DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
Publisher: Tricky Troll Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2017 15:37:19

I just left a review for Fable Hunters, a similar product from the same company, so forgive me if I save some typing time by repeating a few comments.

In 20 odd pages, Vigilantes gives you the skeleton of a modern dark heroes campaign where crime and corruption are running rampant, and a few angry men and women have chosen to fight back. The book provides a brief background, some stat-less archetypes (and as the other reviewer said for Fable Hunters, some stats would be nice) for players, some new edges and flaws, and stats for the bad guys. I particularly like that the book includes a number of stereotypical bad guys, from biker gangs to ninjas to corrupt cops, so that a campaign can have some decent variety of adventures.

I personally am I big fan of the random adventure generators you get in many Savage Worlds games, and this has a good one, but one that I would have liked to have been a bit larger with more entries. At a mere d6 per adventure element, I can see a lot of duplication happening.

Between this and Fable Hunters, I am a fan of this company and this line of products, and will definitely keep my eye out for more campaign setting kits.

Steve W



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fable Hunters
Publisher: Tricky Troll Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2017 14:42:35

I bought this file after buying the Vigilantes file from the same company, so i was fairly aware of what I would get. And I was quite happy to get it as well.

in 20 odd pages, Fable Hunters gives you the skeleton of a modern fantasy campaign where humanity is secretly preyed upon by creatures from folklore and myth. The book provides a brief background, some stat-less archetypes (and as the other reviewer said, some stats would be nice) for players, some new edges and flaws, and monster stats for the bad guys.

I personally am I big fan of the random adventure generators you get in many Savage Worlds games, and this has a good one, but one that I would have liked to have been a bit larger with more entries. At a mere d6 per adventure element, I can see a lot of duplication happening.

Between this and Vigilantes I am a fan of this company and this line of products, and will definitely keep my eye out for more campaign setting kits.

Steve W



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fable Hunters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

1%er - The Outlaw Motorcycle Game
Publisher: Creepy Doll Studios
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 13:22:45

This is a great rules light game that does exactly what it sets out to do, and adds a bunch of cussing along the way.

I am giving it four out of five stars, because I think it is lacking one thing that I would want in this game, and that is more details on motorcycle racing and chases in general. While maybe not truly neccessary for the game, I think that a neat subsystem for handling races/chases would really add focus to the game.

As an additional note, I think this game would work great for the entire sub-genre of modern gritty-cinematic street stories. In addition to outlaw bikers you could eaily play dirty cops, unlucky drug dealers, desperate street thieves and other modern noir denizens of the underside.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1%er - The Outlaw Motorcycle Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ICONS: Origins
Publisher: Ad Infinitum Adventures
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/24/2017 10:48:19

A great book if you are running ICONS. While nothing in here is essential, the 13 archetypes and variations will save me hours of character building.

A great add on for ICONS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ICONS: Origins
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witches and Wyverns
Publisher: Lernaean Studio
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2017 11:50:14

This is a nice light set of fantasy RPG rules, using just 2d6 and some scratch paper.

The rules give you four classes and some advanced classes (think D&D prestige classes), combat and magic rules, and about a dozen critters in a bestiary. Appendices give you advice on making your own classes and monsters.

Characters have no attributes or skills, and are defined solely by their classes. There are no lists of equipment, or rules for travel and such.

At $1.00 for 21 pages Witches and Wyverns is a decent value, though limited. An experienced GM could easily use it as to run hours worth of adventures with little to no prep, and making up new content for the game would be simple.

Other stuff: To my eyes the layout looks fine. I didn't see any major typographical errors. The art is minimal but there is some art.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Witches and Wyverns
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Last Days of Anglekite
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2017 11:11:00

I am a big fan of Magpie Games, so feel free to tale my review with a grain of salt.

Last Days of Anglekite is a fantastic adventure setting for Dungeon World, full of strange evocative monsters, NPCs, artifacts and locations. In fact, my main complaint is that there is too much going on in this book. Much more than I could fit into a single campaign.

As someone who plays a number of games besides Dungeon World, I would also say that this would be a great campaign for a number of fantasy campaigns. I could definitely see converting it to a certain 5th edition game that is all the rage, or Savage Worlds, or Fate.

Admittedly, the book does not give you a tactical level tour of the world - no town or city maps, for instance - but it does give you a city of demons and another of undead, pan-dimensional slavers, werewolves and vampires, and enough plots and motivations to understand how they all smash together to cause destruction only your heroes can stop.

A great book. Buy it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Last Days of Anglekite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Phase Four
Publisher: Random Wizard
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/08/2016 11:50:21

Minimalist version of the old Marvel Super Heroes RPG using D20 instead of D100. Lots of details are left to the GM and players, but this offers enough rules to actually be playable.

At the price, a home run!

But, for some reason I did have some problems printing the file. The last three pages kept hanging up in my print queue. Might just be me.

Anyway, this is a fast, easy, quick supers RPG. You have no reason not to buy it for a buck!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Phase Four
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Final Girl
Publisher: Gas Mask Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2016 11:45:39

After hearing so much about this game ion the Gauntlet Podcast I am very excited to finally be able to own it.

Final Girl is a story tellng game designed to emulate slasher flicks and similar horror stories. Narration rights and characters are shared, so traditional RPGers may find it a bit hippie-dippie, but if you let your hair down and buy into the premise if is a lot of fun.

This is a great game for casual gamers as well as the rules are very easy to handle.

This should be a must own game for almost everybody!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Final Girl
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Squid, the Cabal, and the Old Man
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2016 11:08:33

What you get: An unstable situation involving three prominent figures of varying wealth and power 3 house maps plus an observatory map 2 dungeons 1 ancient cult A new spell Several new monsters Several new magic and/or treasure items

While written for a semi-historical England in 1684, the basic theme and adventure could easily fit into almost any time period and level of historical or fantastical detail. However, the adventure contains only a small amount of actual plot or "here's what to do if the players do this..." advice, so I probably would not recommend this to GMs that like to have a lot of plot to work with. Also, there are several LotFP "gotcha, your PC is f*cked for touching a spoon" moments, but they are easily removed if you don't like that sort of thing. The only thing I really wish would have been included is a basic large scale map of the region for those of us unfamiliar with English geography.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Squid, the Cabal, and the Old Man
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wolf-packs and Winter Snow
Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/16/2016 11:28:36

Wolf-packs and Winter Snow is a D&D OSR game, based mostly on the Lamentations of the Flame Princess rules set.

It is set in a fantasy version of pre-history, with primitive hunters and cavemen battles the environment, savage animals, and the occassional fantastical monster or sprirt.

The classes, equipment and magic system have all been rewritten with the setting in mind, and the magic system especially resonates with the pre-literate setting as magicians use cave paintings to store their magic knowledge.

My favorite part of the system is a procedural process to track the month-to-month success of the band that the PCs belong to, keeping track of food gathered, equipment maintained, births and deaths is a quick and easily trackable way.

My one complaint is about the physical layout of the game. While I tend to be more concerned about the writing of a game book than the appearance, this book frequently skipped any spaces between paragraphs giving some pages a slammed-together wall of text appearance that was sometimes hard to read.

Except for that, I think this game is easily worth $10 in pdf form, maybe more, and a p.o.d. copy would be of interest to me at $20 or less.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wolf-packs and Winter Snow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dungeon Questing
Publisher: MHGames
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2016 13:38:15

This game is an inexpensive, but solid option iin the Old School gaming field.

Right up front, let me say that the game could use another editorial pass. In the descriptions of Chrisma and Wisdom it says you get an XP bonus if your stat is 13+. At the beginning of the section, it explains that stas go from -2 to +2. So obviously, someone didn't finish cleaning up some of those old references. But I will also say that sort of thing is piddly-tosh and not what would frighten a bold adventurer.

As it stats in the product description, Dungeon Questing is pretty much BX D&D, based on a 2d6 system instead of using a d20. If that sounds like your kind of game, then Dungeon Questing is for you. The rules are complete - as complete as any BX style game - with monsters and treasure and spells and everything else you need.

Dungeon Questing does not use character classes - though their is an optional appendix to do so - but instead uses a skill system that lets you build your own character as you see fit. If you do not like skill systems, then you may have a problem here, though I think you could probaby simply the game another step and eliminate most of the skills with little problem.

At $2.50 for 162 pages, this is a fantastic bargain and a must have for anyone who wants to play Old School D&D, but wants to ditch the d20.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Questing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for spotting the error, I\'ll get right to work on correcting it! And I would like to add that there is indeed a class system in the appendix for those who do not want the skill-based system. Dungeon Questing is based on Swords & Wizardry White Box and the classes in the appendix follows the same format as its parent game, with the difference that it\'s based on the 2d6 mechanic. Best regards, MHGames
The Fate Codex - Volume 3, Issue 1
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2016 12:26:57

A solid and useful issue of the Fate Codex.

Family Favors by John Large setails how to use the bronze rule to represent organizations in your game, and how characters can interact with them, asking for favors and being tasked with returning favors as well.

Mythos Aspects by June Shores shows how to use campaign aspects to influence issues and character aspects in your game, keeping the focus tight and the action appropriate for the type of game you are playing.

La Reina Del Sol gives you a detailed NPC to use in a variety of games.

Amber Twilight by Jima Arunsone is this issues mini-campaign, a space opera-ish game with magic and faeries and stuff. Honestly, this did not work for me. I felt like someone was describing half of a young adult movie series that I wasn't familiar with and leaving most of the details out. I don't want to be harsh. I'm sure someone will love this and play the heck out of it, it just didn't gel with me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 3, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung Cthulhu - Elder Godlike
Publisher: Modiphius
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2016 14:17:30

Elder Godlike is a good addition to your RPG library, and does a lot of things great, but I was hoping for a little something more...

The game does boast "A complete new rule system for superpowers in Call of Cthulhu." and this section is excellent. Just about any fan of BRP based games could use these rules to run Supers. They offer robust and varied options that should satisfy the character customizers without going into Champions hard-math territory. Savage Worlds players are also given a number of rules tweaks to flavor their super powers rules, though this is much sparser than the BRP rules.

Where I find the book lacking is "A history of Talents in the Secret War". There are indeed 6 pages of background material that blend the Talents history of Godlike into the Mythos history of Achtung Cthulhu, but this book really doesn't mix the two themes together. You are given rules for how superpowers and cthulhian entites interact, but they are never combined together into a whole. There are no Mythos related reason why superpowers exist, or superpowered reasons for Mythos things to exist. They are in the same game-bucket but they are not blended together well.

The scenario given is nicely detailed and apocalyptic, maybe too much so to launch a campaign but certainly capable of ending a campaign f the PCs goof up.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone playing Achtung Cthulhu as a source for new weird powers and such. I would recommend this to any BRP GM as a great superpowers rules kit, independent of the background material. I would hesitate to recommend this to a Savage Worlds GM that was not running Achtung Cthulhu (or a Weird War 2 type game). While the stats and NPCs could be used in other games, there is not quite enough material here for the cost in my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung Cthulhu - Elder Godlike
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Guardians
Publisher: Night Owl Workshop
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2016 15:17:06

Guardians is a superhero game built on the engine of original (White Box if you will) Dungeons and Dragons.

You create a character by rolling the standard 6 attributes, then choosing an Origin (Human, Mutant, Alien, etc) and a class (Brusier, Super Agent, etc). The combination of Origin and Class determines how many Powers, Gifts (things like being a detective, or being rich, or having a gadget), Limits (vulnerabilities, inhuman appearance) and Issues (recurring enemies, vulnerable loved ones) you start with, and how many you gain as you level up. Some Powers and Gifts may be taken multiple times, to get more pwerful versions.

The game rules cover combat, hazards, and all the usual stuff. Since this is an OD&D style game, these rules are pretty fast and loose, and lots of stuff is left for the GM and Players to decide while playing. If you are looking for Champions or Mutants & Masterminds level of fdetails, you will not find them here.

Finally, the book includes a brief history of a sample superhero campaign world and several pages of sample characters.

No major editorial errors jumped out at me, though I could have just read over them if they are there.The art is sparse and mostly pictures of costumed heroes in various action poses. I liked it good enough. Layout is utilitarioan and a bit retro looking, but it did its job just fine for me. It may sound like I'm fairly cool to this book, but honestly I think this is a game that is not to be valued as an example of the graphic arts but rather as an example of a great rules light game that delivers on everything it promised.

I look forward to getting this game to the table with my players and giving it a try out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guardians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Search & Destroy
Publisher: Stone Mountain Press
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 14:21:54

In Summary: A good expansion to a good superhero RPG, expanding the types of games you can play. (Anyone remember Super Agent for Champions?)

A useful and interesting expansion for the SUPERS Revised RPG, giving a number of rules expansions that make the game more Action Hero than Super Hero.

The additions to the combat rules makes combat slightly more complicated (figuring out weapon damage took me a few tries to remember what gets added where and when), but the new Ammo rule is great and the chase rules are good enough to steal for other games (and I will!).

The new Organization rules are interesting for those GMs that like a bit of solo-gaming at the camapign level, letting big groups fight each other and create new problems for the PCs in a way that doesn't rely entirely on GM fiat. The organization write ups included in the book give some nice generic groups that can model a number of organized crime and law enforcement groups, as well as some fully fleshed out groups that can be dropped into - or inspire - a full campaign.

There are a few things that I feel would make this into a full 5 star product - a few fully worked out character examples, a few semi-developed camapaign ideas, and some more developed rules on how to use powers from the parent SUPERS Revised RPG in Search & Destroy. All things a decent GM can do on their own, but I feel they would really enhance this product that extra bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Search & Destroy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates