DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Mythic Minis 59: Feats of Brutality
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/14/2015 04:52:59
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!



-Cleaving Finish: Adds second attack at -5 to the cleaving finish. Essentially an escalation.



-Improved Cleaving Finish: Adds a third attack to Cleaving Finish at -10.



-Close-Quarters Thrower: When you hit a foe with a thrown weapon while threatened, make a melee attack at a foe at your highest atk as a swift action. Solid for ninjas etc.



-Deadly Finish: When killing a target in melee or with ranged weapons, use clean blade path ability as a free action versus either a single foe within 30 ft. or all targets adjacent to the killed creature. Mythic power makes returning the creature from the dead more difficult. Damn cool idea of combining the path ability with the feat!



-Death or Glory: Automatically makes your attack used with this feat a threat if it hits. If the target is a mythic creature, its attack also automatically is a critical threat. If your target expends one mythic power, it can still make this retaliatory attack even if you kill or incapacitate it or if does not have an immediate action available. Per se cool, but what if the attack would be a critical threat anyways? As written, there's no benefit, which is a kind of lost opportunity. It should be noted that this is a nitpick.



-Devastating Strike: Add damage to creatures adjacent to the target of your vital strikes, with fort to negate. On a nitpicky side, I would have preferred the mythic feat to spell out that the damage is bonus weapon damage, but that is a nitpick in a feat with AWESOME imagery. Love it!



-Improved Devastating Strike: Forego bonus damage in favor of 2 points of attribute damage to a physical attribute of your choice, with a fort-save to negate/halve, depending on whether the target is mythic or not. Cool: The Vital Strike feat-tree increases the damage caused. Nice synergy!



-Furious Finish: No longer be fatigued when using the feat to end your rage. Okay.



-Hammer the Gap: Knock back foes 5 foot for each successful, consecutive attack in a full attack. Non-mythic foes can also be knocked prone. I'm not a fan of the inability to resist the knock back, but I get why it works this way.



-Impaling Critical: When removing your weapon, foes take damage equal to the weapon's base damage dice for mythic tier rounds. per se cool, but is that rolled or is it 1 point per die?



-Improved Impaling Critical: Add combat maneuver when criting a foe to immobilize the target - simple concept, hard to execute with rules and the rules-text gets it right -kudos!



-Raging Brutality: Double bonus damage on a critical hit. Use one mythic power when you activate Power Attack to double the damage bonus of Raging Brutality.



There are 3 more feats on the SRD-page:



-Raging Deathblow: +1/2 tier extra rounds of rage from Raging Deathblow. Extra rounds are lost upon renewing rage rounds. Solid.



-Raging Hurler: Add trip to hits with ranged thrown two-handed weapons. Not a fan of this. Hurlers already are nasty builds, even nastier with mythic tricks. Then again: Breadth over depth - so yeah, like it.



-Raging Throw: Bull rush opponents subject to Raging Throw, potentially causing damage and making chain reactions of foes bull rushed. I have the same minor basic issue here, though the imagery, again, is cool.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Robert Brookes and Jason Nelson deliver a solid array of mythic feats that feel visceral and deadly. While I am not a fan of the damage-escalation behind some feats, I very much enjoy the general design paradigm of adding versatility via these feats as opposed to just escalating damage/effects. From a design-perspective, I usually am not a fan of blending feats and path abilities, but here, the idea works rather well and organically. Ultimately, this is a good collection of mythic feats - well worth a final verdict of 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 only because some feats herein felt a bit less awesome than others and sport some very minor ambiguities. However, since I *really* love some of the feats herein, I still award this my seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 59: Feats of Brutality
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Emergency Villain Collection
Publisher: Run Amok Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/13/2015 02:56:56
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This pdf clocks in at 43 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, leaving us with a massive 39 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



We've all been there, at least I know I am - you just can't crank out *YET ANOTHER* villain statblock, lavishly crafted, only to have the poor sop being curb-stomped by the PCs - whether by dumb luck, by exceedingly strong PCs or by a combination of factors. Enter this collection of NPCs, ready to drop into your campaign, so what exactly do we get?



Well, first of all let me explain the basics - some villains herein work best in certain environments and thus, the best suited terrain etc. is summed up in the beginning. The pdf does sport information on villain motivation, advice on using the NPC, henchmen if appropriate as well as suggestions for ramping up the difficulty of the respective adversaries, advice I know I need for my players... It should also be noted that you should not consider the characters herein as nameless statblocks - while their respective write-ups sport generic monikers, the entries themselves do sport significant and well-written background stories including names etc. - so yes, this collection is not an NPC Codex-like accumulation of nameless statblocks, but rather a collection of NPCs that deserve the "character" C.



But what villains do we find herein? The first would be the Verminous Brawler - a worm-that-walks come pit fighter who is NOT actually evil, despite his monstrous appearance. This villain is designed story-wise to put a beating on PCs, but not a lethal one, offering a built-in mystery and quite an impressive adventure in the making. With 2 brothers as henchmen, the write-up is fun and compelling.



Grammy Knuckles can be considered the product of adventurer-murder-hobos: When her tribe was slain, the goblin bard/witch turned midwife and her nasty goblin runts began campaigns of pillaging and theft, rendering this an interesting moral conundrum - add a unique vehicle to the fray and we have a nice low-level investigation with a twist in the making here. Most doppelgangers are narcissists and schemers, yes - but few are as nasty as Dax, who gives psychopaths a bad name, using his powers to frame the PCs - let's hope they'll play their cards right or they'll end up in jail...or worse.



Lady Viedda Warborn is not a villain - the half-elven maid is actually a hero in the traditional sense - unfortunately for the PCs, the same cannot be said about her nasty squires, compulsive liars and manipulators dandasukas who are doing their best to taint the hero and misguide her towards a seemingly inevitable downfall... Even the nastiest of fey do have a sense of what is proper and when a lurker in light vivisectionist particularly fascinated by fungi and biological warfare was exiled from her own, you know you have a nasty, nasty adversary at your end -even before her cadre of nasty fungal blindheims.



A story of exotic tragedy, the yuki-onna samurai Matsuya is hunting the grating and honorless drifter that proved to be her undoing - alongside yeti ninjas (!!) as footsoldiers serving their winter demon queen. Pirates that encounters unspeakable horrors, driven mad, haunt the coastal stretches - and finding the ruined home-town left in the wake of cosmic horrors may not only pit the PCs against the maddened captain and his crew, but also against the all-consuming threat that broke the mortal's spirits.



I am a big fan of lovecraftiana and the subtle themes in the influence of the denizens of Leng in various APs makes me hope for a payoff of these subdued themes in some future AP - until then, a denizen of Leng assassin with hounds of tindalos as hunting dogs should not only make for an uncommon, but also highly lethal build to challenge those meddling PCs. Finally, a treant consumed by rage and his satyr entourage provide a nice and deadly encounter in the end. The CRs herein range from CR 1/4 to CR 13, as listed in the index by CR at the end of the pdf.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Run Amok Games' printer-friendly b/w two-column standard. The pdf comes with ample of original pieces of b/w-artworks for the adversaries and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Ron Lundeen's builds herein are interesting in that they go beyond the requirements of the format - they not only provide compelling builds, their use of uncommon template combinations and interesting base creatures render these builds more than basic throwaway creatures. Indeed, the NPCs herein breathe thanks to the combination of interesting build choices and the compelling prose - granted, you can ignore the prose, but the sheer inspiration that suffuses some of them and covers a wide breadth of scenarios etc. can be considered the true star here - when a write-up and presentation inspires to craft a module (or at least an encounter) around these villains, one can definitely call a pdf a well-rounded offering. My only gripe here is that I have been terribly spoiled by the builds in Faces of the Tarnished Souk and Scions of Evil - this would be my reference, were it not for these two books. That being said, this still ranks among the best villain-collections out there and deserves a final verdict of 5 stars +seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Emergency Villain Collection
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 58: Mythic Slotless Items
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/13/2015 02:55:39
All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!



-Book of the Banned: These books can create secret pages 1/day; furthermore, mythic wizards may inscribe spells of their opposition school on said pages by expending 1 mythic power per level level, 1 for cantrips. Thereafter, the wizard can prepare the spell as though it didn't belong to the opposition school. Solid!



-Bullroarer's Bugle: Horn of pursuit with dual bless/bane effect. Halflings get higher bonuses and the user may opt to penalize only one type of humanoid, who then receives a more significant drawback. the formatting glitch that shows a strike-through box instead of a minus-sign is here, but that's a cosmetic glitch. In the hands of a mythic character, longstrider or, for halflings, expeditious retreat is applied as well. The sounder of the horn may also expend mythic power to instead bestow the mythic versions of horn of pursuit/bless/bane or power additional uses per day via mythic power. Per se pretty cool, but can the narrowing of the bane effect to one humanoid and the subsequent penalty increase also be applied to the mythic version of the bane-effect? I'm honestly not clear on the interaction of abilities within the horn's text, so clarification would help here.



-Midnight Beacon: An intelligent item with full proper senses that may cast detect undead, desecrate and animate dead while also granting death ward to the wielder. The lantern may also generate darkness in conical spreads, deeper darkness for mythic users. In the hands of a mythic wielder, the lantern can emit a pulse that draws undead nearer and puts them under the user's command. Nasty!



-Orb of the Seventh Star: Dancing Lights, detect magic, + detect thoughts, though the latter only 1/day for arcane casters. Also, shoot up to seven sparkling stars, like magic missiles, either on their own or in conjunction with other magic missiles, in which case the action economy for adding additional missiles is more favorable. Mythic arcane casters may tap into the stars of the orb to prepare additional spell levels/spell slots, none of which may exceed 3rd level, though this uses the same resource as the missiles. Mythic upgrade is also possible. Now I like this item pretty much, but shouldn't the max level of the spell level/ slot level scale up to 3 instead of being capped there? Not a bad glitch, mind you, but one where I can construct a cornercase that could be deemed slightly problematic - though admittedly, said case would hinge on gross violations of WBL-suggestions.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches apart from the hiccup mentioned. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jason Nelson's slotless items provide his trademark blending of high-concept style and complex mechanics and generally, this pdf's items breathe this sense of the magical I like. However, at the same time, they do feel, at least partially, a bit heavy on the number-modification side and ultimately, slightly less awesome than some of the glorious pieces he has crafted in the past. To me, this is pretty much a good pdf - certainly not bad, but also not mindblowing. My final verdict will clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 58: Mythic Slotless Items
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 57: Teamwork Feats
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/13/2015 02:53:33
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!



-Back to Back: Numerical escalation plus enemies provoke AoOs when flanking you when you're with an ally who has this feat.



-Improved Back to Back: Better AC-bonus for each ally with the feat for 1 mythic power. Pretty weak, imho, despite its stacking potential.



-Cavalry Formation: Allows for overlap of squares of others for both rider and mount when charging. Also nets you a bonus when attacking a creature that was subjected to the charge of an ally with this feat. nice.



-Combat Medic: No AoO when using Heal while threatened, even if the aided creature does hnot have the feat. Also, use mythic power for more daily uses of treat deadly wounds. If the target also has the feat, you can treat them faster and at increased efficiency. Nice!



-Coordinated Charge: Charge with allies as an immediate action and move through ally squares and difficult terrain while doing so. For one mythic power, charge a foe who is twice your movement rate away from you.



-Enfilading Fire: +1/2 mythic tier to ranged attacks granted by Enfilading Fire. On a crit, expend mythic power for bonus damage based not only on your tier, but also that of your allies. Mechanically interesting one!



-Escape Route: Receive scaling AC bonuses when escaping through spaces or threatened areas of allies, with rank/tier as a cap. Alternatively, forfeit that bonus for better Acrobatics or overrun checks. Great - this increases the breadth of options significantly. Two thumbs up!



-Feint Partner: Extends flat-footed duration for one round, during which feinting is only a swift action.



-Improved Feint Partner: Provides AoOs as feint follow-ups, with damage bonus based on tier and static critical threat range that is easier to confirm.



-Seize the Moment: +tier damage, +1 threat range for the AoO, also better crit-confirming. A bit more overlap with improved feint partner than I would have liked, though it's more general.



-Shake it Off: Bonus applies even if ally does not have this teamwork feat. Each ally with the feat provides a scaling bonus, which has a flexible cap based on 5 + tier. Nice.



On the SRD-page, there are 3 more feats:



-Tandem Trip: +1/2 tier to CMB to trip when tandem tripping; If the creature provokes an AoO from you, you geta bonus.



-Target of Opportunity: +1/2 tier to atk and damage. Bland.



-Team Pickpocketing: When you could Team Pickpocket, spend mythic power to Sleight of Hand and pickpocket EVERY CREATURE IN REACH. This is awesome! Simple, humble, cool.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Robert Brookes and Jonathan H. Keith deliver an interesting mythic mini here - one that oscillates between truly interesting and awesome and somewhat bland. Mind you, there is nothing bad in this little pdf, though some options arguably are weaker than others. On a design-aesthetic perspective, several feats utilize very interesting and mechanically feasible cap-mechanics and, moreover, there are some in here that are stars - they expand options in breadth and add much needed flexibility to some options herein. So yes, overall, his is a good file, bordering on the very good, but short of true brilliance with some feats herein that fall on the filler side. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 for the purpose of this platform.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 57: Teamwork Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Akashic Mysteries: Daevic
Publisher: Dreamscarred Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/12/2015 09:35:09
An Endzeitgeist.com review

The third installment of the Akashic Mysteries-series clocks in at 33 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page advertisement, leaving us with 29 pages of content, so let's take a look!



So, as you may have gleaned from my various reviews and designs, I really enjoy classes with a lot of moving parts that manage to get the math right - the first two akashic classes are prime examples of how extremely compelling characters like this can be - instead of twiddling one's thumbs while waiting for the next turn, there are A LOT of things to consider - move essence or not, burn essence or not? The vizier pretty much plays a bit like a caster, being defined mostly by interaction with veils, while the guru turned out to be a pretty much more versatile and complex support character who can stand at the front lines, while also handling unique things. Mechanically, the guru was defined more by class features and the interaction of veils with them - though both have in common that variations in class themes via e.g. philosophies result in radically different playing experiences, while also putting player agenda on an extremely high pedestal. Suffice to say, I have extremely high hopes for the final book to be one for the records - so can the Daevic maintain this level of quality?



And more importantly, what's his niche? Well, you've read the above rant - and perhaps, you sat there and thought: "That's not at all what I'm looking for in a class!" Many small choices and tactical options, handling a lot of moving parts - that's not everyone's cup of tea, and this is exactly where the daevic comes in as a simpler, but in no means bland akashic class.



Let's take a look at the frame: Daevics gain d10, 4+Int skills per level, proficiency with simple and martial weapons, all armors and shields (but not tower shields), full BAB-progression and good fort- and ref-saves. The veilweaving here is different from the previous two classes, but there are similarities - the DCs, if appropriate, is DC 10 + 2 per essence invested +cha-mod (making Char the governing attribute here), but there is a crucial difference to default veilweaving - the veils granted at 1sr, 4th, 9th and 15th level must be associated with the chosen passion, whereas the other veils gained operate like standard veils, meaning the progression is from 0+1 to 4+4 over the 20 levels of the class. Essence is gained at 2nd level and scales up to 10, chakra binds also begin at this level and scale up to 6, with progression being Feet, Hands, Wrists, Shoulders, Belt, Neck, Chest. On the minor engine-tweaks, 5th level nets +1 to saves versus enchantments, which scales up by +1 every 3 levels thereafter.



Now I noted the existence of passions - these are chosen at first level. When a daevic invests essence into a veil of a passion (called passion veils), it counts as being invested in all passion veils, meaning that the very scarce essence pool makes investing points here more efficient. However, at the same time, power escalation is prevented by an explicit rule that forbids synergy with veil-specific feats or effects. or catalysts, though you CAN also bind them as normal veils and circumvent these restrictions, adding a further dimension to these veils. Three sample passions are provided, and all modify the list of available passion veils to choose from, the class skill list and all ultimately change how the class plays, so what are they?



The first passion would be desire - which allows 3rd level daevics to use Cha for Appraise and may replace both Dex and Int as prereqs with Cha for the purpose of feat-prerequisites, offsetting some, but not all strain that would otherwise be burdened MAD-wise on a full BAB character. The in-game rationale for this, while not perfect, at least is sufficient for me - why do I mention this? Because I get pimples from the default "I'm so good-looking I hit foes"-rationale employed by some abilities out there. So kudos! Bonus-feat-wise, they focus on thrown weapons. An interesting option - at 6th level, a passion mutates into one of 2 choices - here, this would be love or avarice. Love provides an NPC-companion that is pretty powerful - but it does not stack with Leadership. Daevics that follow the passion of avarice add the returning and called abilities if within the daevic's possession for more than 24 hours - however, the abilities are lost again upon willingly giving them to another creature. On the nitpicky side, there are some minor formal glitches here. At 12th and 18th level, this ability improves regarding action economy and effects like a miniature bloodline.



The second passion to choose would be dominion, which focuses on two-hand fighting with a shield - yeah, interesting! The 6th level change allows for the choice of benevolence or tyranny, with the former providing a scaling teamwork-granting ability, while the latter provides demoralize support as swift actions with scaling bonuses. The wrath passion has some nasty tricks: Whenever the daevic bull rushes or overruns a foe, he may execute an AoO against the foe, though this powerful effect is somewhat countered by the lack of gained bonus feat. And yes, this also can provide vast amounts of damage. Wrath may transform into justice or vengeance at 6th level, with justice providing access to the vital strike feat-chain...and the option to execute AoOs with Vital Strikes added. And yes, this may not sound like too much, but oh boy can a proper set-up blow damage per round into ridiculous high levels. Still, I can live with this, though GMs should beware - large PC-races + reach weapon + this will be a MASSACRE. As for vengeance:1/round full-attack against a target when succeeding a bull rush or overrun, but only with natural weapons. This ultimately boils down to a true meat-grinder -only shreds and gooey bits remain in the path of such a daevic. At 9th and 15th level, the essence capacity of the passion increases by a further +1.



The Blood Bind ability's write-up fails to mention that it's gained at 12th level - and it's interesting: It provides essentially an additional slot, into which the daevic can bind neck, head, headband and body slot veils, but whenever he does that with a non-blood veil, he takes twice the essence invested damage each round, getting even reassignment abuses out of the way. Nice! The capstone is a boring outsider-apotheosis (native, I assume?) and can reassign veils via 1-hour meditation. Odd - the daevic gains the body-slot at 20th level - so does that mean a daevic can only bind body slot veils to the blood slot before 20th level or is body-slot veil binding only unlocked for the blood slot at 20th level? This needs some clarification.



The feats-chapter does sport some overlap with the already published books, though there is some new content to be found herein - unlocking chakras for classes as well as a significant array of feats to allow for gestalting/multiclass-builds, including support for psionics, ultimately render the whole framework superior in that regard to the predecessor-system Incarnum's take on the concept. Enhanced Capacity is a feat you WILL want as a daevic, though unlike Life Bond's interaction with the guru, I saw no balance-issues cropping up from combining the class with previously established content. (Though said feats and its associates still need a retooling.) One feat deserves special mention: Essence Focus. You can invest an essence into the feat to regain your psionic focus, with a 3-round cooldown preventing the constant spamming of the awesome combos available via this feat's modification of action economy. Even more interesting, the feat allows you to make psionic focus work to activate two abilities that require the expenditure of the focus while essence is invested in the feat. This is pretty much a genius way of providing truly distinct combos - powerful, yes, but oh so awesome. That Extra Essence pretty much is a no-brainer for Daevics with their limited essence pool should not come as a surprise. Over all, the selection here feels pretty refined.



The veils, obviously, do sport some overlap with the other akashic classes, though especially bull rush/overrun specialists will definitely enjoy the option to avoid the feat-tax and adding damage as insult to the injury. Interesting would also be that you can find veils herein that have no effect unless imbued with essence and/or bound to chakras, providing e.g. significant synergy with vital strikes, which becomes very relevant regarding the new builds available for AoO-Vital Strikes - size-increase is the name of the game here. While there are minor rules-language presentation hiccups herein ("Fortitude 1/2" instead of Fortitude halves, for example), there are also some rather versatile veils herein that not only provide different effects depending on the essence invested/chakras bound, but rather providing different options within those choices as well - and yes, we do get exclusives for the daevic's unique blood slot - like duplicating unnatural lust or gaining blood that causes both fire and acid damage to the creature attacking the daevic...and binding it to work as AoE via chakra-bind. Imagine my surprise, by the way, when I saw a classic, German slot introduced - "Wrathful Claws" are bound exclusively to the "Hans"-slot - definitely the funniest typo I've seen in a while. ;)



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting do show that this is still WiP -while in no means bad and pretty functional, this pdf does sport numerous italicization glitches, typos and the like. The rules-language is more precise than in previous Akashic Mystery-pdfs, though. Layout adheres to Dreamscarred Press' beautiful 2-cpolumn full-color standard and the pdf does sport a mix of nice original art and some I have seen before, all in full color. The pdf comes with a more printer-friendly version as well. The pdf has no bookmarks, which constitutes a comfort-detriment.



As before, all the gushing about the base system and its mechanics that I have indulged in previous reviews of the series hold true still here. Michael Sayre does provide an actual compelling, tactical full-BAB-class with a plethora of options and things to do - and, coincidentally, the akashic class that does not require constant tinkering: Indeed, the daevic does require the least constant pondering, unlocking the system for players less intrigued about constant complex modifications - while it *does* support this playstyle as well, it can be played more like a prepare and forget type of class, which is ultimately the design-intent here. The daevic is a glorious class, though GMs heavily using DR should take not that the options of the class pretty much waltz all over the DR, making the daevic a powerful shredder if build properly. Ultimately, I adore this class and enjoy its unique slot and the options provided within; more often than not, one can see the growth of designer Michael Sayre that denotes him as one author to definitely watch!



Now I do have to somewhat bash on the pdf due to the editing glitches that can be found herein and minor wording issues that can use streamlining, but once these are cleaned up (and if Michael doesn't drop the ball in the supplemental content-pdf), Akashic Mysteries may become one of my absolute favorite new system - it has all the potential and makings of an EZG Essential. My final verdict for the daevic as presented, for now, will clock in at 4.5 stars, rounded down to 4 for the purpose of this platform...and for now. I really, really hope Dreamscarred Press makes the final book live up to the vast potential!

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Akashic Mysteries: Daevic
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rangers of Porphyra
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/12/2015 09:34:15
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This take on rangers clocks in at 12 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 1/4 pages of SRD, leaving us with 8 3/4 pages of content, so let's take a look!



After a brief introduction (sporting a LotR-quote), we dive into the first archetype, which is pretty much a simple archetype for mounted-themed halflings that gets rid of the size penalties to CMB/CMD as well as favored enemy bonuses versus additional subtypes of humanoids - pretty solid.



The Greenrunner can influence the attitude of plants and are locked into certain terrain types - they also need to get a plant companion. Again, a simple, yet flavorful option. Moon-Rangers would be rangers with a more esoteric bent - using a combination of their increased Sense Motive and spells, they may see past magically disguised alignments in a way that scales appropriately with the skill of the opposing creature. Nice! In lieu of Endurance, they get orisons based on Wis from the cleric-list and they also get access to ranger spells at the usual reduced level -3 instead of ranger spells. The class also offers an interesting mechanic, which allows for the increase of CL by 1 for wis-mod rounds - of either the ranger or his allies.

Only issue: The range of "allies" is not specified. Do they need to have line of sight? Line of effect? How many allies? They can also set up ambushes via Stealth - these grant allies and themselves a bonus to atk, saving throws and Stealth checks, with the bonus granted depending upon the check's result. Problem: Can the ranger take 10 or 20? How many allies can benefit from one such plan? Granted, neither ambiguities break the game, but they are annoying glitches that could have easily been avoided.



The Purple Sage Rider begins play with a free mount and upgrades that to mount at 4th level. Instead of favored enemies, the rider receives a scaling bonus to an assortment of skills that pertain infidels, i.e. followers of a certain deity. Beyond these, amateur gunslinging and abilities that interact with the unique porphyrite borders of Porphyra make for cool options. (In other settings, I'd suggest substituting either magical borders like the mists of Ravenloft or terrain borders).



Now Iron Gods-fans and people enjoying the technology-guide may enjoy the less than subtle Space Ranger! - quoting excessively early scifi, they get unarmed combat, firearm proficiency and a ranged combat style. More importantly, he begins play with an HEV suit with vacuum protection and flying capability as well as an utility belt that has significant carrying options and sports a bunch of items from the get-go. The suit has a laser pistol and a drive that can drain the ranger's constitution to refill a battery on a 1:2-basis. The suit also sports an augury and some detect-capability. This eats not only spells, starting equipment and wild empathy, but also woodland stride. The first terrain choice would be vacuum (normally not on the list), with higher levels upgrading the suit. I enjoy this archetype more than I expected, though I think that feats like technologist etc. could have been used to further emphasize the unique take of this archetype. Beyond that, I'm not sold on unassisted flying at 1st level - some limit that scales up to proper flying would be imho cooler and less problematic for some campaigns, perhaps with the 12th level upgrade increasing that to jetpack levels. The suit could also have used a better dispersal of abilities among the levels - as provided, it still makes the archetype too good for low-level dipping in my book - and indeed, with spells etc. gone, that's the most efficient way of sing this one.



The pdf also provides arm-cannons and double-barreled arm cannons as well as melee sap-drainers. 3 sample plant companions as well as info for interaction with the Xesa-race are provided. The pdf sports two new feats - one that prevents you from being considered helpless while sleeping, bound or unconscious, with the odd sentence: "Rogues cannot sneak attack against you when you are helpless, unless they could otherwise do so." I literally have no idea what this means or how this component of the feat works.

The second feat is just as confused: "As a standard action, you can parry melee attacks with a bow or crossbow, granting the benefits of fighting defensively while drawing a melee weapon, and still receiving a move action. You bow does 1d4 points of bludgeoning damage."



This makes no sense and shows that the author does not understand how fighting defensively works. First: Fighting defensively =/= Total Defense. Fighting defensively is executed _as part_ of a standard action or as part of a full-attack action, thus doing exactly nothing to diminish the move action a character has or doesn't have. Dropping a weapon is a free action. Sheathing a weapon is move action. Drawing a weapon, if combined with a move and executed by a character with a BAB of +1 or higher, is a free action. Furthermore, the feat should not lock the bow to arbitrary damage, but specify that using it as a melee weapon deals this amount of damage. These two feats are sloppy and unbecoming of the content provided so far.



On the plus-side, the 3 magic items are solid and nice - herb-pouch with charges that requires some healing knowledge, terrain-coded stones and reforged blades - okay. The spells herein are a mixed bag - a variant of cure for plants only, one that increases "The former effect increases the herbal potency of a plant, so that a Craft (alchemy) check to use the plant’s properties will be increased by 1 per casting." So one could stack that up? If so: Broken. If not...huh? Herbal potency? Wut iz zis? Please specify! A risky calling of undead to answer questions is pretty cool, but probably won't see much use at tables. Calling an alignment-dependent companion for one task is nice and a plant-themed aspect is okay.



The pdf also sports one sample level 9 moon ranger with two regional traits. The sample character uses the wrong HD - rangers have d10, not d8.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are solid on a formal level. On the rules-language level, they are just as varied in quality as almost always with Perry Fehr's crunch-centric offerings - partially great, partially horrible. Layout adheres to Purple Duck Games printer-friendly two-column standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience and sports the cool color-artwork.



This is frustrating to say the least. I really, really want to recommend this pdf is a more glowing light - the concepts for the rangers are solid and cool and technology-guide synergy is pretty cool as well. The archetypes once again show that author Perry Fehr can execute proper concepts and complex crunch. And then, sloppiness sets in - the two feats are glaring wrecks - how they got past any editing, I don't know. The spells and other supplemental content ranges in quality from okay to nice and the incorrect HD are another hiccup.



This installment could have easily been 4.5 stars, perhaps even a close 5, but the rough edges and partially glaring glitches, drag this down to a point where I can't rate it as high as I'd like to. While I still consider this pdf worth the very low price-point (if my complaints above did not annoy you, go for it!), I can't rate this pdf higher than 3 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Rangers of Porphyra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Holy Island
Publisher: Four Dollar Dungeons
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/11/2015 03:26:20
An Endzeitgeist.com review

Holy Island is a massive pdf - 129 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page ToC, 1 page SRD, leaving us with no less than 125 pages of content, so let's take a look!



First of all - you should know that, obviously, not all of the pages herein are devoted to the module - instead, 4 Dollar Dungeons have a tradition of providing all required spells used in the module. A handy appendix collects them and prevents you from needing to constantly switch books. Beyond that, knowledge DCs and flavorful fluff information is provided for every creature encountered - consider these essentially fluff-upgrades; the type of information absent from most current bestiaries. Nice! Beyond that, it should be noted that all of the original artwork featured herein is contained in a look-see-art-appendix that can be used as handouts -I LOVE these appendices and wish more publications had such art-handouts-sections at least.



However, Holy Island also differs from other supplements published by 4 Dollar Dungeons in that it also utilizes the psionics-rules by Dreamscarred Press - and since you may not be familiar with how they work and/or not have Ultimate Psionics, the module also sports 10 pages of powers and basic information on how psionics work - so no, you do not need the psionic rules to run this, though it does help.



The pdf also comes with a massive array of 16 high-res jpgs of the maps featured in this book, with versions for both GMs and players being provided here - kudos for the player-friendly material!



All right, I have stalled long enough - so here we go: From here on out reign the SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion. And yes, you don't want to spoil this one for you.

...

..

.

All right, still here? So, we are all aware of the legend of the mace of St. Cuthbert, right? The artifact has made appearances in mythology over the years and in many a game. What you may not know is that the artifact has a kind of homebase where it rests between making its appearances - this would be the island of Serafina, which coincidentally was known as Lindisfarne in aeons long passed. Evil does what evil does, though, and so, it was only a matter of time before Serafina was invaded - though the forces of good were not unprepared: With a colossus, the holy men and women were able to repel the invading hordes, but at a terrible cost - a toll so high, the order decided to sequester the island in its own demiplane, shrouding the island in obscurity and bringing an end to the fabled mace's appearances across the planes.

Why does the artifact not simply plane shift to another plane? Simple - it's a responsible artifact. This rationale not only made sense to me, it also got a chuckle out of me and is a great example of the unobtrusive humor that suffuses the prose herein.

Ever since then, the colossus has kept the few straggling vessels that cross the planar boundaries from leaving, destroying ship upon ship and thus generating a population of shipwrecked inhabitants - until a group of psionic individuals happened upon the island and saw its leader trapped by the colossus. But more on those folks later. In the long time since, deities have placed minions on the island - for a reason: The wielder of the mace may well be one destined for greatness and a bit of advertisement for one's faith doesn't hurt, right? Anyways, all of this would probably not be a big issue, had the order not died out -well, apart from one being: As in many a group of a certain size, there was indeed an odd man out, a former librarian now turned lich. Yes, lich. Third level module. I can hear you gulp. :)



Now, this module does provide what these days many a module lacks - extensive, concise help for the GM to run this adventure. From trouble-shooting to drawing some attention to the particulars of certain tactics and intentional rule-decisions - with SR and swarms being featured among the challenges, for example, there is a mechanical propensity here for a certain type of play-style. Now before I go into the details of this module, I feel obliged to mention something - this module presents a big sandbox with multiple encounters with aforementioned divine servitors. It is also pretty much a roleplaying module.



What do I mean by this? Well, as the module observes, our current modules seem to have moved away from roleplaying modules in the truest sense. And, let's be honest, there is some truth to that claim. Pathfinder behaves, essentially, like a combat-simulator in battle, making the rollplaying aspect of the game pretty awesome. At the same time, the roleplaying as such, though, is surprisingly often a neglected component - the module calls attention to the tendency towards puzzle-design; I.e. figuring out what to do next as opposed to a dynamic response. Mind you, this module does not judge these components as inferior or the like - there is no snobbery going on. However, at the same time, it observes that this constitutes a strange dearth in PFRPG. Conversely, one could argue that VtM has nothing but that going on for it and while I love it and CoC, the latter often falls into the puzzle-game niche - that's not a bad thing per se, either. When the puzzle makes no sense, when one component falls by the wayside or when there's just one solution, then we get the issues. And I *know* that every GM with some experience under the belt has ran face first into these issues as a story ground to a halt. We've all been there.



You might be wondering where this rant leads, right? Well, this module considers itself to be pretty much a roleplaying module, extending the sandboxy design-aesthetic not only to the overall structure of the plot presented and rendering it pretty modular (apart from the climax), it also tries to mirror this in the encounters with the deific servitors that inhabit the island. Now, bear this in mind, for it is a subtle nuance that may be lost on you when first reading the module as opposed to running it.

Now I mentioned a group of psionic travelers, right? These guys would be both a proxy for the GM as well as a story-catalyst: The Guardians of the Multiverse. They are a delightfully weird cast of characters, yes, and they actually can be considered an homage to the Guardians of the Galaxy or similar far-out comic-book heroes, with their leader Psi-Lord being an Elan who is currently trapped in the massive colossus. Yes, the tone here is radically different than in just about every 4$D-module I've read so far - again.

How the PCs act and explore, ultimately, is up to them, but per default, Psi-lord's Astral Caravan power is the intended way out of the island's demi-plane. So let's cover the possible first steps, right? Going on a salvage operation at their own stranded vessel? Covered. Finding a local village? Covered. Perceptive PCs may have noted Psi-Lord being trapped in a portcullis'd section of the colossus, though, and potentially try to save the elan. This would be generally easy since the colossus is not hostile towards the PCs and not constantly on the move. Would be. Were it not for one fun fact: The colossus sports a massive anti-magic/psionic field that annihilates every magic in the vicinity. All but the terrain-controlling and trolling spells the servant of the god of magic stationed here - which are tailor-made to prevent PCs from scaling the colossus. If your game is like mine, you'll have a field day annoying the PCs here and the joy upon defeating (or bypassing the creature) will be vast indeed.



Now Psi-Lord is helpful and willing to get the PCs off the island, but first, there s the question of his fellow guardians being missing -and indeed, they have ran afoul of some of the less than pleasant divine agents featured herein, often in a somewhat ironic manner. So, reassembling the guardians and/or finding out on what strange place they have stranded makes up the bulk of the module, as the odd divine agents make up for strange encounters. This is further punctuated by the selection regarding the random encounters, wilderness survival and terrain features provided. It should also be noted that the module does several unique things herein, with each encounter sporting some component that renders it memorable beyond the basic adversary fought.



Ultimately, in the end, the whole gambit is all about finding out that there's a lich present, seeking out and destroying the rather incompetent undead's phylactery and then finding a way to defeat the lich while still being vastly outclassed, even with the support of the guardians. And yes, actually using logical thinking and coming up with a sensible idea here is pretty much the awesome linchpin of the module and was one of the high points of the modules for my group -being the obvious and yet clever central puzzle of the module. And no, your PCs won't be wielding the artifact for long - unless you wish them to. I should also mention a certain, fully-mapped pagoda and a general penchant for some investigation to be had here, but going into the details would ultimately spoil some of the components I'd rather leave for you to discover.



Now granted, all of this, while a wide open sandbox, it looks on paper like it somewhat falls short of what you'd expect from 4 Dollar Dungeons - until you play it. You see, this module is actually a kind of alignment Myer-Briggs-test for the characters in disguise. What do I mean by this? There are ample ways to handle the issues the divine agents present - from signing a contract with an infernal Eve to defeating her to several other options, ultimately, though not explicitly spelled out in the module, the encounters faced within act as a test that can be used to determine the respective interpretations of a group's alignment: After all, we all know how many discussions that topic tends to spawn.

So yes, this module can be considered a huge exercise in in-game ethics, which works exceedingly well when probing the depths and moral fiber of characters and yes, potentially, depending on the competence of your players in abstracting themselves from their characters, them as well. Now this never devolves into a simple good/evil/neutral-option - instead, you get a set-up. How the PCs deal with it ultimately is up to them. Now that being said, even if you do not care for this type of gimmicky subtext, the encounters themselves are complex and interesting, sporting a multitude of cool options - and yes, the very final questions posed by a divine agent may very be uncomfortable to answer - so yeah, this psychological dimension is mirrored in the climax as well.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are weaker than in previous 4 Dollar Dungeon-installments, with a tad bit more typos and glitches and, rather glaringly, all plusses missing from the statblocks herein - a peculiarity, which, while cosmetic MAY annoy some of you. The latter is a pretty serious annoyance, at least to me. Layout adheres to a printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. The artworks include nice, old-school full-color and b/w-pieces and the module comes, as mentioned before, with high-res jpgs of the maps, which btw. have a higher quality than those we've seen in the series so far. Finally, the pdf comes in two versions - one intended for the US-market in letterpack and one optimized for the European A4-paper standard to ensure that both can be printed in maximum efficiency. The pdfs come fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Richard Develyn is an artist if there ever was one among adventure authors and, hands-down, he is one of the best I've ever had the pleasure of reading. Moreover, he is a thematic chameleon, switching up his styles in every module, again and again. That being said, Holy Island will probably elicit more than one "WTF?" from its readers. Let me go on a slight tangent here: My mother once worked for the US here in Germany and hence, I not only grew up with an early exposure to multiple languages, English in particular. I also could read English soon after I could read German, at the tender age of 5. This can be attributed to a clever trick: My mom had amassed this huge collection of comic books, some even from the Silver Age. Alas, they were in English and she tired pretty fast of the tedious task of translating comic books, instead setting about and teaching me to read them myself. Granted, many of the peculiar connotations of meanings were lost on me back then, but I could finally read this huge pile of glorious superhero knowledge - and be a wiseass to my friends about it. Yeah, some things never change, do they? ;P



Tangent aside, this module did evoke flashbacks to this era in tone - at one side, we have over the top, whimsical elements, at the other, we have real threats and a mood than can be described by an anything-goes ID run rampant, one that is kept in check by the necessity for narrative cohesion that later was to become the guiding principle that made worlds consistent, as far as that was still possible. Holy Island is essentially that - it is also a test of ethics and a subtle, satirical roundhouse kick in the face of several mythologies, though not a mean-spirited one. By combining elements from real life and game mythology, a subtle tapestry is woven that can provide a discerning reader with yet another layer of meaning that would not be readily apparent, nor is such a reading enforced or shoved down one's throat - so no, if you are religious, your sensibilities, if you are halfway mature and have at least a tiny speck of a funny bone in your body, will not be offended. This is not disrespectful and the winking breaking of the fourth wall for the GM in the footnotes further enforces this.



The oddest thing about this module, though, is that it plays completely different than it reads. Perhaps it's my playstyle and group, but when I read this, I thought things would get whacky and over the top, somewhat akin to certain Planescape modules of old, when in game, the whole module did turn out to be pretty atmospheric, with some light-hearted relief in between. Yes, this module can be funny. But it does not need to be. Analyzing *why* has been none too easy, but I have already touched upon the reason for this - namely the fact that the quoted mythology and inspirations evident in the text render the whole experience laden with a sense of unearthly gravitas, a sense of the mythological. Much like "Twilight of the Ice Nymphs" and similar arthouse movies utilize symbols and semiotics to generate implicit meaning, so does this module combine these connotations and ties them together with the respective divine agents and the inherent psychology of the conundrums presented unobtrusively herein.



Mythology resonates with the experiences of the conditio humana and thus, it should come as no surprise that the central experiences of mankind, some very powerful concepts of psychology, find the very root of their nomenclature in mythology. It is perhaps this fact, the application of the blending of the two and transference of this conglomerate to the mythology provided within the context of a game's codified deities, which makes this module actually work, which makes the players sooner or later realize that killing everything may not be in their best interest.

Or not. You can disregard all of my ramblings and analysis and play this as an oddball hack-n-slash. But you'd miss out.



I'm trying to say the following here: What should, for all intents and purposes, be a complete, utter, total, unprecedented thematic mess of tones and ideas, something disjointed, boring, reductive, somehow, by some quirk of strange fate and talent, actually works. The weird blending of themes reads a bit jarring, the encounters sound a bit disjointed, but in play, all works - even better than I anticipated. So yes, my rational consciousness considers this to be one of the most impressive feats in establishing a thoroughly unique theme I've seen in ages.



My emotional response, as much as I love the sheer smarts of the module, how it plays etc., still considers this somewhat inferior to Richard Develyn's best works. Mind you, that does not say much - Richard's modules have continuously scored my highest possible accolades and even made the number 1 spot of my Top Ten of a given year; I'm complaining here at a level that most authors cannot dream to reach.

Why? Well, while I do not require a breath-taking story-line, it remains a huge plus and this one, with its subtext being so layered, has the main story suffer a bit; if you do not care for semiotics and symbolism, you'll miss out on some of the module's appeal, since the basic plot is pretty simple. Secondly, the subtext and diversified theme of the module ultimately render the encounters themselves hazy, dreamlike - a good GM can make them feature in a manner that will remind you of the logic of dreams, hence also my reference to "Twilight of the Ice Nymphs" before. (If you require a less pretentious allusion: Picture a symbolism akin to the one of the original "Death Bed, the Bed that Eats," only less convoluted, game-themed and skippable via "I attack it." and similar methods.)



Ultimately, Holy Island is, much like its predecessors, an adventure that can be considered art. However, it is an art that may be less accessible in its entirety than previous modules. The non-analyzing way to play this beast, obviously grounded in Silver Age comic-book aesthetics, is something, alas, utterly and completely lost on me, for while I recall my enjoyment regarding that time of my life, I unfortunately completely lack the psychological capability to access this memory through the haze of nostalgia goggles due to my excellent memory.



One could say that the regular way, the standard running and reading experience of this module is just as lost to me as my overblown analysis of the subtext above may be lost on some of you out there. What ultimately makes me still consider this a superb module, in spite of its glitches, is the fact that it can be read, run and enjoyed as nostalgia-driven pop-corn cinema or as an intellectual exercise - or as anything in-between. This module is odd, but I am exceedingly glad it exists.

So if you do check this out, run it before shaking your head and walking off - you may just be surprised in more than one way. My final verdict will, pretty much exclusively due to the quality of the writing here, still clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval, in spite of an alarming rate of minor glitch-increases. I've been thinking quite a bit on whether to make this a candidate for my top ten of 2015 - but in the end, I will do so; not necessarily due to me particularly liking the plot or set-up, but due to the achievement in generating a unique feeling, mood and theme that I can sincerely call a jamais-vu-experience. Check it out - it's only 4 dollars, after all, and I'm confident you won't find a module this strange and unique at this price-point.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Holy Island
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Animal Races: Clan of the Rabbit
Publisher: Eric Morton Presents
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/11/2015 03:22:50
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Animal Races-series clocks in at 13 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 8 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The generally peaceful members of Clan rabbit are therians - generally disorganized and benevolent ones, but yeah. Like some other clans, rabbits may elect to be either medium (+2 Dex, -2 Str) or small (same attributes, but size modifications included), gain the ratfolk subtype, low-light vision, scent, +1 natural armor (which scales up to +2 at 10th level) and a primary slam attack at 1d4 (1d3 for small rabbits). They may choose from 4 racial heritages: Jackrabbits get +2 to Wis and may choose Rabbit Clan Heritage as a monk bonus feat. Moongazing Hares get the same benefits, but may instead select the racial heritage feat as a bonus feat granted by the crusader cleric archetype. Pika Bandits get +2 to Int and may select the racial heritage feat as a rogue talent. Finally, members of the Rabbit Clan get +2 Cha and may choose the racial heritage feat as a rogue talent.



As always, the clan's racial heritage feat can be taken multiple times, unlocking new racial traits, with the one ability that requires the previous ones being hard to catch. The traits let you withdraw in a crooked line via Acrobatics - which is pretty nice, though no DC for the Acrobatics-check is given. I assume the DC that would be applicable for moving through threatened squares, but I'm not sure. RAW, ANY Acrobatics-check suffices, which is odd to me. Increased movement and +1/2 HD jumping (plus always counting as having a running start) can also be taken. The aforementioned hard to catch ability grants you the Liberation domain's 1st level domain power for character level rounds per day. Solid.



Beyond the racial bonus feat, we also get Bounding Charge, which lets you change direction when charging by making an Acrobatics-check - once again, without specifying the DC of the Acrobatics-check required.



Regarding the racial deity, we receive a take on trope of the bunny god in the moon, which should bring a smile to the faces of anyone remotely versed in Asian mythology. As always, the level of rooting the race in the world by linking it to established creatures is commendable and, once again, we receive the trademark cool heraldry-traits. These would be race traits that are linked to the respective crests - with rather significant benefits for traits, but also drawbacks where applicable - gain Skill Focus (Stealth) for -1 to all Ref-saves, for example.



As additional content and as a means of tying the race to the other animal races, we are also introduced to a kind-of pantheon/philosophy as a secondary deity/cleric-option with the Zodiac Council. The details provided here are a joy to read and they tie in nicely with the eastern zodiac we know from our real life mythology.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to the series' elegant, printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard with thematically-fitting stock art. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for you convenience.



Eric Morton's rabbit-clan is pretty interesting - mechanically, there is not much to complain besides the Acrobatics-hiccups I mentioned before and power-level wise, I also have no concerns. Still, when compared to e.g. the frogs, the rabbits feel a bit less diverse. They still are inspired and I consider the zodiac/astrology-theme cool, but at the same time, I would have enjoyed something playing against the stereotype in addition. Perhaps it's just the rampant Sam and Max-fanboy in me, but I would have loved a carefree, cheerful psycho-bunny clan that is resilient and or just nasty. I'm aware that this is my own opinion, though, and thus, this will not have an impact on my verdict of the book. Ultimately, the clan of the rabbit offers a solid installment of the series, though one that falls behind in creativity regarding some previous ones. In combination with the missing Acrobatics-DCs/notes which type of Acrobatics-check is required, we have a good, but not perfect book. My final verdict will hence clock in at 4 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Animal Races: Clan of the Rabbit
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 56: Mythic Jewels
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/11/2015 03:18:23
An Endzeitgeist.com

All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!



-Crown of Iron Sorcery: Provides decreased arcane spell failure chance when wearing metal armor and also provides DR depending on your armor and shield. Also provides synergy effects with certain special weapon abilities and the Arcane Strike feat and very minor spell storing, with mythic wearers receiving additional benefits. All awesome!



-Diamond of Everwinter: Not only sustains you in the cold and makes you less susceptible to the elements, these diamonds can absorb cold and fire damage at the risk of breaking and the endure effect can be extended to allies. For mythic wearers, this one goes all out - not only does it provide access to the Rime Spell feat, it also allows for teleportation between spaces close to massive glaciers et al. Oh, and it gets bonus abilities when in the possession of a mythic character gaining a tier. While I would have preferred a minimum time-frame of attuning for the latter options to avoid abuse, I still adore this item.



-Force Shield Pin: Not only does this act like the bigger brother of the shield broach, it can also absorb unlimited magic missiles, cast (mythic) shield and extend the benefits to an emanation - it can also be recharged via mythic surges. Damn cool and useful!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches apart from something on the line of "sn.owy terrain" - which is kind of hilarious in my mind. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



3 items, all killer, no filler - and while I'm not 100% happy with the diamond's ability-gain and the lack of an attunement period for its condition, I still found myself adoring these items - a great collection and well worth of a final verdict of 5 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 56: Mythic Jewels
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Campaign Options: The Feat Reference Document
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/08/2015 09:14:59
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This massive tome clocks in at 282 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 5 pages of SRD, 4 pages of advertisement, 1 page blank back cover, leaving us with 270 pages of content, so let's take a look!



So, in case you didn't know - this massive book collects all the feats released in adventures, companions and campaign-lines by Paizo that have NOT been uploaded on the PRD. This obviously means that this HUGE book has a gazillion of feats - as a reviewer, it would quite frankly be unfeasible to go through them, one by one and analyze them - more so due to them being official Paizo feats, reprinted - and thus not the responsibility of the authors.



It also puts me a strange point as a review - with the obvious goal of collecting material, how do I review what arguably is a compilation? Moreover, more often than not, there is a reason for feats not being put online - said reason being that they often are steeped in the lore of Golarion.



Thankfully, the massive feat reference document does mitigate several of these factors. What do I mean by this? Well, for once, much like Legendary Games' AP plug-ins, filing off the serial numbers of the feats is done extensively as to not infringe upon the closed IP. The instances are made obvious and easily identifiable via the inclusion of a yellow shade behind the respective changed lines. In the case where worship of a specific deity is required as a prerequisite, the feats utilize wordings that easily make the intended patron deity identifiable - e.g. "a neutral evil deity of darkness, loss and pain that grants the domains..."



Uncommon feat-types, from achievement to betrayal and damnation feats and yes, faction feats, are explained. Faction feats and their explanation is no less easily graspable - when Eagle Knights are replaces with Eagle Lords, no one halfway versed in Golarion lore should be confused. Familiar, Story and Meditation feats can also be found within these pages. When using the called shot rules, targeting feats provide the means you need to customize your options. How many feats are in here? Well, the first feat-table, which covers combat, critical etc. feats spans no less than 28 pages. And yes, more uncommon feat-tables also provide even more tables and texts. So far, so good, right?



Well, that is not where this massive book stops - from the halfling jinx to variant tiefling traits to familiar and school archetypes to fleshcrafting of draconic and other grafts to magic items and spells, there is A LOT of supplemental material herein as well. The obediences and their results, introduced in Inner Sea Gods, is also extensively covered, explained, and made viable as closed IP-free reskins, including demon lords, empyreal lords and much, much more. Primal Magic also can be found herein.



So, obviously, in a book that collects so many sources, we have quite a few that are downright broken. This book handles said cases in a more interesting way that I expected it to - some feats have added caveats, for example the first one, Acadamae Graduate, where a caveat has been added that eliminates the means for undead to cheese it. Said modified text also sports the yellow shade, rendering it easily identified as a change, a practice that also extends to full-blown alternate feats. Some feats are obviously VERY broken - thus, the original feat is provided alongside a revised version that may run smoother or simply be better - or just different. This, I honestly did NOT expect to find and I applaud it.



Now the filing off of the serial numbers may obviously lead to some minor confusion or you may just want to ban a constituent book or look up the original's fluff - but how do you point towards the source when you can't say it? With surprisingly smart and creative pseudonyms that are also listed in an appendix by the SRD-contributions - and you probably will understand which book is meant by "The Book of the North", "Complete History of the Dragon" and the like - yes, it is not 100% apparent at one glance, but looking at the feats and with some experience under one's belt, it makes sense and imho is a pretty ingenious way of providing a secondary organization principle to this massive collection.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed a surprisingly small amount of typos and the like in this massive book - surprising and commendable! Layout adheres to a 2-column full-color standard with brownish borders that thankfully come out as pretty printer-friendly if you try to print them. Artwork ranges from stock to several pieces of full-color art I have not seen before - nice. The pdf, thankfully, comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



Owen K.C. Stephens has collected a vast array of feats, nay a colossal bunch of feats in this tome and organizing them must have been an excruciating gruntwork I do not envy. At the same time, I dreaded this review - why? Because point by point analysis would have rendered this review useless. At the same time, I could not skip through these pages either, making the work on this review, though it may not show to you, an excruciating slog on my end as well.



That being said, while this ate up a lot of my time, I am glad I did not opt for the easy way out. Why? Because then I wouldn't have seen the fixes made to several of Paizo's...let's say, less than stellar rules-decisions. Now granted, not all pieces of content will find their way into my game and yes, I consider quite a few options provided in player companions et al. over the years OP. At the same time, some fixes actually make me contemplate using feats herein, fixing exploits and the like.



But how do I rate this? From the get-go, my decision way to not rate this as a feat-collection, but rather on the virtues of it being a compilation - and in said discipline, it excels - the filing off of serial numbers is handled elegantly. The organization and bookmark navigation is easy and concise. The fixed versions SIDE BY SIDE with the originals in the end mean that all camps will be happy - both fans of the original iterations and those that disliked exploits presented by the originals.



In the end, the amount of problematic feats and things I personally would have liked fixed is miniscule when compared to the workload that went into this tome and its overall content and presentation. And yes, while navigation, due to the necessity to avoid closed IP, is less intuitive than one would like, this book makes it as easy as possible within the legal restraints. As such, there is not much to complain regarding this massive book - and hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars for a well-crafted, well-organized reference document.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Options: The Feat Reference Document
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 55: Performance Feats
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/08/2015 09:12:34
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!



-Dramatic Display: Numerical escalation plus mythic power expenditure for nat 20'd maneuver checks in the round after the display. I don't like nat 20-granting abilities particularly for a reason and this falls into the category - the secondary benefit is arguably better than some primary benefits for combat maneuver enhancement as it also provides a +4 bonus in addition. This one is pretty broken in my book.



-Whip Mastery: Numerical escalation, but also mythic power expenditure for a follow-up attack versus a foe just tripped or disarmed.



-Improved Whip Mastery: Threaten the area of your reach. Also: Move unattended objects with the whip and move medium and smaller foes you tripped. Cool!



-Greater Whip Mastery: Grappling of adjacent foes via whip, option to tie them up and also Chokehold them. Nice!



-Hero's Display: Present Weapon Focus'd weapon for AoE demoralize, with subsequent attacks with the weapon further extending the duration of the effect. Okay, I guess.



-Masterful Display: Select 2 mythic performance or 3 regular performance feats; when making the performance combat check, you gain access to them, but only a +2 to the combat performance check.



-Mocking Dance: Move 5 ft. sans AoO or full movement with AoO, but you can't end the movement in a square that threatens an enemy; Adds bonus to combat performance and allows for AoE demoralize and it makes it possible for Diplomacy or Intimidate to be used to Antagonize instead. I wished this feat had a more precise wording than its non-mythic base, which failed to specify whether the 5-foot movement counted as a 5-foot-step or not. On a design-aesthetic position, I also would have included Antagonize among the prereqs. Finally, while this is a nitpick, I'm not 100% clear whether the skill-substitution for Antagonize only works in conjunction with Mocking Dance, but I assume no.



-Murderer's Circle: Numerical escalation for the granted movement by critical hits and maneuvers, with mythic power allowing for a follow up attack at bonus - nasty, but cool!



-Performance Weapon Mastery: Numerical escalation of the base feat. Okay.



-Performing Combatant: Makes all your performance feats available (instead of just one) at DC 20 and spend mythic power to make it count as natural 20. Much like in the base feat, I wished this actually provided full-blown synergy with hypothetical/imagined crowds - think about it: A mythic character "performing" for a crowd of ancestor spirits? That would be pretty awesome. A solid feat, but also a wasted opportunity.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Jeff Lee's performance feats are generally okay, though not always perfect. Over all, they do a solid job at what they set out to do, but also fall a bit flat of a conceptually awesome update - you receive solid craftsmanship with some minor hiccups and missed opportunities here. I will hence settle on a final verdict of 3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 due to in dubio pro reo.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 55: Performance Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Animal Races: Clan of the Frog
Publisher: Eric Morton Presents
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/07/2015 02:50:00
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This installment of the Animal Races-series clocks in at 15 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 2 pages SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 10 pages of content, so let's take a look!



The frog (and newt)-clans presented in this installment as the most civilized of boggards, once again, are presented in the trademark level of detail and believability one expects from Eric Morton's writing at this point. The supplement does cover both the intriguing psychology with distinct differentiations in aptitude and calling between parents and offspring and the resulting deviations of social structures from the default create a society familiar, yet alien.



Racial trait-wise, members of the frog-clan are either medium (+2 Dex, -2 Str) or small (+2 Dex, -2 Str), have the boggard subtype, low-light vision, normal speed of 30 ft. or 20 ft. respectively, scent (5 ft., scaling up to 30 ft. at 6th level), natural armor +1 (scaling up to +2 at 10th level) and it gets a sticky tongue that provides a penalty to AC and a movement limitation to those hit with it. The tongue can only be removed by an opposed strength check analogue to the boggard's ability. A total of 4 Frog Clan variants are provided. Bull Frogs get +2 Str and can select Frog Clan Heritage as a combat feat. Frog Clan members get +2 Int and can choose the Frog Clan Heritage as an alchemist's discovery, while Toad Clan members get the same modification, but may choose the feat in lieu of a hex instead. Tree Frog Clan members must be small, but gain +2 to Wis and the grippli subtype in addition to the boggard subtype, also gaining the Tree Frog heritage feat -which they may choose as a ranger's combat style feat.



Newt Clan base racial traits are identical with those of the frog clan, except that they gain a primary bite attack at 1d4/1d3 instead of the tongue. The Newt Clan members get +2 to Int and may select Salamander Heritage as a witch's hex, while Salamander clan members also get +2 to Int and may choose Salamander Heritage as an alchemist's discovery.



Now as to the racial heritage feats, Frog Clan offers hold breath or swamp stride, adding leap and terrifying croak thereafter. Tree Frogs can get camouflage, climb or swamp stride, adding glider, leap and toxic skin to the fray . Salamander's hold breath, flame resistance and swamp stride complement these options. The pdf also provides a feat that hearkens to the race's proclivities to strange science - Test Subject, allows you to learn a discovery that modifies physiology or body chemistry.



The pdf also provides 6 different alchemist discoveries, one of which nets a natural attack adamantine properties, which is imho a tad bit too soon at level 6. Infusing metal into natural attacks, gills; +4 to Intimidate at the cost of -4 to Disguise and an internal cavity (to store items in) as well as minor DR/piercing + slashing - apart from the adamantine issue being slightly too early in my book, a solid array.



The goddess of the new moon and alchemy and the genealogy as well as the interactions with the diverse mythologies of the clans once again provide compelling intersections with established creatures, thus rooting these clans in the respective cosmology and ecology. As always, we are also introduced to heraldic crests, though this time around, they are assigned to the symbols for alchemical substances, with partial negation of attribute-drain/damage providing interesting options.



This pdf does go beyond that with a second "deity" (or rather, cult), the Templar Cult, an evil organization devoted to literally worshiping technology - and yes, the pdf also sports 5 new technological items, from circuit threading to ray guns - nice ones! The pdf also provides a new cleric domain with Technology Guide-synergy.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I noticed no glitches. Layout adheres to the series' elegant, printer-friendly two-column b/w-standard with thematically-fitting stock art. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for you convenience.



Eric Morton's frog and newt clans are interesting and compelling and over all, there is nothing truly wrong with any of the pieces herein: I really enjoy many of the options provided herein. That beings aid, some of the small balance-screws, while not loose, imho could have used some slight additional finetuning - the adamantine discovery is a tad bit too soon in my book. Still, this constitutes a truly fun addition to the series and ranks among the more unique and culturally distinct files in it. Hence, my final verdict will clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Animal Races: Clan of the Frog
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadows of the Dusk Queen (Pathfinder RPG)
Publisher: Kobold Press
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2015 03:20:43
An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module clocks in at 36 pages, 1 page front cover, 2 pages of editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 31 pages of content, so let's take a look, shall we?



This module was moved up on my review-queue at the request of my players. The following being an adventure-review, from here on out, the SPOILERS reign. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, still here? Even the shadow fey can love, in their own, alien way - and so, a scáthesidhe, exiled from the winter court and hence known as the dusk queen, retreated to the dark woods and ruled as one would expect from a lady with her moniker. Against all possibility, a man from a far off land of eternal sun and scorching heat found his path into the dusk queen's dominion, where the two promptly fell in love - and here, the story might have ended, were it not for the construction of a dark mirror, which fueled the latent paranoia of the queen. The traveler, then known as sun king, tried to overlook his lover's continuing descent into amorality and evil, but when he noticed her plans to invade his home, he acted - weaving mighty magics, he imprisoned the queen and sundered her mirror; tales of tragic love being what they are, his solution did not prove to be permanent - and thus, the PCs happen upon a foreboding, dark forest, where the wind itself carries the words "She has returned" to their ears.



Entering the forest, a lavishly-illustrated treant weeping acid tears tasks the PCs in cryptic hints to track down the shards of the dusk queen's mirror - and escape is no option. From hampered teleportation to swarms of shadow stirges, the forest does its best to foil the PCs and yes, there is a table of wandering monsters, of which I encourage you to make ample use. The shadow forest's overview map (which is no less beautiful than the artwork) does provide several obvious paths that can be tackled in different sequences.



The locations themselves can be considered a veritable who's who of dark forest locations - from a pool of shadow nymphs to a bog most foul hiding an ancient monument and a spirit naga to a strike-force of bugbears under the command of a half umbral-dragon leader to a massive hangman's tree, the task of collecting the shards is a quick and interesting succession of iconic locales - and yes, of course, the PCs also get a chance to duke it out with a shadow drake.



Once they have finally assembled all the shards, it's time to face the dusk queen's tower, wherein she tries to cajole them into using the shards to repair her mirror and restore her to full power - hopefully barring that, she will attempt to use force - by means of her own theurge-magics as well as a graveknight antipaladin and his companion. Besting the two deadly adversaries (significantly easier if a strong-willed PC uses the powerful shards to blast them!) will see the end of the adventure and the tower's collapse - for now, for a sequel is in the making. Oh, and yes, there is a powerful, intelligent spellbook to be found here.



Now this pdf has GLORIOUS artworks and cartography all around - and you can actually use both: The module provides an art & map section that reproduces the Paizo-level gorgeous artwork (one provided for most major antagonists!) as one-page hand-outs to show to your players. Furthermore, the glorious full-color cartography of the dark wood is provided in a player-friendly version and to trump that, we also get the dusk queen's ruined throne room as a player-friendly, overview with a grid AND in battle-map-style size to print out - now THIS is going one step beyond! Two thumbs up!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are top-notch, I did not notice any significant glitches. Layout adheres to a beautiful, 2-column full-color standard and the artworks by Bryan Syme are staggering -see the cover? The copious amount of interior artwork is JUST AS GOOD. Yes. This is one of the most beautiful modules I've read in ages, with cartography also ranking in the top-tier echelon, especially due to the copious support regarding battle-map, player-friendly versions etc. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



My players still talk fondly of Marc Radle's first module published by Raging Swan Press, The Sunken Pyramid, so when I brought this module to the table, they were keen on playing it. The dark wood has a superb atmosphere that thankfully stands on its own and does not provide overlap with AAW Games' superb Snow White duology (Part I and Part II), instead creating its very own atmosphere and mood - which is a good thing. This module is all about atmosphere that is captured in great detail and enhanced by what could be considered to be some of the most stunning pieces of artwork I have ever seen in a 3pp module. Especially at the low price point, this is stunning.



Now I playtested this one twice, for a reason - my players were insanely lucky and had 14 natural 20s in the run of this module - and since it is pretty much a brief one that focuses on atmosphere, this meant they pretty much curb-stomped the opposition. When I ran it for a second time for a significantly less experienced and optimized group, there was one unlucky PC death, though that is to be attributed to abysmal luck. This module is not a meat-grinder and neither is it particularly challenging - the final fight in particular was very easy on my PCs in the first run.



Difficulty-wise, this is not a particularly challenging module, but it is a very much worthwhile adventure that feels completely like a Kobold Press adventure, breathing a sense of ancient fairy tales gone wrong. In direct comparison, the fights themselves do feel like they could have benefited from more environmental peculiarities and hazards - but that may just be me being spoiled. Shadows of the Dusk Queen is a premium quality module with a unique mood that very much manages to depict a compelling, short trip into a dark forest that actually deserves the moniker. My aforementioned nitpicks can mostly be attributed to me being a spoiled bastard and are offset by the quality of both production-values and mood. I do advise GMs running this for an experienced group to increase the difficulty-levels, though. In the end, I am happy with this module - its story resonates, its production values are superb, its builds are non-standard and interesting - and while it may be brief and none too hard, it was a great experience to run. My final verdict will hence clock in at 5 stars + seal of approval. Now can we have more modules of that caliber? After all, that's what made me a fan of Kobold Pres back in the day when it still was Open Design...

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadows of the Dusk Queen (Pathfinder RPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Search for Lost Legacy 4: By Eternal Wrath
Publisher: AAW Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2015 03:18:39
An Endzeitgeist.com review

The final installment of the Search for Lost Legacy adventure arc clocks in at 47 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 43 pages of content, so let's take a look!



This being an adventure-review, the following obviously contains SPOILERS. Potential players should jump to the conclusion.

...

..

.

All right, still here? This installment takes place in Vargon's former private sanctum, which is now under the command of his erstwhile second in command Damon Light-cleaver, though e.g. a Dark naga and certain servants provide ample opportunity for the PCs to sow discord within the ranks of their opposition - as this level is still very much inhabited, it should come as no surprise that the focus is a different one that takes a step away from the theme of abandonment and decrepitude.



In game, this proved to be at once an interesting change of pace and a flaw - while the series so far has excelled primarily in its indirect storytelling, so far almost all of the hints, from diary-entries to the theme of the sins of the ancestor inherited, this module changes its focus into a dungeon that is still operational, with the ancient wizard's lich-transformation being the central theme - sabotaged though it is, it is up to the PCs to complete it and annihilate the proto-lich while it phases back into reality in order to truly stop the wizard. While this is by no means an uncommon trope, it does not sport advice to trouble-shoot the very reasonable refusal of PCs to engage in exactly this practice, which can grind the module to a pretty nasty halt -essentially, the series fails to provide a good reason to actually try to destroy Vargon instead of leaving him in limbo. The exploration of the complex and braving of halls used in the process of lichdom-apotheosis works well as a concept per se, but still - from a dramaturgical perspective, I do think this pdf flounders.



On the plus-side, the social interactions and Bluff/sense Motive-boxes provided go above and beyond for the DM, with plenty of intriguing quotes that should not leave even the most inexperienced DMs baffled - two thumbs up for these!



That being said, to me, the internal consistency and realism the series evoked so far falls completely apart here - with so many powerful, unbound villains and his second-in-command here, with the transformation not completed, this whole level made no true sense to me. How could it go unnoticed? How can it be that Vargon hasn't been properly finished off? With so much of the complex remaining essentially barren and lost, why not extend the domain and claim those resources, rife for the picking? The reasons provided within the context of this module remain flimsy at best and, to me, invalidated the carefully established sense of cohesion and realism established over the curse of the series.



The pdf does collate Damon's story and the proto-lich template in the appendices (oddly featuring the 3.X-template as well as the PFRPG-version, though the 3.X-content has otherwise been purged from this pdf...) and sports the map of the complex in a player-friendly version as well - kudos for that.



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, though, as in the previous installment, some fluctuations in writing quality of both fluff and rules-text can be found herein. Layout adheres to a beautiful two-column full-color standard with gorgeous full-color artwork and the pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience.



John R. Davis' series' final installment is challenging for the level-range, though not in an undue manner - my players considered it not that hard, but then again, the mechanical challenge was never the forte of the series. This module, ultimately, constitutes the logical conclusion of the series as foreshadowed in part III, though it does so in a disappointing manner. Ultimately, the threat foreshadowed is invalidated pretty much, the sense of logical cohesion established carefully via indirect storytelling crumbles somewhat apart. The extremely compelling leitmotif of the dungeon, carefully established in part I and II, already somewhat diminished by installment III, now completely crumbles apart and, unfortunately, takes what makes the series special with it.



Where the first two installments, and to a lesser extent the third, stood out due to the atmosphere evoked, the unique sense of a strange archeology, this one almost negates that very premise by undermining the very foundation that made this stand out - the presence of a BBEG beyond the story's focus/boss and the traitorous creatures herein almost constitute the antithesis of the cohesion the series has worked so hard to establish.



Don't get me wrong, I don't expect a sense of Gygaxian realism in my dungeons; I can have great fun with dungeons that make no sense whatsoever, living creatures just waiting behind a sealed door etc. But this series began as something logically and thematically incredibly cohesive and consistent. When slowly, but surely, this premise is eroded; when what constituted the main draw and unique flair is abandoned half-way, it becomes problematic. The third module still made sense and was as much a change of pace as an invasion in one of the Dark Souls-games; but instead of a return to form, a module that could have stood by virtue of the vistas and exploration provided, the set-up herein sports several narrative and logical choices that hurt this arc and render it the one thing I hoped the arc would avoid - a bit generic.

Detailed, yes, but still. Add to that the inherited minor issues (minor rules-hiccups, remnant references to 3.X) of the series and we have a module that fell short of the promise inherent in the arc's plot.

I still very much can recommend the first 3 installments of the series, yes, even the less than perfect 3rd one, but to me and my players, this one provided a frustrating anti-climax that cast a pall over our otherwise very much remarkable journey through this arc. My final verdict will clock in at 2.5 stars, rounded up mainly since I believe that this works alone well, or at least better - but within the context of the series and its themes, it sticks out like a sore thumb. As a personal recommendation; I'd advise GMs running this to heavily modify the final complex and maintain the theme of decay via failing wards and haunt-like effects throughout an exploration of ruined halls.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Search for Lost Legacy 4: By Eternal Wrath
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mythic Minis 54: Mythic Clothing
Publisher: Legendary Games
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/06/2015 03:16:22
An Endzeitgeist.com review

All right, you know the deal - 3 pages - 1 page front cover, 1 page SRD, 1 page content, let's go!



The first piece of mythic clothing would be Foamfollower's Jack - a naval jacket that allows the wearer to alter winds and water walk, with mythic wearers having the option extend to other vessels in an interesting modification of the base abilities of the item.



The robe of teeth would make Gholad or Dahlver-Nar proud, as it animates and starts chewing up anyone foolish enough to grapple. Better yet, it can exude a disgusting, sticky tongue which can force move foes - and yes, mythic wearers can exude more of them - this item is AWESOME: Mechanically complex and glorious in imagery, this is beautiful...erhhh...disturbing! All awesome!



The 3rd item herein would be the scorpion cloak, which does not only grant bonuses when in desert environments and improves survival chances in combat with scorpions. More impressively, the item allows the wearer to receive tremorsense while not moving, also receiving a deadly, poison-delivering attack that can be executed from prone positions, with mythic wearers slightly escalating these options. I expected this to bore me and it didn't - kudos!



The 4th item, which can be found on the SRD-page, would be black silken slippers of star-striding, which not only provide an array of spell-duplications - but the interesting point here would be that light-sources can be targeted as a kind of teleport-beacon - oh, and interstellar transportation. Yes, awesome!



Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are very good, I noticed no significant glitches. Layout adheres to Legendary Games' 2-column full color standard and the pdf has no bookmarks, but needs none at this length.



Alistair Rigg and Jason Nelson deliver an all killer, no filler mythic mini with cool items that blend mechanical complexity with high-concept style - a great example of what this series can do. Well worth a final verdict of 5 stars + seal of approval.

Endzeitgeist out.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Minis 54: Mythic Clothing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1907 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates