DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Treat or Trick
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2016 17:31:10

Trick or Treat is a short (7 page ) Halloween themed adventure for 5E that can be found at the Dungeon Masters Guild. It's rather simple, but festive and fun. The party comes across a small town celebrating Reaping Day (a fall harvest and honouring the dead festival).The festival includes a haunted house, bugbear dunking game, and pumpkin carving contest. Unfortunately when a ritual is miscast by a clueless townsfolk member, people become their costumes.

I've read through the adventure and it seems like a fun romp. If you want something spoopy (and I mean spoopy, not spooky) and have two bucks to spare, you should pick this up.

I did notice a minor proofreading oversight. The Nightmare Before Christmas is attributed to "Time Burton."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Treat or Trick
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Witchfinder Class (Swords & Wizardry)
Publisher: MonkeyBlood Design
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/05/2016 16:21:52

The class itself is very interesting. It attacks as a fighter can use any weapon or piece of armor. It has d6 hit dice. Only lawful humans can be witchfinders. The start with a bonus on saving throws versus magic from chaotic casters.

What really makes the class interesting to me is its gritty inquisitor nature. All witchfinders have a higher than average chance of extracting useful information through torture. This starts at 60% and increases 2% per class level.

The other starting ability they get is quite unique. It is spread anxiety. There are no hard and fast, concrete rules for this. Essentially it's a tool for the GM'. Commoners will treat the witchfinder with fear and paranoia. They will avoid the witchfinder and placate them to avoid suspicion.

As they level up they gain the ability to cast the following spells as a cleric: detect magic, detect evil, protection from evil, bless, protection from evil (10 foot radius), and holy word.

In addition, at 9th level they can establish a malefizhaus. This is a witch-house that attracts low level witch hunters that will vow to protect the surrounding area. Historically, a malfiz haus was essentially a church torture

I really, really like this class. While it doesn't have a place in light-hearted games, it could lead to some really interesting games with a darker tone. Also, it's free! Check it out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Witchfinder Class (Swords & Wizardry)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Sisters of the Aquarian Order
Publisher: The Other Side Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/22/2016 10:35:25

Originally posted here: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2016/02/sisters-of-aquarian-order-for-white-star.html

The Sisters are an ancient order of mystics that have guided humanity since ancient times. These mystics train there minds and have psychic powers that seem almost magical.

The book is divided into six chapters. Chapter one presents the sister of the Aquarian Order class. The class gets a few psychic powers and rituals. I don't know if this has been corrected in the pdf or for later printings, but the introduction has a few repeated paragraphs.

The second chapter describes the rituals of the order. These psychic rituals essentially work like spells and are very "witch-y" in nature (not surprising considering this is one of Tim's books).

Chapter three gives stats for a new weapon, includes a few pieces of equipment, and includes two new starships.

Chapter four discusses using the Sisters in your game and chapter five extends that by taking about the history, present, and future of the order (plus detailing the Sisters' home planet, Gaia).

Chapter six discusses the splinter Capricorn order and other heresies. I like the treatment of the alternate group and that they aren't really darksiders (in the star knight/void knight way) and in their minds are working for the good of humanity.

This book is a lot of fun. If you want to want to play a witch in space, this is your opportunity. If you're a GM the Sisters provide a great opportunity for mystery. I can't recommend this book highly enough. Get your copy today.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sisters of the Aquarian Order
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The S'rulyan Vault
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2016 14:52:32

Originally posted at my blog (http://punverse.blogspot.com/2016/06/the-srulyan-vault.html). The product is a high quality made-to-be-printed map in two styles: classic module blue and parchment. In addition to the map files you get a 20 page pdf chock full of goodness. While it doesn't fill your mega dungeon, it provides you with all the back story and charts of random awesome that you need to do so. At 7.00, this is a product I really recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The S'rulyan Vault
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil - Sidequests - River Crossing (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2016 13:51:19

If you're curious about The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil, you should definitely check this out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil - Sidequests - River Crossing (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (Pathfinder)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2016 13:43:50

Originally posted on my blog, Halls of the Nephilim (www.punverse.blogspot.com)

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil is a level 4-6 fantasy adventure by Kevin Watson. It is part one of the Hauntings of Hastur series. I own one of the print OSR/5E kickstarter copies as well as OSR/5E pdf and the Pathfinder pdf.

Having to do with Hastur, the adventure obviously has a dark feel to it, but it's definitely not too dark or weird to be added to a standard D&D game. The adventure could be placed on the outskirts of any fantasy kingdom with little work.

While I've not ran through it, I really like it. The author has included a great mix of well-balanced combat and non-combat encounters. While there are definitely times you have to fight, parley is important too.

A majority of the foes faced by the party will be human. This surprised me considering Hastur's involvement, but given the plot, it does make sense. I hope to see more eldritch horrors in part two.

The pdf's come with an extra pdf that is just illustrations and maps from the adventure. This was an excellent touch and I wish more companies would do this with their releases. I know the art style isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I think it works given the flavor of the adventure. I do want to talk about the portrait of Fredu for a moment. He resembles Robin Williams.Williams was a great man and avid gamer, so it's cool. I appreciated it, but it actually kind of made me too sad to read the adventure for a bit.

So the important question, should you pick up this adventure. I say most definitely.

If you're curious about the style, just out the free sidequest: River Crossing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (Pathfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/27/2016 13:42:54

Originally posted on my blog, Halls of the Nephilim (www.punverse.blogspot.com)

The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil is a level 4-6 fantasy adventure by Kevin Watson. It is part one of the Hauntings of Hastur series. I own one of the print OSR/5E kickstarter copies as well as OSR/5E pdf and the Pathfinder pdf.

Having to do with Hastur, the adventure obviously has a dark feel to it, but it's definitely not too dark or weird to be added to a standard D&D game. The adventure could be placed on the outskirts of any fantasy kingdom with little work.

While I've not ran through it, I really like it. The author has included a great mix of well-balanced combat and non-combat encounters. While there are definitely times you have to fight, parley is important too.

A majority of the foes faced by the party will be human. This surprised me considering Hastur's involvement, but given the plot, it does make sense. I hope to see more eldritch horrors in part two.

The pdf's come with an extra pdf that is just illustrations and maps from the adventure. This was an excellent touch and I wish more companies would do this with their releases. I know the art style isn't everyone's cup of tea, but I think it works given the flavor of the adventure. I do want to talk about the portrait of Fredu for a moment. He resembles Robin Williams.Williams was a great man and avid gamer, so it's cool. I appreciated it, but it actually kind of made me too sad to read the adventure for a bit.

So the important question, should you pick up this adventure. I say most definitely.

If you're curious about the style, just out the free sidequest: River Crossing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lost Temple of Forgotten Evil (5th Edition Fantasy- OSR)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (M&M 3e)
Publisher: Vigilance Press
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/01/2011 23:34:34

You can never have too many meta human Nazis and the Eugenics Brigade contains some nasty ones. I've not playtested them yet, but everything seems to be in order stats-wise. The artwork is nice and fits. The characters each have briefing reports that make them setting neutrel, but still leaves with great flair and background.

The product's content gets a 5 out of 5.

I'd give the layout 4 out of 5. The only issue I had was with the formatting of the stat blocks. There were spaces and indentations that seemed very superfluous.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eugenics Brigade: Villains of WWII (M&M 3e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Circle Seven
Publisher: Zombie Nirvana Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2007 00:00:00

I've loved all of the products released by ZNG. They have just the right mix of comics and camp. C7 is no exception.

The background on the band is quite an entertaining read. That???s a definite plus of ZNG releases, they always entertaining to read in addition to being well statted.

Deathklock of MTV???s Metalocalypse came to mind while reading this supplement and I wonder if that was part of Mr. Curry???s inspiration. That being said I think Deathklok would make perfect background music for a game using C7.

These guys will definitely be interesting foes for teen/college age heroes, though old rockers could just as easily face off against Circle Seven. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Nearly everything. The band rocks and make interesting villains. I thought the roadie info was quite helpful and I love the HQ and vehicle descriptions.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: While it's a cool concept I wasn't a big fan of Callie, but she still a very interesting character.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Circle Seven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Journal of Franklin Von Mookenstein
Publisher: Cracked Mirror Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2007 00:00:00

The Journal of Franklin Von Mookenstein is overall a really good product. The write-ups are quite useful. If I have any complaint, it???s that I wish the product would???ve contained a few more original creations. As it stands, the book is primarily made of undead creatures from the D&D 3.5 Monster Manual. While this is great and quite useful it would???ve been nice to see some new monsters. In addition, perhaps statting up some iconic horror creatures, such as Frankenstein???s monster would???ve been cool. Still this book is quite useful if you plan on including horror elements in your game.

Also I was reading the introduction and I kept thinking of Mookenstein as a pastiche of Ravenloft???s Van Reichten who in turn was a pastiche of Van Helsing. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Great write-ups and monster customization rules.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have liked to seen a few more non-undead, non-Monster Manual creatures.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Journal of Franklin Von Mookenstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

13 Shades of Darkness 2.0
Publisher: Plain Brown Wrapper Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2007 00:00:00

13 Shades of Darkness 2.0 is a good product with some rather memorable villains. As the blurb says it contains a variety of villains at a variety of power levels.

Upon reviewing the book I???ve found that there are only a few characters that I myself would (or have used), the Contessa (a Big Bad in my setting), Dr. Jack, and Captain Kill You. It???s not that the other villains aren???t well crafted or interesting; it???s more just a matter of personal taste I suppose. I didn???t think the characters fit that well in my setting. They???re too dark or just too strange.

That being said I still recommend this book to anyone looking for an interesting villain for a darker setting.

<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: see above<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: see above<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
13 Shades of Darkness 2.0
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Powers & Perils #1: Orwell Industries (M&M Superlink Edition)
Publisher: Reality Blurs
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/23/2007 00:00:00

This book is one of the best superlink books I???ve read. The book is well written and not just a dry collection of info. Plenty of stats and background, to be used in any serious supers game.

I???m looking forward to Powers & Perils #2, mentioned in the book. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: See above<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I liked pretty much everything.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Powers & Perils #1: Orwell Industries (M&M Superlink Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Graveyard Gang
Publisher: Zombie Nirvana Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2006 00:00:00

I bought it yesterday and I like it. It's pretty campy, but still rather interesting. All of the characters are quite interesting, though Abra's definitely my favorite.

I love the idea of the Boneyard. I always thought it would be cool to have a dimension like that and I'm glad to see that other M&M players/creators thought it would be a good idea as well. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The Boneyard is a great idea and a nice dark tribute to a certain film.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not much, overall I liked everything.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Graveyard Gang
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates