DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
The Imperfect Lotus
 
$4.99 $2.99
Average Rating:3.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
8 1
6 5
5 0
1 2
0 0
The Imperfect Lotus
Click to view
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by James S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/30/2009 12:24:29

I found this supplement to be very well written. The Terrestrial Martial Arts presented each filled a niche that was not covered in the printed Scroll of the Monk. The 4 virtue based Celestial Martial Arts are an unusual take on the Exalted Martial Arts system that fit in nicely and provide an excellent example should storytellers or players wish to design their own martial arts along non-traditional or more esoteric lines.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Richard J. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/05/2009 21:43:45

The styles are cool, but some seem to not be as well-balanced as they can be a few years after. Still, I think the Virtue styles are some of the better ones in Second Edition, the fluff is cool and I would suggest it strongly.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Ismael A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2008 00:14:46

Although pricey, I think this has been both an excellent product, and a great experiment in White Wolf's attempt at PDF only material. I think that with enough goading, they might be convinced to reduce the price on future attempts, especially considering how well this product sold.


On the product itself, I would have to say that although the terrestrial forms were good, they weren't nearly as useful as the Celestial forms, which were worth the price of admission by themselves, or at least I would say so. Those 4 styles alone are very adaptable, unique, and excellently balanced with the game. If you haven't already, do yourself a favor and pick this up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jonathan G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2007 20:54:54

This book is really interesting, and useful as it describes several additional martial arts styles.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Dawn B.
Date Added: 01/23/2007 21:44:06

I actually quite like this little supplement, because the martial arts presented inside are perfect for many of my characters. I play a Marukani character, for instance, and I wish I'd had Lightning Hoof Style when I was making her. And of course, I'm planning another character with the Meditative Discussion Style. :)


I wouldn't knock it, even if it was a touch overpriced.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Petri W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2007 16:51:16

Not worth the price, sadly.


That's not to say that there isn't some good content here; there is, and I quite like some of the styles. But the book is seriously overpriced with regards to the page count and content, the $7 price would be high even for a corresponding printed book, let alone a PDF. Charging that amount of money for leftovers that didn't fit in the main book leaves a very bad taste in the mouth.


Give this one a pass, unless the price drops or you're a fanatic Exalted collector.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Scott C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/30/2006 02:53:21

Interesting enough content, if you're already an Exalted Martial Arts fan. The charms presented seem mechanically consistent with the rest of the game and have some interesting ideas wrapped around them, but nothing startlingly novel or original. The price per-page is really a bit much. This book costs 150% more per page than the Exalted 2nd Edition core book (a full-color glossy hardcover) for example, and 60% more per page than most of the black-and-white softcover books in the same line. Unless you're a die-hard Exalted MA fan or an insatiable completionist, it's probably not worth your money unless you see it on sale.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Imperfect Lotus
Publisher: White Wolf
by Steven M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/03/2006 21:19:09

While not perfect, The Imperfect Lotus is well worth the money. The four terrestrial level martial arts are interesting, including a style for flame wands. The real value comes with the four virtue based celestial level martial arts, which are brilliantly written and should help bring a new focus to what might be one of the least used rule mechanic in the game (in my group at least). The art in passable, but not noteworthy.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates