DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Jon N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 22:17:02

a fantastic game system that knows how to keep the rules in the background out of the way of actual gameplay, i highly recomend this, and all the other tiny d6 lineup to anyone who loves tabletop gaming but dislikes endless charts, tables, and "splatbooks".



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2019 11:25:17

Quick and simple system, well presented, with a great selection of little settings to showcase the possibilities.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2019 13:50:18

I want to like this I really do, but there are a few things that just strike me as lazy game design. If this game was $5-10 dollars, I'd be singing it's praises, but at almost $20 it falls short of good value.

"It's a simple rule set" is no excuse for charging your players money to finish your game for you.

Yes, it's light weight, and I really appreciate the multitude of optional rules and add-ons.

But in order to do anything more than a "beer and pretzles" kind of game represents a lot work from the game master/players in inventing new rules and establishing a deep net of trust to not break the game.

Maybe I'm not the target demographic, I like some meat to my games, but I strongly feel this game is either unfinished or overpriced.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 8
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/15/2018 11:04:17

Another excellent issue of Tiny Zine.

This month's Roll-and-Play features Gladiator Arenas. As usual, it's worth your while-- especially because it can be easily adapted not just to TD2e and TF:R, but also to Mecha and Monsters, Wastelands, and Supers. And maybe Beach Patrol?

The Familiars article is a great expansion on the original rules. For anyone who plays a character with a Familiar, this is a must-have.

There have been a number of microsettings rolled out in previous issues of Tiny Zine (1, 4, 5, 7) and each of them has given me ideas for my own campaign. But James M. Spahn's Starwing: Blazing Exodus might be the first one that makes me want to start a new campaign so I can play it just as it is. If you loved the Battlestar Galactica reboot, and you want to play out your own ending, you need to play this. (And so do I. Holler at me.)

Grit, Shootouts, and Bounties looks really interesting. (Makes me hope we get to see Tiny Gunslinger some day.) And someone on the FB group suggested trying it with Mechas & Monsters, which . . . Wow. Maybe combined with the Gladiator Arenas? Hmm... that gives me an idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 8
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
by HAMILTON R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/04/2018 13:21:33

1/05/2018 Review of Tiny Dungeon, 2nd ed.:

Layout: The production quality of this rule book is Good. It has many pieces of art, but they are duplicated throughout the book. This gives the semblance of more artwork than is actually in the book, but it works really well with the text, so it's not necessarily a bad thing. It's just a fact you need to be aware of. Overall, the actual page layout is Excellent; easy-to-follow, easy to find rules quickly, easy to understand. No fuss - no muss - reading this will be a breeze, you can be up and running in a fraction of the time required for other comparable rulebooks.

Text: The writing is straightforward, to the point. Read the rules - understand the rules - make the characters and world - play the game / all within one day of getting a copy of the rules. There are complete, unique, well-thought-out game-worlds in this edition of the rules.

Game Play: It just can't get any easier, and yet: there is enough crunchiness in the dice mechanic to add thrills and uncertainty. Plus: I like how they finally fixed the Dwarf and Elf / Fay. Dwarves can see in the dark; elves are not in-need of such a feature. That was a welcome bonus - reality in the fantasy world. There are more surprises in the rules, but - shhhh - I won't reveal them here.

Story / Content: There are many fantasy worlds embedded at the end of the book. Take time to read them through, and then: play one! Excellent inclusion, but....

Worth the money? Despite all the good things that this rulebook delivers, at $20 a pop, I feel it is over-priced. Am I extremely upset I paid $20 for it? No, not really, but I am disappointed. It was an OK purchase, and I would have given it 5 stars but for the extreme price. That price needs to come down.

12/2018 UPDATE: If you will note, not hardly 24 hours after I posted this review -- not - hardly - a full day! -- you will notice that the next three or four reviews seem to start to do some sort of "damage-control", in my opinion. Look at my review again: I write very concisely and I would have given it a 5 stars, but pay attention to the money. There needs to be a balance for the value. The Print book seems to be a good price because you get a professionally printed product you can hold in your hands for a comparible price of other books. That is a huge bonus! and one I would have welcomed more-open-armed IF the PDF did not cost what it costs. I stand by my original review - but! - because of the addition of POD book and because my original review did what it was designed to do? I add another star today. (I hope that helps you make a thoughtful decision of how to spend hard-earned money). HR



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Dungeon: Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bad Timing - A Romantic Comedy Fiasco Playset
by Joscar M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2018 21:51:35

It's an interesting playset and it guides players to create great RomCom stories full of recognizable tropes from the genre. The new twist rules make for crazy combinations. Loads of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bad Timing - A Romantic Comedy Fiasco Playset
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 4
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:28:30

About twice the size of the first three issues, this one has two important selections for Tiny D6 fans.

First, a great new microsetting (The King's Daggers) as well as a new magical Trait.

Second, new optional rules for stress and trauma which can replace the hit point system. Not sure I'm going to use this in my campaign, but it's a very cool alternative. And if you're running a Grimdark game, or old-school Sword and Sorcery a la Conan, then I think this is probably the way you want to go.

TZ includes a new class (Executioner) for For Coin & Blood. I don't play this game, but still found some good ideas to be mined here.

Good issue!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 3
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:20:30

Another step up. There's a lot more here than you would expect from just 10 pages. It includes...

  • 2 new Heritages. Minotaur is pretty solid, but I think needs a trait for natural weapons, like Karhu or Hatchlings. The three optional traits inlcuded with this heritage are all good; I plan to make them available more widely in my campaign. The second new Heritage is Glitterbug, which is perfect for TD Hatchling Edition.

  • 4 new magic items related to the new heritages. All four are useful, and also provide good models for what a magic item should do in TD2e.

  • 2 new traits and a new prestige trait (Weapon Master) designed for fighters. The prestige trait also includes 8 "style benefits" that look a lot like new traits to me. So I may just break these out and use them on their own.

Continues TinyZine's trend of improvement. Definitely worth picking up.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 2
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:18:52

A step up from the first issue.

The new level progression rules are essential for GMs who want to run long-term campaigns, as opposed to quick pickup games. And the rules are easily applicable to any Tiny D6 game (Dungeon, Frontiers, Wastelands, etc.)

The Aliens & Asteroids section was interesting. I haven't picked that game up yet, but reading this made me think I should give it a look.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 1
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 15:08:06

The inaugural TinyZine introduces a new microsetting, (Super)Natural Resources. This is a good offering, and worth a look. I especially like the idea of Pomps and Circumstances. Very cool.

Compared to later issues of TinyZine, this one is a bit thin. But if you like roleplaying fierce competition for scarce resources (I see you, Wastelands players), then this is your jam.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 7
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:59:28

With 35 pages packed full of content, I feel like Tiny Zine just continues to level up.

Issue 7 includes a column memorializing the late great Greg Stafford and FIVE other features. 1) The Roll-and-Play continues to be strong, and this month features a random Thieves Guild generator. 2) I am already trying to figure out how to include the new Gravehark setting in my campaign. And the new Undead Heritage and Traits are useful for any GM. 4) The new feature on legendary NPCs is a great idea, and King Arthur is an excellent first entry. 5) The new enemies and adversaries make me want to pick up Destiny of Tides. But even GMs who don't will find some very good material here.

Best Tiny Zine yet!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 7
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 6
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:57:49

One of the best issues of Tiny Zine yet. The second installment of Roll & Play is a magic item generator-- a superb guide for TD2e GMs who want to make their own magic items, and could be useful for other Tiny D6 games as well.

The section on traps is simply invaluable for GMs. If you play Tiny D6 games (especially Tiny Dungeon 2e), then this is one you really ought to pick up.

The new heritages are fun and Halloweeny. They also help model monster-to-PC conversion, which is hugely helpful.

I also found the A&A content to be interesting and thought-provoking, but since I don't really play that game I can't speak for its utility in play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 6
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TinyZine: Issue 5
by John P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 14:50:44

If you play any Tiny D6 games, this one is a must have, for at least two reasons.

  • There are three new Traits for berserkers, including one Drawback Trait. Drawbacks are an AMAZING concept which really opens up a world of new possibilities for the game. If you are a GM, you NEED this.

  • A fully fleshed-out (17 page) adventure, Literal Tiny Dungeon. Well worth the cover price by itself. You can drop this into pretty much any fantasy campaign for a fun change of pace. (It would also probably work for Supers, and maybe even a sufficiently-advanced-technology Frontiers campaign.)

The Zine also includes two other features, both very good.

  • The new microsetting (Green Hell) works for Tiny Dungeon and Tiny Frontier. (And probably Wastelands, and maybe Supers?) Plus, I love all the intriguing flavor text.

  • The Roll & Play feature is basically a random tavern generator, and is very fun.

Without a doubt, the best issue yet.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
TinyZine: Issue 5
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beach Patrol
by Karlen K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2018 18:08:21

Beach Patrol harkens back to the 90s era of action packed TV shows that stretched the imagination to bring suspense to your living room. Now you can relive that action at your table as you follow in the footsteps of the great Hoff himself.

What I really love about these rules is that the explicity state that the setting isn't all about combat. Sure, there were fights on Baywatch and Baywatch Nights occassionally, but the rest of the time it was difficult situations being tackled by slo-mo beach running heroes who were all about keeping the beach goers safe. These rules bring that to life without stepping on the toes of the players and the new Slo-Mo rules makes it so everyone has a chance to be a hero every single session.

If you like the TinyD6 system or just the nostalgia this setting is attempting to capture then six bucks is a steal to have some great fun.

I can't wait to run this at Chupacabra Con!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beach Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tiny Frontiers: Revised
by Jordon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2018 14:49:23

This is a great game! Some great improvements on the original version. If you don't have it, go buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tiny Frontiers: Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 115 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates