DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Spectral Hunger
by Justin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2019 12:12:31

This is a really cool supplement for a surprisingly low price. I'm not an Ordo Dracul fan, but as someone who plays and STs I can see ample use for the powers here among players and NPC antagonists. That said, the writer points out that to really get use out of this you will need one of the books that has rules for ephemeral entities (absent in Vampire the Requiem 2e). These can be found in Chronicles of Darkness 2e, the second editions of Werewolf the Forsaken, Mage the Awakening, and Promethean the Created, as well as Demon the Descent.

The first is Lemurifex which is a full Discipline, anyone can learn once they do a certain deed. 1-5 Discipline abilities, and 2 Devotions and 1 Merit. This Discipline is all about ghosts, and if you were rightfully disappointed with the ghost-oriented Disciplines in first edition, including the abilities of the Dragolescu bloodline, this will definitely be what you want. The power comes at ghosts the way vampires do with humans. They're prey, tools to be used. In addition to being able to eat from them and interact with them, a practitioner of Lemurifex can even ghoul ghosts. And that's not even the peak ability, as there's others that allow for the vampire to alter and change the ghost, physically and spiritually, to suit the vampire's liking. My only problem with the book was in this, my favorite section. It mentions torpor-dreams that might occur when a vampire has learned this ability, but I think it could have used some time, maybe a sidebar or something, to explain what STs should be doing with this.

Then the Mystery of Polyphonte which takes, I think, a very interesting view of the strix. The Mystery is two-fold, offering the ability to fight the strix on their own terms, but also allowing the Dragon to gain the powers of these so-called vampire progenitors. The Strix are rather hard to deal with, requiring a few rare abilities that don't particularly seem made for fighting them, and an Ordo with this Mystery will definitely be able to get their coterie to go toe-to-toe with the wily shadowy predators. The learning of Strix powers does not skimp, there is body jacking. Five Coils, five Scales.

The Mystery Tenebrous could be seen as a 2e upgrade of 1sts Blood Tenebrous Discipline, which allowed vampires to deal with spirits. But taking it the route of the Mystery and Coils of the Ordo definitely allows a wielder to expand on that. One doesn't 'merely' gain an ability to feed and deal with spirits, but to take their powers into them and gain new and interesting servants. Five Coils, Five Scales.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Spectral Hunger
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

At the Crossroads
by Ugnius D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2019 05:17:23

The product contains almost no useful content for STs and no useful content for player characters. When buying this, I hoped to see some handy reference which could be used at the table, or some elaborations on pacts, easing the players/pact usage during the game, however the product has none of that. The product description claims it has summary rules and ready pactsigners. I could somewhat agree that it has helpful content for STs in ready to insert pact signers, or more their concepts, but at least that can be tailored to your game. Summary pact rules are non-existant as far as I'm concerned, as nobody having this product would be able to make a pact in the first place. I hoped to be able to recommend this to my players so they can easily figure out what pacts are and how to make them, but this book has 0 crunch in concern to it.

Suggestions to add: A one page reference for pact making, with mechanics/numbers, even if they're not explained in this book (that's what DtD is for), more examples of pacts, especially of varrying durations.

Now, I'll break down what you'll find in the product. It has a total of 5 pages of written content, and then some images there and there.

1st page - an intro to the product, no useful information 2nd page - a reminder of what pacts are, with no new/useful info. It doesn't feel like it would be useful for a short "what's a pact" either, as after reading this a player would need to go and read the relevant sections in the core book anyways. When buying this, I expected some reference, possibly even a printable one to ease the creation of pacts during sessions. Sadly, this won't give any help in that respect at all. 3rd and 4th page (technically these pages take 3 pages of space, but two of them have half taken away with images) - are probably the only possibly useful part of this book. It contains some short/insertable character concepts, with minimum stats (ideas for possible background, aspirations, virtue, vice, note-able traits) which could easily be used as random NPCs in town, which would likely agree to a pact. 5th page - a repeat about some stuff from the book, alongside a rules suggestion on how "pacts" could be split.

Overall, I would not recommend this.

Giving it a 2, just because it's still someone trying to make more content for DtD. I really think a supplement like this is needed for the game, but it needs to be expanded.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
At the Crossroads
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your thoughtful critique. I will keep these items in mind for future product updates, in particular with regard to discussing duration of pacts and additional summary Pactbound stats. I must admit a bit of confusion regarding the assessment, "2nd page - a reminder of what pacts are, with no new/useful info." in light of the suggestion to add " one page reference for pact making, with mechanics/numbers, even if they're not explained in this book (that's what DtD is for)" as I feel the page presents that very thing, including the rating ranges for the covered aspects and pointing the user to the relevant pages in DTD. If there is a more useful way to structure that data, I would be happy to look into creating that. I welcome your thoughts in this regard on the discussion page. Thanks, Travis
Curst: Unfettered
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 17:25:24

Another solid book from Sebastain Freeman, Curst Unfettered provides us with a new character type called the Curst, the mortal children of a thin-blood vampire. The book introduces new merits and flaws for Curst characters. It includes a setting called Jones-Walker Complex, which stired our play groups emotions.

The master of character sheets Mr. Gone loans his skill to this book with a beautiful character sheet for the Curst.

The Tabletop Gaming club recommends this book as it has became a welcome addition to our library.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Curst: Unfettered
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Missoula by Night
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 15:31:17

Missoula by Night is a welcome addition to the by Night series of books. With little knowledge of the real world area, the details provided in the book were enough to engage our players. The characters provided are well defined. The Tabletop Gaming club recommends this to players and storytellers alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Missoula by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Our Lady of Sorrows
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 15:17:53

Our Lady of Sorrows is a short introductory module featuring the Giovanni family set in Chicago. We played through the adventure and our members enjoyed it. That being said this product could have been the start of an interesting chronicle but the writer does leave us hanging. The back cover of this product says that Lady of Sorrows is a monthly issued Giovanni Story Setting, which leads us to believe that this product was suppose to be the first of a series of short modules. Hopefully, the writer will return this project and give us the next chapter in this Giovanni story arc.

The Tabletop Gaming Club does recommend this product as its only one dollar, and does provide a nights worth of entainment, but we also caution storytellers, that they will need to put in some work if they want to continue adventure after this chapters conclusion.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Our Lady of Sorrows
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

We Wretched Few Vol 1
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 13:36:13

We wretched few provides us with detailed backgrounds for a variety of prometheans. All three of the descriptions and storyhooks for the three individuality presented prometheans are interesting and captivating. The group of promotheans presented also have a lot of potential and interesting story plot hooks. The one thing that may or may not be an issue is that 3 of the members of the promothean group were not actually given character stats. Though this could be seen as an opportunity for the storyteller to flesh them out how he or she sees fit.

The Tabletop Gaming club found this product a welcome and interesting attention to the Promothean library.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
We Wretched Few Vol 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. In future volumes, i intend to return to the Brigade and provide more of background. Mr. Mannequin is still creeping out there too...although a monster like him deserves a more unique approach. Stay tuned and thanks again.
Fear and Loathing `77
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/22/2019 02:35:05

As a fan of both the Sabbat and Gonzo, Fear & Loathing '77 appealed to me right away. And I was not disappointed. A sharp narrative dissovles the Sabbat-Anarch connection into a cocktail of historical realism and World of Darkness intrigue then injects it into your arm like a shot of adrenochrome. Highly recommended, just dont take too much! Too much!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Loathing `77
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heirs to the Mountains of Madness
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2019 18:23:01

I will start with saying this is certainly worth the modest price. Even if someone just mines it for bits and pieces, a buck and a half is worth the ideas and ready-to-use storyteller characters.

It is just a one-page jumpstart, as advertised. In that one page, the author manages to inject a bit of background, mystery, AND a couple of directions to create a story from. The details behind the phenomenon are vague, but I believe a decent one-page jump-start should be. A rough idea to inspire other storytellers to develop. Personally, I sometimes find that initial spark to be the most difficult, so I could benefit from jump-start ideas.

The real bonus and value to buying this is in the storyteller characters. There are at least a half-dozen fully detailed characters related to the story ideas. Even if you don't want to use the one-shot idea, you essentially have another half-dozen seeds for antagonists.

My only real issue with this is the characters. Individually, they are interesting and very usable for a variety of stories and roles. However, to be included with the one-shot and implied to be connected, I would have preferred to read more about how the characters are connected to each other. How those relationships could become story elements would have been more interesting than diving into the deep history of the individual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heirs to the Mountains of  Madness
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Random Character Generator for V20
by Laura P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2019 02:51:59

Pretty useful if you run out of Ideas for NPCs for your Online Game or Table top.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Character Generator for V20
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Victorian Age Art Pack #2
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 15:36:44

Another one of the most important art packs for a SV content creator. Color images are best for front cover art, and so this is a must have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Victorian Age Art Pack #2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vampire: The Masquerade Art Pack #4
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 15:32:00

This art pack is one of the MOST IMPORTANT for SV content creators because it contains color images. 10/10. A must have



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade Art Pack #4
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tribebook: Khara
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 09:25:33

Easily on my my favorite lost breeds, the Khara have always existed as a mystery, that is untill now. The thought and love that went into is book is very apperant and any fans of W20, will be happy with their purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tribebook: Khara
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Riot of the Flesh
by Panu L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2019 02:47:00

First of all I must confess that the Fomori have always been one of my favourite things in Werewolf. I quite liked Freak Legion and while Possessed brought the Fomori to the revised rules it's Autonomy trait was, in my opinion, poorly conceived and executed.

Now W20 had quick and simple system for creating Fomori but for me it relied too much on ST's whims as it left the Fomori powers entirely dependant on how well a Player succeeded in pleeding his/her case and convincing the ST to give out powers. Now Holden keeps things simple for Fomori character generation but adds a simple yet important mechanic to how powers are gained at character generation. He also brings back, as Flaws, many of the signature weaknessess of the Fomori introduced back in the Freak Legion. Personally I wouldn't have limited the Fomori to just 7 merit points total, though the rule does force more rounded and cabable, ability, background and attribute wise, characters as people must use a minimum of 14 freebies to buy traits.

I rather like the Fomori species templates provided with costs already calculated as it speed up the chargen process.

The new families provided are quite interesting and fun reads as well as shoving us certain evolution within a Fomori species.

The only downside really is that there is no character development advice or mechanic conserning the Fomori powers and how to develop new ones or evolve the ones already possessed. This is particularly sad since the Species covered in the first half of the book include some whom have evolved from a base Fomori type and gained both new powers and stronger versions of base powers. Still it is a truly minor issue in an otherwise excellent book well worth the it's cost.

Excellent resource for any ST wishing to include Fomori in their W20 games as antagonist and an essential resource for those wishing to have Fomori protagonists.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Riot of the Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Beckett’s Vampire Folio 24: Dreams and Nightmares
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 20:11:44

Beckett's Vampire Folios do a great job of distilling material from Beckett's Jyhad Diary into something that is easily useable by Storytellers. Each volume of the Foilo details the NPC's that appear in the corresponding chapter of the Diary.

The Tabletop Gaming Club highly recommends this product to any storyteller wanting to feature events from Beckett's Jyahd Diary.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beckett’s Vampire Folio 24: Dreams and Nightmares
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rose City by Night
by Ian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 19:05:37

Good writing, an immaculate layout, and meatlockers full of cool stuff... RCbN has it all. I most enjoyed the attention to the "blood pressure" of the city: a detailed table of hunting grounds and the difficulty of feeding there and two new skills on handling vitae (didnt think of either before reading this). Also liked that there was a sample adventure at the end - is necessary for completeness in my opinon.

However, my version didnt have a front or back cover, which made me a sad panda :( hopefully a quick update will solve that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rose City by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2097 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates