DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Seitu P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 15:44:24

I'm actually more split on my impression of this book's quality that the relatively high 4/5 I gave it may suggest.

I like the updated history of the Sabbat that the book provides and the alternate take on the sect's changes/growth up to and around the time of the events of V5. Working the Sikorsky/Galbraith affair into the sect's most recent turning point was a nice touch, and the look at the sect in the fray of the Gehenaa as well as how it can feed back into activities outside that arena is rich with possibilities.

In regards to some of the mechanics that are introduced, I'm less impressed. The return to clan-specific disciplines for the Tzimisce and the Saalubri Antitribu seems notably misplaced in the current edition, especially given the use of an Attribute + Skill framework for power dice pools that is absent from every other discipline in the game (it's obviously not a hard fix, if one considers it a problem, but it does make me wonder how much thought went into them to begin with). The Sabbat predator types in the book come off as low-effort paint jobs for existing predator types from core, with the exception of Sorority Sister, which I find to be different enough in its approach to hunting from the Scene Queen, despite their similarities, to bring something a bit distinct to the table.

Most egregious in my opinion are the gaps and ambiguities in the Path of Enlightenment system that the book offers. The preceding section on Sabbat in V5 regarding tenets obviously seeks to address the matter of stains in Sabbat Chronicles and when/if they should come into play, though its statements about automatic stains is curiously focused on murder and torture, which may or may not actually be stains depending on chronicle tenets; as far as actual automatic stains go, the list largely consists of using blood bonds, embracing mortals, varying degrees of harm to Touchstones, stain accrual that's baked into the use of Oblivion in general and the use of specific discipline powers. The general advice to use such stains 'sparingly' technically applies to these default stain triggers, though given the focus on things that aren't actually automatic stains it isn't clear to me that they're what the author had in mind. Even then, however, the book offers no real insight as to which of these sorts of automatic stains or more or less appropriate for Sabbat chronicles, and even accounting for possible outliers that aren't included in the list I provided above, it wouldn't have taken more than a paragraph or two to adequately address this for the majority of cases that turn up in the V5 books thus far. The matter of automatic Humanity loss from diablerie isn't addressed at all, though I think fair reading of the rules presented is that Sabbat who have yet to transition to a Path of Enlightenment remain subject to it while those who are on Paths do not (though it may conflict with the Ethics of their Paths and thereby still merit stains depending on the circumstances). Insofar as automatic stains do apply, the rules for Ethics associated with Paths as replacements for Convictions ironically render them worse at protecting against such stains than Convictions from Humanity since in contrast to the lost Convictions, the Ethics only reduce the total number of stain incurred by one at the end of a session rather than mitigating stains per action. This leads to the almost comical scenario where in order to maintain one's Path rating, the character must succeed on a Remorse roll to feel bad about taking actions that may well be explicitly endorsed, or even celebrated, by the Path they have committed themselves to. Moreover, it's not even clear how many of the Ethics apply to individual characters, which is important not only for their role in stain mitigation, such as it is, but also as a source for stains when characters act against the values that they espouse (and on that note, it isn't really clear what "violation of ethic conviction" is supposed mean on the Violation/Stains table given that the Ethics replace Convictions to begin with). We know that at least one of the Ethics will apply to characters, since that's covered under conversion, but beyond that it isn't clear when or how characters choose additional Path Ethics and it isn't even stated that characters starting on Paths, and thus having Path ratings of 6 from the get-go) choose more Path Ethics than those who are freshly converted.

Hell, as far as conversion goes, it doesn't even provide any information on how a character would go about increasing their Path rating at all; possibilities such as basing the experience cost on the costs for increasing Humanity in core (though that'd obviously be problematic with default experience reward suggestions unless the goal is to spend most of the Chronicle as a near-wight or likely Wassail well before it ends), using the rules for Projects, or simply roleplaying Path advancement come to mind, but even that sort of preliminary spitballing/handwaving demonstrates more thought on this subject than anything that actually made it into the book. I consider this a serious shortcoming given how important the Paths are to the identity of the sect, especially considering how much the author seems to think the book is worth.

To wrap this all up, as far as narrative and thematic elements of the book are concerned, I'd rate the book as a 4 or a 5 out of 5. Mechanics-wise, it slips up enough that I'd rate as a 3 out of 5 (if looking at the rules for Paths alone I'd bring it down to a 2 out of 5). Given that this review is for other people, I settled for an overall score of 4 with the expectation that others may not share my issues with the mechanics, or at least not be as disappointed with them as I am.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Solid feedback and opinions. You've definitely given a well-spoken critique that I will certainly take to heart when going through for an update. I sincerely appreciate the candid view and will try to use it to make the product better in future updates. Thank you very much for your thoughts!
The Lost Childer Play Guide
by Ian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 10:28:00

This book is fantastic for players and Storytellers new to V5 or Vampire The Masquerade alike. It offers great tools for introducing new players to the lore of Vampire, in the same vein as some of the old Merits that did so in older editions. Give your new players a leg up in their first games, or veteran players some interesting tools to use for fledgling Kindred entering the World of Darkness following the Final Nights. Highly recommend and well worth the $5 price tag!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Childer Play Guide
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Mark Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 10:10:06

This was much needed for playable Sabbat in V5

There was a lot that went into the Sword of Caine, and it serves as an invaluable resource for those players who want to actually PLAY Sabbat in their V5 game. Not to mention that the book is BEAUTIFULLY designed. It has everything players and STs need to jump into a Sabbat game, and even includes loresheets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V5 Storyteller Resources
by Jose B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2021 08:58:23

If you are a V5 Storyteller this is a really handy set of docs that outlines the core rules of the book, (the V5 core book is not the best for presenting rules information concisely). Also this can easily be printed and made into a great ST screen.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V5 Storyteller Resources
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Myth and Legend
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 18:51:21

Dark Myth and Legend is an amazing book that details both monsters and items from legend. Ever want your vampires to encounter a Gryphon. Ever want your vampires to find the Mantle of King Arthur. Then this book is for you.

The Tabletop Gaming Club really enjoyed this book and recommends it to everyone playing vampire game that is infused with a little fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Myth and Legend
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

MrGone's Vampire the Masquerade Fifth Edition Misc Character Sheets
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 14:15:34

These sheets are always helpful. Love the various options for Loresheets, Cotorie Domins and Relationship maps. These are great when explaining these part to players.

I haven't found any issues with pdfs when messing around with them. Just like the character sheets these are worth it and people shoudl give generously.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MrGone's Vampire the Masquerade Fifth Edition Misc Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Capital by Night
by Tatiana V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 14:02:33

Material fantástico! Super bem elaborado, bonito, extremamente útil!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Capital by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V5 Storyteller Resources
by Raymond J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 08:23:51

This set of resources is amazing. It collects everything that you need in an easy-to-navigate format. The V5 book layout can be hectic and it can be time consuming around the table to find what you are looking for--but with this book of resources it's super simple. My favorite part is the inclusion of dice pools for discipline powers. They are all laid out for you without having to go hunting through the disciplines section of the corebook!

Great product. Seriously 5/5!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V5 Storyteller Resources
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V5 Storyteller Resources
by Jenevieve P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2021 03:27:22

Great storyteller AND PLAYER resources. Very legible and the layout is top notch!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 21:25:09

The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat is not the Sabbat found in the Sabbat: The Black Hand that I can't link to becuase it's not available on Storyteller's Vault at this time. This book updates and progresses the Sabbat through the metaplot while holding the sect mostly in tact and providing options for PC. There isn't the whole scale decimation of the sect's organizational structure. This is a sect that has adapted to the events of the metaplot but still manage to funtion. If you've seen a V5 actual play of the Sabbat on Twitch or on YouTube, it's probably closer to how the sect is presnted in this corebook. Given the player focus of this book, it delves into both the lore of the sect and how modern nights have shaped it into what it is tonight. This is not a reboot of prior editions, but an advancement. Disciplines, Loresheets, a guide to replacing Humanity with a Path of Enlightenment, everything you need to make the Sabbat playable is in this book. If you want to to run a V5 game with Sabbat characters, this is the supplement to do it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Philadelphia by Night
by DSC T. G. C. _. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 19:15:32

This book is the first in a series detailing the city of Philadelpia through different time periods and covers the time between the Colonial Period to the years before the World’s Fair in 1876. And is written to be used with the 20th Anniversary ruleset in mind. The author recommends having acces to Vampire: The Victorian Age and Vampire: The Wild West for inspiration in creating stories for the time period.

The first thing one notices is the gorgeous presentation. The folks at Chopping Block Media give us a full color experience with custom page borders, different page backgrounds for each chapter and several custom illustrations.

The book is very good with a detailed description of the history and geography of the City with plenty ploothooks and places of interest for use in a Chronicle. We really liked the sections dealing with how to portray the bigotry and prejudice inherent to the time period in a mature and respectful manner. We really liked the fact that the history of the Prince directly linked to the development of the Philadelphia and the greater Camarilla presence in the United States. The Kindred presented are very interesting and well written either as individuals or coteries and ther stats in the appendix look appropiate to their age.

The brief campaign in Chapter five forms part of events described in the greater history of the City so the results are a foregone conclusion, even then it is interesting and can be used to set the stage for a longer campaign that explores the consequences of the PCs.

We strong recommend this book to all fans of the world of darkness.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Philadelphia by Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you guys so much! We really hope the Tabletop Gaming Club gets a chance to run a Philly chronicle. Let us know if you do!
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by Kat S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 18:25:24

There is a lot of great information in here on how to make V5 Sabbat PC playable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Sword of Caine: A V5 Guide to the Sabbat
by AL L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 17:47:41

A quite complete guide to playing in the Sabbat for v5 with gorgeous artwork. We can see the love the author had for it. Totally a 5 stars product!

My only recommandation to improve: maybe in a appendix, alternate versions Valeren & Vicissitude powers for Storyteller who wants to keep things compatible with the V5 Companion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
That's a great recommendation! I'll definitely put it down as something to look into for future updates. Thank you for the feedback!
V5 Storyteller Resources
by AL L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 17:36:27

The most perfect & clean storyteller resources I have ever seen. Wiah I had that compilation on my first day as a v5 Storyteller.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V5 Storyteller Resources
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

V5: Bloodlines Unbound Volume 1
by AL L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/17/2021 17:33:29

A great selection of the coolest bloodlines, a great respect for V5, pro artwork and much needed add-on to v5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V5: Bloodlines Unbound Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3128 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates