DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
Free Stuff













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Wonders of the Witch
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/26/2020 15:12:16

Orginally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-wonders-of-witch.html

This PDF is 50 pages (front and back covers, legal, 47 pages of content) and runs for $9.99. It is light on art (save for a great cover) but high on design. It is a very attractive book to look at and super easy to read.

I have not talked about PDF bookmarks so far because there has never been a need; all the other pdfs have been small enough to not really need them. This PDF is larger and uses them. So another plus in their favor.

We open with a fiction section with Baba Yaga instructing a young Igwilv (sic) on the nature of magic and witchcraft. Seriously are you guys just flirting with me now? As someone that has spent a lot of time with both characters in my games, this one feels right. Canon accepted. Hell that cover could double as the young Iggwilv/Tasha really.

We start out with witch-related background details. There is the Dedicate, the Disciple, the Healer, the Hidden One, the Malefactor, and the Temptress (or Tempter). Each with associated Traits, Ideals, Bonds, and Flaws. Eight pages of this and I want to figure out a witch for each one.

Next is the Witch class proper. It is a full 20 levels with powers at many levels. The archetypes/subtypes/subclasses for this are known as Covens and they are Hag, Grey, Elemental, and White. Spellcasting ability is Charisma. This witch has spell slots like all casters, and a max number of spells known. Witches are Ritual casters and use arcane spell foci. So yeah, everything I want to see in a witch really.

Witches gain a power at 2nd level (Beguile) and then a "Witch Craft" at levels 3, 10 and 17. These function a bit like Hexes (Pathfinder) or Occult Powers (mine). There is a list to choose from and these are independent of coven.

The covens are nicely detailed. They are all written in a manner that immediately makes you realize that the authors could add any number of extra covens as their imagination sees fit. This is yet another positive aspect of this class. The covens also feel different enough and cover a wide variety of witchy archetypes.

Spell lists follow with the expected spells. There are also NEW SPELLS. This is the real gem of this book. There are 27 new spells here. They are truly new spells. There are some that will feel familiar, but many that are new.

For clerics there is a new "Black Magic" Domain.

We also get some new named covens. There is the Daughters of Twilight, dedicated to Shar (and a new spell). The Vistani get the Stravaneska Tasque, and a new spell. The Secret Shards dedicated to Selûne (and a new spell). The Sun Sisters, dedicated to the Goddess of the Sun. The Blood of the Green, witches of the forests. The Red Witches of Thay, a Lawful Good sect of witches in Thay! So six more new spells.

There are some Tools fo the Trade which covers many new magic items. 50 plot hooks for witch adventures.

A bit on the Mother Goddess in the Realms, or bringing the Witch Goddess to the Toril. Finally a bestiary of witch related creatures. These are the: Brownie, Gallows Hag, Rune Hag, Weeping Hag, Gilt Hag, Severed Hag, Daughter of Darkness (!) Witch, and Witch High Priestess. They are organized by CR.

This really is a quality product. One of the best of the DMsGuidl Witches to be honest.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wonders of the Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Class (D&D 5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/23/2020 10:42:35

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-3.html

This PDF is 11 pages (1 title, 1 legal, 9 content) and no art. The layout is clean but the background image makes it a little harder to read. The PWYW price is $1.00. That comes right in at my 10 cents per page guideline so yeah this is good.

There is some background given, relating the witch to the druid. It is fine, but I don't quite think it came over the way the author wanted it to though.

This witch is a full caster of 20 levels and to the 9th level of spell ability. This witch is also a wisdom caster and has ritual casting. These witches also gain a familiar. The archetypes are known as covens, as expected. There are two, Creators and Hag's Disciple. The Hag one is expanded based on the type of Hag used.

There is a spell list, but no new spells.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Class (D&D 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Class for DND 5e
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/23/2020 10:40:28

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-3.html

This PDF is 8 pages, all content. The PDF sells for $0.50 PWYW, so under my 10 cents per page guidelines. Since it is also all content and no filler, so $1.00 would be appropriate here.

The class is a full 20 levels with spell casting to the 9th spell level. There is a max Spells Known per level. The ability for spell casting is Intelligence.

These witches have a "Binding Locus" that gives them their power. This also grants them abilities at certain levels. Binding Loci can be Arcane, Void, Wilds and Entity. The Entity is somewhat like the Warlock's patron and has a few more powers.

We end with the spell list. No new spells.

It's Halloween, go ahead and give them $1.00.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Class for DND 5e
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/23/2020 10:38:33

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-3.html

UPDATED REVIEW

This PDF is eight pages, all content. The PWYW price is set to $0.00, but following my guidelines $0.80 or even a buck would be good. There is no art but the layout is good. This is one of the earliest witch classes submitted to DMSGuild.

This witch is more like a warlock, but that is what it is advertised as. These witches appear to be manipulators of Fate. These witches also use Wisdom as their spellcasting ability. Instead of pacts or traditions, this witch has "Heritages"; the Traditionalist, the Blighted, and the Clairvoyant. Each one gives the witch some different sorts of powers. Ends with a spell list. At eight pages it seems a bit thin but does exactly what it said it was going to do.

It is less like a witch and more like a "Hedge Warlock" in my mind. Granted, this is not a bad thing at all.

Toss the author a buck and wish them "Happy Halloween."



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

D&D 5e Witch Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/22/2020 09:15:33

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-2.html

This PDF is 18 pages (1 title, 17 pages content). There is no art and no layout above what can be done in a simple word processor. It also only sells for $1.00, so that evens everything out.

This witch is at 20 levels, but only progresses to the 5th spell level ability. Interestingly enough this witch also uses a 1d8 for HD, so making her a little tough than other witches. This one also puts more details into the various familiars the witch can get.

The archetypes are referred to as "Teachings" here. There are Fortune Teller, Herbology, and Sigils.

We get a spell list at the end.

Some interesting ideas, but it feels a bit like a rough draft rather than a completed product. Then again for $1.00 you can buy it and detail it any way you like.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
D&D 5e Witch Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Class 5E
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/22/2020 09:12:54

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-2.html

This pdf is 15 pages (1 title, 1 legal) and selling at $1.00 PWYW, falling below my 10 cents per page price threshold. The PDF itself reminds me a bit of the style and presentation of an Unearthed Arcana article, but with art. I am sure that is the author's intent.

This class has a bit more flavor than others, with a little more background for the witch. It takes a specific point of view on witchcraft but is easily adopted or adapted. Like most of the other DMSGuild witches, this one is a full 20 levels with casting to the 9th spell level ability. This one also has a limit on the total number of spells the witch can know. The witch gets some powers common to all witches and some that specific to their coven. The common powers are known as Witchcraft (naturally) and revolve around channeling life energy.

The covens include the Celestial, Fey, and Infernal. There is a spell list and four new spells. So this gives it an edge over many of the others.

There are a lot of neat ideas here and many worth looking into deeper.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Class 5E
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witch Class: Cackling Guidebook for lonely Spellcasters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/21/2020 09:39:22

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-1.html

This PDF is 9 pages and $1.00 PWYW. There is no art but the layout is nice. 1 page for the title and 1 page for legal and changelog, bring the content down to 6 pages. This class is a full 20 levels, with spell casting to the 9th spell level ability.

This one is interesting since your "Source of Power" determines your spellcasting ability. You may choose Intelligence or Charisma. This witch is also a ritual caster. Logically it could be taken a step further and expand to Wisdom too.

Covens grant the witch some "secret spells" starting at the 2nd level and special powers. The Covens are Coven of the Beast, Coven of the Storm, Coven of Nature.

There is a list of spells, but no new spells. This is fine, no new spells were advertised.

Has some good points but I'd like to see it expanded a bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witch Class: Cackling Guidebook for lonely Spellcasters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch Class - A new arcane & nature flavored spell caster with craft magic
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/21/2020 09:36:24

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-5e-witches-part-1.html

This one is 15 pages (1 title, 1 legal, 13 pages content) and sells for $1.99. There is no art. This class is a full 20 levels, with spell casting to the 9th spell level ability. This witch also has a number of spells known per level. Spellcasting is based on Intelligence.

This witch has a number of special powers and more granted by their Practitioner's Path. These include The Hedge Witch, The Seer, The Maleficent, The Familial, and The Weaver. So a few more than average. Each has a nice solid witchy feel to it and can fill many niches for the witch class.

Also detailed are more powers for the witch and the list of witch spells. No new spells are included.

For 2 bucks it packs a lot of punch.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch Class - A new arcane & nature flavored spell caster with craft magic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class: The Witch
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 10:06:41

Orignially posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-witch.html

Going to look at some more D&D 5 Witch classes today. These are all just called "The Witch." Since that was also the name of my first witch book back in 2012 I thought I should check them out.
For these DMSGuild classes, I am going to still follow my own rules and guidelines to make sure I am giving these a fair review.

Class: The Witch by Calum Brough

This PDF is 11 pages (1 cover, 1 table, 2 pages of spell list). I don't recall if I paid $1.04 for this or $1.30. Either way right around my ten cents per page. There is no art.

This class is designed to be an arcane variant or compliment to the Druid. A full 20 levels (as expected) with spellcasting to the 9th level of spells. This class is a Charisma-based spell caster. There are some witch powers here, some are copied over from the druid.

The Archetypes for this witch are the Maiden, Mother, and Crone. Each archetype has some nice powers to go along with it. There are no new spells.

This comes very close to the idea of the witch, but not the ideal witch for me.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Class: The Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 10:06:12

Orignially posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-witch.html

Going to look at some more D&D 5 Witch classes today. These are all just called "The Witch." Since that was also the name of my first witch book back in 2012 I thought I should check them out.
For these DMSGuild classes, I am going to still follow my own rules and guidelines to make sure I am giving these a fair review.

The Witch by Dave Rich

This PDF is 15 pages (1 cover, 10 pages content, 3 pages of Appendicies, 1 legal). No art. The pice is $3.00 PWYW. So twice my ¢10 per page guideline.

This one presents the witch class with four archetypes and a sorcerous origin. We get a full 20 levels of the witch class. Spellcasting is based on Wisdom, and the witch gets a full 9 levels of spellcasting. This class has a limit on the total number of spells known. For example, the witch has a full 22 spell slots from 1st to 9th level, but only knows 17 spells. you can choose to forget a spell of lower level when a higher one is available. Witches gain familiars here and have a number of unique powers.

The Archetypes of the witch are called Entropic Spirals here. There are the Spiral of Life, Spiral of Fate, Spiral of Bewitching, and Spiral of Glamour. There is a list of spells, with an expansion to cover Xanathar's Guide.

Appendix A covers a sorcerous origin for witches. Appendix B details the author's thoughts on the creation of this class; namely Terry Pratchett's Discworld and Mage: The Ascension.

Some neat ideas and I like the sorcerous origin.

This comes very close to the idea of the witch, but not the ideal witch for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/20/2020 10:06:03

Orignially posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-witch.html

Going to look at some more D&D 5 Witch classes today. These are all just called "The Witch." Since that was also the name of my first witch book back in 2012 I thought I should check them out.
For these DMSGuild classes, I am going to still follow my own rules and guidelines to make sure I am giving these a fair review.

The Witch by Jeroen Boogaard

This pdf is 8 (6 pages content, 1 cover, 1 page of spells) pages at $0.50, so right under my ¢10 per page guideline. The pdf is full color but light on art. Mind you, that is not a big deal here since the art it does have is used to good effect.

Presented here is a full 20 level spellcasting class similar in feel to the Pathfinder witch, including minor (five of these) and major hexes (also five of these). They get a full 9 levels of spell casting slots and Intelligence is their spellcasting ability. These witches also get an herbalism ability. Their subtypes are known as "Covens" so that is a good thing. There are the covens of the dragon, the ancestor, and of the wild. Each coven gets some special abilities and additional spells.

There is a spell list on the last page, but no new spells. There are some minor typos, but nothing that impedes the understanding of the text.

This comes very close to the idea of the witch, but not the ideal witch for me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch: 3 New Subclasses
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/19/2020 10:10:28

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-vesper-burjoskis.html

The Witch: 3 New Subclasses

This PDF provides three new witch subclasses. This is 11 pages with a PWYW suggestion of $1.00, so again right at that 10 cents a page. The subclasses are, The Wortwitch (which the author also calls a Hedge witch), the Fatalist, and the Rambler. The DMSGuild page does a great job of detailing the various sub-classes.

Like his previous witch book, this one has a lot of flavor to it. There are also more Kennings in this pdf as well.

Both PDFs together come in at $3.00 and over 30 pages.

The author has other pdfs on DMSGuild too. I might need to check them out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch: 3 New Subclasses
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch: 5e Class
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/19/2020 10:09:48

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-vesper-burjoskis.html

The Witch: 5e Class

This is the base witch class. The PDF sells for $2.00 and has 24 pages (1 cover, 23 pages of content) so well over my 10 cents per page guideline. This PDF also looks nice, making good use of layout and art.

This witch is a charisma based caster with wisdom as the ability to cover other powers. She also has a lot of nice background information. This witch casts similar to a warlock but is limited to the 5th level. This makes her similar to the Hedge Witches I have reviewed in the past. This witch also has magical tattoos called kennings that provide powers. I'll give it to this witch class, it has a lot of really cool features.

The archetypes are known as Coven-Keepers, Mediums, and Transmaurge. Each has some neat features including some additional spells. Coven-Keepers draw on their covens which can include other spell casters. Mediums speak with ancestral or fey spirits. It might work well, thematically, with some warlock multiclassing. The Transaurge alters and changes animals around them. A really cool idea to be honest.

Speaking of multiclassing there is even a section on multiclassing this witch.

Next up are the Kennings, or the tattoos with power. Mechanically they work a bit like Occult Powers, Hexes, or Invocations. The kennings have a solid witchy feel to them.

There are no new spells (but not really needed) and five NPC witches.

All in all you get a lot for your $2.00.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch: 5e Class
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch Knight
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/16/2020 09:40:30

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-near-witches-and.html

Witch-knight is one of my favorite concepts for witches. An armored knight that is sworn to protect and defend witch covens. I have done it many times as Cowans, Witch Guardians, and Wardens. But this one is a witch knight proper.

This PDF is 14 pages (13 pages content) and is PWYW with a suggestion of $5.00. A bit more than my 10 cents per page guide, but lets see what is inside. The art and layout is great. It looks like a 5e book. The art and layout are all given proper credit, so that is a mark above many titles in the DMSGuild.

The Witch Knight is a full martial class of 20 levels with some limited spell-casting ability. The powers the witch-knight gets look good on the surface. It feels like a good playable class. The sub-classes of the Witch Knight are known as Disciplines and there are five of them. The Spellblade and the Eldritch Guardian are my two favorites and fit best with my own concepts of a Witch Knight.

There is a spell list and even a section on brand new spells. So that is a nice bonus.

All in all the class looks like a lot of fun, but I am left wondering (and not just for this one but for my own and others like it) what does this class do that an Eldritch Knight can't already do? The obvious answers are in the powers, but couldn't this just be a way to role-play an Eldritch Knight? However you decide to do it, this PDF has some great ideas.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch Knight
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Class: The Shaman
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/16/2020 09:39:48

Originally posted here: https://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2020/10/dmsguild-witch-project-near-witches-and.html

NOTE: Between my review and today this PDF changed it's name to The Shaman.

This one is a 9 page PDF (7 pages content) with a PWYW price suggested at $1.00. So right there near the 10 cents per page guideline I am looking at. My issue with this one is it conflates "Witch Doctor" and "Voodoo" together. Granted, so has Hollywood and western culture for years. In the 7 pages, the class is presented with three different "Occult Practices." The class seems playable, but if this is to replace the various tribal shamans or tribal priests I would have gone a different direction myself.

The layout is good, but the color background will drain your ink. The art is good. The pieces I recognize are from the DMSGuild collection, the ones I don't do not have a credit attached.

I would like to see a Voodoo-like class done right someday.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class: The Shaman
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1064 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates