DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Trailer Park Shark Attack!
by Jeff B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 17:35:52

I ran Trailer Park Shark Attack! for my group last night. We all had a blast! Four players had never played Savage Worlds before and the other two had played with me a few times. Lots of laughs, shouts of surprise (the first mutant shark man? wow!), a really good time.

Great props and minis included. Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trailer Park Shark Attack!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin Savaged
by Jordan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 17:17:51

For a long time, I've wanted to run a "Deadlands Reloaded" campaign, but with the weirdness factor dialed down considerably: The supernatural just isn't special anymore, if NOTHING EVER HAPPENS in the setting without a werewolf or the walkin' dead or some other weirdness being behind it all. As such, what I really had been wishing for was some sort of a framework for a wild west setting/campaign WITHOUT all the weirdness ... and then, maybe, once I let the heroes go through a few more "conventional" western adventures, I could slowly reveal something more sinister and strange going on.

Well, when I related such a wish to a friend, I was directed to look into the works of Dog House Rules for a starting point. I'm glad I took a look!

First off, the important thing to clarify is that this IS NOT a Deadlands supplement, and it most certainly IS NOT a "plot point campaign." As written, it's a resource that could be used for a conventional western adventure using the core Savage Worlds rules ... but it could also just as easily be used as the backdrop for more strange goings-on in a Deadlands campaign. The sample town of "The Flats" is presented as loosely based upon the historic frontier town that sprang up around Fort Griffin, though quite a bit of artistic license is taken to fill in gaps in the historical record (and there are several author's note sidebars to underscore which elements have more historical grounding, whereas others are invented to serve an adventure role, as a heads-up for the GM). Colorful floor plans are included of various buildings of interest in the town, and a separate document includes blown-up versions of the floor plans -- with or without 1" grid -- at a scale useful for miniatures gaming.

The organization is very location-based, as each "chapter" proceeds to spell out, in detail, what can be found at a particular business, who works there, and details about other "colorful characters" who can be found there regularly, their relationships with others, and so forth. In addition, there are multiple "plot hooks," some tied to specific characters, some more generally associated with the location iself. In keeping with the /possibility/ that this could be used for Deadlands Reloaded, there are a few adventure hook suggestions for ways to introduce more of a supernatural twist to each hook.

It's also important to note what it is not.

It is NOT a "dungeon module." A GM cannot sit down at the table a couple of hours before he's due to run a game, skim through, and immediately launch into an adventure. There is a considerable amount of cross-reference, as there are various interactions (or POSSIBLE interactions) between various of the town's inhabitants, most of them presented as potential adventure hooks, and it's up to the GM to determine wihch of those options are actually true.

It's also not a "plot point campaign" of the sort featured in many of the Savage Worlds setting books. While there are plenty of optional adventures and "forks in the road" provided that could be used in a series of adventures for the heroes over the course of a campaign, there's no overall "plot," or anything pushing the heroes toward a final, climactic confrontation with the "big bad."

Rather, this is more of a tool for the GM to help flesh out a number of wild-west city locations and the NPCs who work and live there. It could be used to bring to life the core town that a group of PCs is using as a base of operations, or else the individual locations could be used as "seeds" for something more interesting than just another "generic" hotel, church, saloon, bank, store, jail, or theater that happens to be the backdrop for the adventure of the week.

In that role, I found it to be an entertaining and useful read, full of all sorts of possibilities for more conventional western adventures (and more than a few optional hooks on the weirder side, catering to more supernatural settings such as "Deadlands"). The map tiles are beautifully done, and by themselves they're worth the price of admission; I've printed them onto cardstock and glued them down onto mat board, using them as the basis for some gunfight scenarios. A third included document, the character reference, is also handy in that it provides short, organized profiles for a number of NPCs of varying importance in the scenarios presented -- they can easily be printed off separately and used as a quick-ref by the GM at the table, or cut out and used as handouts for scenarios where players have to form a "posse" out of local NPCs, and temporarily take stewardship of them for larger miniatures battles. (The more important NPCs also come with illustrations.)

Overall, I found this to be a very useful and inspiring resource for my not-so-weird-western game scenarios using Savage Worlds rules. Given the two-part title ("Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin"), I can only hope that this is the first of some sort of "Frontier Towns" SERIES of releases, because I could certainly use more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin Savaged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savaged Six Guns: The James-Younger Gang
by Jordan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 15:23:51

This is a quick and useful Savage Worlds reference -- a group of NPC outlaws, either the historic James-Younger Gang, or just another gang strongly resembling it, "with the serial numbers filed off" -- either for plugging into supernatural/steampunk games of Deadlands Reloaded, or else more conventional westerns just using the core Savage Worlds rules. Given that it's FREE, I certainly can't beat the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savaged Six Guns: The James-Younger Gang
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Savaged Buckshots: Triple-Barreled
by Jordan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 15:20:59

This is a simple bundle of three standalone wild-west adventures converted over to use the Savage Worlds rules set. As such, they /could/ be used with Savage Worlds settings such as Deadlands (for the occasional adventure that DOES NOT involve any steampunk or supernatural elements in it for a change), or they could just be used on their own with the core Savage Worlds rules for a more conventional western adventure. Straightforward, well-presented, and flexible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savaged Buckshots: Triple-Barreled
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Trailer Park Shark Attack!
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 23:03:11

I got this on a dare. No, seriously, a buddy of mine told me to drop everything, as Trailer Park Shark Attack! (TPSA!) was on the Deal of the Day.

I was surprised to find a well-polished homage to B-movie shark films, from Jaws to Sharknado to The Meg. Not only does the author present multiple main plotlines as to just why sharks of every variety are attacking this flooded trailer park, but they also include multiple side plots you can churn the waters with. And they provide extensive map tiles and paper miniatures for the sharks.

My only complaint - if you can call it a complaint - is while they provided minis for the sharks, the trailer park residents didn't get paper minis. Where am I to find two dozen paper minis of various rednecks? I'll figure it out, I'll probably just use stills from Ozark and/or The Trailer Park Boys. But still...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Trailer Park Shark Attack!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin Savaged
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2018 08:32:59

Top notch gaming supplemental! DHR will always help you bring quality to the table!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin Savaged
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Buckshots: For Whom the Bugle Blows
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2006 00:00:00

Excellent western adventure but I personally feel the setting should have been slightly earlier but that's the nitpicky history nut in me.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Excellent adventure.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing really, just personal preference.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Buckshots: For Whom the Bugle Blows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 3
by Andrew B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/16/2006 00:00:00

One of the cool things about Sidewinder: Recoiled, or any RPG set in the old west, is that it can draw heavily from the real world for inspiration. Even the most cinematic western games have their roots in the history of the American frontier. Places like Tombstone and Dodge City are familiar to many people not only for their historical importance, but also for their heavy contribution to the mythology of the old west.

The Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin Series from Dog House Rules represents a blending between fact and fantasy. The books detail the area known as the Flat, a 19th century Texas boomtown that grew up in the shadow of Fort Griffin. Fort Griffin and the Flat were real places. They existed on the rolling buffalo plains that some Texas historians now call ?the most dangerous prairie in Texas.? The town of the Flat was the host to living legends like Doc Holiday and Wyatt Earp, and earned a reputation as a den of outlaws, gamblers, bandits, and buffalo hunters. It?s proximity to Fort Griffin made it something of a launching point for a number of army operations into the plains?and the shadow of the Kiowa and Comanche raiders frequently fell across the Flat?s scrubwood buildings. In other words, it?s a perfect setting for an old west roleplaying game.

Each of these books detail a number of locations in the area, as well as the NPCs that live and work within them. This particular PDF focuses on six businesses: the post office, a laundry, a wagon yard, a church, a doctor?s office, and a bakery. For every location there is a map, a full description, information on relevant NPCs, adventure hooks, and advice on integrating the site into a campaign or adventure. Since Fort Griffin was a real place, a lot of these characters come straight out of history. In many cases the authors have fictionalized the details, but the little historical touches are a nice feature.

The book?s biggest strength is the amount of detail each location receives. Besides the background and necessary descriptions, there are lots of plot hooks and potential adventure ideas. In most cases, the authors shy away from making any information set in stone. Instead, they give two or three suggestions as to what the truth might be. A good example is the Chen Laundry. The Chinese widow that runs the place seems to have a lot of money, and no one in town is quite sure how she got it. Fort Griffin gives a few possible answers and discusses the ramifications of each. The truth, however, is up to the GM.

Besides six businesses and approximately 29 NPCs (plus a cat), there is adventure advice not tied to any specific building or business. This is meant to help the GM tie the locations together and build his own adventures. I liked the variety of the adventure hooks, and I thought that the suggested variants on each really helped extend their usability to all kinds of campaigns and play styles.

As a bonus, the download contains a separate file for each map for ease of use and printing, plus two battle-map versions of each map intended for use with miniatures.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Fort Griffin 3 is a great supplement that takes a real old west location and brings it alive with the Sidewinder: Recoiled rules. If you?re running an old west game, and you?re looking to detail a campaign base for your characters, you?ll find a lot of great stuff in this series.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: In a product with so many useful maps, I was surprised that the download didn?t include a general map of the whole town. While I have lots of information on these six businesses, I have only an abstract idea as to where they are located in relation to each other and the rest of the Fort Griffin area.

Also, several of the NPCs carry weapons that are only detailed in a separate supplement. I found this somewhat annoying, especially in an era where RPG books are largely self-contained. I?m sure that the other book is probably a good one, but why not reprint the basic info in this product?

Finally, I understand why the authors are splitting the town into several products, but the idea of having to open three separate PDFs every time I?m writing adventures for the setting doesn?t thrill me. Each is written to be self-contained, certainly, but I think most people will want to own at more than one. Hopefully, we?ll see some kind of compilation down the road.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
by Robert R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2006 00:00:00

Excellent old west setting usable for any generic or old west rpg despite being statted for d20 Sidewinder. I personally think its more usable with quicker less complex game systems such as Savage Worlds.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: their choice of d20 - d20 is too cumbersome for old west. IMO DHR should switch to Savage Worlds or better yet - completely generic rules free for any system.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
by Denys C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/15/2006 00:00:00

Fort Griffin describe a perfect town for your western adventure. It's a really good work with floor plan and a lot of characters. It seems that the work was really well done, and historical research went deep. This is a must have for every western fan?: from that and with a little work, you can create a "Deadwood" (the serie) feeling or something more like old John Wayne movies. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The amount of historical details about Fort Griffin. The floor plan. Some charcters are very well described.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Fort Griffin was about the buffalo hunting, and I would have liked if this aspect was more detailed. Some stronger themes should have been explored, the hooks are a little too "nice" for my taste.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sidewinder: Recoiled
by Gunnar L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2005 00:00:00

Love this game.. I recently started a campaign and it is fast becoming a favorite of my gaming group<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Knowing the D20 rules is a big aid when using other D20 game systems<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sidewinder: Recoiled
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sidewinder: Recoiled
by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2005 00:00:00

best Western RPG ever. excellent detail, great rules. This is the best there is in this genre.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: everything :)<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I cannot think of anything negative to say<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2005 00:00:00

You can tell the Sidewinder: Recoiled books are a labor of love and this one is no exception. You get the main book in color and black & white files, maps in 15mm & 25mm scale and reference maps for the Judge. If you like gaming in the West get this today.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 2
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2005 00:00:00

As in Vol. 1 you get the main book in color and black & white files, maps in 15mm & 25mm scale and reference maps for the Judge. An excellence source book for Western gaming. I'm looking forward to Vol. 3.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fort Griffin Echo - Volume 1, Number 2
by Tim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2005 00:00:00

Chock full of tidbits for Sidewinder. I was slightly disappointed that there was no Cinema Styles article, but this is very minor. Very good supplement. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fort Griffin Echo - Volume 1, Number 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 32 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates