DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim & Perilous RPG - Core Book
Publisher: Grim & Perilous Studios
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2017 07:42:35

A massive 692 paged (689 are the content). Pages 689-691 are blank note pages. I found a few typos (don't know if there's anymore): P268: Damage Condition Track: As character(s) carry their wounds over P342: until well after you would (have) concocted it P599: Crypt Skeleton: They (there) are also rumours

Stats/attributes are: Combat Bonus (CB), Brawn Bonus (BB), Agility Bonus (AB), Perception Bonus (PB), Intelligence Bonus (IB), Willpower Bonus (WB), Fellowship Bonus (FB).

Zweihander is a percentage based RPG.

Artwork: Good. Does remind me of WFRP 1st Ed artwork.

Action Points for combat (3AP per character).

There is a damage coondition track to show the players 'health dondition'. Healing: Elixir of Benefice: You positively move 3 steps up the damage condition track positively, but suffer 3 corruption. There's no easy magical healing in this game. Getting wounded is real bad.

Unlike other RPGs, your players are not powerful heroes, but normal townsfolk who have decided to take the risk of adventuring outside the safety of the walls to venture outside into the wilderness to hopefully return richer.

As a WFRP RPG clone, it's good. If you like a grim/dark RPG, it's worth the purchase (especially since it's on sale at the moment).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim & Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

5e x 5 Combat & Conditions
Publisher: Ken Wickham
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/11/2017 08:08:49

Out of 43 pages, 36 are the content. Page 5 is worth reading, as it gives you the 'first step into the ideas, etc, the 2 authors used to convert 5th edition (d20), into d100. P7 and 8 are the contents page, listing order of combat, movement, attacking, damage and healing, traps, conditions, diseases. Some pages can appear quite 'empty', as they only contain 2-5 lines.

For £0.76/$1.00, it's quite informative as a conversion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
5e x 5 Combat & Conditions
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

We hunt bugs
Publisher: Orcs Unlimited
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/13/2017 13:44:53

The PDF runs at 122 pages. Out of that, approximately 109 are the content.

The contents list is on page 7 (quite a few pages down). Your character (PC) creation, which starts on P17, not 15; has 3 abilities (Mental. Physical, Social). These vary depending on your class (Agent, Engineer, Grunt, Hunter), which also gives you skills, other, special skills, specialities, and perk. Perk: you get from being with a certain company (listed in the book). They also give you abilites, skills, and other, to add what you already have from your class.

The game rules are on Page 69 (not 67); page 69 tells you that you need D6's (so it's a D6 system). It's only 6's that count as successes. For example: melee combat: If you had a Physical of 3, and a Melee Combat of 3, you'd roll 6D6

No character sheet! I couldn't find it in the PDF.

Artwork: black & white, looks OK. I hope this is helpful.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
We hunt bugs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the in depth review. After reading your review I found that the file that had been uploaded was an old working final and not meant to be the final. the proper file has been uploaded containing a character sheet and pages numbered properly. I hope you will try the game with the proper content and enjoy it.
Into the Darkness: Map 3
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2017 06:30:40

A well detailed dungeon/prison map. Complete with torture chair and rack (also complete with blood stains). The colour and level of detail is very good (flagstones, furniture, straw on the floor, etc).

Printer-friendly version as well. Very good for the price. A definite perchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Darkness: Map 3
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Into the Darkness: Map 2
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2017 06:18:10

A lovely add-on for the other map sections in the series. Very well detailed (stonework, 'furniture', etc). Certainly colourful. A printer-friendly version added as well.

I just hope my printer does it justice when it prints it (and the others in the series).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Darkness: Map 2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Into the Darkness: Map 1
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/10/2017 06:08:19

Yet another well made, colourful map for your PCs to explore Age of Shadows (or any other theme). It has an overlay section for the GM to place on the map, as the PCs encounter the area. There's even a printer-friendly section.

Well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Into the Darkness: Map 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Campaign Map 1 : The Northern Kingdom
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2017 06:49:07

I have to agree with the other reviewers, a surperbly made map. CSP has made this available in a 4 page, Jpeg, and poster versions (text or no text). You can use the no text versions for your own campaign, etc And they certainly print out well; very well indeed.

A number of the location names most definitely conjure up MERP/LotR sounding locales.

The level of detail to the map (rivers, mountains, villages, etc.) is very good.

At £1.14/$1.50, you'd be daft not to purchase this (for the AoS theme or your own).

A definite purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Campaign Map 1 : The Northern Kingdom
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

OSR
Publisher: Jonah Lemkins
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2017 15:53:48

At 31 pages, 29 are the content.

The font is thematic for fantasy OSR (which is OK), but I found it quite difficult to read in certain parts: The equipment section for example, I wasn't sure if the Horse was 1G, 15g or 15S, as the font seemed to 'overwrap' a letter (S looked like g) for example.

The equipment section is a page (half of one page, and half of the next). Money: 20 Copper per 1 Silver. 35 Silver per 1 Gold. 'A person can eat for an entire month on 1 Gold'. Seems like coming back from a dungeon with 300-500 gold pieces, could make you rich enough to buy a village.

Armour (3 pieces): light (-2AC), heavy (-4AC), and a shield (-1AC). No medium armour. THACO as usual. Weapons, as expected coming from the original verson, all have 1d6 damage plus strength bonus.

Certainly takes me back to the 'old days'. I'd definitely mine other THACO material for extra equipment, monsters, etc.

You could leave the rules as they are; or add house rules. I'd add variable weapon damage, add the longbow, 2-handed weapons, add ranges for the bows and any other ranged weapons that may be added. I might add ascendining armour as an option. The magic-user is the usual 1 shot wonder. No offensive spell until P22 (Fireball, 3rd level). I thought fireball was AoE, not single target. The spell description sounds like firebolt. I'd add more offensive spells (ice, lightning, etc). I'd also let the magic-user find a wand (fire/ice/lightning bolt. 10-20 uses maybe), to make him/her more useful.

Artwork: OK. The usual fantasy artwork normally seen in other OSR material.

The bestiary has 4 monsters: Goblin, Bandit, Animated Skeleton, Small Drake).

Typos: p17 (Healing): "Afterwards, if you treat you wound," shoule be your wound.

P27 (Bestiary): Animated Skeleton only has 1 attribute numbered (Cha: 1); the other attributes have no number.

At 75 Pence/99c, it makes a good 'starting base' to add your house rules to, to add greater variety (recommended).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OSR
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review! This is a lot of good feedback. I'll try and implement some changes in the next few days. Thanks again!
Alien & Robot Class Design
Publisher: Brave Halfling Publishing
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 17:05:25

At 7 pages, 5 are the content. The PDF is in two parts. Pages 1-2 are the alien class design. Pages 4-6 are the robot design. Very good for OSR sci-fi. At 0.99p/$1.28, it's well worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alien & Robot Class Design
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

X-plorers Centaur Class & Optional Rules
Publisher: BD Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 16:03:58

Out of 14 pages, 11 are the content. Those eleven pages cover the new Centaur class (half person, half motorcycle), new rules for space combat, gravity, asteroids, and mines. A good X-plorers supplement. At 0.65p/0.84c, it's worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
X-plorers Centaur Class & Optional Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies! Zombie Master's Guide - PWYW
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 15:45:18

Out of 28 pages, 21 are the content. Typos: p10: rewards survivors for in (survivors in) 5. This xp is giving (given). p11: act or (of) valour. p14: For that (what) is important. p21: However, for (all) STZ weapons. p22: types weapons (weapon types).

Artwork is pretty much OK. The ZMG give Zombie Master (GM), some options for things like initiative. Pages 22 & 23 give you melee and ranged weapons. P25 lists some armour (the max a player can have is +4). The PDF lists mending wounds, difficulty checks, house rules, etc.

Worth the purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies!  Zombie Master's Guide - PWYW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies! Survivor's Handbook - PWYW
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 15:08:43

Out of 36 pages, 26 are the content. Typos: Fixer, p18 quickly access (assess), usuall (has) a backpack. p19: taking to (two) broken. p21: out (in the) woods, in discreet (a) place. p22: as (a) team, spotted twice. p27: that they (the) Slayer. kill the (a) number of zombies. p30: These choices such (should) be thought.

Players have 6 stats: Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Charisma, Survival. Survival: is used as survival points, re-rolls. Artwork: evocative of the theme.

Players start out with some money, but no equipment (find it, buy it, steal it). Some good classes. Worth the purchase.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies!  Survivor's Handbook - PWYW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies! Zombie Manual - PWYW
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2017 14:28:35

Apparently I couldn't leave a review (10-15 minutes after purchasing the PDF); so I'll leave some notes at the Discussion section. Out of 44 pages, 35 are the content. Some typos found: p14 (can be (a) deadly combination), p22 (still as a (sentry) century), p29 (zombie (sentries) centuries), (which is never seen through to fruition?). p32 (the (shepherd) sheppard believes), p34 (without regard (to) life?).

Apart from the typos, everything look good. Artwork (B&W): Pretty much OK. Quite evocative of the zombie theme. Worth the purchase.

Quite a good theme for the D20 system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! - Zombies!  Zombie Manual - PWYW
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Questing Heroes Role Playing Game
Publisher: Fantasy Game Strategies
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2017 13:58:59

Out of 132 pages, 126 are the content. Attributes for Questing Heroes is a 'Tri-Stat' system similar to BESM (Big Eyes Small Mouth), by Guardians of Order, and Warrior, Rogue, Mage (Wyrm system) by: Starblazer Games: Body, Mind, Spirit. It uses D6s. Attacker and defender roll their D6s, and the one with the most successes, wins.

Races/Species: Human, Elf, Dwarf, Halfling, Gnome. Each have stated Body, Mind, Spirit. They all start with Class A weapons & armour. But can they use Class B, C, and D? Only from training p23. You start out with 1,200Gp (you'll need it).

To train in a new weapon costs 100 gold. You may choose one weapon from the next higher class, or may choose another weapon from a class already attained (other than Class A). The training requires 8 hours per day for 5 full days Training for new armour is similar.

Money: only gold (must be seriously plentiful). No silver? Reminds me of Worlds of Wonder (Avalon Games). I'd find my self using 'ye olde' 10 silver per gold. I'm not paying 3-4 gold for an ale, or 80 gold for a dagger! Barter is also mentioned. I've been playing RPGs for over three and a half decades, and just gold or barter? Nah! I'm used to the old silver and gold.

Weapons have different Attack Dice (AD): short sword: 2d6, Long sword 3d6, Reach. Some will have abilities, like the Long sword.

It's not too bad to get into, and the price right now is £3.13/$4.00. So that's not too bad either. The supplements for it are cheap at the moment as well (sale). Might be worth a look.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Questing Heroes Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

100 Privateer and Freelancer Spaceship Names
Publisher: SciFi Ideas
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/18/2017 11:18:08

2 pages of spaceship names (in alphabetical order). I liked the first one (African Queen). Reminded me of an old film. Definately helpful in a tight spot if the GM is looking for such names. Just roll 1D100, and off you go. At 0.48p/0.60c, it's worth purchasing.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Privateer and Freelancer Spaceship Names
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 188 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates