DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
The Miller's Tale
Publisher: Serpent King Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/26/2015 08:23:12

That's how adventures should be written: a cast of NPCs that actually have characters and actually don't just tell you what you want to know...not outright.
A mystery that needs resolving.
An open license to deal with what's happening. And, if you want, a final confrontation.


Now add PCs tto the mix, shake well, serve while slightly warm, see what happens!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Miller's Tale
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dog Town: Stray Bullets
Publisher: Cold Blooded Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2015 06:17:04

Those rules and clarifications are really welcome and help round out the core book! Even for that I'd give it 5 stars. But there's also lots of useful material.


Note: I don't know how popular Muay Thai was in the 70ies, but it sure is today. So your players, if nobody else, might want to use it.
Gun trade and auto theft are probably close enough today, too. Sure, you must take care of stuff like GPS, but it's still good info. And if you play in the default setting, it all applies in spades!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dog Town: Stray Bullets
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dog Town: The Felon's Handbook
Publisher: Cold Blooded Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2015 06:08:20

Best sourcebook on crime in the 70ies I've ever encountered! With some adaptations, you can use them for crime today, too - technology and new rules have probably changed things somewhat.
In fact, you should read it even if you're not planning a crime game, and are just interested how to keep safe from becoming a victim of one of those schemes!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dog Town: The Felon's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dog Town: Core Rules
Publisher: Cold Blooded Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2015 03:00:18

It's a great game that's only passed on because...well, the way the rules are explained, while entertaining by itself, isn't entirely clear. You can deal with it - I did on the second reading - but you should really check the examples in some cases.
Pros:
Great simulation of a perp's life. (Yes, it's simulationistic and not making any excuses about it. I love that).
Excellent combat system for the genre.
*Atmospheric artwork.


Cons:
*Badly needs an editor, and one familiar with RPGs.
Well, maybe I'm spotting that need more than most, due to professional habits.


Only thing I'm sorry about: it's not set up in London (probably because most gangster movies aren't, either). London would be an awesome setting, especially because then assault and battery skills are going to be used way more for setting reasons.
But that gripe is not enough to knock a star off.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dog Town: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods of Gondwane
Publisher: Hari Ragat Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2014 00:54:59

It's a great little game, surprisingly versatile! It allows me to do a whole slew of genres beyond the Swords and Sorcery originally intended. I'm currently using it to run a Swords and Planet campaign. It's very easy for new players, it turned out!
And riffing is how combat description should be done in all games!
I think more people should try it. On top of it, it's free,you lose NOTHING by trying it out and can only gain!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods of Gondwane
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Core System
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/29/2013 18:53:22

There's a joke on RPG forums that if you want a "movie-style" party of a goddess, a special agent and a monkey, you're out of luck.
It's not true when you're playing FATE, though. Better yet, the party is even balanced! Well, obviously it's not balanced for combat, but still. You basically get one of the most versatile systems out there, able to do any setting.
And unlike GURPS, you don't even need a setting book in order to play it, FATE Core is enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Core System
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fate Accelerated Edition
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2013 18:16:59

I was a backer on the KS for this game, so obviously I like FATE. But what matters is, I'm slowly coming to prefer FAE to regular FATE. All of the possibilities with much less mechanics, what's not to like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fate Accelerated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition
Publisher: Vajra Enterprises
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2013 18:04:21

Fates Worse Than Death has become my favourite cyberpunk setting. And that's saying quite a bit from someone who has played or run basically every CP game currently on the market.
But I like the game most for what it isn't, actually.
It's not game where violence is often the best solution.
It's not a game where everyone and their granny are totting around heavy guns.
It's not a game where the system is corrupt beyond hope for salvation.
In short, it's a game of neocyberpunk/postcyberpunk, and this makes the characters really feeling like real people.


I especially like the hacking rules. More than one session have had as a focus obtaining info necessary to hack into a protected system. And the game made this activity fun and rewarding!
In short, try it. Hey, it's free, it's not like you've got to commit a lot! And then, if you like it, consider getting the full rules with additional setting information. Yes, despite it not being a small book, Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition is a quick start!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fates Worse Than Death: Spare Change Edition
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fates Worse Than Death Gameplay Album
Publisher: Vajra Enterprises
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/03/2013 17:53:57

It's great background during a game of Fates Worse Than Death. And what more could one want from a gameplay album?


I liked the music as well, but talking with music fans has taught me that this is, at least, always a matter of personal taste.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fates Worse Than Death Gameplay Album
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/01/2013 15:45:19

5 stars! The system actually can cover a multitude of genre and settings, and retains an element of chance without dice, via the different levels of Effort used. The rules are unified well, no matter the actions, and this doesn't feel forced!
And then there are the setting and genre books for it. I'm quite fond of some of them, and since they have to devote little space to system - the text is already a system - they're quite packed with information!


(As an advice, though, the GM should probably scribble the difficulty of the task down after determining it, and reveal it after the player has decided the Effort used. It only takes a sheet of paper that you can also use to scribble notes on).
Besides, it's free! Try it, you've got nothing to lose even if you don't like it - but if you do, you have found a very sleek, very adaptive system that's to your liking!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventures in Oz: Fantasy Roleplaying Beyond the Yellow Brick Road
Publisher: F. Douglas Wall Publishing
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:48:59

Wonderful game that really captures the spirit of the books.
Are you a fan of the books? Get this game.
Have you never read the books? Get this game and you'll know a lot about them. And you might be inspired to look for them afterwards, too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Oz: Fantasy Roleplaying Beyond the Yellow Brick Road
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:18:22

A really in-depth treatment of the setting. Personally, I like picking the combat effects after rolling, the way armour work, the system for advancement, the simple way the game handles the importance of advantages, how magic is powered... and did I mention the work that went in the setting?
It's a splendid game indeed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warband
Publisher: Zozer Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 04:14:21

A really in-depth treatment of British tribes at the time. Since they're part and parcel of 43 A.D., this supplement can help a GM (or rather, a Referee) that wants to run a Roman miliitary campaign set in these times, and be sure they're getting the NPCs "just right".
Or you can just raid your enemies and steal their cattle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warband
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Nights of the Crusades
Publisher: Aetheric Dreams
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2012 03:54:03

A very interesting game, and not just because it does a better-than-average job in introducing the setting! It's got some interesting mechanics as well. The rules for telling a story are a touch of brilliance in a setting inspired where 1001 Nights are an important cultural artefact!
And it's free, so why don't you all download it and see for yourself?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Nights of the Crusades
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Publisher: Fantasy Flight Games
by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2012 15:14:29

Very good game, which didn't get the attention it deserves.
WARNING, I'm assuming you have and use the errata file. Don't know why FFG aren't offering it as a free download, but it's relatively easy to find on the Net. If you're not using it, the rules are a mess.
That said, I like the mechanics. It's giving a very authentic feeling, and is one of the first games to solve both the issues of using mental actions in combat, and the issue of a character attempting multiple actions at once. Add to it playing in both modern-day London, and in the Mythic time, and you get a very entertaining game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fireborn: Player's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates