked best is how it gets the most game fun out of the extended conflict rules that make M-Space the leading edge in sci-fi roleplaying. I can't imagine going back to roleplaying without extended conflicts. The adventures in Elevation intelligently apply those rules to make exciting gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elevation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Triton Incident
by Jeremiah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2019 09:08:10

I have been impressed with Frostbye Books and Michael Larimore's work. A longtime fan of Runequest, Traveller, and the BRP system this game and its take on the Mythras setting space Sci-fi is fantastic. The world of M-Space has a Traveller feel and the art work invokes a that nostalgia and sense of wonder, yet leave the viewer feeling as if they could easily be present in Mr. Larimore's world. The Triton incident is easily accessible adventure, the players are given a setting/location with several NPC's that feel real and have credible motivations. I don't want to delve too deeply into the story and spoil the content for viewers. I have enjoyed this product as well as its source game material of M-Space. I recommend this adventure as a good introduction or continuation of play in M-Space.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Triton Incident
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by Néstor C. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2019 20:46:24

If you are interested on a D100 / BRP / Mythras traveller style campaign M-Space is a must have. Even, if you are interested on other scifi flavors, M-Space is a god point to start.

It add to Mythras several interesting rules, circles, extended conflicts, simplified combat and a different approach to Psychic powers than Luther Arkwright or Classic Fantasy. The circles are a kind of cult with several characteristics like influence or power that you can use for create societies and factions, for example you can use it for define the game terms from a Band to a interestellar megacorporation.

The extended conflicts are adapted from RevolutionD100, and are a very interesting tool that you can use for increase the drama, personally i believe that the consequences are to big and i personally prefer my own home rule that uses passions like 'aspects'.

Simplified combat comes from the extended conflicts and faster a lot the combats if your groups is more interested on other aspects of the game, personally, since the general rules comes from Mythras imperative i miss the inclusion of the rules showed at Mythras firearms, that are just the opposite.

When we arrive to Psychic powers we can see that the original game comes from BRP and they don follow the Mythras standard of 2 different skills. I dislike that a little but it is more a personal taste than a real problem. At the other side, there is a kind of powers tree, and i like to have requirements on the most powerful levels.

The specific scifi toolset comes with starships, alien creation and solar systems / planets rules.

Starships are created using modules, and are generally enough for represent anything you imagine except maybe, biologic ships or other exotic stuff. Aliens and planets are far away from MindJammer but still they are quite useful.

As a negative aspects, the book format is squared, which it should not be a problem unless the big exterior margins they have , it feels like a waste of space. Also, i would preferred some more inner margin to facilitate reading. I miss some more weapons, vehicles and equipment examples but definitively M-Space expands smoothly Mythras towards SciFi.

There are also a very interesting settings, of which Odd space is my preferred one although i don finished the reading of the last ones (elevation) and my opinion of it comes only from external reviewers. if i could, i would rate with a 4.5 aprox.

A must, as i said at the beginning.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elevation
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2019 18:31:15

A real interesting approach to the idea of Star Trek like organization in the real world of commerce, capitalism and trying to do the "Boldly Go" on a shoe string budget, with altruism as the guiding principle. It has the minimalist style of other Frost Byte products, but all the setting material one needs to get rolling, including three starting scenarios! Definitely in queue for my next SF based home game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elevation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elevation
by Rickard F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2019 04:27:45

The setting is well thought out, with lots of background information and story hooks. It’s easy to get into the world and start a campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Odd Soot
by Rickard F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/04/2018 08:42:39

Odd Soot is an intriguing game with lots of opportunities for exciting adventures. The caption ”Tell stories you have never heard before” captures it well. It has a Jules Verne-feel in a diesel punk setting. I imagine stories where the wonders of the late 1800:s meet the horrors of early 1900:s mechanical warfare meet Lovecraft-like mysteries. I especially appreciate the alien races. They are well constructed without the usual tropes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Odd Soot
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Odd Soot
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/27/2018 13:23:27

HI, this is a interesting setting for Mythras. A 1920's like world with space travel. The big thing in this game is the Odd Soot, a disease which slowly drives you mad and is across many planets. There are a few tweks to the basic Mythras system most simular to M-Space by the space puplisher. I haven't played this as yet but I have played Mythras and Classic Fantasy so I know the system. I look forward to running this intreging setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
by Jeremiah E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2018 06:53:42

As a long time fan of Runequest and all of the D100 systems, this is a fantastic Sci-fi/space opera game. The layout is sharp and well thought out. I would recommend this game to anyone looking for a good Sci-fi game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2018 00:14:21

Mythras (BRP) Space Opera rules, character generation is easy and very similar to Call of Cthulhu. Tasks are skill % roll under on d100; has a nice extended conflict rules for "social combat", and other situations. Has rules and examples for characters, spacecraft, worlds, vehicles, organizations, and aliens. Recommend getting the free pre-gen characters pdf download from the Frostbyte books site, as well as the free RQ6 Firearms pdf from The Design Mechanism site.

A very solid set of rules, only a couple of minor quibbles, nothing that would affect game play. It is generic, with a good coverage of sci-fi themes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reflux
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2017 23:34:28

Really nice adventure, well written, a great intro to the system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reflux
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Reflux
by Tony P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2017 11:49:37

Excellent work at providing a comprehensive setting that can be used "right out of the box." Even if you decide not to run the campaign, there is a plethora of information here that can be used for any M-Space or other sci-fi setting. There's new equipment, careers and aliens, all ready for your gaming experience. If you have M-Space, you'll want to add this to your library, it is magnificently layed out in a simple and easy to read manner just like M-Space Core. The illustrations are absolutely wonderful, and thought provoking.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Reflux
by Rudolf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/05/2017 16:49:56

M-Space now has a very interesting adventure with a lot of useful material and a setting which could serve as the start of a campaign - highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
by Rudolf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2016 07:20:52

The d100 family of roleplaying games has been missing a set of rules for science fiction scenarios and campaigns for a long time. M-Space does not only provide such rules, it offers an excellent toolbox for the science fiction genre. I especially liked the chapters on Extended Conflicts and on Circles (= various types of organizations), but all the other chapters are equally well presented and useful. Since most d100 games are more or less compatible, M-Space is a very good supplement not only for Mythras (=ex-RQ6), but also for the other members of the family, from BRP to Open Quest. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
M-space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

M-space
by Asa D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2016 10:07:48

Very nice work, this supplement is an excellent addition to the Mythras line. I really like Extended Conflicts rules it adds a lot to narrative gameplaying it looks like from reading that you do a good job providing two different play styles those like a crunchy and and simplified streamline play. An a example of this is a simplifiedsimplified combat rules. The game also provides character sheets for both ships, players, Aliens, vehicles, world, organizations and probably more that I missed. The sheet are another great add ones that I'll be able to use that only with M-Space but a good number of the the other supplements. Again I say good job, looking forward to using your system this weekend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates