DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster $0.00
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 3
6 4
6 1
1 0
0 0
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Click to view
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2017 17:02:29

Fantastic system. My freinds and I have been burned out by D&D lately and this was a great breath of fresh air. The adventure itself is very focused on investigation and a little inflexible about following the bread crumbs, and the resolution leaves a bit to be desired. Aditionally there are a few numbers missing from the pre-gens in back. Aside from that my group had a great time and will be returning to Rokugan with relish.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Dennis L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2014 15:56:20

A Free RPG Day product from a couple of years ago, its a shame that AEG hasn't considered writing more of these. The adventure is a great, quick introduction not just to the system for L5R (which is faithfully represented) but also to the world and the setting. Understandably (word counts?) the adventure doesn't explain certain finer points of detail (why suicide would be better than imprisonment; why the PCs have to endure insults and baseless allegations), so anyone running the adventure should be prepared to answer those questions if they come up, especially since there are no Courtier pre-generated characters. Otherwise, a good adventure when you're looking for something to do other than you're regular.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Tahjare D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2014 17:09:47

I am new to l5r and this was the first glimps in to the game. I found the first section informative but lacking in details that only the rule books provide. The adventure it self was interesting and a good read. The third section with the pregenerated characters and spell description was also informative. Had I known the games mechanics I would definitely play the game.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Orin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/14/2013 12:02:44

Listen, I'm gonna be straight with you here. L5R's RPG isn't for everyone. Try this out before you actually buy anything to see if it's for you but i gotta tell you, it's a lot of fun if you can hack it.

In this you'll find all the basics about how to play laid out, the core flavor of rokugan introduced and a colorful beginner's scenario to play through. Everything you need to decide if this is an RPG for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Diogo S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2011 14:26:27

Nice introductory adventure to bring new players to the complex setting of L5R.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Adrian S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 05/12/2011 01:05:29

This is actually quite a good introduction to L5R for a group that has very little (or no) experience with the game. It does present a heavily cut-down version of the rules (and a small grimoire-worth of spells for the shugenja) that makes getting to play a swift experience. There are enough rules to play out the entire module, and they capture the flavour of the system very well. Groups wanting to continue will need to purchase the rulebook. The story in the module is, on the surface, very simple, but in true L5R style, there are many layers to peel back. It is possible to cruise through the module in a linear fashion, but there are a wealth of opportunities to engage with the social structure, etiquette and customs that make Rokugan such a rich setting. There are political and face-saving schemes afoot in the background, with plenty of clues and opportunities for characters to chase down leads (in a respectful manner, of course). There are a number of ways that the plot can be resolved, all with their own ramifications and enough meaty choices for philosophical souls to mull over.

The only detraction in this was the way in which the pregenerated characters are set out. they simply run on from page to page, and cutting them out to hand to players is a nightmare. I would strongly suggest that AEG take a look at how Catalyst handle their quick-play characters. Catalyst presents double-sided half-page characters with a small illustration; with the sheets easily cut, or torn out and distributed. Not so with this AEG product.

that said, this issue isn't insurmountable (more an annoyance), and the quality of the module more than makes up for it. I'd highly recommend this to absolutely anyone who has ever looked at L5R and thought 'it looks interesting...' It is indeed, and this module showcases why.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2011 15:52:58

This pdf was made available for free, which is definitely a shame, as I would have been extremely happy with my purchase had I spent money on it. This module is ready to go, no NPC creation necessary. It deftly handles multiple paths a group of samurai handling this adventure might take, written out like a mini "choose your own adventure" for STs. I have never read a module and immediately felt comfortable with the thought of running it without making some kind of change, but this did not need any. I truly hope AEG makes more of these, and I will purchase any that they make.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Five Rings: Legacy of Disaster
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/16/2010 19:40:53

The question I have to ask about this product is:

Why hasn't everyone with an internet connection downloaded this?

Take everything I like about L5R, put it in an easy-to-play package, and you've got Legacy of Disaster. Granted, there's a lot you can do with more, but if you wanna give the system a quick spin, this is perfect for you.

This is like a slice of cake: There's still more out there, but it's really, really good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates