DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The 1PG Compendium
Publisher: Deep7
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2016 20:08:04

Considering I paid $30 for the PDF alone on RPG now, I'd say the price point for the print is great. The Compendium does not include the expansions from Hengeokyi Studios, which is why I'm giving it 4, not 5, starts. But the system is functional and easy: 1D6 roll under a target of attribute plus skill. For most of us, gameplay is a rarity that often takes place over google hangouts, Skype or FaceTime with old friends sperated by distance. This type of gaming necessitates a rules-lite system. And let's face it, spending and hour or more designing a character was cool at 12 years old; over 40, it's not even worth it. You'll have your characters ready in 5 minutes or less. I won't say this is the best rules-lite system out there, but it's certainly worth a look at this price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The 1PG Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The BoL Hack
Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2016 20:04:32

I'm a sucker for Simon's games, and at $2.50, I didn't pass this up. The hack carries over the best aspects of BoL: careers, versitle non-Vancian magic, hero points, etc to a d20 roll over mechanic. The system here looks highly playable, but it lacks in one key area: monsters. There is a monsters section, but many Sword & Sorcery classics are missing. I would have liked to have seen either conversion guidelines from standard OSR, or random monster creation tables. And, and this is just my preference, I would like to see ship rules. I am a huge admirer of "Queen of the Black Coast".



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The BoL Hack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
You\'ll be pleased to note I\'ve updated the pdf with a few more pages of monsters
Swords & Sandals
Publisher: John M Stater
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2016 11:10:44

I posted a video review here: https://youtu.be/6QzUdB2-
CeKc



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Sandals
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Prowlers & Paragons Core Rules
Publisher: LakeSide Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/17/2016 22:13:06

I posted a video review here: https://youtu.be/FiGAI4d-
xWg0



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Prowlers & Paragons Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Publisher: Flying Buffalo
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/29/2015 10:35:42

The original T&T came out the year I was born, and I first encountered the game in it's 5th edition when I was twelve, before I ever played D&D. I still find the Monster Rating system far easier than statted foes. This is the best edition of T&T since 5th [and I have all of the post 5th ones]. There are a lot more "clothes" on the rules, but at its heart, it's still the same easy to digest game. The book also contains probably the most comprehensive writeup of Ken St. Andre's Trollworld under one cover. Another fringe benefit to T&T is that the game has had one author at its helm for 40 years, and Ken St Andre and publisher Rick Loomis are still actively engaging us fans. I am looking forward to the hardcover. Now FBI needs to do a deluxe version of Mercenaries, Spies and Private Eyes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Deluxe Tunnels & Trolls
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 05 - Vehicles
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2015 08:16:14

...another solid offering from Bill Logan, this PDF delivers a vehicle stat system with a number of examples that can be customized. This PDF begs for a sequel detailing a vehicle-mech-starship unified construction system with even more extras.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 05 - Vehicles
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills
Publisher: DwD Studios
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2015 09:33:10

I've been a huge fan of Bill Logan's contributions to the RPG hobby since he remastered Star Froniers about a decade ago. This PDF is an example of why. The title is deceptive, or rather modest. These twelve pages offer far more than a skills system for White Star. What we have is: a skills system [34 skills; 2 per character, with a +1 on a roll over d20 roll], a martial arts system [new randomly rolled moves per level] and an expert class. Bill has been pumping these Hyperspace Messengers out about once a week. So far, I have not been disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hyperspace Messenger 04 - Skills
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Super Happy Sentai Companion 1
Publisher: Stupid dice studios
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2015 23:01:29

...more good content here, basically picking up where the core pdf left off. All of it seems pretty useful, except the miniatures rules, but that my personal preference. I'm looking forward to the mecha supplement. Keep 'em comin'.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Super Happy Sentai Companion 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Sailors: The Magical Girl Supplement for White Star RPG
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/31/2015 22:56:07

I just took the White Star plunge the day before this PDF came out because of all of the buzz about it and the secondary material coming out. Star Sailors is just the type of material I want to see. I does what it says it does: introduces galactic magical girls and genre tropes into White Star. There really isn't anything negative to say on my end. The author says he wants to produce more anime themed White Star supplements. Star Sailors goes alone way, especially if mixed with Ruins and Ronin. I suggest a mecha genre supplement.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Sailors: The Magical Girl Supplement for White Star RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Voodoo Pirates
Publisher: GRAmel
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2015 14:44:30

I'm a sucker for swashbucklers. I finally decided to purchase this PDF with the release of the next in the series No Happy Endings. I really like the trajectory of the Adventures! releases. For Voodoo Pirates, my big question was: could I use this to run a Zorro game? To my surprise, one of the pregen characters is named Alejandro de la Vega.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Voodoo Pirates
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

No Happy Endings
Publisher: GRAmel
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/22/2015 14:37:53

Adventure! really is a game in two pages, and each addition adds useful and imaginative stuff, including this one. I bought it for the prospect of anthropomorphic characters. I would like to see GRAMel continue the release schedule for Adventure! set with the last two quality products: about one a month. I'd like to see both Old West and "Wagon Train to the Stars" settings, as well as Kaiju and mecha-anime settings. The price is right for this series of PDFs, and printing is ink-friendly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
No Happy Endings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starship Tyche (Powered By Fate Accelerated)
Publisher: Dancing Lights Press
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/09/2015 15:27:17

The layout and art revisions improve the pdf overall. There's some creativity here: namely the various colony worlds based on fundamentalist religious doctrines. The fate accelerated rules are included, so if you want to run a Star Trek TOS campaign using FAE, all your really need is this pdf and maybe a cheap used copy of the Star Trek Encyclopedia. There could be some improvements. For one, there are no Romulan or Andorian analogs, which is minor because this can be fudged on the fly. More on creating alien species and world would have been nice, or another sector or two described, and there's no mention of Star Trek in the bibliography at the end, but there's something to be said for not stating the obvious. Is there anything here mechanically that really surpasses combination of the FAE core book and the free star ship FAE pdf, both available for free here on rpgnow? No. Is it a fun read? Yes. The $10 price point, which I paid, is too high. Given the recent revisions, though, the current sale price of $8.50 is just right. I encourage those on the fence to buy now.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starship Tyche (Powered By Fate Accelerated)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: A to Z Subscription
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/05/2015 16:28:56

I'm encouraged that Steve and Dan are doing the series. It promises to propel icons squarely into 2015. If the first issue is any indication, this series offers fun insight into various tropes superhero gaming. My hope is that they will extend a discount to subscribers if the collection goes to print on demand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: A to Z Subscription
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
If there\'s a POD edition of A to Z eventually, Curt, then a discount to subscribers is definitely something Ad Infinitum would look to do, if at all possible.
Super Happy Sentai Hour
Publisher: Stupid dice studios
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/19/2014 22:10:58

There's a lot packed into 48 pages, including random monster generation tables and other bits that would make this a nice pick up game. If you like Sentai and rules lite RPGs, you'll like this. Don't expect super detailed art. The art here is very retro- early D&D like. I don't mind that. I don't want to pay for flashy art unless Steve Kenson's name is on the book. Basically, what you have here is the same type of genre info found in the Otherverse Games OGL Sentai PDFs without the burden of the OGL system. There's an add for a supplement to add Ultraman style characters. That'll be cool. I wanna see Gatchaman too guys. If they keep the quality decent and the price low, I will continue to buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Super Happy Sentai Hour
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
WOW! Thank you for the kind words! I am glad you liked it We will definitely have a bit more coming in the future. Thank you again for the kind words.
Sentai Sequel!
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/27/2014 10:50:40

Rarely do I print out the PDFs I buy on rpgnow. This series is an exception. It contains a lot more options and some nice advice for integrating Fursona. Even if you don't play d20 / Pathfinder, there's some good genre emulation here that could port well into other games. A great follow-up would be a Fursona-style rubber suit kaiju / giant robot builder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentai Sequel!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 162 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates