DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
La Bas Chartreuse
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 15:21:09

La Bas Chartreuse is the latest release by Venger Satanis. Unlike previous releases, this Lovecraftian supplement doesn't present a new game or complete adventure. Instead, we're presented with a thoroughly dark and interesting jungle locale. Glynn Seal did an amazing job with the layout and the artwork is creepy and fitting. As always Venger's prose is thought provoking and creepy. One of the hallmarks of Kort'thalis Publishing releases, useful and entertaining random charts, are also featured prominently. La Bas Charteuse definitely fits in perfectly with the original release of The Outer Presence. That cannibal holocaust meets Cthulhu adventure and rules-lite game is the perfect match up for this creepy set piece. However, it could also be easily used as a local for a world spanning Blood Dark Thirst game or Crimson Dragon Slayer jungle adventure. Actually, given the jungle setting, it's the perfect way to add some eldritch horror to more established and main stream games. Seriously, some retired adventurer could mention the La Bas Chartreuse to a party of Sword Coast adventurers in Waterdeep getting ready to depart to Chult to brave the Tomb of Annihilation. 

At two dollars, this pdf is a steal. Snag it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Bas Chartreuse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:21:51

White Box Zombies by Bloat Games is everything you need if you want to include a little thing like the zombie apocalypse into your White Box game (perhaps as the result of Death Frost Doom).  At 48 pages this is a pretty meaty pdf.

The book begins with zombie infection rules. These are pretty deadly but it's essentially get bit/clawed by a zombie with it, make a save or die and become a zombie. This is pretty intense, but no one said zombie apocalypses were for the weak.

We are then presented with a the Classic White Box Zombie and a brief discussion of why it's different than one of the new infection causing zombies. After this we get into the Infected Dead. Stats are given as well as a suggested pack size. These are the infected (with a brief description or what they remind me of):

Living Dead Zombie (classic Romero shamblers) Groaners (tougher classic Romero shamblers) Walkers (weaker Romero shamblers, similar to Walking Dead zombies) Runners (Dawn of the Dead remake) Rage Zombies (28 Days Later) Fleshless Zombies (the Tarman from Return of the Living Dead series) Screamers (7 Days to Die, they have a scream that can paralyze players with fear and attrack other zombies) Bone Zombies (Dry Bones from Mario, skeletons from Castlevania) Mutated Bone Zombies (what happens when multiple Bone Zombies combine) Boss Zombie (Dawn of the Dead remake, but stronger and more cunning) Legend Zombies (unique intelligent infected) Melting Zombies (advanced decayed zombies that have acidic goo) Zombie Children (Cooties)

After the special zombies we're treated to a page with demihuman and monster infected zombie rules. This is followed by a collection of demihumans and monsters. We get (living) stats for the monsters, as well as two infection zombie variants (from the group mentioned above). The demihumans/monsters presented are bugbear, centaur, dwarf elf, cloud giant, firbolg, fire giant, frost giant, hill giant, stone giant, storm giant, gnoll, gnome, goblin, hobgoblin, kobold, lizardman, ogre, orc, and troll.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:20:49

White Box Gothic by Barrel Rider Games is everything you need to bring Hammer Horror into your White Box game.

The book starts with an introduction to horror and then gives us several new classes.  These classes are:

Monster Hunter - Like Captain Kronos or Van Richten, these fighting men (and women) are trained to track down and destroy the creatures of the night. Each Monster Hunter picks a specialty. Metaphysician - This is a man of supernatural science. The learn forsaken lore, get some spells, and can turn undead. Spiritualists - These individuals have a connection to the dead. They can interact with the spectral and turn incorporeal undead. Wanderer - These nomadic folks are survivors that use luck, trinkets picked up, and eventually a bit of magic to stay alive. Dhampir - This class is for the children of vampires and mortals. Want to play Blade? Now you can. Reanimated - Ever wanted to play Frankenstein's Monster? If so, this racial class lets you do just that.

The second chapter is short, but to the point. It has rules common in horror games, mainly corruption, dread, and curses. The third chapter includes a small selection of spells. Some of these are perfect tools for those fighting against the darkness. Others make the servants of darkness even more powerful. There are also several new magic items suited for horror games. My favourite is bottled courage, which basically gets your drunk, but makes you immune to fear. Many of these items can be used by all classes, which makes them quite useful.

The final chapter includes 15 new monsters. Most of these are classic monsters and opponents, like cultists and werebats. We're also presented with the vampire lord and bride stats, for those of you that what Dracula. Another particularly nasty monster is the plaything, which is like Chucky from the Child's Play films.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Single, Small Cut
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:14:26

A Single, Small Cut is an extended encounter for Lamentations of the Flame Princess written by one of my favorite adventure writers, Michael Curtis.

The encounter centers around the Order of Kites. They are a religious order of heathen slayers made up of desperate men. They fight fire with fire and confiscate tools of deviltry and paganism to slay their foes. One such tool was the Red Bell which could summon a creature dubbed the Corrector of Sins.The bell was buried with the leader of the order that used it.

At the beginning of the adventure, an enterprising wizard heard the legend of the bell, gathered ruffians, and decided to pay the Order a visit. After killing the parishioners and order, he's decided to claim the tool as his own,

This is when the party arrives. They are met by one of the bandits in disguise (who is being supported by crossbowmen in the rafters). After a social encounter (that can turn violent) the villains and pc's are confronted by the Corrector.

I want to take a second to talk about the Collector of Souls. That's him on the cover. The beast is formed from the dead bodies found with 50 feet of it. It's a shambling abomination of mangled flesh and internal organs. The description includes mention of "flailing tendrils of human intestines terminating in snapping sphincters." If you were wandering where the LotFP weirdness came in, that's it.

The party seeks out the church, encounters the rogues, encounter the Corrector, seize and learn how to use the bell (?).

Like most LotFP adventures, the adventure is nominally set on Earth. However, change the references of Satanic to diabolic and you're good. For example if I were to set this in Faerun, I think the order would be fanatics of Helm. If I put it on Oerth, they would definitely be a faction related to Pholtus.

This is a great encounter and definitely worth the two dollar price tag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Single, Small Cut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Scarecrow
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:13:30

Tales of the Scarecrow is a mini adventure/site for your Lamentations of the Flame Princess or other OSR games. If you think  you'll ever play it, stop reading now.

Written by James Raggi, Tales of the Scarecrow clocks in at 10 pages (including front cover, table of contents, and the back cover).

The set-up is simple. The party will wonder through a cornfield, investigate a farm house, and then find themselves trapped. Beneath the cornfield is a eldritch grabboid-esque horror. Unfortunately the water and corn the players have access to will kill them, so the scenario becomes a test of creativity and survival.

This scenario has a lot going for it. The writing is fantastic and the premise is interesting. There are three really cool items. The first is a sword that can be a bane or boon. The second is a Book of Vile Darkness-esque blasphemous spellbook. Finally, there's the Tales of the Scarecrow, which is a storybook found on a desk. This is one of my favourite parts because it's the players chance to flex their weird and creative muscles. Players get to come up with the story of the scarecrow. Whoever creates the most interesting and/or dangerous gets an XP bonus and  the scarecrow gets imbued with that power.

While it's short, this is one of my favourite LofFP releases because it really lets the player's creative energies flow. Also, the adventure has one of my favourite pieces of Flame Princess artwork. If you don't want to play in LotFP's early modern era setting, this can be placed in any setting really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead God Excavation
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 14:08:14

(Disclaimer, Venger did send me a review copy, but I'd already bought this before I got the review copy.)

Dead God Excavation is campaign starting adventure by Venger Satanis. It's written for Crimson Dragon Slayer, but because that's such an elegantly simple system, it's an easy one to convert to any variation of D&D. Thematically, I think it would be a great funnel adventure for Dungeon Crawl Classics. Change a few names (if you're using the early modern Earth setting) and it'd be a great way to start off a Lamentations of the Flame Princess game too. Thematically it would also be great for Astonishing Swordsman and Sorcerers of Hyborea. 

The premise is phenomenal. A massive earthquake has revealed a a massive alien mausoleum in a kingdom. I mean if you want to kick off a campaign with a bang, this is how you do it. We are presented with several colorful characters, rumor and effect charts, new creatures, a series of encounters, and a dead great old one! Then again is it actually dead? Is it sleeping? I mean, we all know the quote...

After the adventure is over, we're given the effects of having an great old one under your kingdom, which includes some great follow up ideas.

If you play CDS this is a must. You get a great campaign starter, monsters, unique and powerful magic item, new spell, and new cleric rules. If you don't play CDS, you should still pick it up, because this is a well written adventure your players won't forget. 

At two bucks this adventure is a steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead God Excavation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Light City: The Assembly
Publisher: Monstrous Matters
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 08:26:45

This pdf is the perfect way to dive into superheroic action for Swrods & Wizardry Light. If you enjoy it check out Jonathan's other Light City releases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light City: The Assembly
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2017 01:12:21

I don't think Venger Satanis ever takes a break. His newest release is Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss.

What is this pdf? Essentially its thirty some pages of mostly system neutral material that is useful for any version of D&D or games like it. What we're given is a series of new rules, random charts, and suggestions to flesh out any sort of games with swords and magic. It really does fit the whole spectrum of these games too. The vorpal charts are over the top and metal as hell (while still being well designed). In contrast if you have a low magic game, The Art of Barding and Be the Best Cleric You Can Be To Cleric Like A Fucking Boss are excellent suggestions for doing your thing when you don't have a game full of Drizzt's and Raistlins. These two sections really fit well in OSR games.

As with all of Venger's books, the layout is fantastic, the art is top notch, and the random tables are ueful and interesting. If you like Dungeons and/or Dragons, you should pick this one up. Your players and DM will thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2017 22:28:10

This is not a fully detailed setting, yet it is much more than just an adventure. The pdf includes all the info you need to know about Santa Fe Starport (including why the characters don't just arrive and leave). In addition to the starport, the various communities and groups that carve out an existence in the irradiated remnants of the American southwest. Venger gives us plenty of random charts to keep things interesting and it means that honestly you could use this for multiple games and it's never going to be the same.

Content wise, this one is pretty offensive, especially for those that are too sensitive. This has more parody of real world politics and events than is typical for Venger's work. This is not a bad thing though. It's well written and works in context to this project. Also, like his previous work, this one is full of of references to movies. Of all of these, my favourite is the Demolition Man reference with the cantina.

While this is release was written for Alpha Blue, Crimson Dragon Slayer, and Venger's other games, the rules actually are secondary to the fluff. If you don't mind parody and crude humor, thisa a great tool kit for any post-apocalyptic game. If you like radiation, tentacles, mutant sex organs, or hashtags, you should pick this one up.

You should also download Venger's free minigame, Death Race: Fury Road.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch for Swords & Wizardry Continual Light
Publisher: The Other Side Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2017 12:48:54

If you want the best witch material for your gaming table you need to seek out the work of Timothy Brannan.

The witch is an occult caster that blends arcane and divine. Like all classes for Continual Light, the witch is seven levels. In addition to spells, the witch gains a familiar, access to ritual magic, the ability to brew potions, and ultimately an occult power based on their tradition. These traditions are light (good/law), dark (evil/chaos), and twilight (neutral/balance).

The class isn't the only thing included in the pdf though. We're also presented with seven new monsters that are associated with witches. Of these, my favourites are the winged cat and winged monkey. The monster section is followed by three pages of magic items (primarily brooms, cauldrons, and potions/oils/powders).

If you want some excellent, based on legend and tradition, witch material for your Swords & Wizardry Light game, you definitely need to purchase this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch for Swords & Wizardry Continual Light
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Night of the Slashers
Publisher: Neoplastic Press
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/19/2017 17:02:28

This (and some dice) are all you need for all sorts of one-shot slasher adventures. What's not to love? The art is great, the text is tight, and the concept is great.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night of the Slashers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Dark Thirst
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/16/2017 17:09:10

The high priest of Cthulhu, Venger Satanis, has another fantastic stand alone game that comes a warmer color. I was provided with a review copy.

Blood Dark Thirst is a new rules light game of vampiric awesomeness. System-wise it uses the V6 system that all of Venger's other games use, which is really cool because his other horror releases, particularly The Outer Presence, A Green Jewel They Must Possess, and His Flesh Becomes My Key, can serve as good inspiration for Blood Dark Thirst adventures. I already have some ideas for a certain green jewel.

Character creation is really simple, but makes a lot of sense. You pick some things you're good at and some things you're bad at. If you're good at something you roll 3 dice, if you're bad at something you get 1. For everything else, 2 is the standard. You also pick three flaws which come into play during certain instances. Other than that you flesh out who you are, how you act, and when you were turned.

Actions play out just like they do in Alpha Blue and Venger's other games. The difference here is that you're a vampire which comes with cool powers, immunities, and unfortunately drawbacks. The powers are pretty interesting. All vampires get the classic strong/fast/charming abilities, but then you get unique powers every level. My favourite is the aptly named Subspecies which lets you make little demons like Radu from the movie of the same name. Other vampiric rules you might expect from a vamp game (such as vampiric slaves and blood bonds) are here too.

The pdf ends with a short outline introductory scenario. The party all reside in the same rundown house (which I imagine is a lot like the house in What We Do In the Shadows). They find a note from a high ranking vampire in the city telling them to get the fuck out. Is it real? Is it a prank? Do they flee? Do they kill the bastard before they can have him killed? That's up to you and your group.

The artwork is appropriate and appealing. I have a thing for blasphemy, so I love the monstrous nun on the cover.

If you can't tell, I really like Blood Dark Thirst and I think you will too. Do you want to play a game that lets you relive your glory days of classic Vampire: The Masquerade but without all of the overdone metaplot? Never played a vampire game, but have always wanted to be Michael or David from The Lost Boys? This is the game for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Dark Thirst
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Save Yourself From Hell
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2017 16:30:47

Liberate Tutemet Ex Infernis...

Save Yourself From Hell is the newest adventure byVenger Satanis for Alpha Blue. I was provided with a review copy and now I'm going to tell you scruffy nerf herders what's up. The title is a reference to one of my favourite sci-fi and horror movies, Event Horizon.

Like most Alpha Blue releases, Save Yourself From Hell starts with a few new rules. We get a new official profession rule. Basically characters can pull of a cool non-game/story breaking profession and related stunt without rolling. They get the ability back when when they roll Satan (triple sixes) or do something that is both over-the-top awesome and in-character. The second new rule is about emotional trauma and re-opening old wounds (a theme of the adventure). This isn't something I've thought about in the sometimes silly and absurd universe of Alpha Blue, but it's a cool addition and adds depth. Character can verbalize their inner trauma and steal the spotlight. I dig the idea.

The basic premise is the characters must travel to the Hell's Cluster and reach the Eye of Asmodeus to find out what happened to a starship. None of these things sound perilous, right? In the adventure you will find a mix of crazy incidents, movie homages (which let's be honest is one of the big reasons we love Venger's work), space truck stops, horrific encounters, kung-fu madness, and the dread lord Cthulhu! Seriously, one of the headings is "Shooting Lasers With Cthulhu." Oh and there's Sir Matey. He is one of my new favourite npcs. I'm a cat guy. Sue me.

The pdf is 20 pages long and will probably only take a session if your group is the "shoot first, who needs backstory" type. However, if you've got roleplayers that really like to dig into things, the adventure will take multiple session. Some aspects of this adventure feel more like Venger's work for The Outer Presence, than Alpha Blue. Still, it has a nice amount of the sleaze and sci-fi goodness we've come to love and expect from Alpha Blue. You should buy Save Yourself From Hell asap.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Save Yourself From Hell
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Battle For The Purple Islands
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2017 16:29:43

Battle for the Purple Islands is the newest release from Venger Satanis. It's written for Venger's games (like Crimson Dragon Slayer and Alpha Blue) and can be used with just about any D&D-ish system with minimal effort. I've read through it a few times and it's a blast.

The adventure centers around a courier needing to deliver a hologram message to a hermit that lives in a mountain located on the Purple Islands. Depending on the system your playing the character could be the couriers (if playing Alpha Blue) or they could be captives of cannibals alongside the courier. The players need to escape the cannibals, avoid intelligent ape patrols, make it up the mountain, and deliver the message to.... H.P. MF'ing Lovecraft. Oh, but that's not all kiddies. In addition, players must escort the master of the macabre to a museum with his work, avoid a sinister snake man, and stop purple cultists from nuking the island and turning everyone in to Lovecraftian monstrosities!

Pros: The adventure is a gonzo hex crawl and the Purple Islands are an unforgettable setting. You like something, the Purple Islands has it or can with little-to-no explanation. Grindhouse-style cannibal tribes? Check. Talking apes with machine guns? Check. Lovecraftian monsters out the wazoo? Triple check. Killer juggalos? They were mentioned in the first excursion to the Purple Islands, not this one, but still... check! Though the setting is on a fantasy world, reality's boundaries are thin and you can add whatever the Hell you want.

Do you like references and homages in your games? Venger sure does. There are some pretty obvious ones like A New Hope and Cannibal Holocaust, but there are some you might glance over, like Ghostbusters.

Finally, like all of Venger's works, this one is full of random tables to keep things fresh and interesting, including a Land of the Lost roll as you go hexcrawl chart with 100 entries.

Cons: You're going to really want The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence if you're running this. Now I don't think that's a bad thing. Quite to the contrary I love that book, just saying if you have this one, you're probably going to need that one.

Final Verdict: If you've ever wanted to do a Lovecraftian version of "Vincent and the Doctor" mixed with a little Planet of the Apes and a bloody dollop of Cannibal Holocaust. this is the adventure you've been waiting for.

If not, what's wrong with you?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle For The Purple Islands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2017 11:21:55

You've got to give it to Venger Satanis, he definitely knows how to get your attention with his advice books. His newest is Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss. I was given a pdf copy and I'd like to share my thoughts.

First I'll talk about the physical aspects of the pdf. It is 13 pages (10 that give advice). The cover has a bad ass dragon. There are three pieces of art in the book, which give a you a good sample of the art style in Venger's books. The text is in a standard two column layout with the occasional sidebar. As a final note, there are several random tables, because let's be honest, this wouldn't be a Kort'thalis Publishing product without them.

But I know you're asking, what about the content? It's very practical. To sum up and paraphrase the book, if you want to write adventures like a fucking boss you have to think of yourself as a movie writer and director with an unlimited budget. Obviously there's more to it than that and Venger gives us plenty of exposition and insight into the deeper workings of the process, but ultimately that comparison is very fitting. While the pdf isn't long there is no wasted text. Every example and tip Venger gives is insightful.

I don't write adventures. I honestly don't think I've ran D&D without a module in years. Venger's advice makes me want to change that. I want to take a stab at writing an adventure (perhaps Rumspringa in Space! for Alpha Blue). To me that is a sign that the book does what it sets out to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates