DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Narrow Results









Back
Scion: Hero
 
$17.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
26 10
22 4
10 1
4 1
0 1
Scion: Hero
Click to view
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/08/2016 00:49:17

Though is was rather confusing at the time, Scion was basically meant to be Exalted Modern, with a few key differences. The premise was a bit easier to understand than that of Exalted (in that you didn't have to explain the basic setting in a big paragraph that would have served as a Star Wars screen crawl). You get to play the children of gods in the modern times, and do cool John Woo type things or stop buses with your hands.


Basically, a mix of a super hero game with some myth and divinity thrown in. I have not yet looked at the follow up books, but the idea is that you can eventually ascend to godhood. Despite that, I rather like the concept of a lower level hero, as it gives a lot more room and relatability for adventures that can be street to street, like most of White Wolf's classic products. The stories you can tell at this level are human ones, of passion and pathos.


So far, it has been difficult to tell those same stories through a storyteller system without it being rediculous and/or appropriate. I'll reserve my judgement, but so far I am pleased with Scion Hero. Also, bonus points for using the Aztec pantheon. Hardly anyone seems to care about those Mexico gods.


The powers are well scaled, and not as bombastic as Exalted, given that you are still beholden to the constraints of society somewhat, or at least for the time being.


All that being said, this is an amazing book and I almost wish I had given it a second look sooner than now. You can thank my kids and their current infatuation with Percy Jackson for this review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by alex S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/20/2015 18:57:27

Me and my Group has been playing Scion For over 6 months now, been meaning to buy a second copy of hero for a while. I'm Glad I finally did (I got the PDF+Hard Cover).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Nathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2014 11:44:39

Scion: Hero is my favorite RPG ever. The system is brilliant and works wonderfully for this level of gameplay. Admittedly, the system seems to break down a bit once you reach Demigod and God (primarily in regards to the game balance of epic dexterity, in my opinion), but the game is brilliant enough that it doesn't seem that big of a deal.


White Wolf/ Onyx Path does a brilliant job of creating settings in most of their work because they do a lot of research into the subjects. They didn't just throw a couple of pantheons together and make up some stories for them, they dug into the actual mythology from various cultures and put it all in a meta-narrative. As I said at the beginning, this is my favorite RPG ever, and I've played a large number of systems and settings.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ben B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/26/2012 09:48:48

Even the included stories alone would by themselves be worth the purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2012 17:31:57

Scion is a great game.


Unfortunately, it is a great game with a decent system that has some holes in it. At first glance most of these holes in the system are hard to notice but it will not take your troupe long to find them once you start playing. More than likely you will muscle through the rough spots because at it's core, Scion is still a great game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Marius F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/26/2011 09:37:07

It is a good scan for the most part. You can search, except in some of the headings. What really annoys me is that on some of the pages with black background there are huge white boxes on the page covering the text. This is a particular problem on the pantheon pages about Aesir. I got around it by cut'n paste over to a text editor to read what is behind the boxes. This is a amateur mistake they never should have allowed in a sold product.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Joseph G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/14/2010 19:16:10

Great game but the book leaves a bit to structure. During your character creation process, you have to jump around a bit before you get every thing accomplished. Also, the provided character sheet is lacking on some necessary stats. Most of the book explains things great so you shouldn't have many questions on how something works.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/15/2010 12:02:58

A game with much promise and no follow through. A terrible system tacked onto a shakily supported premise. Only the art saves it from being a complete waste of your money.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2009 09:10:41

White Wolf has put out some great products over the years but SCION: Hero is even better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Ronald W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/30/2009 09:10:24

White Wolf has put out some great products over the years but SCION: Hero is even better.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2009 13:25:32

A fascinating concept in magic-flavored superhero gaming. As the children of gods (with the potential to become gods themselves) the PCs are goodly powerful to start, but not unmanageably so. Even with only a few pantheons detailed in full for player characters there is room for a huge variety of concepts.


The rule system is a little more complex than it needs to be, and more complex than previous World of Darkness games. It took me way longer than it should have to create even a simple character. I wouldn't recommend this as a first RPG to anyone, and experiecned Storytellers may want to trim down the mechanics a little. Even taking that into account, though, the game is a great value for its rich, deep background material.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Kees K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/12/2009 23:22:00

Let's get one thing out of the way: I don't like the storyteller system. In fact, I hate the storyteller system. Scion, which uses this system is one of the single best gaming books I have ever read.


Scion meshes the ancient and the modern in a flavorful and beautiful way. It is quite possible that a reader may be looking through it in order to find a specific rule and get distracted by some interesting power or back story.


The book itself is well organized, especially considering that White Wolf made it, but most of the rules can be found easily, and the rules themselves are very simple.


Scion allows characters to exhibit the character to use cool powers from the straightforward like lifting a light pole and bashing a monster with it to the out-and-out awesome like locking eyes with someone and prohibiting him from moving until you remove your gaze or talking to the spirit of inanimate objects.


There are a few balance issues, but it plays so well that these will likely become a non-issue. The included adventure takes up a good deal of space, but seems well put together and is fun to read, if nothing else.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Don M. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 11:17:21

I love this system! I discovered this book at my local game store, and had to buy it. Then I found this wonderful site and now have all the released books, and the subscription, for this marvelous system in digital format. That is WAY awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Devin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 00:44:22

I actually own the hard-copy of this book, and I'm even happier to own the pdf now as well. Despite using the Storyteller system, it is NOT the World of Darkness. However, because the game uses the ST system, it's extremely playable. The ideas behind the gods having mortal children is very original, and well worth exploring. I DO wish that more gods were listed, but since there's a Wiki with fan-submitted gods, this isn't much of a problem. A great game, all in all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scion: Hero
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Devin E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/04/2008 00:44:22

I actually own the hard-copy of this book, and I'm even happier to own the pdf now as well. Despite using the Storyteller system, it is NOT the World of Darkness. However, because the game uses the ST system, it's extremely playable. The ideas behind the gods having mortal children is very original, and well worth exploring. I DO wish that more gods were listed, but since there's a Wiki with fan-submitted gods, this isn't much of a problem. A great game, all in all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates