DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Mythic Game Master Emulator $6.95
Average Rating:4.6 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
14 11
6 2
4 0
0 0
0 0
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Click to view
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by 5E S. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/06/2017 22:48:51

Fantastic system - obviously a lot of thought has gone into it. I like the emphasis on creativity on the part of the players. From my point of view, this is a great resource for DMs, as you can create your own adventure by actually PLAYING THROUGH IT and creating it as you go!!!

The open nature of the system really appeals to me, and it works incredibly well with D&D 5e. Amazing work :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2015 20:26:36

What my wife said after the first GM-less session we played using the Mythic GM Emulator, " I can't believe it works". I have to say, that after losing our usual group of roleplayers and not playing a regular campaign for the last three years, this has been a godsend. Now, me and my wife can both scratch both the player and gamemaster itch, while not needing a large group to play with. Using it with the Cypher System (which lends itself nicely to improvisation gaming because of the ease of making up NPCs on the fly), and can't wait to use it while beta testing the Dresden Accelerated rules. I'm sure this won't be for everybody, but I can say that purchasing all three books in the Mythic series was one of the best things I could have done for my game ( or lack there of). If you're skeptical, don't be... you have to try it, it's awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Devon K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2015 10:39:20

I just finished reading through the book and I'm very excited to give it a try. Not only for playing solo games, but also as a gm-ing tool at the table. The process and advice presented in the book are very well presented.

Like all products, it's not perfect. I docked it one star due to the illustrations of scantily clad women throughout the text that have nothing to do with the book's text. Perhaps they are supposed to be adventures, I don't know. I found them distracting and lacking inspiration. There's no action in the art, just cheese cake.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/06/2014 07:37:36

The gold standard for solo role playing. I've used this in my AD&D 1E campaign as well as the virtual DM. Also consider the "Covetous Poet's Solo GM System."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2011 21:04:05

Wow....I am a solo RPGer and this product is fantastic. It got me going into my campaigns and creates fantastic surprises. I easily adapted it into my Supers campaign and plan on using it for a Star Wars/Space style game.

I can't recommend it higher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Ricardo N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/18/2011 19:49:55

I learned about this product on the Song of Blades and Heroes forum. Then I looked for reviews and found so much praise, that I had to check it out. Turns out that it really works for playing RPGs solo; I've just tried it last night with good results -- an interesting story with a couple surprises.

The mechanics of the "emulator" are actually very simple to learn, but I have to wonder how much playtesting was necessary to build them -- as well as the tables (which are few, and ingenious). I mean, there's so much interesting output from them, that it's not like a bunch of random roll tables. The text is clear and well-written, and there are lots of examples.

Even though I still have to try using the emulator for GM-less play with more people, I consider that this title was well worth its price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Max N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2010 17:26:55

I enjoyed this purchase very very much.

These GM emulation rules are quite enjoyable to use. Essentially, you're creating your own random tables of what can happen after a given event. Pretty nifty. Also, they can be used for writers suffering from writers block. Great purchase for anyone looking for thinking outside of their box.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/30/2009 15:37:56

I’ll start off by saying that the really great reviews written here were the primary reason I purchased this product in the first place. Thank you to everyone who contributed, and for what it’s worth I’d like to throw my own two cents into the ring.

Like most of the reviewer’s here, I was not disappointed with my purchase of Mythic (GM Emulator) and most recently, Mythic Variations. I’ve already used it to run myself through solo scenarios using Mutants and Masterminds, AD&D 2nd edition, and the Hearts and Souls superhero rpg.

Even better, it has allowed me to easily run and even participate (!) with my gaming group in our current M&M campaign. Much to our surprise and delight, it really has created some great gaming sessions with an absolute minimum of prep time. Were even planning on using Mayfair’s long out of print D.C. Hero’s game with Mythic for a one nighter.

Tom has done a really, really great job with this product. Being the only GM of our group, it sometimes becomes disappointing that I cannot relax and just participate as a player. The time investment to make a scenario memorable does become exhausting at times.

Mythic has changed all that for me. Now, I can participate too and enjoy the results and surprises that occur along with everyone else. I’m really looking forward to what Tom and Word Mill Press produce in the future. Mythic is definitely worth the price!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by some o. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/02/2008 11:54:31

I used the Game Master Emulator product to introduce my middle schoole-age nephew to role-playing. Since only the two of us were playing, we needed a way to allow both of us to play characters, with little to no GMing. The attempt was a success. The story arc and some NPC responses were generated by the GM Emulator, and the mechanics were handled by our games of choice: D&D 4e. Based on my 25+ years as a gamer, I can say that this utility would integrate well with most RPGs, with the best results likely coming from games that depend on a strong plot line with unexpected (but logical) twists, such as Storylteller or Cthulhu. It should be noted that this product does not replace knowledge or experience required for any other game rules you are using. Someone still needs to decide the likely tactics for the opponents, based on the knowledge of the opponents' capabilities, and then resolve the action (i.e. roll the dice on their behalf). In an experienced group, players can take turns. In our group (my nephew and I), I played that role, and it went smoothly.

Since the future of gaming is digital, I would like to encourage the product designers to consider a software-based approach, either generating your own product or selling the rights to your ideas. I also have to say that at $6.95, this may be the best value in a product I have seen in 25+ years of gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Aaron K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/09/2008 22:18:43

This is an amazing product. Elegant, simple, it does exactly what it claims: it emulates a game master. The only reason I didn't give it a five is because of the RIDICULOUS amount of illustrations featuring large-chested women. Ridiculous. They really could've used the illustrations to help show off what the system itself is capable of; instead, it gave the whole thing an amateurish flavor it doesn't deserve.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Ward M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/21/2007 00:00:00

The core mechanic is deceptively simple-looking. This product will breathe life into whatever RPG you combine it with. The best part of the system is that it generates unexpected plot twists at random. If you are a GM, you will be as surprised as the players at what happens next!

The Mythic GM emulator is also capable of generating adventures for solo play, an area which has been sadly lacking in RPG's.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I liked the random events charts the most. Coming up with interesting plot twists out of the blue is a pain for me.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I can't really find fault with anything in this product, which is incredibly rare for me to say about anything.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2007 00:00:00

Surprisingly it gets the job done.

I bought this product with some doubts but it seems to work very well as a boost to my imagination at writing a story (in Spanish) and I am certain the system will work to help any stressed gamemaster.

I don't know if it can truly replace a GM, but I think it can as long as the players are mature (I don't mean old, but mature :) )enough not to cheat... as in any solo game, so no big deal.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The GM emulater is fairly simple in its conception yet works surprisingly well, and it can be applied to any game system and setting.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would have been nice to have some kind of random adventure seeds for really "zero preparation" game sessions.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Game Master Emulator
Publisher: Word Mill
by Guy M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/08/2006 00:00:00

This is probably the most innovative gaming product I have encountered yet. If you are at all interested in the concept - free-form gaming without preparation / without GM - I urge you to buy this. It provides a simple system for resolving yes/no questions that players have about the plot that can be extended to allow everyone to be players, with no GM. The only provisor is that you need some experience of roleplaying to use this, and also it probably isn't for every gaming group - you need a commitment to storytelling and a willingness to accept fate that isn't for everybody. It has inspired me to look into wanting to run systems I would have dismissed before as too wishy-washy in terms of plot. And using this product for solo gaming does actually work, in an odd sort of way. I would heartily recommend this product to anybody who is at all interested in the concept - it really does do what it says on the cover.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates