DriveThruRPG.com
Browse











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Battle For The Purple Islands
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2017 16:29:43

Battle for the Purple Islands is the newest release from Venger Satanis. It's written for Venger's games (like Crimson Dragon Slayer and Alpha Blue) and can be used with just about any D&D-ish system with minimal effort. I've read through it a few times and it's a blast.

The adventure centers around a courier needing to deliver a hologram message to a hermit that lives in a mountain located on the Purple Islands. Depending on the system your playing the character could be the couriers (if playing Alpha Blue) or they could be captives of cannibals alongside the courier. The players need to escape the cannibals, avoid intelligent ape patrols, make it up the mountain, and deliver the message to.... H.P. MF'ing Lovecraft. Oh, but that's not all kiddies. In addition, players must escort the master of the macabre to a museum with his work, avoid a sinister snake man, and stop purple cultists from nuking the island and turning everyone in to Lovecraftian monstrosities!

Pros: The adventure is a gonzo hex crawl and the Purple Islands are an unforgettable setting. You like something, the Purple Islands has it or can with little-to-no explanation. Grindhouse-style cannibal tribes? Check. Talking apes with machine guns? Check. Lovecraftian monsters out the wazoo? Triple check. Killer juggalos? They were mentioned in the first excursion to the Purple Islands, not this one, but still... check! Though the setting is on a fantasy world, reality's boundaries are thin and you can add whatever the Hell you want.

Do you like references and homages in your games? Venger sure does. There are some pretty obvious ones like A New Hope and Cannibal Holocaust, but there are some you might glance over, like Ghostbusters.

Finally, like all of Venger's works, this one is full of random tables to keep things fresh and interesting, including a Land of the Lost roll as you go hexcrawl chart with 100 entries.

Cons: You're going to really want The Islands of Purple-Haunted Putrescence if you're running this. Now I don't think that's a bad thing. Quite to the contrary I love that book, just saying if you have this one, you're probably going to need that one.

Final Verdict: If you've ever wanted to do a Lovecraftian version of "Vincent and the Doctor" mixed with a little Planet of the Apes and a bloody dollop of Cannibal Holocaust. this is the adventure you've been waiting for.

If not, what's wrong with you?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle For The Purple Islands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2017 11:21:55

You've got to give it to Venger Satanis, he definitely knows how to get your attention with his advice books. His newest is Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss. I was given a pdf copy and I'd like to share my thoughts.

First I'll talk about the physical aspects of the pdf. It is 13 pages (10 that give advice). The cover has a bad ass dragon. There are three pieces of art in the book, which give a you a good sample of the art style in Venger's books. The text is in a standard two column layout with the occasional sidebar. As a final note, there are several random tables, because let's be honest, this wouldn't be a Kort'thalis Publishing product without them.

But I know you're asking, what about the content? It's very practical. To sum up and paraphrase the book, if you want to write adventures like a fucking boss you have to think of yourself as a movie writer and director with an unlimited budget. Obviously there's more to it than that and Venger gives us plenty of exposition and insight into the deeper workings of the process, but ultimately that comparison is very fitting. While the pdf isn't long there is no wasted text. Every example and tip Venger gives is insightful.

I don't write adventures. I honestly don't think I've ran D&D without a module in years. Venger's advice makes me want to change that. I want to take a stab at writing an adventure (perhaps Rumspringa in Space! for Alpha Blue). To me that is a sign that the book does what it sets out to do.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventure Writing Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Epic Races: Adapticons
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/07/2017 12:34:46

Want to add Transformers to your Pathfinder or Starfinder game? It's probably not something you've thought about, but now that I've mentioned it, you're kind of interested, right? No? To each their own. However, if your answer is yes, Epic Races: Adapticons has got what you need.

The pdf is 25 pages (including front and back cover, a page of advertisements, three pages of OGL). It gives you everything you need to play a transfor... adapticon in Pathfinder (or soon Starfinder). The book starts with history and origins of the race. To be honest, if I added them to my game I'd probably just straight lift all of that from Transformers. That being said, the background isn't a bad one.

In game terms the designers created the race emulating racial creation rules from the Advanced Race Guide. Adapticons are "multi-formed constructs" which means they have the construct and shapechanger subtype. They are large and get bonuses to Str, Wis, and Con, while getting penalties on Dex and Cha. They get an alternate vehicle form, though there are also options to have a metallic animal form, or even not being able to transform. There are Pathfinder favored class options and two racial archetypes (Spybot and Transporter). While these are cool, I kind of wish this pdf had came out a little later and we could have seen Starfinder racial archetypes (assuming the game has them). Note that adapticons do use vehicle rules which are found in Ultimate Combat. We get a new vehicle (dwarven dozer), nine feats (metamagic and racial), and several bits of new equipment (some magical, some technological).

Overall, I think this is a fun pdf. It's not a must have by any means, but it's still really cool. The race isn't overpowered and due to its size and actually has some rough drawbacks (beware of rust monsters).

To be honest, I mainly picked it up because I thought it would be cool for Starfinder, and I hope the pdf gets an update once that book comes out. That being said, this is a solid and unique addition to any Pathfinder game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Epic Races: Adapticons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Something Stinks in Stilton
Publisher: Melsonian Arts Council
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/06/2017 18:49:48

I recently grabbed the pdf Something Stinks In Stilton in the very awesome ConTessa 2017 Bundle of Awesome. While I've definitely not had time to run the adventure yet, I've read through it a few times and am looking forward to running it one of these days.

Written by Oli Palmer, Something Stinks in Stilton is a 30 page adventure written for Lamentations of the Flame Princess, but honestly is compatible with any version of D&D witha little work. Like most LotFP adventures it takes place in the early modern era of Earth. You won't find dwarves and elves, but you will find English folk with a healthy fear of what the Church can do.

Here's the premise:

In the 13th century, Stilton produced amazing cheese. Then the Church came and suddenly the cheese trade died out. Now it's 1730 and the village of Stilton has started producing great cheese again.

The adventure feels like a classic LotFP adventure. There's definitely weirdness and some magic, but no big rewards for players. Much like a Lovecraft story, we're presented with a group of odd rural folk with a big secret that taints those around them. I don't want to spoil the story but so I won't go into details about it.

There's a lot to like in this one. There's an interesting backstory, a quirky cast of characters, and reality warping magic. The pdf has a nice layout too. Important info and or potential character actions are bolded in red. The adventure has a clear timeline and an advice section labeled "Help, the PCs decided to..." Player's never do what's expected, so this is particularly handy.

If you're a fan of Lamentations of the Flame Princess and you want a short adventure with some rural creepiness and perhaps a bit of dark humor, Something Stinks in Stilton is a good choice.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Stinks in Stilton
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Vaginas are Magic!
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/05/2017 19:37:55

Once again, James Raggi has blown me away with his Free RPG Day offering. The book is a 48 or so page hardcover that's in a delightful purple. Like all LotFP releases the book is in a digest size and does a great job of making the most of all space. All inside covers are full. The front inside covers present new weird magic rules. They are presented for magic-users only (which I've read might be because the next version of LotFP might not include the cleric as a basic class). Whether the next edition does or not have clerics, the magic rules presented still make arcane magic a reality warping and dangerous force. The spell's power is determined by the caster and have potentially dangerous consequences if miscast. The Author's Notes discuss the LotFP approach to Free RPG Day (which is the best hands down btw). After the author's note we're given a three page Magic Primer that further expounds on weird magic and what magic should be. While it isn't long, it's a wonderful treatise on the arcane. It also discusses that while these spells can only be cast by women (in this definition those that can have children), the core rules contain magic research rules which could make versions of these spells access able to other casters.

Then we get into the meat of the book: 20 weird spells. These spells are brutal, which makes sense because they're all named after metal tracks. Each spell is also accompanied by a beautiful/disturbing/funny full page illustration. One of the things that really draws me to these spells is the story behind them. These bits of exposition give the spells some sort of logic (whether they're true in your game or not). My favourites are probably Mistress of the Bleeding Sorrow, Transylvanian Hunger, (and because I'm pretty messed up) Goat Perversion. Please note that the spells in this book can, will, and should affect your game. That's the point of magic. It warps reality. Because magic, that's why.

The book also contains a list of people (like me) that helped crowdfund it and the back inside cover is a list of metal tracks that would make good spells.

A final note about the book, I love the cover and the model, Riina Himanen. There are a few pictures of her in the book and it's cool to see some fantasy modeling.

If you haven't downloaded Vaginas are Magic! do it asap. You won't regret it (unless you're easily offended or squeamish).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vaginas are Magic!
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Light City #3 - The Amazon
Publisher: Monstrous Matters
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/01/2017 12:26:40

The Amazon is a wonderful (and timely addition) to Light City. The class is bursting with flavour and is the first Light City attempt to handle Super Strength. Like all addition, it also comes with a max level hero. This is hands down my favourite class in the series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light City #3 - The Amazon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Revelry in Torth
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/28/2017 19:21:00

Revelry in Torth is an OSR adventure/sandbox by the mad sorcerer Venger Satanis (who judging by artwork seems to be an immortal wizard).

The tome is a mini sandbox/city that gives DM's lots of new toys to play with.

Torth is set in the fifth age. What you need to know is magic and technology flourished in previous ages, humanoidkind's robotic servants sought to rise up, and to stop the revolt powerful wizards magically nuked the world.

As far as tools go, we are presented with two new classes. The Shadow Priest gains dark umbra powers from devotion to the less bright areas of the nebulous realms outside our own. The Wandering Minstrel is a cool, non spell-casting bard. Their abilities are pretty useful and have cool names, my favourite being Fingering the Spanish Guitar aka Spanish Fly which makes someone who would normally be attracted to the minstrel full of red hot passion. The book also gives us nine magic items (my favourite being the Devil's Tooth) and five spells (including the awesome Creeping Crimson).

We are presented with the scorched planet of Torth and various bits of info about it (including an outline of the ages). Venger also introduces us to the tribes and secret societies of the world and gives us insight into magic (and a nifty and dangerous magic drug).

The adventure/sandbox itself takes place in and around Aryd's End. We are presented with some backstory, stats for important npcs and their secret forces, and a classically awesome random rumor table. What follows is a rough plot and random characters to get your party's adrenaline pumping and blood spraying. There is enough here for multiple sessions and it's definitely not a railroad situation.

If you want a nice sandbox for some Heavy Metal or Conan inspired action, Revelry in Torth is just what you need.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Revelry in Torth
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Stairway of V'dreen
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/08/2017 19:26:51

Stairway to V'dreen is the newest Crimson Dragon Slayer offering by Venger Satanis (who was cool enough to give me a review copy).

The adventure starts in media res. The party has to seek cover/protection from something and discovered Doctor Ebzub and his almost completed experiment. This (most likely) leads them to the dying world of V'dreen. On this planet, which is literally fading out of existence, the players will randomly hear faint echos of the forgetful gods that created the world (the worst kinds of gods... tabletop gamers). The party must venture through the world, encountering strange and potentially powerful denizens (such as the Beast of V'Dreen and the Faceless Demon) until finally ascending the Stairway of V'dreen. Here they can infect with the purple, revitalize it, or put it out of its misery.

The adventure has all of hallmarks of Venger's work: creative and gonzo encounters, interesting descriptions, and just the right amount of sleaze (I'm looking at you Seejo Tulon). Venger's style is for Venger (he said so himself), but it's enjoyable for anyone who doesn't take everything too seriously.

While the adventure is designed for Crimson Dragon Slayer (which you should grab), it could easily be converted to any OSR game (or newer edition designed from the classics).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stairway of V'dreen
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Light City #2 - The Elemental
Publisher: Monstrous Matters
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/07/2017 12:25:59

Light City#2 - The Elemental is a great continuation of the author's Swords & Wizardry Light to supers game project. The elemental is a great choice for making something like the Human Torch but even works for something like Green Lantern. He gets a nice selection of abilities and a nice version of flight that doesn't unbalance the game. Definitely check this one out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light City #2 - The Elemental
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
His Flesh Becomes My Key
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2017 11:16:25

The Outer Presence is the eldritch-pulp investigative game by Venger Satanis. The initial release contained rules for play and an adventure. This was followed by the adventure A Green Jewel They Must Possess. The latest offering in this line is His Flesh Becomes My Key (which the chaos lord himself gave to me to review).

The module comes in at 18 pages and has a rather disturbing cover. I like it and it fits quite well. Honestly this is the type of thing that gets into my head way more than some tentacled monstrosity. Well played, sir.

The intro begins with the state of the world. Our world is on a fault-line and at times the Great Old Ones can influence our reality. The discussion of what this affect has reminds me of one of my favourite underrated flicks, In The Mouth of Madness. Which makes me ask, do your read Sutter Cane?

I really like this adventure but don't want to say too much about it out of fear of spoilers. The characters and scenes are memorable as is the twist, which gives this one nice replay-ability. The adventure is very adult, but not in the over the top sleaze way of Alpha Blue. It's dark and infects your mind. The prose is vivid and evocative.

Basically if this adventure was a movie, it'd probably be one of my favourites.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
His Flesh Becomes My Key
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
High-Stakes Q'uay-Q'uar
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2017 14:15:40

High Stakes Q'uay-Q'uar is the newest adventure by +Venger Satanis for his sleazy space porno rpg, Alpha Blue. The evil SDM gave me a copy and asked me to review it so here we go!

The pdf is 18 pages. The cover is interesting. Can't say that I understand it in context to the adventure. It's just sexual and has a sci-fi vibe. Hell, maybe I do understand it. The cover is also nsfw, though it's the only art like that for this product (which surprised me).

After a quick intro to the adventure, we're presented with two character classes. The first is the xenologist. These spacers specialize in studying alien species. They can use this to enhance their animal magnetism, make others feel stupid with their vast amount of alien facts, and make themselves seem useful (despite basically being a walking wikipedia article). The other class is the pickup artist. Now in real life I really hate these dudebros. These are the guys that learn "the game" so that they can get laid. However, they make perfect sense in the oversexed galaxy of Alpha Blue. Sex is (obviously) important in Alpha Blue and we get some other game benefits from it.

The adventure begins with the party standing over a corpse and gives them ample reason to go to the Q'uay-Q'uor tournament (and a random chart if they need more persuasion). What is Q'uay-Quor? It's a stupid, but strangely fun game popular among gamblers and other unsavory folks. The rest of the adventure is details the who, where, and how. I've got to be honest, while all these characters are interesting and funny (especially fallen zedi Quai-Gon Jizz) my favourite inclusion is the tournament director, David "Space" Pumpkins. In classic Alpha Blue (and Venger) style we get several charts to help flesh out the attendees.

The pdf ends with a few campaign sheets for Alpha Blue a nice quick look at pc motivation. This includes some great insight into humanity. While I know Venger's a smart guy, I wasn't expecting something this deep in an Alpha Blue product.

In addition to the adventure you also get the complete Q'uay-Q'uor rules and a full color game board to print. I've not tried it yet, but it seems simple and fun

Should you buy High Stakes Q'uay-Q'uor? Umm, fuck yeah. It's a solid adventure premise that could work just as easy for something like White Star if you don't have Alpha Blue. Then again, why don't you have Alpha Blue yet? Seriously, go buy it. You won't regret it. If you want retro sci-fi sleaze and cheese, then grab this (and Alpha Blue if you don't already have it).

Carpe diem, motherf*cker!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
High-Stakes Q'uay-Q'uar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Light City #1 - The Brawler
Publisher: Monstrous Matters
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2017 08:57:59

The Brawler is a solid beat 'em up supers class using Swords & Wizardry Light. The layout is appealing and the use of public domain supers is on point. I can't wait to see what the future holds for Light City.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light City #1 - The Brawler
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DNA - The Buried Zikurat OSR Adventure
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 09:10:17

Originally posted: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-buried-zikurat.html

Overview: The Buried Zikurat is the second part of Kevin Watson's Haunting of Hastur series. It's for a party of characters level 6-8. It has an implied setting, but is easy to import into any game. A zikarut has been discovered by a clay mining operation and the pc's are hired to investigate.

Layout: Each room of the zikarut is presented in a simple and useful layout like this:

Number - Name of Room Ingress/Egress: how to get in and out of the room and where it leads Description: Detailed description for the DM. Players: Descriptions for players: Lore: History of the room. Not all room descriptions feature this.

Crunchy Bits: 1 new monster (Nexus Guardian), 1 new spell (Destroy Stone), 3 new magic items (Boots of Formene, Cloak of Formene, Ring of Elvenkind)

Thoughts: This adventure is full of puzzles/riddles. This is a nice change of pace from most published adventures I see, which are light on encounters like that. However, if those aren't your players' style they can just fight nexus guardians to get past locks.

I like Kevin's take on elves. In particular the Formene's are an interesting version of "dark elves." They live underground, but they are definitely not Lolth-worshiping spider-kissers.

Overall, I think this is a fun adventure with a nice connection to otherworldly horrors. It's got a mythos vibe, but it is not a beat you over the head with tentacles while you're looting the random dungeon experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DNA - The Buried Zikurat OSR Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DNH2 - The Buried Zikurat (Pathfinder Edition)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 09:10:00

Originally posted: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-buried-zikurat.html

Overview: The Buried Zikurat is the second part of Kevin Watson's Haunting of Hastur series. It's for a party of characters level 6-8. It has an implied setting, but is easy to import into any game. A zikarut has been discovered by a clay mining operation and the pc's are hired to investigate.

Layout: Each room of the zikarut is presented in a simple and useful layout like this:

Number - Name of Room Ingress/Egress: how to get in and out of the room and where it leads Description: Detailed description for the DM. Players: Descriptions for players: Lore: History of the room. Not all room descriptions feature this.

Crunchy Bits: 1 new monster (Nexus Guardian), 1 new spell (Destroy Stone), 3 new magic items (Boots of Formene, Cloak of Formene, Ring of Elvenkind)

Thoughts: This adventure is full of puzzles/riddles. This is a nice change of pace from most published adventures I see, which are light on encounters like that. However, if those aren't your players' style they can just fight nexus guardians to get past locks.

I like Kevin's take on elves. In particular the Formene's are an interesting version of "dark elves." They live underground, but they are definitely not Lolth-worshiping spider-kissers.

Overall, I think this is a fun adventure with a nice connection to otherworldly horrors. It's got a mythos vibe, but it is not a beat you over the head with tentacles while you're looting the random dungeon experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DNH2 - The Buried Zikurat (Pathfinder Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
DNH2 - The Buried Zikurat (5e Edition)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2017 09:07:26

Originally posted: http://punverse.blogspot.com/2017/01/the-buried-zikurat.html

Overview: The Buried Zikurat is the second part of Kevin Watson's Haunting of Hastur series. It's for a party of characters level 6-8. It has an implied setting, but is easy to import into any game. A zikarut has been discovered by a clay mining operation and the pc's are hired to investigate.

Layout: Each room of the zikarut is presented in a simple and useful layout like this:

Number - Name of Room Ingress/Egress: how to get in and out of the room and where it leads Description: Detailed description for the DM. Players: Descriptions for players: Lore: History of the room. Not all room descriptions feature this.

Crunchy Bits: 1 new monster (Nexus Guardian), 1 new spell (Destroy Stone), 3 new magic items (Boots of Formene, Cloak of Formene, Ring of Elvenkind)

Thoughts: This adventure is full of puzzles/riddles. This is a nice change of pace from most published adventures I see, which are light on encounters like that. However, if those aren't your players' style they can just fight nexus guardians to get past locks.

I like Kevin's take on elves. In particular the Formene's are an interesting version of "dark elves." They live underground, but they are definitely not Lolth-worshiping spider-kissers.

Overall, I think this is a fun adventure with a nice connection to otherworldly horrors. It's got a mythos vibe, but it is not a beat you over the head with tentacles while you're looting the random dungeon experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DNH2 - The Buried Zikurat (5e Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

TEXT_CLICK_TO_REPLY
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates