DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
$ to $















Back
pixel_trans.gif
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
pixel_trans.gif
QUEERZ! Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
by JL [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2024 23:14:32

First, the game. It's a variation of the City of Mists game. What makes this game different from any superhero game I have played is its approach to overcoming intolerance in lieu of the usual hack-n-slash, beat-em-up games. Intolerance is treated as a sort of infectious substance. After a showdown, players will go into the minds of the villains to try and conquer the fear that is fueling their intolerance. In short, villains are treated as victims needing help. It's a little hard to wrap your head around as to how that actually works in play. I was worried it was going to be too over-the-top with the kitschy stuff. It is pretty ramped up, but you can easily tone some of that down. I say this because at first glance it looks like it is geared towards a younger audience. The grittiness of City of Mists ends up getting replaced with some tense real-world themes. For anyone who is geeky or queer, those who have been ostracized for it, may find some of the issues intense. There are plenty of warnings as to what thematic elements are at play so you can adjust their scenarios accordingly. The game encourages you to play things as somewhat ridiculous as opposed to incorporating outright bigotry. But in a lot of their own adventures they are having to warn about things like "forced gender identity" and "unaccepting family." So, things can still be pretty gritty if you want them to be just by using more realistic issues. The system is simple, so it is great for inexperienced players. It uses a lot of tags, so it could even be good for teaching younger people how to think outside of the box in using a tag like "shred the binary" or "penetrate ignorance." Adults and more experienced players will appreciate the presence of a fairly open-ended, but well defined ruleset. The tags are pretty much anything goes, but there are limits to how many and to what extent you can use them, including having them burn out if the GM deems it. I cannot recommend this game enough if you are looking for something truly different in rpgs. Queerz also has a lot of appeal for the queer community, but I have played with straight people who had just as much fun with these characters. Without any sexual content, there really isn't anything to do with actual sexuality. But it is one of those games you might learn something about yourself playing. That doesn't happen very often. Buy this game. The Adventure Bundle is the best deal as a digital version. You get everything, including all four books, for about the price of one of the hard copy products. I actually own both hard copies and digital now, that's how much I think you should buy this. The extra pregen characters are cool, you will want the Status Tracking cards. BTW, the MC (GM) is the only one that has to deal with a lot of individual cards, but the players can just have a sheet with a bank of cards on them. Either way, the cards make things a lot easier whether they are cut out or not. The only thing missing is a digital character sheet we can fill out. They do sell City of Mists dossiers here that will work, but they don't look as cool as the pregen character sheets. That's a hint to Son of Oak. All in all this is a great game. I recommend it if you are looking for a different superhero game or something more focused on roleplaying and storytelling than clearing the dungeon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUEERZ! Adventure Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
QUEERZ! TTRPG - Basic Set PDF
by JL [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2024 23:13:57

First, the game. It's a variation of the City of Mists game. What makes this game different from any superhero game I have played is its approach to overcoming intolerance in lieu of the usual hack-n-slash, beat-em-up games. Intolerance is treated as a sort of infectious substance. After a showdown, players will go into the minds of the villains to try and conquer the fear that is fueling their intolerance. In short, villains are treated as victims needing help. It's a little hard to wrap your head around as to how that actually works in play. I was worried it was going to be too over-the-top with the kitschy stuff. It is pretty ramped up, but you can easily tone some of that down. I say this because at first glance it looks like it is geared towards a younger audience. The grittiness of City of Mists ends up getting replaced with some tense real-world themes. For anyone who is geeky or queer, those who have been ostracized for it, may find some of the issues intense. There are plenty of warnings as to what thematic elements are at play so you can adjust their scenarios accordingly. The game encourages you to play things as somewhat ridiculous as opposed to incorporating outright bigotry. But in a lot of their own adventures they are having to warn about things like "forced gender identity" and "unaccepting family." So, things can still be pretty gritty if you want them to be just by using more realistic issues. The system is simple, so it is great for inexperienced players. It uses a lot of tags, so it could even be good for teaching younger people how to think outside of the box in using a tag like "shred the binary" or "penetrate ignorance." Adults and more experienced players will appreciate the presence of a fairly open-ended, but well defined ruleset. The tags are pretty much anything goes, but there are limits to how many and to what extent you can use them, including having them burn out if the GM deems it. I cannot recommend this game enough if you are looking for something truly different in rpgs. Queerz also has a lot of appeal for the queer community, but I have played with straight people who had just as much fun with these characters. Without any sexual content, there really isn't anything to do with actual sexuality. But it is one of those games you might learn something about yourself playing. That doesn't happen very often. Buy this game. The Adventure Bundle is the best deal as a digital version. You get everything, including all four books, for about the price of one of the hard copy products. I actually own both hard copies and digital now, that's how much I think you should buy this. The extra pregen characters are cool, you will want the Status Tracking cards. BTW, the MC (GM) is the only one that has to deal with a lot of individual cards, but the players can just have a sheet with a bank of cards on them. Either way, the cards make things a lot easier whether they are cut out or not. The only thing missing is a digital character sheet we can fill out. They do sell City of Mists dossiers here that will work, but they don't look as cool as the pregen character sheets. That's a hint to Son of Oak. All in all this is a great game. I recommend it if you are looking for a different superhero game or something more focused on roleplaying and storytelling than clearing the dungeon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
QUEERZ! TTRPG - Basic Set PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
COM - Fillable PDF Character Sheet Bundle (EN)
by NiNi B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2023 07:14:48

Absolutely love this. I'm a big fan of colored character sheets (keeps my attention easier than looking at B/W), so seeing this available was a blessing. Great work!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COM - Fillable PDF Character Sheet Bundle (EN)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Wulin Rivals
by Devin J C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2023 08:52:10

Love this. Great addition to the wuxia genre of RPGs and to City of Mist. Super excited to integrate this into my games



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wulin Rivals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
City of Mist: 'Yellow Pages' Quick Reference Sheets
by Daniel S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2022 03:27:46

Very useful addition. Especially when you can't rely on your memory... damn you Gatekeepers!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: 'Yellow Pages' Quick Reference Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Familiar Dangers - Vol 1
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2022 21:36:20

Apart from a few typos I feel overall al these dangers are rather well done at represtning the pregens that are unique to city of mist.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Familiar Dangers - Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
City of Mist Small-Time Villain: Puppet Show
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/14/2022 19:01:02

This villian is frightning along with having alot of cool danger prodiles. Reminds me of Jasons mother so much



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist Small-Time Villain: Puppet Show
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
A Thousand Sweet Kisses
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2022 20:58:18

This adventure is short, simple and to the point which for a starting adventure is just great. For newly awakend rifts and mcs this is a good starting adventure. Not to mention there is said to be more connected adventures on the horizon



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Thousand Sweet Kisses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Facing the Music
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2022 21:35:37

A great vase where nobody is the good guy. Also a classic use of a fairly standard myth (Oied Pipper) with him being a saxaphone player with a great Danger Profile. I will put a trigger warning for dealing with themes of suicide. Apart from that this case is fantastic and me and my players loved it



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Facing the Music
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Danger Workbook
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2022 12:26:46

This is a great product. The danger profile templates are great at being clear and organized while breaking it all down to the bear minimum. Still it provides enough of a blank slate for anyone to just write down iedas.

That said I do find there is an issue with calculating stars, maybe a cheat sheet somewhere that explains what moves and abilities will add stars and how much. I do think that is an issue here.

Apart from that this product is really solid and super useful.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Danger Workbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Orihime Tsukimori: City of Mist Avatar Profile and Case
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2022 03:45:59

I will be honest when I saw the artwork, heard the concept and concept I really felt like this wouldn't work with City Of Mist. That said when I looked at the actual operation this Avatar works so well. They use a great metaphor for chasing unrealistic dreams, not fulfilling dreams and the behind the scenes unethical business of the entertainment industry. The theme of anime V tuner is supper fitting.

I also love the use of a Japanese folklore princess instead of like a god or spirit monsters. This work for each of the other rifts including fairytale and other folklore. The danger profiles are fitting for each character and are quite interesting each.

IiII certainlycertainlycertainlycertainlyIcccccertainlycertainlyIcccc



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Orihime Tsukimori: City of Mist Avatar Profile and Case
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for those kind words! One of the things that I love about City of Mist is how it uses mythos and stories to relate to Avatar operations and its impact in human society to give a tangible mastermind. With entertainment being rampant as a force for both good and evil, I wanted to put it into writing with Orihime Tsukimori while giving it a realistic take with how unethical some practices are in the industry. Thank you so much for supporting me, and I hope that you and your players love the Dangers, the Case, the pregen character, and the Avatar just as much as mine did!
pixel_trans.gif
Thank you so much for those kind words! One of the things that I love about City of Mist is how it uses mythos and stories to relate to Avatar operations and its impact in human society to give a tangible mastermind. With entertainment being rampant as a force for both good and evil, I wanted to put it into writing with Orihime Tsukimori while giving it a realistic take with how unethical some practices are in the industry. Thank you so much for supporting me, and I hope that you and your players love the Dangers, the Case, the pregen character, and the Avatar just as much as mine did!
pixel_trans.gif
The City in Twilight
by Andrew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2022 00:19:29

This district is fantastic. The environment and district feels very atmospheric and yet relatable as this is a giant magic park. The park also is based on the Norse tree and it describes this theme well including the fact that the park is needed for the city to sustain itself, city's need Parks for people to not go insane. This district really feels that this place is somewhere else entirely and has it's own residents. The factions are great with the main one being based on Norse mythology and trying to keep the park alive. The other is also Norse but they want to destroy the park, the city and create Ragnarok. The best however is a faction that's actually Egyptian Mythos and they want to twist the park to their Mythos Instead and fundimentally changing the entire city. The leaders of each faction is fantastic and have their own danger profiles.

The danger profiles are very interesting and fitting. They range from magic killer termite swarms, Besearkers, Egyptian Warriors and even a man with magic shows. The park can include other Mythos from other books including the Night Line, Airship Coyotes, and Piotor The Rat.

The only thing I would add however would be some inclusion of fey or other nature spirit Mythos. Things like a Dryad Gardner, Creepy Witches lead by Baba Yaga, A Shakespeare concert hall that's an enclave of "A midsummer Night's Dream" that live inside the park. This does not mean that they would be innocent as many times fey would take your kids and cause misfortune on you if you anger them. Also some first Nations or indigenous Mythos would work very well having living in Canada though I fully Admit I am not indigenous I just really enjoy the culture. Overall this district is fantastic and I am planning to use it and expand it inside my own gamesThis



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City in Twilight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
City of Mist: Player's Guide
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2022 11:24:49

Angel's Citadel reviewed this product. You can check out our thoughts here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/11/12/review-city-of-mist/

TL;DR - Incredibly unique game and one that we want to play in the near future. Fantastic production and value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
City of Mist: MC Toolkit
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2022 11:24:26

Angel's Citadel reviewed this product. You can check out our thoughts here: https://angelscitadel.com/2021/11/12/review-city-of-mist/

TL;DR - Incredibly unique game and one that we want to play in the near future. Fantastic production and value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
City of Mist: MC Toolkit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
QUEERZ! TTRPG Demo Game
by Ron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2021 07:04:36

This is a Powerrangers RPG without the license. And to hide that fact they replace good vs evil with gay vs ignorantl Yep ... you read that right. Like the original sin in Christian religion where everyone is seen as in need of absolution because of something that happened in the before times. In this game everyone is ignorant to some degree and only the forces of 'good' can cleanse them of their 'evil'/ 'ignorance'.

I've never read a game that tried to insult its potential audience as this one. No one ever had to write how a game about elves could be played by humans. And the few that were aware that they targeted a difficult subject ... did so without being a dick about it.

This is propaganda posing as a game that screams "to be gay is to be flaming like all the bad gay stereotypes in all the media"

So if you like your gays to be flaming then this is the game for you. If you think that the alphabet-soup people are just like you and me ... then this is not meant for you. Because instead you get insulted for not being gay enough to participate in the team. You get to be an 'ally'. Someone who doesn't get to have the cool powers that the alfabet soup team members of QUEERZ get to use.

But hey ... let's forget the setting and look at the rest. The art is perfect for a flashy gay superhero cliche propaganda leaflet with a game attached.

The rules ? It's 'powered by the apocalypse' so everything is dripping in theme. This is usually a good thing, because games with this system thrive by making everything very thematic. The problem is that it creates weird rules, because in order to 'fix' things you have to 'care' for it, which is typical of thematic PbtA games that try to have all of their cake and eat it. PbtA variants work best when they are aware of their limitations and avoid the need for moves that don't reflect the theme.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
QUEERZ! TTRPG Demo Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

pixel_trans.gif
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 40 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
pixel_trans.gif
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates