DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Narrow Results









Back
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
 
$7.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
16 7
4 2
1 1
0 0
0 0
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Click to view
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Howard J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2015 10:13:29

I have a difficult time understanding why anyone would rate this lower than 4 stars, or, honestly, 5.



  1. The layout and art are professional and evocative.

  2. The writing is top-notch. When describing mechanics, it's crystal clear. When it's describing the setting, it skillfully conjures a strange new world.

  3. The sandbox construction mechanics are amazing and among the very best available. It's possible to buy this product for that purpose alone, because of their utility for any fantasy role-playing game…
    4…. but the setting is top-notch as well, supplying a good reason for western and eastern hero archetypes to journey together. There are plenty of foes large and small, some intended for one-shot scenarios, and some for the long term campaign, including some great mysteries. It just begs to be played.


Kevin Crawford's work sets a very high bar. Highly, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by jarick P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2015 19:40:50

First, I am new to this review writing.
I read the other reviews and contemplated for several weeks.
On first skim, I get to this part about an island chain as the campaign setting.
And then we have climate bands squeezing from cold northern to tropical.
I am no expert and have not read in detail, but nooooo.
It is explained as;
Quote 'The Isles are located between two massive oceanic counter-currents.
The Great Northern Flow./snip/ In the south, the Southern Gyre brings hot,
humid air to blanket much of Ektau and leave the rest warm and
welcoming to agriculture.'


Surely this would produce crazy weather patterns; violent storms and what ever else as they rub up against each other. Someone tell me I am wrong, or its explained in the text to make sense.
Sure its fantasy, but now I really have to stretch my (and players) suspension of disbelief.
Such a pity.
Not sure I will look into any further products.
Allan



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Mathias B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2015 14:18:37

This one is a very good product, which is a) an interesting campaign setting (with a twist), b) a fine sandbox c) an campaign creation kit.
Do yourself a favour and buy it together with 'An echo resounding' as it is a very nice add-on.


Although I don't use D&D or any derivative of it, I used parts and concept of it for one of my savage worlds campaigns. That proves how flexible this is. Along with a couple of other, more generic products I think this is a must for any GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2014 14:11:29

This one has an excelent reputation which is fully deserved. While being a sandbox campaign setting on the surface, it actually is a very useful model for the creation of campaign settings in general, which should be very useful for all GMs. Even if you're using an already existing setting, it's a great resource to not just create small locations, but to actually come up with groups of people to encounter, who are not just traveling on the road, but have their own motives and problems.
Recommended without reservations.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Bastien W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2014 07:11:39

Red Tide is an excellent setting. It has refreshing sides next to great classical approaches that makes it at the same time quite unique and easy to get into. I was drawn to it by cheerful reviews in forums and I was not disappointed. The information goes straight to the point with flavorful texts.


This is the kind of setting rpg writers should get inspiration from. Cleverly presented, well executed and beautifully written. I will definitely do!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Christopher P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/14/2012 09:08:05

This is fantastic. The campaign setting is a refreshing step away from Eurocentric fantasy without being so unfamiliar that players will not understand where they are and what is going on. Every bit of the setting information drips with hooks and ideas; just flipping through it, I was inspired for adventure upon adventure to write. My sole quibbles were stylistic with some of the ideas all the way in the Secrets of the Mist chapter, giving some DM's background information; but that is maybe 5 pages out of 173, and none of it is necessary and all of it can be ignored safely; it's not even worth knocking the rating down from five stars for that.


Even beyond that, the book is equipped with some awesome tools to generate an entire setting to play in. It really gives you the confidence to set down, build a region, and cut loose; and while the tools are built initially around the setting, it's looks to be fairly easy to repurpose them to any other fantasy setting. I cannot recommend this more highly both to referees of sandbox-style games and those just looking for an excellent setting to play in.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by Bruce G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/13/2012 17:46:12

I picked this up based on a recommendation from Grognardia, in particular, the 50+ page chapter with tools on building a sandbox campaign. I haven't read much of the PDF outside of that, though what I have read of the setting is well done and quite cool. But so far I'm finding the sandbox chapter very well done and it should prove quite useful for my upcoming campaign (which will either be Pathfinder or 4E, though at the rate I'm getting it ready it might be D&D 6E...in any case, you don't need to be playing Labyrinth Lord to use this). The Asian feel is cool, though it will require some tweaking on my part to work with a standard campaign (Western European style).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by William T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2012 13:09:24

A cool campaign world and gives a distinctive flavor compared to other traditional fantasy. My favorite part is the game resources section starting on page 142 of the pdf. It is full of handy tools for adventure creation. I highly recommend this product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2011 13:52:58

An excellently written sandbox campaign setting for old school games. It provides the overview of the campiagn setting including detailed character integration (including some new classes and systems). After that it provides a wonderful toolbox for adding details to the sandbox. In some cases the toolbox is worth the product alone.
Well done.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Red Tide: Campaign Sourcebook and Sandbox Toolkit
Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
by morgan g. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/08/2011 12:37:34

A really fantastic setting that just happens to be an excellent sandbox, Red Tide contains strongly drawn cultures (including some really amazing takes on Dwarves, Elves, and Halflings) with inbuilt conflicts and a sense of history. There are a great variety of potential antagonists (everything from barbarian tribes to urbane blood sorcerers), and plenty of places to come from, with a strong cultural context provided for why a given character might have turned to adventuring. The book has an excellent series of tables to generate sites for adventuring - everything from a dungeon crawl to a court intrigue can be generated. The book also contains a series of new spells (all of which appear pretty solid), and some excellent advice on constructing and running a sandbox style campaign.


The games maps are hexbased (like you might expect), and while the resolution is fairly low (25 miles per hex) this leaves plenty of space for the GM to fill in his or her own details. I'm especially fond of the Diagram dungeon - which captures a lot of the coolness of an oldschool grid-drawn dungeon while avoiding it's inherent complexity and obsession with detail.


All in all, an excellent product I really can't recommended enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates