DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Murder at the Dour Dryad
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/19/2020 05:12:47

Welcome attempt at a mundane murder mystery. However it seems to concentrate on the wrong sort of information and has some bizarre restrictions. Why would investigators not be allowed to break a lock to enter a room where the murder was done, or to cast divination spells? (For sure, a court should insist on hard evidence, otherwise an illusionist could run riot.) A list of statements from the suspects would be more helpful than their statistics. There is some confusion about the murderer's motive: is it jealousy, as in the Synopsis, or to protect another, as hinted at in the Conclusion. Some of the clues are good: pack with clothing in the Hay Loft, fine quality but old clothes of the victim. Fragments of letters turning up in strange locations is not so good: why not have these as readable remains of the burnt letters in the fireplace?

I would make the PCs members of the watch on patrol. With rewrites, this could be a good adventure.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Murder at the Dour Dryad
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5th Evolution: Carbide City
by Cameron B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2019 22:06:29

If you're looking for an in-depth, nuance superhero system, look elsewhere. While the effort to bring the superhero genre to the 5E ruleset is commendable, this is very barebones. You're limited to 'archetypes' (essentially classes) and you can't pick your powers outside of picking your archetype. The archetypes also seem to be a little scarce- for example, there's no archetype to play a 'Spider-Man' type character.

TL;DR - Not a bad attempt, but it could definitely use some fleshing out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
5th Evolution: Carbide City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Village Shops
by Conrad H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2018 21:35:02

Overview: Village Shops is a supplement put out by Limitless Adventures and sold via their webshop and DriveThruRPG. It covers 6 shop locations that PCs might find in a standard fantasy village. It is 8 pages long, with a cover page, overview page, and an OGL page. 4 of the 5 shops are on one page, with the general sundries store covering two. There is cover art, but no interior art. Each shop entry includes a fully statted out shopkeep and begins with a short paragraph of flavor text.

Pros: One of my favorite things in this, and in other Limitless Adventures products, is the inclusion of the Further Adventure™ section for each shop. This is three short adventure hooks relevant to the shop or shopkeep that could be used to involve the PCs. They range from the simple, like fetching a rare herb for the herbalist's shop, to the more involved, like hunting down the long lost love of Old Maggy, who runs the general sundries store.

Another thing I really liked was the inclusion of what Limitless Adventures calls Novelties, which in this product were 3 new alchemical items available from the herbalist shop. These were minor items, but very useful in the right context, and nice to see.

I got a chuckle out of the mule named Grimlock. Someone's a Transformers fan...

I thought the section on Maggy's Sundries was particularly well done. As soon as I read that one, I could imagine dropping it into my game and the sorts of things I'd do with it.

Cons: The descriptions are somewhat inconsistent from shop to shop. Old Maggy gets a few sentences of description, Brother Forge gets none, and the others are in between. I'd prefer a little more in the way of description and roleplaying notes.

There are a few minor editing issues and grammatical errors, though nothing major.

Conclusion: In my opinion, this is a solid product that offers good value for its price. As I read each shop, I could envision multiple ways to include them in my own game and to use them to drive enjoyable stories.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Village Shops
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Pirate Bundle
by Benn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 12:55:21

I didn't even know this type of product was out there.

The amount of questions i've seen on DM forums and groups about ideas regarding sea campaigns or pirate themed inspirations is vast (Ridicuosly hard to skip the pirate pun!). This product for the price will give you aboslute hours of playtime with your PC's.

Whether you need encounters; NPC's, Taverns, Plot threads, towns or even gambling games! This is right for you. There are so many fun layered ideas here to run a real world and town with very little prep involved. My PC's actually completely ignored the quest and played "Outrun the Guard" for over an hour.

I have several other of thier products and have backed KickStarters for them. This however may actually be my new favourite, for the price you will not be dissapointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pirate Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Benn! Send us an e-mail (Support@limitless-adventures), we'd love to send you some free products.
Limitless Encounters vol. 1
by Benn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 12:45:22

Absouletely love this product!

I run a homebrewed campaign and sometimes there is not enough time in the week to get everything prepared I'd like to. The encounters in this are unreal!

The info provided contains creatures and a background for encounters. Very easy to read and find what you are looking for and alter if you need to. I love the "Further Adventure" portion of the product most, it gives you little adventure leads to kick you out of the any slump you may be stuck in.

My only compaint is that there aren't many higher level encounter ideas. This could be saved for most peoples big bads, however is the only complaint I have about it.

This is not my first purchase from them, surely won't be my last. Any DM/GM who would love a quick reference guid for a session, this is for you!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Limitless Encounters vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Non-Player Character Sampler
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2017 09:58:59

Just a taste and you'll be hooked: an order of Limitless Non Player Characters vol.1 will be in your future.

I plugged Beazel the Alchemist into a shop in a small town my players were exploring in our 5e campaign and he was an instant hit. I'm planning on an encounter with Ceaseus the Shipwright soon. I am now the proud owner of the aforementioned Vol 1 for help with populating our campaign world both deliberately and on-the-fly during our gaming sessions.

The Limitless team does a great job of giving enough mechanics and background flavor to make the NPC come alive with enough flexibility to allow you to plug the NPC in to most any scenario. The Further Adventure prompts are great in themselves, but also help to get the creative juices flowing for crafting your own home brew encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Non-Player Character Sampler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cursed Magic Items
by Ben S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2017 07:08:52

I really like the Limitless Adventures pdfs and Cursed Magic Items is no exception. It's short to the the point detailing the mechanics and examples of curses that Items can bestow on their users ranging from Clumsy to Soul Drinker in terms of levels of nastiness. There are enough examples to keep your players guessing and it may take a while for them to determine the source of their problems. This is a useful product as are all the Limitless Adventures pdfs I've gotten. And this is one is PWYW so get it today!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cursed Magic Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcane Quarter
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2017 08:06:54

Short, quirky encounters, with a magical bent that can serve as interesting diversions for your players, or starting points for greater adventure.

Each scenario has an explanation, stat blocks, rewards, and suggestions on how to expand the encounter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcane Quarter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arcane Quarter
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/21/2017 20:10:34

Whoa! This a very cool map and info to add to your city. It has descriptions, maps, hook ideas and NPCs. I will definately be using this in my city and will be checking out their other producta too! Well worth a couple of bucks!

~Nitehood



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack 1
by Adam A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 21:24:55

I could run a whole adventure based on every monster in here. I helps that I get more than a stat block too. The "further adventure" part after every stat block gives a few ideas for where to take my game, take them or leave them.

Nine of the ten can be dropped into almost any game. And the other one? Well, no spoilers, but my group had a big laugh!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Monster Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Founder's Fen
by Adam A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 20:50:38

A fresh take on the adventure module. I cut my teeth playing 2nd edition and I've played every version since. I have fond memories of those old, blue map adventure modules. But, if I had to nitpick what I had back then, it would be that they held my hand too much. If I went off script, I risked throwing the storyline out of whack.

Founder's Fen let me stretch my legs while still providing a much needed scaffold around which to build several sessions. I surprised myself numerous times when I went totally off script for an hour or more at a time based on one sentence in a location description. I could never do that with those old 2e modules! I wish I had a bookcase full of this kind of adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Founder's Fen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Encounters
by Adam A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/10/2017 20:07:21

This really brought the dungeon back to my game. My party likes to wander out of the adventures I write and this was the perfect tool to have on hand. Every encounter has a short description, short enough for me to read in the moment to decide if it fit in my session.

When I'm DM, I don't like to be caught flatfooted because I had a blank spot on my map. This is a permanent addition to my DM bag of tricks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Encounters
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2016 18:10:31

"Diabolical" is how I would describe it, and so would your players. Yet they would have so much fun facing (and, hopefully, overcoming) the challenges from Dungeon Encounters, the first of (again, hopefully) many such GM catalysts.

Frankly, I have fun just reading it, and imagining many of my characters (living and otherwise) meeting one of these "people" or props. GMs will appreciate that there are entire story suggestions included, as well as ways in which to make things - different - for players who have read this and think they know what to expect.

Don't go looking for pretty pictures or ugly ones either. The layout and graphics (including a repeated background figurine) are pleasing and make the reading easier on these old eyes. The colors are really helpful for your eyes and I'm sure someone out there will remark how they mellow a person.

If you don't get a year's worth of gaming out of this little volume, you're either not trying or you are Boris Alphonzo Felton.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Encounters
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2016 00:12:49

Great set of encouters for low level (1-5) D&D 5E play. The stats for all of the monsters and traps are included, so no need to flip through the Monster Manual or Dungeon Masters Guide for stats. They have an old school feel to all of them and include ideas for how to expand each encoutner for additional play.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ten Swamp Encounters
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2016 08:48:03

This short booklet contains 10 swamp encounters to suit characters from level 1 to 8, though most hover around the level 4 mark. The monster encounters are generic D20 and easy to convert to a particular system (my target would be Pathfinder); however, while the descriptive text is good and atmospheric, the monsters themselves are a little humdrum (Will-o-the-Wisp, Shambling Mound, Giant Snake, Stirges, Giant Crocodile, Hydra etc.). The Wight Wedding is the best of the monster encounters, with nice flavour text and a bit of variety over a standard "some monsters appear" encounter. I would have liked to see the other encounters fleshed out more along these lines: perhaps with combats spread over multiple steps, unusual variations on standard swamp creatures with some back-story explaining why, interesting terrain effects, or unusual treasure.

Where I think this product does better is in the encounters which aren't just about combat: for example, one encounter involves a homunculous whose master is stranded in a tree, and another a bear trap left and forgotten by a hunter. These are nice ideas which I can easily transplant to my own campaign, and I would have liked more of them. I also like that non-combat encounters which provide role-playing opportunities or the use of skills are included.

The layout, fonts etc. are good but not astonishing; the art looks like it came from the public domain, but is functional enough for this kind of product. Overall, I'd say it's adequate for the purpose, though some more atmospheric artwork more related to the swamp environment might have boosted it a little.

In summary, I'd say it's a nice little supplement, especially if you are planning a scenario in a swamp (as I am), but not an essential purchase. More atmosphere and oddness would have pushed my rating higher (though that might just be my personal taste!).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ten Swamp Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the honest review, and constructive feedback! We try to keep the encounters neutral enough that a DM can adapt them with little prep time. We hope to have different art in the future, but that is out of our current budget (we\'re a new start up, and art is expensive). Please e-mail us at support@limitless-adventures.com and we\'ll send you a complimentary copy of another product. Thank you again for your business. Great feedback!
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates