DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
 
$19.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 4
5 7
3 2
0 0
1 0
T2000 v1  Twilight: 2000
Click to view
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Richard K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2015 08:00:04

Like others have already mentioned - most fun character creation system ever. I have played both editions and First Edition is the only way to go. Second edition replaces many of the % rolls with d10 and the game lost detail and the "right feel". Trust me on this. The rating - well, I would give it 5 stars easily because of the value of the bundled deal. Its great to get all the books at once so heavily discounted. I wish other "big" publishers would do this. However, the scanning is some of the worst I've encountered on this website. And I've purchased alot of PDFs. Not only do the scans bleed through from the backside, the text clarity and sharpness is also poor. I recommend a complete rescan of this series ASAP and post the updates so we can re-download. thanks guys



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by James L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/28/2015 14:25:30

Out of all the games I have ever played, I have to say this one had the best character creation. I loved making characters for this system.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by William H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2014 02:08:00

1st Ed T2K - a wonderful, if a bit convoluted, character generation. It provides a bit of backstory (tho' less than Traveller), and gives percentile skills, and provide the appropriate competencies. I originally got this in dead tree back in 1984... and I loved it. It had some convoluted rules for armor and gunfire interaction, but it gave a real feel for the combats. And it made combat undesirable yet fun. The art is mostly pencils derived from army stock photos, and the gear is pretty much bog-standard 1980's issue. (They got the early 90's gear dead on - but by 2000, it was well outdated.) The setting makes a great "what if", but many of the assumptions are now quite wrong. Game needs 4d6 and 2d10. Note that mechanically, this is a precursor to the later GDW House System, but is not part of that system. If you ignore the background, this game can be used for any mid 90's US Army actions one cares to play, and with some careful attention, back to the 'Nam war.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Michael C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2012 13:46:28

I picked this up from hearing some small smatterings about it. In truth, it is really great. The whole universe the guys at GDW created is just stunning. Some of the rules and systems took a little bit getting used to (I'm a d20 kind of guy), but it works out nicely. Now I just have to find people to play it with...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Arnold M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/29/2012 15:45:27

Love the game and agree the scan could of been better but the copy works great on windows phone and my kindle fire!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 02/08/2012 21:32:21

Twilight 2000 was always one of those classic games of my post-D&D youth. Back then I grabbed anything that wasn't D&D. TW2k was fun, but not a game I ever got into for any length of time. In today's eyes it seems a bit dated and even maybe a little silly, but this was a big deal in the 80's.

What I like though is using this game as a precursor to the GDW Traveller books of around the same time. Then this game improves in my mind as a link to the Traveller universe. Sure it was not really designed that way when Traveller first came out, but it certainly was the assumption I got.

The game though is still a classic and maybe one day I'll give it a go again. Or maybe as part of a larger Traveller campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Thomas S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2011 14:32:24

While the scan may not be the best the print is readable and correct. Once printed it looks pretty good. Twilight 2000 may not have the production value of many newer, and glossier, games but the rules are still solid. Simple and straight forward, T2000 could be used for any modern or sci fi setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Timothy K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2011 19:32:39

I like the organization of the file, but the bleed through of the opposite pages is very distracting. I wish they had a better original to work from.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/25/2010 20:08:51

Twilight 2000 is one of my all time favorite RPGs. It is a clasic that belongs in all RPG libraries.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Anthony C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/30/2010 21:02:01

This is a great looking book even though I honestly haven't gotten around to playing it yet. From a production standard though, it looks terrific.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Ian B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/14/2009 06:06:44

TWILIGHT 2000 (T2K) was a RPG of my youth. Growing up in the 1980's the thought of "going nuclear" was always there, though somewhat distant.

T2K owes much to Frank Chadwick. Mr. Chadwick made great miniatures rules, such as Command Decision, which clearly influenced T2K. Which means combat is the forte of T2K...not the RPG engine. T2K characters lack real dimension and the result is more of a skirmish game than an RPG.

But the setting! How do you use all that modern high-tech gear outside of a major war? T2K makes the post-apocalypse into the Middle Ages, where the players can be the heroes, just passing through or trying to settle down.

POSITIVE: Rich setting, combat

NEGATIVES: Lakc of real RPG character development.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Txabier A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2009 00:30:47

An reasonable scan of a very popular, classic game. If the scanning had been better, I'd woudl have given it a better grade.

If you are into post-apocalyptic, military gaming, this is a game you might want to check out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v1 Twilight: 2000
Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2007 21:33:03

This was one of those game I just had to have back in the day. Back when we thought there still might be a WWIII. I played the edition after this but always wanted to see the original. This set has everything you need to play in a post nuclear exchange WWIII Europe. Funny to see some of the things they assumed would be standard issue, and kinda scary how close we came to some of the causes for WWIII. The scan is of very good quality. Some of the game mechanics may seem a little strange, like combat and ammo for weapons, but it still plays pretty well, and like any other game, if you don't like something, you can always come up with your own rules. And getting it for free is even better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates