DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
#1 With a Bullet Point: 13 Dwarven Questing Feats
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/21/2013 12:32:09
1 With a Bullet Point: 13 Dwarven Questing Feats from Rogue Genius Games is built around expanding the core ideas of dwarven identity, such as they organize and contract quests, implemented through the Questing Proconsul feat which provides minor bonuses for those organized into a proper questing company. Many of the other feats build off of dwarven racial abilities such as Battle Name, which recalls a great achievement of the character against enemies of the dwarven people, and Tomb Smasher, which lets you break into stone area more easily. All I all a lovely pool of additional feats for dwarves.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 13 Dwarven Questing Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[PFRPG] Player's Options: Dwarves
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/21/2013 12:31:34

Player's Options: Dwarves from 4 Winds Publishing. It starts with presents two variant dwarf-kin: Half-dwarf (and half human), children of that rare crossbreeding with talents from both side, and Stone Dwarfs, who are even more closely tied to the element of earth than most dwarves, both useful for various sorts of stories. Fourteen new dwarven feats, including Dwarven Baritone (for the singing dwarves) and Exile, who fights with fury against those that drove them from their mountain home, this provides more options for customizing dwarves as do six flaws (as well as the rules for flaws). The product wraps up with new dwarven equipment including two new weapons and one type of armor, along with the dwarven made qualities for both armor and weapons, some dwarven food and drink, a musical instrument and a false beard (unfortunately called a merkin). This provides some useful additional choices for dwarven characters and some amusing items to use as treasures in abandoned dwarven ruins.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Player's Options: Dwarves
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/16/2013 16:04:17

Gun H(e)aven 3 provides (surprise surprise) more guns for Shadowrun, statted out for both 4th and 5th editions which is useful and also -at times- perplexing. The weapons are primarily small arms, with one each assault cannon, light machine gun and flame-thrower, many of which are the sorts of weapon that would be found in households, not usually the sort of heat runners would pack but that they might be shot by or be forced to use in bad circumstances. All of this is useful in the right circumstances. But what perplexes me about the product is that while it is the same weapon from edition to edition, the availability, cost and legality (!) of many of the guns changes from edition to edition which are part of the same continuity, some explanation would be welcome.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Gun H(e)aven 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Shadowrun: Montreal 2074
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/16/2013 16:03:19

Montreal 2074 as the Republic of Quebec opens for business, Montreal sees a renaissance as corporate money pours in revitalizing the city and providing Shadowrunners with opportunities. This resource gives some background as to what has happened in Quebec as a whole since the matrix crash 2.0 and what specifically has been going down in Montreal. It gives a good overview of the city, sketches of the major players in the shadowy underworld and ends with nine contacts appropriate to Montreal (while written for the previous edition, the mechanic of the contacts are the only things that would need to be converted for a 5th edition game). While there are a variety of implied adventures in the text, some adventure seeds would have been a nice addition. Overall, a needed resource if you want to run the shadows up Quebec-way even though it could have provided some deeper information beyond the overview for plot hooks and really getting a feel for the shadows of Montreal.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Montreal 2074
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Transcendent 10 - Feats of Synergy - Heartbound Heroes
Publisher: Lost Spheres Publishing
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/13/2013 14:59:03

Transcendent 10 – Feats of Synergy – Heartbound Heroes from Lost Spheres Publishing draws upon the trope of finding resolve (and magic) in true love, providing feats for those who have found their one, called a ‘heartbound partner’ here, and it starts with a discussion about making sure that such stories have a place in your campaign and will fit with your players’ interests. Ten new feats, one new spell and a new psionic power are provided. The feats are a mix of combat and non-combat feats most (naturally) require that you are aiding or acting for your heartbound partner; the new feats including a metamagic one that allows your charm spells to create a simulated heartbound effect, which is rather clever, and one that allows wordless communication between a pair of true lovers (a classic). The spell and psionic power are both 1st level and are mirrors of the same ability, a call to your heartbound partner and aid for them in reaching you, quite thematic. If your campaign wishes to explore the boundaries of love and magic, this product is well worth a look.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Transcendent 10 - Feats of Synergy - Heartbound Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#1 With a Bullet Point: 14 Halfling Burglar Feats
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/13/2013 14:58:00
1 With a Bullet Point: 14 Halfling Burglar Feats from Rogue Genius Games is exactly what it says on the tin, 14 feats for halflings, mostly rogue oriented but other classes will find useful things here as well. As expected, these are solid, Lucky Number lets you share your good luck, Professional Burglar lets any halfling join in the burglering fun, and Knuckle-Cracker, which allows a slinger to make disarm attacks. However, the Duck and Weave feat seems to missing finishing part of its final sentence. Overall, useful if you have lots of halflings in your campaign.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 14 Halfling Burglar Feats
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

[PFRPG] Player's Options: Halflings
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/13/2013 14:57:06

Player’s Options: Halflings from 4 Winds Fantasy Gaming starts with a disclaimer that while fictional halflings drink and smoke and there are feats and flaw that relate to such in this product, the authors do not condone such behavior, which struck me as a little odd, but there you go. It then presents two variant halflings: Hidefeet, hardier stay-at-homes, and Willowbranch, adventurous and adaptable, useful for variety. A half-halfling template is provided for those odd crossbreeds, which I like in concept but the execution seems a little odd, as half-halflings, while usually larger than pure halflings, somehow are physically weaker than them, still a good idea that can be made to work. Fourteen new feats, including Frying Pan Mastery (for the combat cook) and Underfoot, allowing you to dodge between big people’s legs, provide more options for customizing halflings as do six flaws (as well as the rules for flaws). Lastly, new halfling equipment including two new sling variants, halfling staples (food, drink and pipeweed) and a few other useful things. Overall, a useful expansion for additional halfling options, if you have enough halflings in your campaign to need to expand them.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Player's Options: Halflings
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 18:40:58

The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church is more a network of preachers and agents dedicated to the god of pain and suffering who seek to free people of service to the cruel gods, to seek the divinity within. They act to let people find their own path in the world, freed of the dictates of gods who cause naught but suffering and death to get their way. A few radical members of the church actively strive to weaken other religions but most members just try to lead people to a better and more peaceful way. Naturally, the Stitching Church is not usually welcomed by other faiths. It is an unusual faith and one that is suitable for stories and adventures out of the norm.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Stitching Church
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Temple of Celestial Revolution
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:25:50

The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Temple of Celestial Revolution watches the stars, and when the time is right, they topple kings and destroy governments for all things must change, and power structures left to long corrupt and fester. The Celestial Revolutionaries seem likely to end up in opposition to traditional adventurers as they seek to tear down the country in which the adventurers operate in, but the cult’s goals could align with others and allies are always welcome. The Celestial Revolutionaries are also playing a long game of divine politics which could conflict with other aims or lead them to hire adventurers to advance that agenda. Many options in play could arise from this militant cult. A map of the Way Station of Nurlen, a staging post for the sect, is provided as well.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Temple of Celestial Revolution
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Cult of Summation
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:25:34

The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

The Cult of Summation seeks to reduce the knowledge of each individual life to a clear, concise and complete summary, unfortunately they tend to do so through the carefully applied arts of torture. The Cult maintains prisons, libraries and torture chambers, usually in the same complex. The Cult is pleased to serve their Goddess through these tasks, though direction is often given through visions that the cultists receive when undergoing near death experiences. The Cult is unlikely to be friends of adventurers but they may be a place that prisoners can be housed and information gained, if one is willing to bend to the dictates of the Cult. A map of the Prison Library of Stavrok Falls is also provided.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Cult of Summation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Silent Bite
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:24:45

The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Silent Bite is a secret religious society of hunters and revolutionaries, dedicated to driving the corrupt from power and promoting the will of the goddess. It is an aristocratic conspiracy that, at its best, seeks to break foreign domination, cull corruption and promote a meritocracy (through the better class of people of course), at its worst, it uses terror to maintain the aristocracy. It is a group that could recruit the player characters or be in opposition to them or both. It also includes a nifty random conspiratorial cell generator.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Silent Bite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Brass Horseshoe
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:21:36

The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Brass Horseshoe is a branch of a warrior cult which knows that wars are not won by courage alone, training, discipline, and logistics win wars far more often. The Order of the Brass Horseshoe seeks to provide and perfect those skills to anyone going to war, seeking perfection in their craft and efficiency in war and in clearing up its aftermath. There is a good question and answer section about how the members of this sect view war and their place in it. The Brass Horseshoe Order is extremely useful allies but it is a pain if they are aiding your enemies.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: The Brass Horseshoe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragonslayer Pantheon: Order of the Sacred Deep
Publisher: Chubby Monster Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/08/2013 08:20:10

The Dragonslayer Pantheon products by Chubby Monster Games are designed by author Andrew Shields to be incorporated into existing game worlds and provide a new take on one of the religions attached to a god. Each religious order presented includes the common knowledge about the order as well as the secret knowledge of the initiated, non-player characters tied to the order, its practices, suggestions for power levels and adventure hooks using the order and advice for incorporating the group into an existing setting.

Sacred Deep is a mystery cult dedicated to keeping the secrets of the caves and under-earth, secret. They are shadowy but not evil, though their action could easily prove disruptive to adventurers, they are not overly confrontational -in most cases- more an annoyance. Yet they could also become allies under certain circumstances. A very flexible group that could be entirely overlooked by player character yet could still impact them in interesting ways. Also, this volume, the first of the Dragonslayer Pantheon products is free, so you can try it without risk and see if the structure and layout appeal to you.

Overall, I think the Dragonslayer Pantheon product provides a useful set of ideas and options to spark adventure and interest in various religions in a game world.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragonslayer Pantheon: Order of the Sacred Deep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Pride
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:44:04
1 with a Bullet Point: Seven Sinful Feats of Pride is just better than the rest, or maybe that is just the Prideful feat talking. Those who are prideful want to be the best, but being treated as the best will be a close second, and their feats allow them to gain additional bonuses when they succeed magnificently and when others fail (though some cause penalties if the prideful fails to succeed which is a nice touch) .It concludes with a brief discussion of the role of sinful feats in a game as they are not just for evil characters. These feats are ones I can easily see being taken by player characters, many of whom have inflated ideas of their own self-importance, why not reflect that with an appropriate feat?

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Pride
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Lust
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/03/2013 16:42:39
1 with a Bullet Point: Seven Sinful Feats of Lust as promised seven feats all building off the Lustful feat which allows for the projection of desire across language barriers and rewards the possessor for fulfilling their desires. The other six feat focus said lustfulness towards various purposes, of which are mostly fairly obvious but Write ("You are expert in maneuvering while in tight spaces") amused me. It concludes with a brief discussion of the role of sinful feats in a game. As lust and sex appeal can have a place in games these feat can be used for a variety of character builds, but not the feats you will often see most adventures take.

Disclosure: As a featured reviewer for RPGNow/DriveThroughRPG, I received my copy of this product for free from the publisher for the purpose of this review.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
#1 With a Bullet Point: 7 Sinful Feats of Lust
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 61 to 75 (of 470 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates