DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 14:59:12

Let me start by saying the top-down map of the rooms and levels of Erebor is absolutely breath-taking, and I want to see a HUGE map of it.

This book is absolutely beautifully laid out, and I am grateful that it's about more than Erebor, being about the Dale-lands and the surrounding regions, as well as the well-developed layout of Dale itself. I've not finished reading my PDF copy of it, yet, but it's already the jewel of my collection, thus far.

There are adventures to be developed from every paragraph; had I a century left on this Earth, it wouldn't be long enough to play everything I would want to develop for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Erebor - The Lonely Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Chaos Born (Book One of the Chaos Irregulars)
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/10/2016 14:42:42

I won't be purchasing book two; book one is tripe, the same old crap and, though I am normally a BattleTech aficianado, I am having great difficulty getting through the first few story bits. I've read twenty pages since I purchased it, and had to convert it to something I could use, as not everyone uses mobi or epub documents, inconsiderate, and I can't bring myself to desire to read it unless I have absolutely nothing else to do. It's amazing to me a project as poorly conceived as this one can be published, when a work nearly twenty years in the making, and which references everything in the BattleTech universe the way it should be, to establish the work within that universe, can't see the light of day. Ludicrous.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Chaos Born (Book One of the Chaos Irregulars)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2016 14:21:07

Brilliant!

I love maps, and these are fantastic. I love seeing Middle Earth the way it's laid out by these authors. As well, the 39-page Journeys book has a great many Hazard possibilities, and that makes me very happy.

All-in-all, a very well-made product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Journeys and Maps
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The One Ring - Tales from Wilderland
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2015 14:12:51

This is an amazing source, and I'm finding it quite easy to integrate to my Darkening of Mirkwood campaign, and will be adding in the first adventure to Darkening, and carrying on the remainder of Ruins of the North post-Darkening, as time allows. There really is not going to be enough lifetime, with the supplements already out (Tales, Darkening, and Ruins), to run this game in perpetuity, and the source material has been entirely out of this world, so far. Good on you, Cubicle 7, Francesco Nepitello, and Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The One Ring - Tales from Wilderland
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Publisher: Engine Publishing
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2013 12:29:59

I wish I would have known about this earlier. It was reviewed on a podcast a very long-time friend of mine has been involved in for some time, and I only recently heard about this, purchased it and have been making my way, VERY slowly -I read slowly- through it. I agree with many of the other reviewers of this fine work... it's really about time we had something like this, essential and inexpensive.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Never Unprepared: The Complete Game Master's Guide to Session Prep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Heroic Maps: Torchlit Dungeon 1
Publisher: Heroic Maps
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/16/2013 12:26:10

This is a beautifully rendered map, and I'm very likely to buy more in the future, but unless I'm missing a basic set to these maps, I see no graphics for doors or doorways, chests, etc., and no links to a basic web site for these, or a page on DTRPG, where I may see all their other works. Thus, I put my rating right in the middle. Again, this is something I intend to purchase more of in the future, perhaps the very near future, but I would like to see better support and more links to the various maps, and a basic set with cutout furnishings I can put into the dungeons once I print them out, please?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps: Torchlit Dungeon 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hello Paul, thank you for your kind review and I'm glad you like the map. Really, the maps are designed to complement whatever game system a person is already using - in my own case, a modified version of Heroquest. As the game I play already has 3D furniture, this is not something I have considered including before now, but I will take your suggestion on board. Good news on the doors front, though. I have a 2D doors system I often use and so have put these into a pdf which is now online and completely free to download.
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Career Compendium
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2012 14:48:04

I have, indeed, found this book to be absolutely invaluable in my playing of Warhammer Fantasy 2nd Edition, especially since I won't even tough 3rd Edition; too dumbed down for me, thanks. Recently, 12 Sept 2012, this book was updated and re-released. The re-release does not have the quality of the old one in the way of "color" richness, meaning the black of the original release was perfect print quality, while the re-release is lacking in that department. As well, it looks as though someone attempted to put in links to the PDF, though not to each career, which would have been handy. So, I wonder precisely what was updated?

Still, this is an amazing book, well-constructed, and FFG did a fantastic job. Now, if we could just have some errata on what was changed, please, as there seem to be two pages missing over the original file? Feel free to contact me regarding these changes at kwolf71@hotmail.com ; thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2nd Edition: Career Compendium
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BattleTech: Weapons Free: BattleCorps Anthology Vol. 3
Publisher: Catalyst Game Labs
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/22/2012 16:40:51

It's poorly written tripe, all of it. From the introduction, which has so many spelling errors it was hard to complete it, to the confused beginnings of many stories within, it's clear that there should have been a great deal more work done with this.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Weapons Free: BattleCorps Anthology Vol. 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Game Geek Issues #21
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2011 12:35:57

Though a great deal of work went into this issue, most of the artwork, the layout, and the great many mis-spellings and poor sentence structure, are extremely amateur, like much of my work with the first four issues of Argent Fire I did between 2004 and 2007. That being said, I know how difficult it is to produce an eZine on your own, without help -though, to be honest, if there had been any help I wouldn't have known because there is only one credit given in the contents-, and still... there is extant software to help with desktop publishing that could have made this magazine more enjoyable to look at. I think the largest peave I have, however, comes in the way of the cards throughout the book; I understand they need to be a particular size to be handled appropriately, though this could still have been accomplished. Rather than placing the back-side of a card to the right or left of its' front-face, put the front face on the top row toward the top of a page, and the accompanying back-sides beneath those on that same page. Much space could have been saved by doing it this way, rather than having a set of two cards on a single page, the remaining space wasted.

Since subsequent works tend to show improvement through experimentation and learning, I would be highly disappointed to see what the previous 20 issues look like.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Game Geek Issues #21
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dragon Brigade: Opening Salvo
Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
by Paul E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2011 16:10:21

This is a Margaret Weis Production, and one always expects high quality from anything she, or those under her tutelage, produce. Though I've only truly been able to scan this gratis introduction, it is well-organized, presents the background, story, tasks, and tests concisely and no excessive work needs be done to prove the story. Being free, I could not hope to expect more than I downloaded; as a one-night adventure, I feel that four acts to this particular play may actually take my group into the wee hours.

The game system is not unique, though it is a well-accepted standard in recent role-playing endeavors, and seems to present well for the world Weis and crew have chosen to place this 'new' venture into. I tend to be a more technically-oriented GameMaster though, likely, I would give this game a try with my current group, if we weren't thus engaged in another game. For those more comfortable with the less-technical, faster paced sort of gaming, and especially for those more in-tune with previous MWP game products and novels, this game would be wonderful for a single-evening of fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon Brigade: Opening Salvo
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates