DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Bruno L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/25/2022 05:01:35

For free! How can anyone disregard this?! Bought 2 (phisycal) copies for myself and been doing all kind of games, since old d&d modules, Lamentations of the Flame Princess and so on! Just buy it (at cost) or download it and print, whatever suits you. There is no excuse that this is an expensive hobby! Thanks to WB FMAG!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Francisco J. T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2021 21:02:08

My favorite retroclone! The best way to play OD&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Aaron J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2020 16:58:16

Presentation, artwork and rules are all top notch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2019 07:07:42

Best of the OSRs. Easy to play, easy to reference, gorgeous black and white art.

If you want a bare-bones RPG that lets the rules get out of your way so you can focus on story and characters with little mechanical complexity this is for you .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Tyler C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/10/2019 23:35:57

I have played and run almost every OSR game out there to date. But White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game takes the cake. Charlie has really outdone himself and presented us with an amazing, easily accessable game. I also have to mention the price. This game costs less than a latte though it does sell for a higher price on Drivethru. I have used this to start several gaming clubs and introduce about 30 people to table top gaming. The new edition has improved the Thief class with a better HP progression and the monsters and spells sections are now two columns. Overall, great improvements to an already fantastic game! White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game has really inspired me as a GM and I now really look forward to running my weekly sessions after having burnt out on other systems. Easily hackable, simple to create new classes for, I haven't had this much fun gaming in years. Charlie's game has inspired me to start a blog about my home campaign which I plan on releasng in print in the near future. To see what this game can do, I invite thoses interesetd to check out my blog:

https://almostcampaign.blogspot.com/

Your imaginiation is the limit! Thanks for completely renewing my interst in runing games Charlie and for getting me back in the GM seat with worlds to explore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Courtney H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/27/2019 16:01:53

The best version of the greatest game ever made. The artwork is great. The layout is clear and easy to reference. The only rules left out are the ones you don't need. I wish I had this book when I was a kid.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Character Sheet 2
by Charles I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2018 21:57:22

I feel like this is to busy and has to much on it for good use. However, it is really nice and well done.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Character Sheet 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Swords & Wizardry Compatibility Logo
by Tim B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2018 12:25:27

Great logo that's easy to read at multiple sizes and comes on a transparent background (as a PNG file) so it can easily be worked into any cover or interior art placement. The other logos I've seen tend to be a bit too busy, so this one works better IMHO. I contacted the creator (Charlie Mason of Seattle Hill Games) and he was open to any and all using this logo, so it's a great community asset and I'm proud to have it on my upcoming S&W compatible adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Wizardry Compatibility Logo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Wind L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2018 20:59:51

The best OSR game by far. Buy it. Play it. Never surrender.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Bryan E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2018 17:06:46

I have both the PDF and hardcover of this book. It is the best retro-clone of OD&D out there with plenty of options to play OD&D as is or use the optional rules such as ascending armor class with ease. There is an optional thief class that is well done and, in my opinion, is much better than the original thief from the Greyhawk supplement. The hard copies are being sold at cost which makes me love this product even more. I HIGHLY recommend this product to anyone looking for a great and well organized/clearly written retro-clone or just a ruleset that is quick and easy to learn (it is a great ruleset to teach new players and they can download the PDF for free here).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Shane W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2017 10:54:14

This is by far one of my favourite versions of old school roleplaying. I currently use a different system for fantasy gaming, however I have started to use a few house rules within it. The funny thing is all the house rules are taken directly from White Box! The book is well written, laid out really nicely. I can't wait to run it straight up by the book (which will be after the current campaign ends).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box : Fantastic Medieval Adventure Game
by Angela W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2017 11:24:41

I loved this book. I will be playing White Box in the near future because of this book. Other more Modern rpg's are a hot mess compaired with the simple elegance of White Box. Buy this book,some pencils and notebook paper along with gragh paper and some dice and never spend anothner $ on rpg's.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wizard's Scroll - Issue 1
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2017 16:32:33

An awesome 'zine. Great content. Professional layout with high quality art. Well work the $2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Wizard's Scroll - Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Wizard's Scroll - Issue 1
by Sophia B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2017 04:10:40
  • TWS is a must-buy for fans of Swords & Wizardry. Great value for money. 50+ pages for USD $2.99 (PDF) or USD $4.99 (print + PDF). I’m exhilarated that I bought it.
  • The guys behind this made good use of artwork and layout. The zine is easy to read and the drawings lighten it up.
  • TWS has a gimmick: you can decode a secret message hidden in the booklet.
  • Different authors give the zine a well-rounded tone. “A ‘zine written by fans, for fans of Swords & Wizardry!” lives up to its word.

I’m impressed by TWS. And I hope you’ll be, too!

Full article: http://dieheart.net/tws-1/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Referee Screen
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2017 19:25:21

This is great reference screen for a terrific game. The Pay What You Want price tag is nice too. It's minimalist design and portrait layout panels have just right information and aren't cluttered with unnecessary information the black & white artwork is nice and easy on the printer too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Referee Screen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 18 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates