DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories















Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Recife by Night
by Expedito F. G. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2022 19:33:10

Excelente material com certeza quem jogar vai se divertir muito. Anos de jogo que culminaram num excelente cenário ambientado em Território brasileiro, quando a maioria dos materiais oficiais esquecem dessa ambientação.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Recife by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Recife by Night
by Alvaro A. C. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2022 10:16:54

Matéria excepcional! O resultado de uma curaria de mais de 20 anos, de fato uma referência nacional para o RPG de Vampiro à Mascara! Obrigado Carlos pelo esforço e dedicação para nos entregar um material!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Centauri Knights
by Crab D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2022 03:38:59

The year is 2022, and I have consumed Centauri Knights. The taste is familiar, a bit rubbery, but there are flavors that are still unique in here. See the full rant here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Centauri Knights
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Revelations of the Dark Mother
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/10/2022 14:22:56

Time to get down with some OG World of Darkness. So much that has been written about Lilith in RPGs can be traced back to two sources. This is the first.

Revelations of the Dark Mother

PDF. 126 pages.

Once upon a time, White Wolf focused more on plot and background.

This is a crunch-lite, fluf-heavy book that deals with Lilith, the mother of all Vampires (so to speak), and maybe Mages as well in the original World of Darkness.

This is nice since I can drop it into any other game I like and it is a great background. If you have any interest in the subject of Lilith then this is a fun read.

This was written by Phil Brucato (with additional authors) who is pretty much the expert in everything Mage. So from the start you know this is going to be some deep WoD material.

The art is by Rebecca Guay, Eric Hotz, and Vince Locke with the covers designed by art director Aileen E. Miles. I call this out because the art in the book is really quite good. Even given that this is 20+ year old book. Every portrait or portrayal of Lilith is evocative. You captured in Lilith's tale in these and makes this more than just another game book. This book feels like a coffee table book (in the best possible way) that happens to be connected to a game world.

It is stunning and still a work of art all these years later.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Revelations of the Dark Mother
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tourniquet: Solo rules for Vampire the Masquerade
by Christos L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2022 14:49:31

At first I really liked the whole idea. The mechanic with the oracle where random stuff happen. The problem was that 80% was written by me, maybe more. The random events almost never happpened and the whole system was clearly not complete.

There is nothing for the player to help him make the story or move it forward. Only a poorly made oracle that didn't really helped with anything, in the end I used this book with another system which is far superior for solo game with any system, as a test to see if there is any use for toourniquet. Sadly the effect the tourniquet had in the story was non-existent, and at the end I just stopped using the system.

All I am saying is that there are better systems out there to emulate a gm, and create stories that you never knew you would experience. I really wanted to like this book, but in the end it was disappointing how the rules were half-finished and were no real use for them.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Tourniquet: Solo rules for Vampire the Masquerade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Lucita's Six
by Matteo G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2022 10:12:00

This small chronicle is a little work of art (and heart). The love for the genre (heist movies, n.d.r.) and the world of darkness is clear. 6 heist: locations, NPC, light rules, clear themes and suggestion to run smoothly as possible the chronicle. The pace is not well defined, so every storyteller can choose their rythm. For example I added a side-heist to every main heist (most of the time to get an important info for the main heist). It can be usefoul to mix with the engage and flashback rules from Blades in the Dark, for the people familiar with them.

My only negative comment is that it was clear, reading this work, that a sequel was needed. The final showdown lack some real motivation and maybe is the weakest part of the opera. Lucita's Seven (the sequel, now finally published) helped to forge the real motivation between that "strange" behaviour from a canon NPC that should be very very strong and iron willed but instead acts in a very strange and weak manner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lucita's Six
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Sorcery Paths
by Travis W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2022 18:16:39

Great addition to the game, I do wish they were all listed for being as rituals (including levinbolt) and hope we see a few more paths in the future like Movement of the Mind or weather magic



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sorcery Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I'm about to add an Appendix to adapt the discipline Powers to Rituals
Strange Shades: Mekhet
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2022 17:01:48

Adding my voice to the choir, but this is an excellent product. The Bloodlines and Devotion really help flesh out the Clan, and are full of plot hooks and character ideas. Stellar work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Shades: Mekhet
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire, Twentieth Anniversary Edition: The Classical Age
by Aowyn B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2022 22:57:41

First off, going in... there's no denying it, the english translation is pretty rough. It's understandable, but native english speakers will struggle a little bit at times to read it. Additionally, it wasn't a developer in the lore that wrote it, so some of the finer details are hit or miss on lore specificity. They are, in broad strokes, very faithful to the lore, and they should be commended for that, but there are a few places that are inaccurate, but nothign major. However, its to make the story more cohesive as a whole. Now, onto the good things.

It's well put together and has an amazing visual style. The writer knew precisely what they were doing. Mechanically, things make sense, and barring the rough translation, it could very well be an official product. He has some excellent ideas in there, and its clear a ton went into it, and it is a remarkable passion project. It provides an excellent foundation to properly immerse yourself in the time period, and gives Storytellers a much easier time. Moreso, he has made a lot for the time period. The time frame its set in, feels lived in, and like the Cainites actually care, and in connecting themselves to Rome, they are also shaped by it. While not a masterpiece (I'd argue very few books are), it is still an excellent product, I do not regret buying their supplements in the slightest, and its the main thing that inspired me to write a chronicle set in the time period. It fleshes out one of the more 'barren' time periods of the setting, and alongside the parallels with

Yes, if you're a native english speaker, it can feel a bit wonky at times, but it's also a 419 page pdf in a time period with very little canon lore. It was well worth the purchase, in my opinion, if you want to run a gane during the classical period.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire, Twentieth Anniversary Edition: The Classical Age
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Koldunism - Elemental Blood Sorcery
by Søren A. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2022 04:09:52

Koldunism is a hard nut to crack, and while this product is not the universal answer to how to portray it, I am glad that someone has taken a crack at it. In here, we got great art and layout.

What's Really Good about this Publication?

  • Spirits: The fact that this book also talks a little about spirits, and even provides a subsystem for them is very cool.
  • Koldunic Paths: The advice to craft Koldunic Elemental Paths is quite smart, especially the Path of Earth that just add Earth Melt and One with the Land as Blood Sorcery instead of reinventing the wheel.
  • Blood Sorcery Powers: Koldunism is supposed to be a different field than Thaumaturgy, and while it use the same mechanical space, the powers are both balanced and useful.
    • Highlighted Power: Whispers in the Wind - Just a simple easy and fun power, fitting to the Kolduns.
  • Rituals: All of these are excellent for the Kolduns and flavorful.
    • Highlighted Ritual: Cowing of the Servants - this is spot on for any classic Tzimisce, but even better as a Koldun ritual.
  • Spirits: It's quite nice to get stats on spirits.

Anything Really Bad?

  • Loresheet layout: The Voivode Loresheet could use a touchup in the text, as the headline is... a bit off.

My biggest issue is the fact that having Kolduns around is difficult, so I might reccommend using these powers for more than just the Tzimisce. Bahari, Drowned Legacies, Lhiannan or even modern-day Ahrimanes - There's many ways of using them. V5's lack of exploration in the Tzimisce's lore is pretty much gonna solidify that this is more a product for older players rather than the new ones.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Koldunism - Elemental Blood Sorcery
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Mmm then it seems i have not conveyed the feel properly. These sets of powers are not really only for Kolduns, but for anyone wanting to dabble in Elemental Magic. Maybe during the doc creation this got muddled and muddled. Things like: >>> Note that traditionally, the Kolduns have used the Elemental names, however Thaumaturges who interact with these Daemons frequently use other terms. And then on the loresheet bit: >>> Previously intrinsically tied to the Old Clan, due to their unique ties to their ancestral soil, nowadays, thanks to the spread of the Tzimisce outside the Sabbat, albeit rare, Kolduns can come from any clan. Maybe i should take some time to properly convey in each section that these powers would also be used by any elementalist. Since I see I have some bits of space left without breaking the layout.
Blood Sorcery Paths
by Søren A. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2022 03:48:26

This product meant to expand the role of Blood Sorcery in their game, which is does achieve. Layout-wise, it's not on par with the author's other product, mostly due to the selection of font, but it still has some amazing artwork.

Cons:

  • Powers: I cannot help but feel it might have been better to keep all of these powers as rituals rather than actual Blood Sorcery Powers. Having Levinbolt and Conjuration be specific powers rather than rituals might be detrimental to the feel of V5's Blood Sorcery. Combining Levinbolt and Technomancy might even be far more of it's own discipline than anything, but I understand the appeal.

Pros

  • Mechanic Design: The author has a good grasp on V5's mechanics, making sure that use at the table is gonna be easy to balance out.
  • Rituals: The rituals are quite interesting, Biothaumaturgy might have a silly name, but the rituals are allowing a Tremere to delve into Frankenstein-turf, while the Curses are excellent for that classic feel that I want from a Tremere Sorcerer. The product might have benefitted from consolidation of the Overhauled Paths into Rituals instead.

Personally, I feel that the desire to have more rituals will always feed the Tremere players, so this is an excellent product for them. However, the Blood Sorcery powers should IMHO, stay Blood-related. Hell, even having Rituals to grant you a "Power" for the night would be preferable.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sorcery Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
As i already said to another commenter, the way I envision these used and i myself use when running with a game with this doc (even with all the options I give at the start of this document) is when a character decides they will be using one of the Overhauled Paths, they lose access to Blood Sorcery powers from the core and cannot choose either the other path. It would be a character defining thing rather than having access to a new field of magic. Maybe the character is an experiment of their sire, maybe they find they cannot simply use the other powers. Maybe this was a soon to be Mage and before they awakened a vampire took their chance... etc etc. About the font. This document was the first ever done so i had yet to "craft my own style" so to speak. I'll see if I can fix it without breaking layout.
Loresheets by Night: New York City
by Guillem M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2022 17:12:40

This is for those that enjoyed Coteries of New York or Shadows, or even those wanting to continue with events from previous editions.

Same as with the previous product, being Pay What you Want you lose nothing for trying them out, and if really liked them, support the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Loresheets by Night: New York City
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Loresheets by Night: Los Angeles
by Guillem M. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2022 17:08:29

Really evocative loresheets that can enhance and flesh out some character ideas. Would recomend these to anyone trying to continue on the events on Bloodlines or even LA by Night, but some can be adapted to other settings without too much trouble.

Being Pay What you Want you lose nothing for trying them out, and if really liked them, support the author!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Loresheets by Night: Los Angeles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creatures Such As We: Lone Star
by Tom S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2022 07:08:22

nice setting, i like the themes and ideas... but:

  1. it fills multiple pages with ST advice etc, that feels like a copy from the corebook and pure padding up the page count
  2. the description of the city is pretty thin too. It sets a good base but it seems more like a idea provider with some details, and not a full setting book.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures Such As We: Lone Star
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Sorcery Paths
by Faraz Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2022 22:53:01

I'll admit, I'm not a fan of Blood Sorcery doing everything and the kitchen sink, and a lot of the powers in this book specifically are some of the ones I personally wouldn't want to see make a comeback at my table.

That said, a lot of them (for exmple Levinbolt) made appearances in Jason Carl's homebrew for LAbN, so having some well written and balanced rules for the old style Thaumaturgy is damn handy for someone wanting to bring that sort of stuff back into their campaign. The book is well laid out and has a lot of great art, and hte powers are easy to read and well organized.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Sorcery Paths
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
I suppose that the main concern is relating the Overhauled Paths. The way I envision these used and i myself use when running with a game with this doc (even with all the options I give at the start of these document) is when a character decies they will be used one of the path, the lose access to Blood Sorcery powers from the core and cannot choose either the other path. They can still learn rituals as normal but the doing everything and the kitchen sink is reduced by a lot. Sure, Rituals allows yo uto do many things, but need preparation, ingredients and time. Do you have any feedback relating Rituals? For some, per example the good old soft necromancy of Biothaumaturgy, I redirected them into a new focus, in this case "crazy brain surgery" on live subjects.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3448 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates