DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Pangenre RPG Modern Firearm Cards
Publisher: Pangenre, LLC
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/30/2011 21:18:48
This is a great idea! I am used to various fantasy-themed equipment and spell cards, but its about time a publisher did it for modern gaming! I am sure fans of Pangenre would also like to see other cards, such as modern armor and modern melee weapons as well (And don't forget about future items too!).

The cards are easy to interpret and read and the art is in black and white, but clear and attractive. All the info a player or GM needs is there!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pangenre RPG Modern Firearm Cards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to give our product a look-in. This was very much an experiment, and it has been fairly well received as an add-on for our RPG System. We have created a version using all of the non-crew-served Open Game Content firearm weapons that is available separately (alas, not a freebie, but it's just a buck). When we release the next major Pangenre RPG System iteration, we will also create cards for melee weapons, and perhaps other objects as well.
Oathbound Eclipse - Director's Cut
Publisher: Epidemic Books
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/24/2011 13:06:44
This Pathfinder-compatable product is well worth the price of admission. The PDF is over 240 pages of imaginative, descriptive details about the lands of Eclipse. Filled with artwork that enhances the feeling of wonder and strangeness of the world, it has a "Talislanta" feel to it- and that's a good thing!

From a nice selection of fun races and some interesting classes; to a section detailing lycanthropy and vampirism, there is more than enough material here to inspire any GM's game.

The only possible downside to the PDF is that the reader must paitently sift through a ton of fluff in order to get to the crunchy bits, but for those who enjoy being sneakily drawn into a setting by a sourcebook, this will do the trick!

I am truly looking foreward to more stuff from Epidemic Books.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Oathbound Eclipse - Director's Cut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Expansion 01
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 00:24:27
Since my long-time gaming group has seen many of its members move across the country, we have begun gaming online. The e Adventure Tiles have been a great help in providing me with various environments to visually stir my player's imaginations.

The Dungeon Expansion 01 is yet another detailed, colorful, and beautifuly created product that can be used both for online and table-top play.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
2e Adventure Tiles: Dungeon Expansion 01
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

World of Lykarnia : A Game Of Classic Fantasy Role-Playing (with Bonus)
Publisher: Big Iron Vault
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/16/2011 01:33:36
This is a really solid product that obviously meant a lot to the author. The layout is clear and easy to read. Character creation is explained logically and with lots of examples. There is a good balance of campaign background info, dispersed with game crunch, so the reader isn't overwhelmed at any time.

The character "Paths" have refreshing twists to them that make them stand out from typical fantasy tropes. Character races, or "Cultures" are pretty predictable, but comfortable. Magic is handled in a tongue-in-cheek way, but still respects the power of the arcane caster. I wish there had been more spells, but I have a feeling that between fans of the game submitting spells and supplements (hopefully), there will be plenty in the future.

Combat seems to lean towards the 'quick and gritty' stuff I love, and the resolution mechanic is easy to understand and based off of the 1d10 die roll.

Wrapping up, I like this product very much! The system is easy to grasp, allowing a gaming group to get started right away; there are many options, allowing for character growth and longevity; and it appears easy for a GM to add spells, gear and creatures of his or her own design fairly easily!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
World of Lykarnia : A Game Of Classic Fantasy Role-Playing (with Bonus)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello David, thank you for the kind words. This game does mean a lot to us and especially me personally thank you. Lykarnia is our first attempt at a full blown RPG and we've already identified areas that we can improve on. It is worthwhile to note that we have an on-going playtest campaign to ensure that any issues get ironed out as quickly as possible through issued Addendums on our website http://www.bigironvault.com/wolhome.html. We would be honoured if you join our facebook page (big iron vault) and suggested ways to improve on this game or just to simply hang out! Best regards, Keith
Mysterious Places: Broken Bridge
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2010 16:19:29
As a GM, I am always on the lookout for well-drawn, clear, pieces of art. And when I get my hands on a nicely done piece of scenery, its always a treat!

Mysterious Places: Broken Bridge is just the thing. The artwork is clear and crisp enough for print or for viewing on a monitor or laptop and comes in a TIFF and JPEG version. The addition of an easy to read license text file is great as well. Its written in 'plain english', so anyone can understand it.

If anything, a color version would have been nice as well.

I give Broken Bridge 3 stars out of 5.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mysterious Places: Broken Bridge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nathan Winburn Illustration: Dark Fantasy Vol. One Stock Art
Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 10/01/2010 12:37:18
Mr. Winburn has done a very nice job in capturing the moody essence of 'Dark Fantasy'. I consider the heroes and creatures contained in Volume I to be in the category of 'super-heroic' and many viewers will be inspired by them. What I mean by that, is that most of the dark heroes and villians are mighty-thewed,wielding large weapons of mayhem! And although I prefer my artwork a bit more 'realistic', Mr. Winburn's visions are great stuff indeed! Hopefully later volumes will contain more examples of sorcery-inspired subjects and maybe some scenery as well. We GMs can always use a crumbling ruin or inn interior to show to our players.

The only other suggestion I have is to possibly go with 'themed' volumes: Dragons, Dungeon Denizens, Dark Heroes, etc.
I give Dark Fantasy Volume I, 3 stars out of 5: Good job, sir- looking foreward to more!

David B. Semmes

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Nathan Winburn Illustration: Dark Fantasy Vol. One Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Obsidian Twilight Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Publisher: LPJ Design
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 07/05/2010 13:11:07
Let me begin by saying that this product gave me the same feeling as when I read the Palladium Rifts RPG for the first time. The presentation, campaign background, races, spells, and even prestige classes all have an inspirational 'freshness' about them that is good to see.

Design/Layout/Art- The artwork is crisp and vibrant. Not too over-the-top, but edgy enough that it helps to power the creativity of the PDF. The overall layout of the product is logical and clear, with a good balance of crunch and fluff. My only complaints are a few obvious typos and some headers were hard for me to read. And the PDF Bookmark was both logical and functional! Thanks!

Fluff- The campaign background was typical, in that a catastrophy changed the world. If you have been around long enough, it will seem familiar enough. But the after-effects of this event blended in wonderfully with the races and the locations.

Races- There are some nice, original ideas for races in OT. I don't see the reasoning for playing dwarves, gnomes, haflings or elves in the setting, when the other options are so fantastic! And how about some love for the Osirians?

New Feats- Varied and fun. Makes me want to play a Necro!

Creatures- Nice selection , and they fit the setting perfectly!

Bonus- Tokens!

Wish List- Maybe a Racial Feats List, simular to the spell list.

Overall a really fun product! Looking foreward to more LPD stuff.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Obsidian Twilight Campaign Setting (PFRPG)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Age RPG, Set 1
Publisher: Green Ronin
by David B. S. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/15/2009 14:53:47
In what seemingly is becoming a popular trend, the Dragon Age RPG- Set One, is based upon the Dragon Age video game. Having played the video game, I must admit that I had pretty high standards for this RPG, created by Green Ronin.

Set One comes with 3 PDF files; a Player's Guide; a GM's guide; and a map of the Ferelden area. The map is beautifully drawn, in color, with just enough detail to draw player's into the setting, and lacking just enough detail to give a GM plenty of room to add his or her own creative touches.

The Player's Guide gives a nicely done overview of the different cultures populating the game world, along with solid historical flavoring. There are plenty of names and places to make players feel as though they are travelling in a well-thought-out world. The layout of the PDF makes it a pleasure to read, with nice artwork throughout. And I must add that the bookmark feature is nicely implemented.

Character creation is typically done, with a few twists to make things interesting for gamers who aren't new to this sort of thing. The 3d6 system is something we all have seen before, but is, in my opinion, a solid choice. It shouldn't take players too long to make characters and get a game up and running. There aren't a TON of choices to make, when creating a character, but I get think that is the point. While reading through the Player's Guide, I saw opportunities to add 'House Rules' for GM's wanting abit more detail. But then again, this is just Set One! (Hopefully we will see, along with other things, MANY more spells made available in the future!)

The Gm's Guide is fairly straight foreward, in that it gives various tips on creating adventures, interpreting rules, treasure, and creatures. I will say that the 'tone' of both the GM Guide, and the Player's Guide are very conversational and easy to read. And that is a big plus! Nothing is worse than having a book or PDF that you hate to read because of horrible layout and organization!

In closing, the Dragon Age RPG is a solid system, ripe for additional modules, classes, races, and magic (including Blood Magic!). The 3d6 system it uses is simple and gets the job done. Even if you are using another gaming system, the rich history and culture of Ferelden is fantastic.

Good gaming!

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Age RPG, Set 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 38 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates