DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Light City #1 - The Brawler
Publisher: Monstrous Matters
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2017 08:57:59

The Brawler is a solid beat 'em up supers class using Swords & Wizardry Light. The layout is appealing and the use of public domain supers is on point. I can't wait to see what the future holds for Light City.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light City #1 - The Brawler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DNA - The Buried Zikurat OSR Adventure
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 09:10:17

Originally posted: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-buried-zikurat.html

Overview: The Buried Zikurat is the second part of Kevin Watson's Haunting of Hastur series. It's for a party of characters level 6-8. It has an implied setting, but is easy to import into any game. A zikarut has been discovered by a clay mining operation and the pc's are hired to investigate.

Layout: Each room of the zikarut is presented in a simple and useful layout like this:

Number - Name of Room Ingress/Egress: how to get in and out of the room and where it leads Description: Detailed description for the DM. Players: Descriptions for players: Lore: History of the room. Not all room descriptions feature this.

Crunchy Bits: 1 new monster (Nexus Guardian), 1 new spell (Destroy Stone), 3 new magic items (Boots of Formene, Cloak of Formene, Ring of Elvenkind)

Thoughts: This adventure is full of puzzles/riddles. This is a nice change of pace from most published adventures I see, which are light on encounters like that. However, if those aren't your players' style they can just fight nexus guardians to get past locks.

I like Kevin's take on elves. In particular the Formene's are an interesting version of "dark elves." They live underground, but they are definitely not Lolth-worshiping spider-kissers.

Overall, I think this is a fun adventure with a nice connection to otherworldly horrors. It's got a mythos vibe, but it is not a beat you over the head with tentacles while you're looting the random dungeon experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DNA - The Buried Zikurat OSR Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DNA - The Buried Zikurat Pathfinder Adventure
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 09:10:00

Originally posted: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-buried-zikurat.html

Overview: The Buried Zikurat is the second part of Kevin Watson's Haunting of Hastur series. It's for a party of characters level 6-8. It has an implied setting, but is easy to import into any game. A zikarut has been discovered by a clay mining operation and the pc's are hired to investigate.

Layout: Each room of the zikarut is presented in a simple and useful layout like this:

Number - Name of Room Ingress/Egress: how to get in and out of the room and where it leads Description: Detailed description for the DM. Players: Descriptions for players: Lore: History of the room. Not all room descriptions feature this.

Crunchy Bits: 1 new monster (Nexus Guardian), 1 new spell (Destroy Stone), 3 new magic items (Boots of Formene, Cloak of Formene, Ring of Elvenkind)

Thoughts: This adventure is full of puzzles/riddles. This is a nice change of pace from most published adventures I see, which are light on encounters like that. However, if those aren't your players' style they can just fight nexus guardians to get past locks.

I like Kevin's take on elves. In particular the Formene's are an interesting version of "dark elves." They live underground, but they are definitely not Lolth-worshiping spider-kissers.

Overall, I think this is a fun adventure with a nice connection to otherworldly horrors. It's got a mythos vibe, but it is not a beat you over the head with tentacles while you're looting the random dungeon experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DNA - The Buried Zikurat Pathfinder Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

DNA - The Buried Zikurat 5e Adventure
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 09:07:26

Originally posted: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-buried-zikurat.html

Overview: The Buried Zikurat is the second part of Kevin Watson's Haunting of Hastur series. It's for a party of characters level 6-8. It has an implied setting, but is easy to import into any game. A zikarut has been discovered by a clay mining operation and the pc's are hired to investigate.

Layout: Each room of the zikarut is presented in a simple and useful layout like this:

Number - Name of Room Ingress/Egress: how to get in and out of the room and where it leads Description: Detailed description for the DM. Players: Descriptions for players: Lore: History of the room. Not all room descriptions feature this.

Crunchy Bits: 1 new monster (Nexus Guardian), 1 new spell (Destroy Stone), 3 new magic items (Boots of Formene, Cloak of Formene, Ring of Elvenkind)

Thoughts: This adventure is full of puzzles/riddles. This is a nice change of pace from most published adventures I see, which are light on encounters like that. However, if those aren't your players' style they can just fight nexus guardians to get past locks.

I like Kevin's take on elves. In particular the Formene's are an interesting version of "dark elves." They live underground, but they are definitely not Lolth-worshiping spider-kissers.

Overall, I think this is a fun adventure with a nice connection to otherworldly horrors. It's got a mythos vibe, but it is not a beat you over the head with tentacles while you're looting the random dungeon experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DNA - The Buried Zikurat 5e Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Most Fowl
Publisher: Grey Fey
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2016 16:39:03

Originally posted at (www.http://punverse.blogspot.com/)

The book is one of the most entertaining low level adventures I've read in a long time. The party are weary from their time on the road and come upon a small town. It seems like a dump, but hey they have an inn. The party meet various unique townsfolk and get talked into helping one of the locals get his prized chicken back. The party then faces goblins (along with a new offshoot race, goblings) and chickens that have been transformed into monsters via demonic rituals.

Adventure Most Fowl is a well written adventure and a great micro-sandbox. There are several fun npc's and plot hooks in the adventure. I've not ran this yet, but I have no doubt that it will be memorable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Most Fowl
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Krampus, The Christmas Demon for Basic Era Games
Publisher: The Other Side Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2016 19:35:26

The author does a good job giving background and translating Krampus from legend to game stats. Show some holiday spirit and toss some silver (or gold) his way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Krampus, The Christmas Demon for Basic Era Games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Krampus (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2016 11:24:35

This is a fun little write-up that actually takes D&D cosmology into account. I think that makes this version of Krampus even easier to use. Do yourself a favor. Pick up this pdf and through some silver (or maybe even gold) to Skirmisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Krampus (A Monster for 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Treat or Trick
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2016 17:31:10

Trick or Treat is a short (7 page ) Halloween themed adventure for 5E that can be found at the Dungeon Masters Guild. It's rather simple, but festive and fun. The party comes across a small town celebrating Reaping Day (a fall harvest and honouring the dead festival).The festival includes a haunted house, bugbear dunking game, and pumpkin carving contest. Unfortunately when a ritual is miscast by a clueless townsfolk member, people become their costumes.

I've read through the adventure and it seems like a fun romp. If you want something spoopy (and I mean spoopy, not spooky) and have two bucks to spare, you should pick this up.

I did notice a minor proofreading oversight. The Nightmare Before Christmas is attributed to "Time Burton."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treat or Trick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witchfinder Class (Swords & Wizardry)
Publisher: MonkeyBlood Design
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2016 16:21:52

The class itself is very interesting. It attacks as a fighter can use any weapon or piece of armor. It has d6 hit dice. Only lawful humans can be witchfinders. The start with a bonus on saving throws versus magic from chaotic casters.

What really makes the class interesting to me is its gritty inquisitor nature. All witchfinders have a higher than average chance of extracting useful information through torture. This starts at 60% and increases 2% per class level.

The other starting ability they get is quite unique. It is spread anxiety. There are no hard and fast, concrete rules for this. Essentially it's a tool for the GM'. Commoners will treat the witchfinder with fear and paranoia. They will avoid the witchfinder and placate them to avoid suspicion.

As they level up they gain the ability to cast the following spells as a cleric: detect magic, detect evil, protection from evil, bless, protection from evil (10 foot radius), and holy word.

In addition, at 9th level they can establish a malefizhaus. This is a witch-house that attracts low level witch hunters that will vow to protect the surrounding area. Historically, a malfiz haus was essentially a church torture

I really, really like this class. While it doesn't have a place in light-hearted games, it could lead to some really interesting games with a darker tone. Also, it's free! Check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witchfinder Class (Swords & Wizardry)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sisters of the Aquarian Order
Publisher: The Other Side Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 10:35:25

Originally posted here: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2016/02/sisters-of-aquarian-order-for-white-star.html

The Sisters are an ancient order of mystics that have guided humanity since ancient times. These mystics train there minds and have psychic powers that seem almost magical.

The book is divided into six chapters. Chapter one presents the sister of the Aquarian Order class. The class gets a few psychic powers and rituals. I don't know if this has been corrected in the pdf or for later printings, but the introduction has a few repeated paragraphs.

The second chapter describes the rituals of the order. These psychic rituals essentially work like spells and are very "witch-y" in nature (not surprising considering this is one of Tim's books).

Chapter three gives stats for a new weapon, includes a few pieces of equipment, and includes two new starships.

Chapter four discusses using the Sisters in your game and chapter five extends that by taking about the history, present, and future of the order (plus detailing the Sisters' home planet, Gaia).

Chapter six discusses the splinter Capricorn order and other heresies. I like the treatment of the alternate group and that they aren't really darksiders (in the star knight/void knight way) and in their minds are working for the good of humanity.

This book is a lot of fun. If you want to want to play a witch in space, this is your opportunity. If you're a GM the Sisters provide a great opportunity for mystery. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Get your copy today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of the Aquarian Order
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The S'rulyan Vault
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2016 14:52:32

Originally posted at my blog (http://punverse.blogspot.com/2016/06/the-srulyan-vault.html). The product is a high quality made-to-be-printed map in two styles: classic module blue and parchment. In addition to the map files you get a 20 page pdf chock full of goodness. While it doesn't fill your mega dungeon, it provides you with all the back story and charts of random awesome that you need to do so. At 7.00, this is a product I really recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The S'rulyan Vault
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil - Sidequests - River Crossing (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2016 13:51:19

If you're curious about The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil, you should definitely check this out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil - Sidequests - River Crossing (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (Pathfinder)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2016 13:43:50

Originally posted on my blog, Halls of the Nephilim (www.punverse.blogspot.com)

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil is a level 4-6 fantasy adventure by Kevin Watson. It is part one of the Hauntings of Hastur series. I own one of the print OSR/5E kickstarter copies as well as OSR/5E pdf and the Pathfinder pdf.

Having to do with Hastur, the adventure obviously has a dark feel to it, but it's definitely not too dark or weird to be added to a standard D&D game. The adventure could be placed on the outskirts of any fantasy kingdom with little work.

While I've not ran through it, I really like it. The author has included a great mix of well-balanced combat and non-combat encounters. While there are definitely times you have to fight, parley is important too.

A majority of the foes faced by the party will be human. This surprised me considering Hastur's involvement, but given the plot, it does make sense. I hope to see more eldritch horrors in part two.

The pdf's come with an extra pdf that is just illustrations and maps from the adventure. This was an excellent touch and I wish more companies would do this with their releases. I know the art style isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I think it works given the flavor of the adventure. I do want to talk about the portrait of Fredu for a moment. He resembles Robin Williams.Williams was a great man and avid gamer, so it's cool. I appreciated it, but it actually kind of made me too sad to read the adventure for a bit.

So the important question, should you pick up this adventure. I say most definitely.

If you're curious about the style, just out the free sidequest: River Crossing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2016 13:42:54

Originally posted on my blog, Halls of the Nephilim (www.punverse.blogspot.com)

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil is a level 4-6 fantasy adventure by Kevin Watson. It is part one of the Hauntings of Hastur series. I own one of the print OSR/5E kickstarter copies as well as OSR/5E pdf and the Pathfinder pdf.

Having to do with Hastur, the adventure obviously has a dark feel to it, but it's definitely not too dark or weird to be added to a standard D&D game. The adventure could be placed on the outskirts of any fantasy kingdom with little work.

While I've not ran through it, I really like it. The author has included a great mix of well-balanced combat and non-combat encounters. While there are definitely times you have to fight, parley is important too.

A majority of the foes faced by the party will be human. This surprised me considering Hastur's involvement, but given the plot, it does make sense. I hope to see more eldritch horrors in part two.

The pdf's come with an extra pdf that is just illustrations and maps from the adventure. This was an excellent touch and I wish more companies would do this with their releases. I know the art style isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I think it works given the flavor of the adventure. I do want to talk about the portrait of Fredu for a moment. He resembles Robin Williams.Williams was a great man and avid gamer, so it's cool. I appreciated it, but it actually kind of made me too sad to read the adventure for a bit.

So the important question, should you pick up this adventure. I say most definitely.

If you're curious about the style, just out the free sidequest: River Crossing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (M&M 3e)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2011 23:34:34

You can never have too many meta human Nazis and the Eugenics Brigade contains some nasty ones. I've not playtested them yet, but everything seems to be in order stats-wise. The artwork is nice and fits. The characters each have briefing reports that make them setting neutrel, but still leaves with great flair and background.

The product's content gets a 5 out of 5.

I'd give the layout 4 out of 5. The only issue I had was with the formatting of the stat blocks. There were spaces and indentations that seemed very superfluous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (M&M 3e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates