DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Infinity: Infinity RPG Core Book
Publisher: Modiphius
by RONALD P.
Date Added: 02/15/2018 18:27:27

This is a nice product. If you are a fan of the miniatures game, you will find tons of background info here on the setting. The system is easy to use, character creation is well balanced. Art is excellent. My only complaint is that I wanted to be able to generate Tohaa characters. The description states that they can be created, and then the actual product requires waiting for a Tohaa sourcebook. Now this is probably not going to be an issue for most purchasers, but I purchased it to specifically see how the Tohaa were generated, and they are not here. For this reason, I have given it 4 stars. It would have gotten 5 if it had not been advertized incorrectly,



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Infinity: Infinity RPG Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Altais: Age of Ruin
Publisher: Parhelia Games
by RONALD P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2018 14:04:32

Altais is a great RPG. The setting is balanced and well imagined. Artwork and production values are top notch. The setting is medium in magic. Its a fantasy/sci-fi world, similar in background to Tekumel in that humans colonized thousands of years in the past and have now forgotten their origins. Now an ancient evil is returning to the world of Altais, and the players adventure against them, or not, they could just adventure. Lots of original creatures. You can dungeon crawl easily. All in all, Altais is a complete game. I recommend it to anyone, and to anyone just getting into RPG's and GMing, it provides a decent system and excellent notes on running adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Altais: Age of Ruin
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Elizabethan Adventures: Players' Book
Publisher: Matthew Wallhead
by RONALD P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 00:07:50

I purchased both the Players Book and the Game Masters guide. Fabulous game, well researched. Setting is covered extensively. Everything you ever wanted to know about being an Elizabethan is in this game. System is easy to use, combat is crunchy and well thought out. Author clearly knows the subject and loves it. I hope to see much more for this game! I would compare this, in its detail, to ACES and EIGHTS or Coriolis: excellent rpg's which convey what they are meant to convey and do it superbly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elizabethan Adventures: Players' Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for these positive words. It's been a labour of love for many years. I'm just glad it finally reaches an appreciative audience after so long. I will be working on further campaign material in future. I hope you enjoy this as much as my friends and I have done.
Elizabethan Adventures: Gamemaster's Book
Publisher: Matthew Wallhead
by RONALD P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2018 00:06:23

Fabulous game, well researched. Setting is covered extensively. Everything you ever wanted to know about being an Elizabethan is in this game. System is easy to use, combat is crunchy and well thought out. Author clearly knows the subject and loves it. I hope to see much more for this game! I would compare this, in its detail, to ACES and EIGHTS or Coriolis: excellent rpg's which convey what they are meant to convey and do it superbly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Elizabethan Adventures: Gamemaster's Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Falling Stars - Adventure: Into the Long Dark Night
Publisher: Lock 'n Load Publishing
by RONALD P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2017 06:03:46

I purchased Falling Stars the Core rule book, based on the high quality of Lock n Load publishings games. It was a little sparse on background info so I purchased this adventure, expecting it to provide possibly a little more background. It turns out it is merely an adventure, written to appeal to the totally novice role player, with hardly any useful info for the Falling Stars setting. If it had been $5, I would not have been critical. Their needs to be a disclaimer that this is a product for totally novice players and is designed for them, and not something a seasoned gamer need bother with.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Falling Stars - Adventure: Into the Long Dark Night
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Westward Premium Edition
Publisher: Wicked North Games
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2013 01:46:43

This was a surprise. Its a nicely done world. Lots of gear and lots of creatures. You will be pleased with it. If they had a big publisher, this would be a $40 book. Get it, you wont be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Westward Premium Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2300AD Core Rulebook Revised
Publisher: Mongoose
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2012 22:43:26

I am sorry if this review disturbs anyone who worked on it. I am sure you are reading this thinking I am overly critical. If so, I apologize. But if you had maintained the integrity of the product, or even tried to follow its predecessor more, I would be happy. Sadly, I just paid $29.99 for something I must wait for new supplements to use. And as for Mongoose, the Babylon 5 RPG line was well done. Because of that, the only reason I can see for 2300AD to be so pathetic is that it was done so to make you buy the next book, and in this case, it is blatant.

I have been a fan of 2300AD since its very first inception as Traveller 2300AD. When it just became 2300AD, it was much improved. I have followed the 2300AD fan base, and it has been kept alive by the Etranger site. That being said, I feel I can give a good review of Mongoose 2300AD.

First off, this is not the 2300AD I grew up with and have remained a fan of for 25 years; it is boring, it is minimal in its focus, and it does not have the feel of 2300AD. I am disappointed with it for many reasons. 2300AD is one of my favorite settings. I expected a product produced over 25 years after the original to surpass it: This does not. It is less than the original and for absolutely no reason other than the one many publishers pull now: MINIMAL USEFUL INFO FOR THE GM TO ENSURE SALES OF THE FUTURE PRODUCTS IN THE LINE. This game focuses on Earth and the nations there. There is no space exploration. Worst of all, it is visually boring! Where is all the art???? Perhaps I am spoiled by the product printed 25 years ago before computers dominated the industry, and expected that, with all of the resources produced in 25 years, this one would rock, and it does not even try.

I am not sure how the system itself will work for 2300AD. Mongoose Traveller is a good and simple system, so I will not rate it.

Original 2300AD books were visually interesting. There are lots of charts for such things as what language a nation speaks, where a planet or star system is, and many charts for star ship design.

The written material here is good. Cybernetics and DNA mods are covered well. These are things which were not deeply covered in the original products. Earth/Cybertech did some, but not much. I have the original books, so this part supplements them in this department.

The chief protagonist race of 2300AD are the Kafer. This product glosses over them: you receive no stats for GM usage, no ships, no equipment, and one small blurry picture. You will not be using the French Foreign Legion to fight the Kafers on Aurora in this game until a supplement is published.

As for weapons, the original 2300AD had tons of stats and pics of the weapons. Not this one. You have a few of each type.

I feel that the intention here is to focus on human versus human, and wait for the Alien Supplement to come out. This is very disappointing. A $29.99 pdf should have more depth. It seems to me that you are expected to play Cyberpunk 2300AD, as opposed to exploring the frontiers of space, whereas the original product focused on the frontier, with the Kafer War and The Aurora Source book.

Buy this if you have no other reference to 2300AD, or if you have all of the old books, in which case I am sure you can convert things. This book will not give you a feel for 2300AD.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
2300AD Core Rulebook Revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2011 03:00:27

COSMIC PATROL NEEDS ARTWORK. THE WRITING IS SOUND, BUT YOU DO NOT GET TO SEE THE SPACESHIPS. THERE ARE SOME CHARACTER PICS, BUT FOR A CATALYST PRODUCT, THIS IS POOR.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Patrol: Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chthonian Stars Core Setting
Publisher: WildFire
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2011 01:56:51

Cthonian Stars is Cthulhu in Space. The premise is the arrival of a "Cthonian Star" which is emitting a strange energy which is awakening the slumbering Cthulhu Mythos creatures. It uses the Mongoose Traveller system, and requires that you own the Traveller Core rulebook. I always like the excellent writing and artwork in Wildfire products. Cthonian Stars is no exception.

This product would have received 5 Stars from me, except for the following issues:

The problems I have with Cthonian Stars: For one, it gives almost zero information on the colonies your characters are supposed to be investigating. With the Traveller world building rules in place, this should not have been a problem for them. Perhaps it will come out in an update. Another problem was, when I sent two questions to the creators on their website, they never responded. Both questions were setting related, and I thought, important enough to be answered. No answer. So I put Cthonian Stars away, even though I bought the Traveller Core Rulebook just to run it, and will focus my Sci-fi Horror attention elsewhere. I also tried to join the forums for this game, but was never admitted by the admins. Perhaps they are all on vacation?

The price is right, and it is nice, but do not expect support from its creators. You are on your own!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Chthonian Stars Core Setting
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cold City v1.1
Publisher: Contested Ground Studios
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2008 17:04:09

COLD CITY is a great game. It is well supplemented, and the art is great. Its a very interesting premise-- monster hunting in bombed out Berlin, ca 1948. Its a very paranoid setting, everyone has a secret agenda, and the Cold War is on the verge of starting. This is a must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cold City v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2320AD
Publisher: QuikLink Interactive, Inc.
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2008 16:59:52

CAVEAT EMPTOR! I bought this having been a longtime fan of 2300AD. The product I got wasnt even a completed version, and even though the producer promised a finished one to those who bought this one, I have yet to see it. Dont buy this until the finished final version is out. E for Effort.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
2320AD
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

CthulhuTech
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2008 16:54:54

This product is a must-have for ANY Lovecraftian Horror fan. It seamlessly melds Sci-fi, horror, mythos, and mecha into an awesome combo. Here are some high points- ART= The art is excellent and professionally done. SETTING= The setting is well written, and easy to play in. THE SYSTEM= Framewerk is an easier system than most, character creation is fast, and the combat system is quick, easy, and detailed. The mecha combat is in a larger scale (Integrity points), but still simple and effective. VALUE FOR MONEY= This core book is an excellent purchase. It really has everything the GM needs to run the game, unlike many games which merely say they do.

Go get this game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CthulhuTech
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Rocketship Empires 1936
Publisher: Storyart
by Terry P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2008 19:02:33

This is more of a review of a review. I purchased Rocketship Empires 1936 even after reading the 2 star review. I looked into the artwork issue, and found it to be totally groundless, bordering on the defamatory. The world is well envisioned, and easily ports into your favorite system. There were typos and editing snafus, which the creator acknowledges and fixes for purchasers. I have yet to find an editing mistaked which has adversely damaged my comprehension of the setting. The strongest aspect of the game is the art. Its exceptional, and as good art does, it gives life to the setting. I feel the most important aspect for ANY game is "DOES IT FIRE THE IMAGINATION?" In the case of Rocketship Empires 1936, it does. It blends the sci-fi of the 30's with strong pulp adventure. And what is wrong with a green martian? What color do you want, pinky russet or muave? The line is strongly supported personally by its creator. If you have a problem, go to the creators forums. I think another good rule is that when you have a problem, try to get it addressed by someone before you cry and gripe about it. None of the problems that were listed in the 2 star review were serious, and all, except for the colored martians, are easily remedied by the creator. I am giving it a 5, and I hope this balances out the unwarranted 2.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rocketship Empires 1936
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates