DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Whiplash Trigger Set One: Gunslingers
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2011 12:13:27

Great looking miniatures. The coloring schemes and style allows them to print in reduced scale without any fiddling. I have tried printing some at 50% scale (for 15mm) and 66% (or two pages per sheet, for 20mm) and they still look great -- some minis look too dark in small scales but this is not the case. Another good thing is that their external outlines are simple, so cutting them is really easy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Whiplash Trigger Set One: Gunslingers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Three Sixteen
Publisher: BoxNinja
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2011 12:06:43

3:16 is a well-designed RPG with a quick-to-learn set of rules. There is ample space for narration and character development, if players wish to do so, but there's still enough structure to help guiding play. The premise of an expeditionary force set out to destroy all "threats" to mankind fosters a lot of thought about ethics and making part of "the system" in different scales. The great thing about it is that it doesn't have to start deep. In fact, a group can play one-shots of planet-wide destruction without any regard for the "big picture." However, it is really designed for campaign play (not necessarily a very long campaign) and that's when character development and conflict will happen. The experience of getting promoted to higher ranks, and thus having to cope with orders that further reveal the nature of the game universe, seems great.

Regarding presentation and writing, the book is clear with an informal style that makes reading through it easy. The illustrations in a slightly abstract style work really well. There is something primitive, or rather primal, about them that make them powerful.

Overall, I found this a nice game. It frames one specific genre and (in my opinion) it has a specific ideological agenda and in these aspects, it is very competently designed. The game system gives considerable narrative power to all players and for that reason it also relies on good use of that power, to work well. Otherwise, it still can work as a rules-light filler but its most interesting elements (narration, character development) might be lost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Three Sixteen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Blood - Solo War Game
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/12/2011 17:22:55

Chronicles of Blood is a simple, functional and free miniature battle game that might also work as an introductory game for people new to the genre. Differently from Chronicles of Arax, I didn't find any innovations in the game, but it delivers what it promises. One thing I didn't like is the need to keep track of wounds for each troop, but I suppose that's simpler than having a lookup table for combat results, for instance.

Some minor nitpicking: since the rules don't say anything about friendly units passing through each other, and the enemy must activate troops in descending point value order (when playing solo,) you must place them in front of others or their first turn will be wasted. Still, this will make them exposed and prone to be ganged upon by the human player's troops.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Blood - Solo War Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Publisher: Crystal Star Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2011 14:12:27

A very nice solo "random dungeon" type of game. The basic book will keep you entertained for a while, as you try to beat the included quest, even with the single character type available. I found the random encounter system very clever, in the way it reduces the likelihood of having too short or too long adventures. After trying it, I'm inclined to buying some add-ons (both hero types and quests.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Chronicles of Arax - Solo Adventure Game
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dark Dungeon, Mini-Game #18
Publisher: Avalon Game Company
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2011 22:11:10

A fun little solo game with an "old school" feel. Comes with all components needed to play (except dice, if I must say so,) although you may want to fiddle with some of them before printing, like downscaling the character counters or changing some black areas on the dungeon tiles to a lighter color that won't use so much ink. Rules are simple and resolution tables (for encounters, monster behavior) work well. For a more detailed review, you may check http://fantalonia.blogspot.com/2011/05/review-dark-dungeon.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Dungeon, Mini-Game #18
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2011 17:56:53

When I saw the modular dungeon samples for Inked Adventures, I immediately found myself wanting to run an old-school dungeon hack. I found the artwork lovely, although it may not fit everyone's tastes. The basic pack includes lots of modular pieces like corridors, rooms, doors (stand-up and flat), stairs, along with bits to add detail. As with other modular flats, I suppose it's best to glue each tile or piece to cardboard, foamcore or something like that to prevent them from sliding on the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures: Modular Dungeon Cut-Up Sections Basic Pack
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Slagtown: Eden
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2011 17:47:09

This is an excellent construction kit to build post-apocalyptic terrain/scenery. As such, I think that most of the fun with this product comes from planning your next project and putting it together with the existing parts. In this sense, it is a different experience from models that come ready to be assembled into a pre-planned way, and this may be a good or bad thing for you. Bonus points for the "cheater wheels" option on the truck -- I think that all paper models with wheels should come with this option for easier-to-build wheels.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slagtown: Eden
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Total Chaos
Publisher: Cerberus Illustration
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/27/2011 10:52:22

A good value, given the amount and variety of figures. Note, however, that some figures have distinct front and back, while others have mirrored backs which are fine for miniature wargames but may not satisfy those wishing to use them for RPGs.

LIKED: The graphics style, which is consistent throughout all figures and very detailed. I particularly liked the textures on the wings of the Vrock. The huge 2.5D Balor and the undead chariot are my favorites of the entire set.

DISLIKED: Several figures are placed in a centered, one-per-page layout, which is wasteful especially if you're printing to cardstock. I understand that, for RPGs, you might want to print a single model of a given type but even then, if they were placed on the top of the page, you might be able to print two on the same sheet (just place the same sheet upside down and print again.)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Total Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mule2
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 22:01:52

Another great model from Finger and Toe, as usual with effective use of shapes that are simple to build.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mule2
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

NCC Army [BUNDLE]
Publisher: Slick's Miniatures
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 22:00:24

A great value in my opinion, all the troopers are well detailed and the power armor is just sweet. As the troops come in two color schemes, with this bundle alone it is possible to create two large forces for a sci-fi battle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
NCC Army [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arsenal: Checkpoint
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:56:24

These models look great when built and the gate matches exactly with the Green Line walls. I only had a little bit of trouble aligning the columns to the top piece, but then again I was building it at half size (for 15mm minis) and with regular paper -- and even in these conditions the model built correctly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Arsenal: Checkpoint
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Low Ruins Paper Models Set
Publisher: Dave Graffam Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:51:37

High quality models, with several options of texturing. With little effort it's also possible to cut one low ruins building into two or more pieces to have half ruins or corners. Combined with the crosspieces sets, you can make ruins of large buildings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Low Ruins Paper Models Set
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Publisher: Stargazer Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:46:03

A simple but effective fantasy RPG. I have used it for more narrative-oriented games but from its framework, I believe it could work great for old-school dungeon exploration too. The core concept of using classes as attributes is great and has been adapted to other settings. Really worth reading and playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Warrior, Rogue & Mage
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fear and Faith Horror Rules
Publisher: Ganesha Games
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:42:29

A flexible set of rules for horror skirmish games. The rules are kept simple by using the Song of Blades and Heroes engine. The fear mechanics are a nice addition that fits the theme, but they may slow down the game a little. What I like the most is that several different horror scenarios can be created with this system, differently from other more specialized alternatives (like many zombie apocalypse miniature games that can be found.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fear and Faith Horror Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Multi-gun
Publisher: Finger and Toe Models
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2011 21:35:12

I have just built one model in light cardstock (180gsm) without finding any trouble spots. Just make sure to hold the gun barrel to the main body while the glue dries.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Multi-gun
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 76 to 90 (of 99 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates