DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Battle Star: Trek Wars
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2018 14:34:55

Battle Star : Trek Wars is the newest and (potentially) last Alpha Blue release. This book is 76 pages of wonderful sci-fi sleaze. There is a standard version and printer-friendly version of the book plus you get a nice map of Ta'andor Galaxy. The artwork is the space opera meets sleaze that I've come to expect and appreciate about Alpha Blue.

The book starts with short story and then leads into some new rules and updates to Alpha Blue. GM's are no longer Space Dungeon Masters. No, now they are officially Bold Dungeon Space Master's. It's cheeky and I like being a BDSM. Want to try a new method of character creation? We've got that too with the new 7 Words and Phrases alternate method. We also get some alternate combat rules for folks that don't want to role damage. This is also useful stuff and a nice set of alternate rules for the elegant system of a more civilized age.

This is followed by 28 pages of random tables. They are a blast and super useful. What kind of tables you ask? Well, we get reasons to keep combats short but entertaining, adventure ideas, adventure rewards, unusual npcs, and fat Alpha Blue loot. There are several more charts, but these are the ones I find the most useful. Oh and the orgasmic surprise chart is fun. The pre-adventure section ends with a discussion of Alpha Blue's strange crypto-currency, MeowMeowBeenz.

What follows are four short scenarios. I won't go into much detail because I don't want to spoil things. I Wear My Heart On My Sleaze is a memorable adventure that forces the pc's to get laid at a party or die. Emergency Escape Sequence Delta Cream finds the pc's caught up in a mystery and confrontation with the Federation. Outer Rim Jobs of Ta'andor sees the player encounter an eclectic groups of scum and villainy while on a job that will turn their fortunes around. Panty Raid on Palyrus 5 is what it sounds like given the context of Alpha Blue: players raid university planets for space panties.

Battle Star: Trek Wars is a fun book. If you're a fan of Alpha Blue, definitely pick this one up. While I know the game will live on, I'm a bit sad at the thought this might be the last Alpha Blue book. That being said, if it is Venger is definitely going out on a high note.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Star: Trek Wars
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

JEStockArt - History - Western Midnight Cowboy with Glow Eyes - CIB
Publisher: Jeshields
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2018 17:44:14

This is a fantastic piece. The gunslinger gives off a thoroughly creepy vibe that makes it perfect for weird west releases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
JEStockArt - History - Western Midnight Cowboy with Glow Eyes - CIB
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Exotic Races: Goblumphs
Publisher: Octopus Apocalypse
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2018 13:29:06

This pdf presents a new race, that should not exist. It's entirely unnecessary. However, it's very well constructed and I have a soft spot for weird things. Seriously, I love flumphs and I've been a goblin fan boy since I started playing 2nd edition and Magic: The Gathering. Yeah, I'm a goblin hipster. I liked them before Paizo made them cool in Pathfinder.

Statwise Goblumphs gets bonuses to Dex and Wis and a penalty to strength. They are humanoids and have the goblin subtype, but they are also considered aberrations. They honestly get some pretty cool features (that I don't want to spoil, because you should buy the pdf).

Do you need this pdf? No. Should you buy it? Well if you like oddball stuff like me and are a flumph aficionado, then abso-fricken-lutely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Exotic Races: Goblumphs
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Simple Settings: Savage Lands
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/23/2018 08:22:32

Simple Settings: Savage Lands is the first in a new series of supplements from Fat Goblin Games. The purpose of this series is to expand the possibilities of 5e and explore new settings, without complicating the rules.

The pdf is 58 pages (counting covers and OGL) and is gorgeous. I love the borders and page layout. The artwork is fitting. Some is modern, but there's a lot of classic public domain artwork and in the context of this book it's appropriate and looks phenomenal.

To keep with the simplistic approach of the title, most of the book discusses how to using existing Player's Handbook content in the setting.  This doesn't mean there isn't new content. There's quite a bit actually.

Three new races emerge from the primordial stew: nature loving apefolk (with orange fur, strong back, and long limb subraces), slow adapting and nomadic Neanderthals, and ancient noble saurian (with big teeth, big stomper, and tough skin subraces). 

After discussing how the classic classes fit (or don't in the case of monks and wizards) in the setting, we're presented with new archetypes. The Bard College of Primal Rhythm is combat oriented. Clerics can take the Oracular Domain to draw from nature and see signs for divination. Since the monk isn't appropriate, the fighter gains The Fist is a primal brawler and force of nature. Finally Warlock's of the savage lands sometimes make deals with personifications of primal nature. Thus we are given the Volcano Warlock Patron.

The Arcana and History skills aren't appropriate in this setting. They are replaced with the Intelligence based Lore skill. In addition, there's a background for being raised by wolves, apes, and other animals. It's known as the Abandoned.

Since industry and such doesn't exist, there's a large section of new equipment, including vehicles and pre-historic trinkets. There are new magic items, such as daggers created from meteor shards and healing fruit (which are more potent than healing potions, but take longer to be consumed).

One of the most important sections (in my opinion) discusses actually using this in your game (with pros and cons). Are the savage lands a new continent that's not been settled? Or is it a hollow earth style scenario? Perhaps there's a primal plane of existence. After discussing the where, the pdf goes into the what. This section is a primer to the cultural aspects of this setting (including a side bar for the gods of the savage lands).

There are a few new optional rules. Detailed foraging and hunting rules (with DC's are presented).

Finally there's a bestiary section. A lot of space is given to discuss how to use traditional Monster Manual (SRD) monsters in the setting. However, there are a few new beasts and foes presented. My favourite is the powerful chaotic fey, known as the Mountain Queen. She used elementals, monsters, and other creatures to impose her will. In addition there are new dinos, such as the headbutting pachycephalosarus, the fearsome looking therizinosaurus, and the undead skeletal pterodactyl. Finally, killer plants are a staple of lost world stories, we're presented with the vine abductor. This malevolent plant can pull an Invasion of the Body Snatchers and sprout clones.

I'm glad I picked up this pdf. While I don't know that I would run a full pre-historic game, this would be an excellent resource to do a Hollow World style game. I think this is 6.95 well spent. I'm really looking forward to seeing what the future holds for this series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Simple Settings: Savage Lands
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Skyship of Smazah
Publisher: Josh Beckelhimer
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2018 14:23:18

This one is a lot of fun. A spaceship the size of a small village has crashed in a small unassuming kingdom. For reasons to be determined by the DM (a few of which are presented in the adventure) the pc's explore the wreckage. Here they encounter aliens, robots, and fantastic new items. 

Mr. Beckelhimer also gives us a new race and class for Swords & Wizardry Light. Player's can be a little monstrous and play goblins. We're also presented with the shaman, which is an alternate take on the cleric. They turn vermin and beasts instead of undead and are more limited in their armor choices, but free to use any weapon. I definitely both of these and will include them in my games. 

This might be my favourite one page adventure Josh has done. It's basically a fun little sci-fi sandbox that includes some great additions to the game.  



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Skyship of Smazah
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

La Bas Chartreuse
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2018 15:21:09

La Bas Chartreuse is the latest release by Venger Satanis. Unlike previous releases, this Lovecraftian supplement doesn't present a new game or complete adventure. Instead, we're presented with a thoroughly dark and interesting jungle locale. Glynn Seal did an amazing job with the layout and the artwork is creepy and fitting. As always Venger's prose is thought provoking and creepy. One of the hallmarks of Kort'thalis Publishing releases, useful and entertaining random charts, are also featured prominently. La Bas Charteuse definitely fits in perfectly with the original release of The Outer Presence. That cannibal holocaust meets Cthulhu adventure and rules-lite game is the perfect match up for this creepy set piece. However, it could also be easily used as a local for a world spanning Blood Dark Thirst game or Crimson Dragon Slayer jungle adventure. Actually, given the jungle setting, it's the perfect way to add some eldritch horror to more established and main stream games. Seriously, some retired adventurer could mention the La Bas Chartreuse to a party of Sword Coast adventurers in Waterdeep getting ready to depart to Chult to brave the Tomb of Annihilation. 

At two dollars, this pdf is a steal. Snag it for yourself. You won't be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Bas Chartreuse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
Publisher: Bloat Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:21:51

White Box Zombies by Bloat Games is everything you need if you want to include a little thing like the zombie apocalypse into your White Box game (perhaps as the result of Death Frost Doom).  At 48 pages this is a pretty meaty pdf.

The book begins with zombie infection rules. These are pretty deadly but it's essentially get bit/clawed by a zombie with it, make a save or die and become a zombie. This is pretty intense, but no one said zombie apocalypses were for the weak.

We are then presented with a the Classic White Box Zombie and a brief discussion of why it's different than one of the new infection causing zombies. After this we get into the Infected Dead. Stats are given as well as a suggested pack size. These are the infected (with a brief description or what they remind me of):

Living Dead Zombie (classic Romero shamblers) Groaners (tougher classic Romero shamblers) Walkers (weaker Romero shamblers, similar to Walking Dead zombies) Runners (Dawn of the Dead remake) Rage Zombies (28 Days Later) Fleshless Zombies (the Tarman from Return of the Living Dead series) Screamers (7 Days to Die, they have a scream that can paralyze players with fear and attrack other zombies) Bone Zombies (Dry Bones from Mario, skeletons from Castlevania) Mutated Bone Zombies (what happens when multiple Bone Zombies combine) Boss Zombie (Dawn of the Dead remake, but stronger and more cunning) Legend Zombies (unique intelligent infected) Melting Zombies (advanced decayed zombies that have acidic goo) Zombie Children (Cooties)

After the special zombies we're treated to a page with demihuman and monster infected zombie rules. This is followed by a collection of demihumans and monsters. We get (living) stats for the monsters, as well as two infection zombie variants (from the group mentioned above). The demihumans/monsters presented are bugbear, centaur, dwarf elf, cloud giant, firbolg, fire giant, frost giant, hill giant, stone giant, storm giant, gnoll, gnome, goblin, hobgoblin, kobold, lizardman, ogre, orc, and troll.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Publisher: Barrel Rider Games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:20:49

White Box Gothic by Barrel Rider Games is everything you need to bring Hammer Horror into your White Box game.

The book starts with an introduction to horror and then gives us several new classes.  These classes are:

Monster Hunter - Like Captain Kronos or Van Richten, these fighting men (and women) are trained to track down and destroy the creatures of the night. Each Monster Hunter picks a specialty. Metaphysician - This is a man of supernatural science. The learn forsaken lore, get some spells, and can turn undead. Spiritualists - These individuals have a connection to the dead. They can interact with the spectral and turn incorporeal undead. Wanderer - These nomadic folks are survivors that use luck, trinkets picked up, and eventually a bit of magic to stay alive. Dhampir - This class is for the children of vampires and mortals. Want to play Blade? Now you can. Reanimated - Ever wanted to play Frankenstein's Monster? If so, this racial class lets you do just that.

The second chapter is short, but to the point. It has rules common in horror games, mainly corruption, dread, and curses. The third chapter includes a small selection of spells. Some of these are perfect tools for those fighting against the darkness. Others make the servants of darkness even more powerful. There are also several new magic items suited for horror games. My favourite is bottled courage, which basically gets your drunk, but makes you immune to fear. Many of these items can be used by all classes, which makes them quite useful.

The final chapter includes 15 new monsters. Most of these are classic monsters and opponents, like cultists and werebats. We're also presented with the vampire lord and bride stats, for those of you that what Dracula. Another particularly nasty monster is the plaything, which is like Chucky from the Child's Play films.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Box Gothic [Swords & Wizardry]
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

A Single, Small Cut
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:14:26

A Single, Small Cut is an extended encounter for Lamentations of the Flame Princess written by one of my favorite adventure writers, Michael Curtis.

The encounter centers around the Order of Kites. They are a religious order of heathen slayers made up of desperate men. They fight fire with fire and confiscate tools of deviltry and paganism to slay their foes. One such tool was the Red Bell which could summon a creature dubbed the Corrector of Sins.The bell was buried with the leader of the order that used it.

At the beginning of the adventure, an enterprising wizard heard the legend of the bell, gathered ruffians, and decided to pay the Order a visit. After killing the parishioners and order, he's decided to claim the tool as his own,

This is when the party arrives. They are met by one of the bandits in disguise (who is being supported by crossbowmen in the rafters). After a social encounter (that can turn violent) the villains and pc's are confronted by the Corrector.

I want to take a second to talk about the Collector of Souls. That's him on the cover. The beast is formed from the dead bodies found with 50 feet of it. It's a shambling abomination of mangled flesh and internal organs. The description includes mention of "flailing tendrils of human intestines terminating in snapping sphincters." If you were wandering where the LotFP weirdness came in, that's it.

The party seeks out the church, encounters the rogues, encounter the Corrector, seize and learn how to use the bell (?).

Like most LotFP adventures, the adventure is nominally set on Earth. However, change the references of Satanic to diabolic and you're good. For example if I were to set this in Faerun, I think the order would be fanatics of Helm. If I put it on Oerth, they would definitely be a faction related to Pholtus.

This is a great encounter and definitely worth the two dollar price tag.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Single, Small Cut
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Tales of the Scarecrow
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 15:13:30

Tales of the Scarecrow is a mini adventure/site for your Lamentations of the Flame Princess or other OSR games. If you think  you'll ever play it, stop reading now.

Written by James Raggi, Tales of the Scarecrow clocks in at 10 pages (including front cover, table of contents, and the back cover).

The set-up is simple. The party will wonder through a cornfield, investigate a farm house, and then find themselves trapped. Beneath the cornfield is a eldritch grabboid-esque horror. Unfortunately the water and corn the players have access to will kill them, so the scenario becomes a test of creativity and survival.

This scenario has a lot going for it. The writing is fantastic and the premise is interesting. There are three really cool items. The first is a sword that can be a bane or boon. The second is a Book of Vile Darkness-esque blasphemous spellbook. Finally, there's the Tales of the Scarecrow, which is a storybook found on a desk. This is one of my favourite parts because it's the players chance to flex their weird and creative muscles. Players get to come up with the story of the scarecrow. Whoever creates the most interesting and/or dangerous gets an XP bonus and  the scarecrow gets imbued with that power.

While it's short, this is one of my favourite LofFP releases because it really lets the player's creative energies flow. Also, the adventure has one of my favourite pieces of Flame Princess artwork. If you don't want to play in LotFP's early modern era setting, this can be placed in any setting really.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Scarecrow
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dead God Excavation
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2018 14:08:14

(Disclaimer, Venger did send me a review copy, but I'd already bought this before I got the review copy.)

Dead God Excavation is campaign starting adventure by Venger Satanis. It's written for Crimson Dragon Slayer, but because that's such an elegantly simple system, it's an easy one to convert to any variation of D&D. Thematically, I think it would be a great funnel adventure for Dungeon Crawl Classics. Change a few names (if you're using the early modern Earth setting) and it'd be a great way to start off a Lamentations of the Flame Princess game too. Thematically it would also be great for Astonishing Swordsman and Sorcerers of Hyborea. 

The premise is phenomenal. A massive earthquake has revealed a a massive alien mausoleum in a kingdom. I mean if you want to kick off a campaign with a bang, this is how you do it. We are presented with several colorful characters, rumor and effect charts, new creatures, a series of encounters, and a dead great old one! Then again is it actually dead? Is it sleeping? I mean, we all know the quote...

After the adventure is over, we're given the effects of having an great old one under your kingdom, which includes some great follow up ideas.

If you play CDS this is a must. You get a great campaign starter, monsters, unique and powerful magic item, new spell, and new cleric rules. If you don't play CDS, you should still pick it up, because this is a well written adventure your players won't forget. 

At two bucks this adventure is a steal.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead God Excavation
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Light City: The Assembly
Publisher: Monstrous Matters
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2018 08:26:45

This pdf is the perfect way to dive into superheroic action for Swrods & Wizardry Light. If you enjoy it check out Jonathan's other Light City releases.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Light City: The Assembly
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2017 01:12:21

I don't think Venger Satanis ever takes a break. His newest release is Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss.

What is this pdf? Essentially its thirty some pages of mostly system neutral material that is useful for any version of D&D or games like it. What we're given is a series of new rules, random charts, and suggestions to flesh out any sort of games with swords and magic. It really does fit the whole spectrum of these games too. The vorpal charts are over the top and metal as hell (while still being well designed). In contrast if you have a low magic game, The Art of Barding and Be the Best Cleric You Can Be To Cleric Like A Fucking Boss are excellent suggestions for doing your thing when you don't have a game full of Drizzt's and Raistlins. These two sections really fit well in OSR games.

As with all of Venger's books, the layout is fantastic, the art is top notch, and the random tables are ueful and interesting. If you like Dungeons and/or Dragons, you should pick this one up. Your players and DM will thank you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player's Handbook Like A Fucking Boss
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Publisher: Kort'thalis Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2017 22:28:10

This is not a fully detailed setting, yet it is much more than just an adventure. The pdf includes all the info you need to know about Santa Fe Starport (including why the characters don't just arrive and leave). In addition to the starport, the various communities and groups that carve out an existence in the irradiated remnants of the American southwest. Venger gives us plenty of random charts to keep things interesting and it means that honestly you could use this for multiple games and it's never going to be the same.

Content wise, this one is pretty offensive, especially for those that are too sensitive. This has more parody of real world politics and events than is typical for Venger's work. This is not a bad thing though. It's well written and works in context to this project. Also, like his previous work, this one is full of of references to movies. Of all of these, my favourite is the Demolition Man reference with the cantina.

While this is release was written for Alpha Blue, Crimson Dragon Slayer, and Venger's other games, the rules actually are secondary to the fluff. If you don't mind parody and crude humor, thisa a great tool kit for any post-apocalyptic game. If you like radiation, tentacles, mutant sex organs, or hashtags, you should pick this one up.

You should also download Venger's free minigame, Death Race: Fury Road.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gamma Turquoise: Santa Fe Starport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Witch for Swords & Wizardry Continual Light
Publisher: The Other Side Publishing
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/31/2017 12:48:54

If you want the best witch material for your gaming table you need to seek out the work of Timothy Brannan.

The witch is an occult caster that blends arcane and divine. Like all classes for Continual Light, the witch is seven levels. In addition to spells, the witch gains a familiar, access to ritual magic, the ability to brew potions, and ultimately an occult power based on their tradition. These traditions are light (good/law), dark (evil/chaos), and twilight (neutral/balance).

The class isn't the only thing included in the pdf though. We're also presented with seven new monsters that are associated with witches. Of these, my favourites are the winged cat and winged monkey. The monster section is followed by three pages of magic items (primarily brooms, cauldrons, and potions/oils/powders).

If you want some excellent, based on legend and tradition, witch material for your Swords & Wizardry Light game, you definitely need to purchase this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch for Swords & Wizardry Continual Light
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 49 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates