DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info









Back
Legend
 
$19.99 $1.00
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
23 14
15 10
4 1
0 0
1 0
Legend
Click to view
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Paxton K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2015 19:18:25
Once again Mongoose more than delivers.
Normally reviews begin with the Pros. Legend is best covered with the Cons first.

Cons: Clunky. It could stand some streamlining and the system tends to use unconventional rules when a more standard method would have worked. This tends to make the game a little hard to relate to. It kinda reminds me of some of the problems with Basic and Advanced D&D. I know that has been a revival of old style games and you are looking for that Legends "quirkiness" will be no problem.
OK that really covers everything negative that I have to say and honestly these problems are easy enough to rework.

Pros: Legend feels more like a frame work than "rules" for a setting. It is very hard for RPGs that are not intended to represent some "elements" of a setting. If Gnoll is on the language list for Elves and not Dwarves, a statement has been made about the relationship of the three races. This tendency is very light in Legend and the few rules that "imply" a Legend world are easily changed.
As a matter of fact, Legend seems to have been written with the understanding that they will be modified and this modification is simple to do.
Legend really is more than just "classless". It also is very customizable without suffering the problems that "generic" rules can cause.

The next major Pro is it is Open Game License and it is even encourage to make suppliments and settings that the creator can sell!
This point is a real consideration. I ran a campaign for 3 years and all of the players and myself had 100s of pages of material that simply could not be published, let alone sold. This should seriously be considered for players who like long term campaigns.

I have been looking for something to replace Mongoose's version of Conan. Trust me, I love Mongoose's version; but, again, Conan is copyrighted and I wanted Conan without the copyright. I have bought just about every game on this sight that tried to do their own version and they just seemed silly compared to Mongoose's work.
What I was really looking for was any game that kept magic to an "oddity" like Howard treated it. I put off legend thinking that magic was very interwoven into its frame work. Legend contains several systems for magic. Any or all can be used or not used at all without changing the game balance. Almost every other game that claimed to be "like" Howard still required a good bit to keep the game balanced. Also most of them had their equipment a little more standard fantasy, not the more Classical Age". Legend rides the border and it customizable to easily back up or move ahead tech wise.

I am not going to say the cliché that for less than a dollar, you can't go wrong. But for the price, Legend is something that any gamer should add to their collection. It is worth so much more. Knowing what I know now, I would have gladly paid just about any price for it.

In conclusion, it is not perfect; but this is more a strength than a weakness because it can be used to create "your world" or modified to play in your favorite setting.

I think this may be the most under rated game on the market. It delivers what a lot of games promise; but don't really deliver on.

It's a dollar. Buy it. I think it will spark something in you to create and that is what RPGs are suppose to be all about.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Macezar A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2015 03:00:56
After reading and doing some playtests, I must admit it is a good system. Not the best one out there, but good.

The thing I really liked about it was the freedom to create anything you want. Remember that persona from your favored book? The one able to wield magic, sword, while being a rogue and a smooth talker? Well it is possible! Of course you would never be better than someone specialized in a few choices.

The combat is brutal and exiting. It’s a shame that it’s overly complicated to play in forums. Due to its mechanic, were players have the opportunity to react instantly to an enemy action. It makes any situation involving combat; take too much time to resolve in PBP for forum rpgs.

The magic though could have been worked a little more. It feels overly simplistic.
Basically, you create your own ‘magic school’, or organization, that has a fixed set of spells known. As you progress in that organization, you get to learn and know more powerful spells. The bad thing is, after the game start, it’s hard to keep the same ideas you had before the game, when you created your magic path. So, if you want to ‘learn’ other spells, you would need to start another path, from the beginning.

One of the other things that I found a bit annoying is that everything is rolled against one another. Maybe I’m spoiled by d20 system, where you don’t depend on your enemy roll to determine if your action it was successful or not. You just compare to your enemy ‘innate’ value. Of course the DM could make some small changes and adapt it, but even then it feels it could be better from the start.

Anyway, it is a good system, maybe for those like me, that compares everything with d20 system, it could be made a bit different, but that are some minor things, and easy to modify if you are aware of them beforehand.

Rate: 4/5

Macézar out.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:46:27
I jumped in on the RQII bandwagon when it first came out and followed Mongoose into the Legend title change. I am not a Glorantha fan, but I was intriqued by the rule set, especially the combat. Now bear in mind, the skills are streamlined, which is welcome, but combat is definitely crunchy and fairly slow moving. There are times where I desire crunchy combat, and the combat manuevers presented here really allow some gritty, tactical choices for those that like such a thing. Combat doesn't go on forever, because it's deadly and over in a couple of combat turns usually. I am not a huge fan of the division of magic here, as it assumes most everyday folks have some access to magic spells, but this is easily overlooked and revised for your own style of play. I recommend this product highly, and you can't go wrong for the price.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/17/2012 02:25:35
http://www.teilzeithelden.de
-------

Der Unterschied zwischen dieser Rezension und anderen ist, dass diese wirklich nötig ist. Der geschickt gewählte Name des Rollenspielsystems “Legend“ sorgt nämlich dafür, dass Ihr es kaum im Netz finden könnt. Dabei lohnt es sich wirklich hinein zu schauen, denn das settingunabhängige Spiel hat für Eure Fantasykampagne einiges zu bieten. Unter anderem einen unschlagbaren Preis und die Tatsache, dass es unter der OGL (Open Gaming License) veröffentlicht wurde.

Erscheinungsbild

Das Cover kommt in schlichten schwarz daher. Wenn das zu langweilig ist, der kann auch eines mit einem typischen Fantasymotiv bekommen, einen Krieger flankiert von einer Tänzerin und einer Magierin. Ich habe das Regelwerk bislang nur als englisches PDF gesehen, dessen Illustrationen einfach und relativ schnörkellos in schwarz-weiß daher kommen. Auch das Layout besteht nur aus einer halbtransparenten Hintergrundgrafik. Dieser spartanische Stil passt gut zu den Regeln selbst und ist gut gemacht, aber kein optischer Leckerbissen. Dafür lenkt er nicht vom gut lesbaren Text ab. Das Inhaltsverzeichnis ist überschaubar und enthält auch nur die Kapitel. Einen Index gibt es leider zudem nicht. Hier hätte man etwas mehr tun können, da die Regeln zwar einfach strukturiert sind, aber man z.B. Kampfmanöver, Waffen oder Zauber öfter einmal nachschlagen muss.

Der Preis ist das hervorragendste an Legend. Bei DriveThruRPG kostet es unschlagbare 1$! Bei Mongoose Publishing selbst hingegen 9£, was mich etwas verwundert. Das alternative Cover gibt es auch nur beim Verlag selbst und somit nur zum höheren Preis.

Die Spielwelt

Eigentlich gehört dieser Abschnitt nicht in diese Rezension, da das Legend-Regelwerk kein Setting enthält. Es wurde unter der OGL veröffentlich und kann es somit prima als Grundlage für ein eigenes Setting verwendet werden, auch oder gerade wenn man dieses veröffentlichen will. Natürlich hat jedes System seine Schokoladenseite. Legend hat seine größte Stärke im Kampf Humanoid gegen Humanoid. Die Häufigkeit von Magie in der Welt ist egal, da die Magieregeln völlig problemlos zu entfernen sind. Aber es gibt keine magischen Gegenstände in Buch, diese muss man selbst entwerfen. Diese Fakten sollte man beim Erstellen einer Kampagnenwelt im Hinterkopf behalten.

Die Regeln

Kommen wir zum Herzstück des Regelwerks. Legend basiert auf dem w100 und dem System von RuneQuest II. Es gibt 7 Attribute (Con, Str, Dex, Size, Int, (Will-)Power, Cha), von denen je zwei addiert den Grundwert für eine Fertigkeit geben, die dann gesteigert werden kann. Besagte Fertigkeit sind in zwei Gruppen eingeteilt: gemeine und fortgeschrittene Fertigkeiten. Erstere kann jeder Charakter zumindest mit dem Grundwert. Letztere muss man separat lernen, um sie mit ihrem Grundwert zu beherrschen. Sämtliche Kampffertigkeiten sind fortgeschrittene Fertigkeiten, nur den unbewaffneten Kampf kann jeder. Legend unterscheidet bei der Bewaffnung sehr genau. Langschwert und Schild, Dolch oder Langschwert und nur ein Dolch sind eigene Fertigkeiten. Man kann auch etwas andere Waffen mit einer gelernten Fertigkeit führen, doch das gibt Abzüge.

Je nachdem, wie gut man seinen Gegner trifft oder wenn er pariert, kann man Manöver ausführen um den Gegner abzulenken, niederzuwerfen, zu betäuben oder an einer bestimmten Stelle zu treffen, denn Trefferzonen mit eigenen Trefferpunkten gibt es auch. Auf manche Manöver hat man aber nur mit bestimmten Waffen Zugriff. Ich finde diese Regel sehr angenehm, weil man sich nicht vor dem Angriff lange Gedanken machen muss, wie man seinen Gegner schaden will, wenn man denn trifft, sondern damit beschäftigt man sich erst, wenn der Angriff wirklich durch kommt. Das beschleunigt den Kampf deutlich. Dafür gibt es einige Modifikationen, die man der Einfachheit halber meist vergisst (man kennt das Phänomen von Shadowrun) und unnötige Unterschiede im Detail zwischen Ausweichen und Parade. Weitere Komplexität gewinnt der Kampf durch die Beachtung von Waffengrößen bei der Waffenlänge oder der Parade. Zweihänder mit dem Dolch passieren? Geht kaum oder gar nicht. Und wer mit einem Dolch einen Speerträger angreifen will, muss zunächst an dessen Waffe vorbei, um ihn treffen zu können.

Der Kampf bietet einige interessante taktische Möglichkeiten. Diese sind zwar keine optionalen Regeln, aber man kann sie auch einfach weglassen, wenn man es schnell und einfach haben will. Dafür wird man wohl nur den Schaden stumpfer Waffen um eine Würfelgröße reduzieren müssen, da diese bei den Manövern etwas schwächer sind.

Magie gibt es in drei Arten: gemeine Magie, göttliche Magie oder Hexerei. Gemeine Magie kann, je nach Setting, jedes Wesen von Anfang an. Sie verfügt über simple, aber nicht unbedingt schwache Zauber. Sie wird mit einem einfachen Fertigkeitswurf gewirkt und kostet je nach Stärke des Zaubers Magiepunkte. Diese regenerieren sich in Regelfall nach einem halben Tag wieder vollständig. Fällt man allerdings auf 0 Punkte, läuft man Gefahr bewusstlos zu werfen. Die Zauber der Hexerei sind mächtiger bei ähnlich hohen Kosten. Hexer lernen eine Zauberfertigkeit je Spruchbuch. Aus dem Buch können sie dann einige Zauber im Kopf behalten und so oft wirken, wie sie Magiepunkte haben. Zusätzlich können sie die Fertigkeit “Manipulation“ lernen, mit der man Dauer, Reichweite und andere Parameter der Zauber ändern kann. Diese Kosten dann mehr Magiepunkte. Es ist sogar möglich mehrere Zauber gleichzeitig auf mehrere Ziele zu wirken.

Göttliche Magie hat eine deutlich andere Funktionsweise. Ist man Mitglied in einer Kirche oder Sekte geworden, kann man seinen Gott (o.ä). Magiepunkte widmen. Diese sind durch den eigenen Rang in der Organisation begrenzt und werden von den Magiepunkten abgezogen, die einem für gemeine Magie oder Hexerei zur Verfügung stehen. Pro Punkt kann man einen Zauber lernen, den man dann einmal zaubern kann. Lernt man ihn für mehrere Punkte mehrfach, kann man ihn auch mehrfach zaubern. Man muss sie nach Gebrauch an einem Schrein, Altar, Tempel oder anderen religiösen Ort seiner Organisation wieder “aufladen“, so dass man sie erneut zaubern kann. Wie mächtig dieser Ort sein muss, richtet sich nach dem Rang, ab dem man den Zauber lernen kann.

Zusammenfassend sind die Kampfregeln für die taktische Tiefe, die sie bieten, recht einfach und einigermaßen flüssig. Man wird allerdings ein paar Runden brauchen. bis man gerade die Details gelernt hat, die das Lernen manchmal unnötig schwieriger machen. Einige unklare Formulierungen oder Auslassungen schlagen in dieselbe Kerbe. Die Zauber funktionieren relativ einfach und haben insgesamt sehr wenig Offensivpotential, was Kampfmagier nur schwer möglich macht. Das Bahnchef insgesamt ist bei Legend nicht perfekt, aber gut. trotz all der taktischen Tiefe, die mit persönlich gut gefällt, kommen auch narrative Elemente nicht zu kurz. Dazu jetzt mehr in der...

Charaktererschaffung

Das Regelwerk bietet nur Menschen als Rasse an, deren Attribute per Würfelwurf oder Punkteverteilung bestimmt werden können. Danach wählt man eine Kultur (Nomade, Barbar, Zivilisierter oder Primitiver) und einen Beruf. Beide geben Boni auf gemeine und fortgeschrittene Fertigkeiten oder bringen einem fortgeschrittene Fertigketen bei. Der finale Fertigkeitswert wird dann durch das Verteilen weiterer Punkte festgelegt. Man kann noch die Familie, den sozialen Stand und teils langweilige, teils sehr interessante biographische Ereignisse auswürfeln, z.B. dass der Abenteurer als Kind krank war oder dass das sein oder ihr Geschlecht durch Magie invertiert worden ist. Erzählt man zu diesen Ereignissen eine Geschichte, die einen der anderen Charaktere mit einbindet, gibt es weitere 10% Bonus auf eine dazu passende Fertigkeit.

Die Charaktererschaffung geht relativ schnell, wenn man nicht zu lange einzelne Punkte zwischen Fertigkeiten und Attributen hin und her schiebt. Dass die Charaktere "Abenteurer" und nicht "Helden" heißen, merkt man daran, dass ein frisch erschaffener Charakter nur etwas stärker ist als z.B. eine Stadtwache. Auch der Charakterbogen ist übersichtlich und bietet für das Meiste genügend Platz. Nur Rüstungsteile und Zauber kommen etwas kurz.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht
Als Spielleiter erinnert mich Legend ein wenig an Shadowrun. Man kann sich zwar die Werte detailliert für jeden NSC ausdenken, aber das ist eigentlich nicht nötig. Mit ein bisschen Gespür kann man sich die einzelnen benötigten Werte schnell während des Spiels aus den Fingern saugen.

Wird eine Fertigkeit benötigt, überlagt man kurz wie stark der Charakter sie ungefähr trainiert hat und legt einen entsprechenden Wert fest. 5% mehr oder weniger machen da eigentlich keinen Unterschied. Einzig wenn der NSC Magie beherrscht, sollte man sich zuvor etwas Gedanken machen. Besonders der Auswahl der Zauber sollte man einen Augenblick widmen.

Da man so die Gegner sehr flexibel anpassen kann, fällt das Erzählen einer Geschichte viel leichter. Es gibt einfach mehr Freiheiten. Auch die sehr einfachen Grundregeln lassen den Kopf frei für Atmosphäre und Story. Die komplexen Regelteile beschränken sich auf die Teile Kampf, Magie oder Heilung und treten damit erst auf, wenn sie akut gebraucht werden. Dann muss man sich aber sowieso stärker darauf konzentrieren, aber auch nur darauf. Für Spielleiter, die ihren Spielern gerne harte Nüsse im Kampf präsentieren, ist der Job in Spiel einfacher und schwieriger zugleich. Da man Kampfmanöver nicht lernen muss, muss hier keine komplizierte Vorauswahl getroffen werden. Das überlässt die Härte der Nuss dem taktischen Geschick im Moment des Kampfes. Hier muss man entsprechend etwas üben.

Durch die Wahl der Waffen und die Gegnerzusammenstellung kann man dann noch bei der Vorbereitung Einfluss ausüben. Dies kann durchaus einen großen Unterschied machen. Mit einem langen Speer kommt man z.B. hervorragend gegen Wildtiere zurecht. Eine Überzahl auch schwacher Gegner hingegen ist nicht einfach zu besiegen. Aber dazu mehr meinem Spielbericht, der am 28. Januar folgen wird.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht

Für Spieler gilt dasselbe, wie für Spielleiter. Die einfachen Grundregeln lassen den Kopf frei für anderes, wie die Wahl des richtigen Manövers im Kampf oder das Ausspielen der Rolle, die mit den Möglichkeiten der Charaktererschaffung gut fundiert werden kann. Die nicht vorhandene Rassenwahl ist allerdings ein Wermutstropfen, da es auch keine Hilfen gibt, wie man weitere Rassen erstellt.

Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis

Da der Preis mit einem Dollar extrem niedrig ist, ist das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis sehr gut, trotz der etwas spartanischen Gestaltung des Regelwerks und den Schwächen in der Verständlichkeit und Eindeutigkeit der Regeln.

Fazit

Legend ist ein genial günstiges Regelwerk, das den Spagat zwischen taktischer Tiefe und lebendigen Charakteren gut hinbekommt. Die angesprochenen Schwächen und die in manchem Detail unnötig komplizierten Regeln werden allerdings für einen holprigen Start sorgen. Die Regeln sind in den meisten Teilen qualitativ gut, ihre Niederschrift aber nicht immer. Das, die Veröffentlichung unter der OGL und der unschlagbare Preis machen daraus eine definitive Kaufempfehlung.


Unsere Bewertung

Erscheinungsbild 3/5 Das spartanische Layout und besonders der fehlende Index und das grobe Inhaltsverzeichnis geben Abzüge, auch wenn das Regelwerk optisch keineswegs verhunzt ist.
Spielwelt -/5 Keine Spielwelt, keine Bewertung.
Regeln 4/5 Abgesehen von den genannten Unklarheiten hat Legend ein gut nutzbares Regelwerk mit Tiefe und Möglichkeiten zur Charaktergestaltung.
Charaktererschaffung 4/5 Gute Möglichkeiten zur Individualisierung und Kleinigkeiten, wie Boni für miteinander verknüpfte Charaktere, geben ein rundes Bild. Die fehlenden Rassen verhindern den letzten Stern.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielleitersicht 4/5 Legend ist einfach zu leiten. Allein, dass man NSC-Werte fast schon improvisieren muss und es keine Hilfe beim einschätzen der Gegnerstärke gibt ist nicht ganz so schön.
Spielbarkeit aus Spielersicht 4/5 Die Spielbarkeit ist gut, nur dass man etwas braucht bis die Regeln sitzen ist ein Wermutstropfen.
Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis 5/5 Der Preis.
Gesamt 4/5 Trotz einiger Schwächen, die aber meist im Detail liegen, ist Legend ein Regelwerk, das vieles richtig macht und damit unterm Strich eine Empfehlung bekommt.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Rollme S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/02/2012 21:33:39
Legend is a fun, general, high-fantasy system with a lot of versatility in character creation, though (IMHO) it also has a few weaknesses. I started gaming on D&D 3e and play mostly 3.5 and Pathfinder now, but we're getting tired of the edition wars and are branching out to new systems. I never played Runequest, and it looks like most of the reviews are from old runequest fans, so I'll try to make a few points that might be useful to someone considering trying Legend after a DnD game. As a substitute for the d20 fantasy system, Legend has a lot to offer. Most of the attributes are familiar, with Power replacing Wisdom (rather nicely) and Size being (thankfully) put on par with other stats. I like the fact that size and strength both contribute to a weapon damage modifier, and that size determines more than just what kind of weapon/armor you use. The skill system is awesome, basing most skills off of two abilities (dance off of charisma and dexterity, for example). The basic mechanic takes some getting used to in that usually a low roll is good, unless it's an opposed roll, in which case the higher the better. Calculating target percentages and numbers seems to take longer than finding a DC in DnD, but that may just be our lack of experience. Other than that, the system seems like it plays pretty well. The are no character levels, so character advancement is more customizable, but also requires more planning. While I like the magic system and using points to cast spells rather than having spell slots (3.5 players who are familiar with Unearthed Arcana variant casting rules should easily adjust to this...UA might have even borrowed that variant from the original Runequest for all I know), I'm not a huge fan of the "every character has magic" build. Even Pathfinder, with its "cantrips and orisons never run out," has classes ("professions" in Legend) with no magic. Legend seems to be little bit higher high fantasy in that magic is more pervasive, but if you like that idea for a world, give it a shot.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Hugo G. P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/30/2012 13:07:47
Better and more serious than Runequest, Legend, without doing too much noise is one of themost gratifying surprises of this season.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Stu V. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 06/08/2012 12:39:21
I love what Mongoose Publishing does for the RPG hobby. They've taken some old, oft-forgotten systems and breathed new life into them, modernizing the rules and supporting them.

Legend is in someways the evolution and "genericization" of Mongoose's revival of the classic (and table-heavy) Runequest, Runequest II.

Legend is a setting-less fantasy RPG using a percentile dice based skill system, much like Call of Cthulhu. The skill system is very flexible and includes rules for taking extra time for bonuses, penalties for rush jobs, applying two skills to a situation.

The character generation system is both detailed and quick. In some ways, they've applied some aspects of the Traveller chargen and applied it here (though it isn't random). Characteristics (Strength, Constitution, Size, Intelligence, Power, Dexterity, Charisma) can either be rolled randomly or purchased with a point-buy system. Secondary attributes are mostly determined by your seven characteristics.

Where it becomes Traveller-esque, is when you determine your character's background (Barbarian, Civilized, Nomad, Primitive) and profession (too many to list). These give you bonuses to skills, which are categorized as "common" and "advanced."

Common skills is the refreshing idea that there are certain things everyone knows how to do. These are common things that are both useful and, well, common. You don't have to, for example, remember to purchase "Perception." Your character already has that skill at a default level (Int + Pow). You may receive bonuses depending on your background and chosen profession, and you can also purchase up your skills with skill points later in creation.

The combat system allows for some characters (with sufficient Int and Dex) to have multiple actions per round. Additionally, characters can also gain more actions, depending on their successes (and their opponent's failures). Mongoose has attempted to come up with a list of maneuvers that one might use in combat, providing rules for each.

In all the combat system seems detailed and complex. Being a fan of GURPS, that doesn't scare me away. I do wonder, however, how much real-world time a combat might take. After my reading, I doubt it would be quick, though as one progresses up the learning curve it would definitely speed up (naturally), and the hit point levels are such that I think most combats would be over after a couple of good hits.

Legend features three types of magic: common, divine and sorcery. Each has its own discrete spell list and rules for casting. Common spells us a spell point system, with spells having a point cost detailed in the description.

Divine magic uses a modified "Vancian-style" magic system, where the user must mediate or pray to gain access to or learn the spell. Once the spell is cast, the divine caster must spend a certain amount of time meditating or praying for an amount of time determined by his commitment to his god to regain the spell.

Sorcery works in a similar way, where the sorcerer can have a number of spells equal to his Int "mentally prepared." The spells are not "forgotten" when they are cast, but if the sorcerer wishes to change up his arsenal of spells, he must take time to "expel" a spell to make room for another. Sorcerers have two skills used to cast spells. Firstly, they have Sorcery (Grimoire). There is a separate sorcery skill for each grimoire to which the sorcerer has access. The second skill is Manipulation, and this is where the power of the sorcerer can show.

The manipulation skill points are applied (it's an unrolled skill) to a spell to increase the spells range, duration, magnitude, etc. It can also be used to merge two spells together. The cost of sorcery spells depends on how much manipulation the sorcerer chooses to use.

The sorcery system offers a great deal of flexibility, and to me seems to most emulate magic as seen in much fantasy fiction.

Mongoose is going full-bore with its support for Legend. As of this writing, there are several other sourcebooks written specifically for Legend. Additionally, Mongoose says the Legend system is 100% compatible with previous Runequest II titles, giving the system a huge catalog.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Joey M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2012 13:06:08
I'm very impressed with this book. I own and have played RQ2 (chaosium) quite a lot. And I think Legend is a great format for it's successor. Streamline and fun version on the BRP system. A+ in my book.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2012 07:23:11
For just $1 you can buy into a near enough complete version (you'll probably want the Monsters book too) of one of the most flexible, intuitive and dynamic systems on the market. 'Nuff Said.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Egil G. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/30/2012 13:17:19
I give this a 5 star review, because I liked the original system (RuneQuest 2) and this looks like a version that has been improved for use with ebook-format.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Samuel B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2012 03:17:31
I had played RQ somewhere along the line but no so I'd remember it.

I am fairly new to GMing so am on the lookout for decent games to sink my teeth into. For only 66 pence ($1) I bought Legend and read it through. I have now set up a game, two of my three players have generated characters and soon we will be ready to go.

The rules need a certain amount of house-rules, but the book even says this is acceptable as Legend is rules only without setting so it can be bent and warped to your own needs.

I have the dead-tree version being delivered sometime soon too.

This is totally worth buying, and a great system to play with. Buy!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Christopher R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2012 13:02:16
Pretty good adaptation of the RuneQuest/Rolemaster rules. Gives them more broad potential for application while still maintaining the "feel" of Glorantha. Its also more complete and laid out more sensibly than the 2nd edition rules. The book is pretty attractive and you can tell some thought went into the design; the art is not personally my favorite but it has its charm.
The price for the PDF is the biggest draw! For $1.00, you definitely get your money's worth. Strongly recommended

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Chris H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/03/2012 13:13:40
Mongoose's Legend is the spiritual successor to the RuneQuest game originally developed and released by Chaosim Games and Avalon Hill, back in the 70s and 80s. Mongoose's Legend is the actual successor to their own RuneQuest game, rebranded and given a life extension after Mongoose gave up the license on the RuneQuest name. Much like the earlier incarnations of the RuneQuest game, Legend does one thing very well: it gives gamers a grittier alternative to the 800lb. gorilla of fantasy role-playing...Dungeons & Dragons.

Inspired by, and derived from, the Basic Role-Playing System that has powered games such as RuneQuest and Call of Cthulhu, Legend is a fantasy game that relies on character attributes and skills, rather than classes and levels, to define the capabilities of a character. This might not be for everyone, and Legend would take some stretching to reach some of the power levels of that other fantasy role-playing game, but what Legend does...it does well.

Character generation in Legend is a snap. Legend offers two manners with which to create characters: the tried and true random method as well as a point buy method. Either of these are capable of creating well-rounded and interesting characters. Coupled with guidelines for Veteran characters, you can make characters that run the gamut from starting adventurers to seasoned pros, in no time at all. Cultural Backgrounds and Professions let you decide who your character was before becoming an adventurer, leaving it up to you to determine what your character is going to be through play. Having the option of both random determination and focused point buy should make a spectrum of gamers happy. Heroic abilities give your character the sort of "legend"ary capabilities to grow into that will make them the match of any fictional creation.

Task resolution is simple and everything is based off of the percentile dice, giving an intuitive way to explain what characters are capable of doing to both non-gamers, and gamers who may not be experienced with percentile-based game systems.

Legend postulates a world filled with magic, more so that many other fantasy games available on the market. One of the things that sets this game apart from many other fantasy games is the concept of Common Magic. Common Magic, simply enough, is the inherent magic of the universe, those magical effects that anyone can use without having to go through the training and experience of most magic-using characters in other games. This helps to create a richer fantasy world where magic is a part of the every day. This might not be fancy or powerful magic, but it can be life (and game) changing. This is one element that has been with RuneQuest since the very beginning, and it surprises me that has not been adopted by more fantasy games. Having common, everyday magic within the reach of everyone makes for a fantasy that is so much more fantastic that what you find in a lot of role-playing games.

The graphic design of Legend isn't fancy, but that isn't a problem. The black and white design is clean and easy to read. The illustrations, also in black and white, do a very good job of setting the tone for the game, and its implied world. Legend may not have a default setting, like when Mongoose published it originally under the RuneQuest brand, but the implied world that comes across through the text, the art work, and through design choices like Common Magic, makes for a rich implied world that is just waiting for you and your gaming group to fill in with the exploits of your characters. If Legend is not in your gamer's toolbox of fantasy games, you should fix that with this PDF. Even if you do not play Legend, the ideas presented in this game can be brought across to any fantasy game and enrich it with its different approaches to the genre.

You can find an expanded review over at my blog: http://dorkland.blogspot.com/2012/02/talking-about-mongooses-
-legend-role.html

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by jonathan c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2012 07:18:41
Legend presents a solid version of the d100 system that is more playable and easier to understand than Chaosium's Basic Roleplaying and the price is hard to beat but there are so many nits to pick that I doubt I will actually be running a game with it anytime soon. There are so many little things wrong with this game that it's hard to note them now, but what it boils down to is that it's very hard at times to get clear cut answers out of these rules. The examples are often incomplete and contradictory (probably because they were cut and pasted out of the first Mongoose edition of Runequest). The game would be much improved if Mongoose would just release some errata

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend
Publisher: Mongoose
by Dean P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/21/2012 17:59:50
A very well put together re-write of an old favourite system. Keeping itself to clean basics, Legend allows itself to be an excellent core system for any would be world creators. If a percentile system is the way you like it, then you can't go far wrong with this little gem.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates