DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Complete Eternal Lies Suite
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 20:50:39
I love it. This album is atmospheric, rich and full of subtle details and creepy effects. It creates a wonderful ambiance and I can see myself using it for a variety of games and encounters. This is certainly the best horror / creepy soundtrack I own, and possibly the best soundtrack (in terms of gaming resources) I have, period.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Complete Eternal Lies Suite
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Infinite Images - Stock Illustration - Elemental Fire Shaman v1 - Half Page, RGB 150ppi
Publisher: Peregrine
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 20:42:36
This is a stunning piece of art that has a real sense of drama about it. The shaman's fiery hands certainly draw your attention, but the mountain landscape gives the whole picture an epic quality. The resolution is great and I am very impressed with this work.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infinite Images - Stock Illustration - Elemental Fire Shaman v1 - Half Page, RGB 150ppi
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sword Noir
Publisher: Sword's Edge Publishing
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 20:13:43
Combining the two classically "dark" genres of Sword and Sorcery and film noir is a great idea and a wonderful way to draw on a couple of my favourite genres. Character generation creates detailed, rounded characters that feel like they have come from somewhere other than just a bunch of random numbers, though I would have liked a little more emphasis placed on the moral ambiguity that is discussed in the introduction to the book. For example, the character generation rules allowed me to create a Tolkien-style elf as easily as a noir gangster, which is great flexibility, but I can see players needing clear direction to ensure all the characters fitted thematically. The rules themselves are sound but unobtrusive, letting you quickly resolve situations or conflicts without ever getting caught up in minutiae or endless modifiers. They are a nice blend of rules from games like PDQ and Fate, where the descriptive details of the characters (and their adversaries) are more important than any specific numbers. The layout is neat, straightforward and easy to read and the art is very nice, helping to set the scene. There is an example city-setting and an adventure included in the book, but no mandated setting - players are left to take the resources provided and their knowledge of the source material (Conan, Elric, Marlowe) and do with it what they will. This is definitely a toolbox-type game, giving you mechanics and ideas but leaving the specifics to the players. The author's passion for the source material comes through loud and clear and overall I am impressed with this game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sword Noir
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick Covers- Landscape Edition
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 04:59:02
Four neat covers, all pretty much of the design from the product description. The primary change between each colour is a change in the colour of the "parchment". There is plenty of space top and bottom for your own product logos and text. I would have liked a little more variety amongst the covers, perhaps changing the colour of the gem, or little alterations of the scrollwork.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Covers- Landscape Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Standard Stock Art: Creature Pack
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 04:54:13
A selection of classic fantasy creatures, as you may not have seen them before. I particularly liked the Demon (the orange horned figure on the cover). All of these pictures are high res, with vibrant colours. The Demon and Skeleton are in dynamic poses and the goblin has a creepy "Gollum" feel about it. The Ogre is okay, but a little static for my tastes.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Standard Stock Art: Creature Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sexcraft: A Little Game with a Lot of Sex
Publisher: John Wick Presents
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 04:06:46
I must admit to being a little dubious about this product, how useful it might be and whether it would truly add anything other than titillation to my games. But I was pleasantly surprised. It deals with the topic tastefully (even the silhouette images are evocative but not outrageous) and presents a great new type of magic. I really liked the feel of the "Roses" (or spells) that sex magic can create - to me they had a kind of fairytale quality, allowing the caster to "curse" a target or cause them to become infatuated with a subject. The effects of the spells at first seems a little at odds with the way in which they are powered, but it just feels "right". I am not going to comment on the d20 class, as I don't play d20 games that often these days and I don't think my opinion would be that valid. The "mechanical" elements of the magic power and spells are pretty story-focused and don't have a lot of mechanical crunch to them, which I like but I am not sure how well this will mesh with other types of games. Overall, I like this a lot.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sexcraft: A Little Game with a Lot of Sex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Quick Covers- Buckled Cover
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/05/2011 02:05:35
This is a really great set of covers. 4 high res .tif images ready to go. I love the fact that each cover is a subtle variation of the others, making them ideal for a series of books/products. The "hole" in the centre of each image makes the covers easily customised, which is a bonus, too. Very impressed overall.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quick Covers- Buckled Cover
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cerberus Art Monthly - March 2011
Publisher: Cerberus Illustration
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/19/2011 20:11:15
Another great collection of art from Cerberus. I especially like that many of these pieces tie in closely with colour pieces from previous collections.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cerberus Art Monthly - March 2011
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thanks Nathan! All of my new art is being offered as single pieces instead of collections so you can buy only what you want. Thanks again! Joe J. Calkins
Half blood elf - Hand drawn art
Publisher: Lightworker
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/19/2011 19:36:34
This is a really nice illustration, that evokes a sense of action and impending threat. There are two versions, one a b&w drawing, the second is the same drawing with a blue background and "ink splats" - the same as the cover image.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Half blood elf - Hand drawn art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The tomb of the Fallen Angel
Publisher: Lord Zsezse Works
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/12/2011 21:14:06
This is a set of four locations, each made up of several pages that need to be printed and "assembled" - they need to be lined up and attached to thick card. Most of the page breaks run along walls or the edges of the 1 inch tiles, but there are a few places where the break is mid-tile which means you have to be extra careful when assembling. There is an amazing level of detail on each of these, with wonderful lighting effects that create a real sense of menacing dungeon. There are a couple of spots on the maps where columns obscure the tiles behind them, but this is not a huge problem, and if given the choice I would rather have the columns there. Overall, I am very impressed.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The tomb of the Fallen Angel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chris Perrin's Mecha
Publisher: Heroic Journey Publishing
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/12/2011 19:57:59
I love this game. It is my all-time favourite mecha RPG. It really captures the feel of anime mecha battles and does what other mecha games have failed to do, intergrating the character interactions with the combat system so they both have an effect on each other. This is certainly low on the "crunch" scale or mecha RPG's, but is all the better for it. It focuses your attention on the pilots, their relationships and their goals. I also really like the tactical "bullseye" map used to manouvre mechs. It is simple and straightforward to use, but offers enough tactical depth to make combat interesting. A really well made game.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chris Perrin's Mecha
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The music of the Baroque - Hand drawn art
Publisher: Lightworker
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/12/2011 19:52:46
A very nice piece, I particularly like the gentleman with the dark shadows around his eyes and mouth - he could equally be a sinister man or a vampire. The top of the woman's dress made me look twice, but it is simply the straight-on perspective of the low dress. The shaded version (the one on the cover) has a nice richness and depth which I like.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The music of the Baroque - Hand drawn art
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WorldWorksGames / Battle Packs / Battle Basics
Publisher: WorldWorks Games
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/12/2011 19:17:15
Very useful set of counters, for both roleplayers and wargamers. I particularly like the "blast templates" that can be postioned over figures - so easy I am surprised no one has done this before! The explosion and elemental templates will also come in quite handy. There is also a good selection of wound, experience and psychology counters. Probably the only thing I would have liked was more counters for common non-psychology states such as "bloodied" and "slowed". Overall, very good.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WorldWorksGames / Battle Packs / Battle Basics
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Leather Cover
Publisher: Sade
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 03/12/2011 19:03:40
Another neat cover from Sade. I really like the two textures sewn together - the thin band of snake-type skin on the left and the leather on the right. The detail of these textures is great. The straps and buckles are not as textured but are ver nicely detailed, having a more "illustrated" (as opposed to CG) look. I like the shadow about the border that helps the buckles disappear, giving the appearance that they are wrapping around the edge of the book. The gem/studs almost appear to be eyes (little, birdlike eyes), which lends another level of the strange and creepy. Overall, a nice cover piece.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Leather Cover
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Badass gunslingers and lethal combat cars 2
Publisher: Black Hand Source
by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 04/17/2010 22:17:42
More great art, but like the previous reviewer I feel that the characters are beginning to lack diversity (I still love them, particularly that big fat guy!) and I would love to see "road warriors", "zombie killers", "desperate survivors" or even "desert kids" or the like. I don't have a problem with the retro-look to the vehicles, but once again some more diversity would be fantastic - motorcycles, gyrocopters and a tankgirl-style tank please!

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Badass gunslingers and lethal combat cars 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 60 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates