DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
The Comae Engine
by Craig [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2024 14:50:40

A couple of observations...

First off, this is a very handsome book to look at - especially the print version. Secondly, this is not a complete game but a framework that you are encouraged to expand or reduce as you see fit.

Like most RPG gamers of my advancing years, I have many different games in my collection and I like to thieve the best ideas from the ones that catch my eye, so "the Comae Engine" fits my requirements completely - the extended conflicts, luck options and the NPC generator will be flung at my gaming groups forthwith.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Comae Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by Kaarne [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2024 00:31:44

One of the better solo rpg frameworks, right up there with Mythic GME. Combines especially well with d100/BRP games, but should work just as nicely with other games. I especially like how much information and inspiration is delivered by the three dice, which are always rolled together. Additionally, the Story Tokens provide a nice narrative framework and add some tangible gameplay elements, plus some nice narrative benefits as well. The physical presentation is top notch and comes with some impressive, moody art. A great addition for a solo player!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by Frank [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 09:07:56

Initial impressions.

Quick easy rules for an oracle replacement of a GM. Can be used as a GM assist as well. The inclusion of a full game replay is a welcomed guide and it is extremely well written. That sets a very high bar for my solo games going forward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Comae Engine
by Steve [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 03:39:02

Ordered the POD Hardback at the same time as i ordered Trey.... Lovely book, presentation and art are excellent and very atmospheric. I am a gamer in my late 50's and the D100 system from Runequest, Cthulhu and Stormbringer etc was the first true RPG system i encountered and has always been my favourite... with this in mind, this book is perfect for me in so many ways, i am sure it will get a lot of use in my homebrew stuff, but I can also imagine that it's simplified and unified content will be really useful with M-Space, Cthulhu and my other D100 games (not that they are broken anyway.) Well worth your time and money. (as are Trey and M-Space)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Comae Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by Steve [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 03:34:24

Ordered the POD Hardback.... Lovely book, presentation and art are excellent and very atmospheric. I am a gamer in my late 50's and the D100 system from Runequest, Cthulhu and Stormbringer etc was the first true RPG system i encountered and has always been my favourite... with this in mind, this book is perfect for me in so many ways, i am sure it will get a lot of use with Comae Engine, M-Space and my other D100 games. Well worth your time and money. (as are Comae Engine and M-Space)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by Andrew [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 03:19:18

A very nice, lightweight system for running Solo RPGs, or as an aid for an overworked GM to offload some of the decision making. The one role system (using 3 distinct dice) is very quick to resolve, and the key tables from the book can be printed 2-up on a single sheet of paper, making for very easy reference at at the table. This does not have any requirement to use the Comae Engine either - I have used this for Year Zero Engine games, as well as The One Ring.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Comae Engine
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 02:19:49

Take the percentile-based core mechanic of the Basic Roleplaying family of games, merge it with the narrative flexibility of QuestWorlds (formerly HeroQuest), and The Comae Engine will spring forth Athena-like from the brow of Zeus. That narrative flexibility makes social encounters as tension-filled and exciting as combat encounters in other games and systems. What you do in the fiction informs the skill(s) used to resolve the conflict, and the pool which governs that conflict's progress should you escalate. Easy to learn, quick in play, and simple to master.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Comae Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Comae Engine
by Rod [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 01:59:55

I just wrote a review for TREY, the solo game engine and a lot of that applies to this. I was sceptical, especially as I am very much an old school D100 gamer, but this is the sort of system that brings those old classics into the future without breaking or even replacing them. Glad to see the D100 family is not only alive and kicking, but ever evolving from such a sound base.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by Rod [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2024 01:57:06

Ok. From the perspective of an older gamer, one that has more recently switched to just D100 RPG titles and to be honest, now like my games lite, easy and a little old school, this is a very, very welcome addition and does something that I hold dear. I tend to take other systems and convert them to D100, but it is tedious and often needs specific conversions. TREY allows me to blend, replace or just add to these. From the perspective of a new gamer, I would assume it would be as good a place to start "easy" as any and a good safety net if a new system falls short somehow. It would also be idea l for a very occasional gamer who just want to fill in the blanks and game without drudge. Typical of FrostByte it is wonderful value, very approachable and the art, done by the author is typically Scandi, by which I mean deep, moody, emotive and inspiring, just like Tales From The Loop and Symbaroum (some of my favourite art came from the M-Space Companion).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/02/2024 17:37:22

I bought TREY and I am quite impressed with it. The Oracle dice (d10, d8, d6) is an interesting way to answer questions. I liked the idea of having the physical orientation of the dice sometimes a factor in the answer. TREY seems like something that could be used when designing adventures or testing games. Rather than being a set of generator tables, which no matter how varied are ultimately limited by their contents, TREY is a more open-ended imagination stimulant, a bit like the I Ching or Brian Eno's Oblique Strategies (or the classic Magic 8 Ball), though specifically aimed at RPGs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
The Comae Engine
by Mapa [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2024 02:32:34

Excellent simplified version of D100. It's exactly what I was looking for. I'm looking forward to run my next campaign using it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Comae Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2024 05:59:03

Wonderful see my review here https://chrisbrann.wordpress.com/2024/03/16/review-of-the-comae-engine-trey/

Update. I have used TREY to help me as a GM when a decision needs to be made with no info already prepared. It worked wonderfully, as a spaceship needed a combat decision and it tried to Jump and blew up. Players loved it so did I. worked out much easier and quicker than other systems I have tried



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TREY - Solo Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Comae Engine
by Christopher [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2024 05:57:39

Wonderful see my review here https://chrisbrann.wordpress.com/2024/03/16/review-of-the-comae-engine-trey/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Comae Engine
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Red Star
by Moritz B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/25/2023 11:24:34

This is the first supplement for Odd Soot and after a great core rule book, this adventure doesn't dissapoint. It is the first part of a three part campaign, though this volume already gives a synopsis of what is to come for the game master. We get a strange mystery with plenty of NPCs and hand outs for players to investigate. There is great advice for the GM on how to start the adventure and how to tie everything together. We get helpful sidebars with descriptions and short tables. At the end of the book there are four sample PCs for players to use if they don't want to create their own. Like the core book, the artwork and layout is excellent (I found only one spelling mistake and one "p. XX"). Handouts and maps are available on the publisher's website.

My only criticism is that the book is a bit short. It comes at 80 pages, including table of contents, full page pictures, and ads. While the adventure should work fine (I haven't run/played it yet but know similar published scenarios in WFRP and Cthulhu), it really feels short like something out of a gaming magazine. In combination with the great production values though - I have the physical copy of this - it is well worth its price and I am looking forward to the next installment.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Red Star
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
The Red Star
by Tobias D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2023 02:51:42

I haven't run "Odd Soot" yet, but I find both the basic rulebook and the now published first part of the campaign interesting and some ideas in it quite original. At first glance it seems like a mixture of Cthulhu and Space 1889, but compared to the latter the focus here is less on politics, strategy and action, and more on mystery and a certain surreal atmosphere. The illustrations contribute greatly to this atmosphere. The emphasis is on detective work, just like in the introductory adventure of the basic rulebook, which, along with the rich handouts, reinforces the impression that Odd Sott currently still plays like a Mythras variant of Cthulhu. This approach is very much in line with my own preferences. As for the basic idea of the campaign, it is close to the "Nocturnum" campaign for Cthulhu, but the plot quickly develops in a different direction. The later parts are supposed to focus more on adventure. How well Odd Soot can combine the more investigative approach with the idea of early space travel and adventures on distant worlds remains to be seen. The proposed entry into the plot from different starting points depending on the character is challenging, especially for less experienced game masters. My motivation to run Odd Soot for a longer period of time has increased.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 61 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates