DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Journey RPG
Publisher: Rob Barclay
by jean-frédéric m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2017 06:06:29

This is a very subjective review.

I m usually a fan of rule-light generic games and narrative/cinematic ones. With a rule-light narrative system (à la The Pool for exemple), in general you read the rules and you re good to go immediatly with a very quick characters creation. And journey is quick to read (less than 15 minutes for me and english is not my native tongue), the rules are light as advertised... but it s not really good and there is way better in the same price target, in open price or just freebie. It feels amateurish at best and i have some issue with the wrting (regardless the typo error i posted in a comment), saying to reader in short, ''you dont know RPG ? well you were certainly the bro jock in school" then you go with really flat and generic tips.

To sum up the basic rule, you roll a 10D and you add your bonus or malus, you compare your score to a target number. it s simple, yes, but it feels a bit clunky, at least for me.

But, there is at least an interesting mechanics, the magic system use a difficulty scaled called ''desired effect", i ve seen this kind of mechanic in other games (like ICONS or O.V.A. RPG), wich simply mean you want to do a FX, the gm give you a target roll to beat, not really original but it works well, and i m sure with some work, the core mechanics could be much better.

Could I recommand Journey ? as i said, i m not really conviced by it i paid less than two dollar, the original price is about $5 (4 euros and half), for the same target price you have better options.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Journey RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
Publisher: Three Sages Games
by jean-frédéric m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2017 19:13:26

TL/DR version : Action Anime ! emulates perfectly anime genre with story driven and character development. It s a solid generic system.

You don't need to be a weeaboo or an otaku to enjoy RPGs based on animation/manga, of course some are more well known than other, the granddaddy of all is BESM (2nd & 3rd edition) is the first of generic take on anime genre, then came OVA RPG which tasted like how should have been the cancelled BESM Vanilla. So why should you pick AA! ? First of all, most of anime genre can’t be emulated with BESM or OVA without major tweaking, and without name dropping titles, subgenres or mixed genres, here is some which are not so easy to adapt with the rule systems previously named ; such as : rom com, space (soap) opera, drama, sport, slice of life or even ecchi and their infamous tentacles, oh my ! To sum up, any genres heavily story driven and characters development is more important than the rules themselves, and AA! shines in those domain.

AA! diceless system works pretty well, and the use of the “drive” makes a lot of sense, as in most anime/manga genre, most of the protagonist are fuel by sheer will, and the players are encouraged to use this ‘’drive’’ as a mean to achieve their goal. It uses also some conditions impacting your character in a good or bad way for many things. AA! also give a lot of flexibility to manage bad conditions depending of the conditions and can fits a lot of genre as well. I see clearly AA! focusing less on combats, it can handle them well and it will rely mostly on narrative than tossing dice. A diceless system has also the advantage to be played on forum or chat, and i'm even sure you can use it for a GMless for a cooperative narration, as its form is really close to a freeform rp.

The character creation can be easy and quick once you have your character concept in mind and use minimum stats and traits to describe your protagonist. But, because there is always a but, the “specials” can be a bit tricky to handle when you’re creating them, personally i had some difficulties to understand the creation of one described with the character exemple, just to name the special special i had some issue with a healing power. Otherwise, the specials add a lot of personality to your protagonist and can make them very unique if you manage them well, in the book you have a lot of examples to create your owns depending of the power level of your series, from slice of life genre to super equipped heavy mobile armors (in short mecha).

I have also to mention Curtis Lyon (the author) is always eager to answer your question about the rules, he also helped me a lot to understand this silly ‘’healing power” i mentioned earlier, he also gave me a tip to use dice if it fitted better my player's playstyle.

And here is a free hack for AA! if you want to add some spice to challenge’s resolutions (and if you really want to use dice), you can use a 6D instead of using a drive point for a plus/push (if you use the game it will make more sense), just by using dice like that, it’s a kind of wager for those situation.

AA! is a really good system and became my third favorite one to emulate anime genre. Curtis Lyon really loves anime and give you a lot of tips in the book how to run a series.

Purchase also the cards if you want, because it helps a lot to track down most of your character's conditions instead to use tons of different color chips, and it’s also a bit funnier to handle cards sometimes.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Anime Action: Diceless Anime-Style Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank-you for your awesome review. We have all the BESM (all 3 editions) and OVA (both the original and the revised edition from the Kickstarter) and while we love the systems the fact that there were many genres that didn't work well was part of the reason we created AA!
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Publisher: Daniel Bayn
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2006 00:00:00

Sure Wyrd-Fy isn't the best guide for Wushu, but it could be useful if you run a magical capaign, just like in Withcraft or Mage The Awekening, bhudism Wuxia or just Heroic Fantasy.

Thanks to dan bayn ^_^ spellcasters could be as strong as warriors for more fun.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: narrative truth is very suitable for magic<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: more exemple like psychic or super heroes stuff would be more wellcome a litle too short<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A Wushu Guide to Wyrd-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Dojos And Dragons
Publisher: Misfit Studios
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/10/2005 00:00:00

it s been a while i wrote this comment, and after a second, a third and a fourth reading about this book, i decided to update, cause in the end i was too much disapointed

When i took a first look to the book, i was surprised how DND look like Tri Stat Dx in first cause you have 5 dies level from D4 to D20 almost like Tri Stat. Second things, many advantage, skills and other stuff you could find them in OVA or BESM. I guess that DND writers was inspired by this two book or just a kinda lazy.

So DND are just a copycat ? Not really, cause the whole book are centering on combat, and you could asume many forms just like Songoku in DBZ, each forms increase your power and you could go until godlike power form, and is it really useful ?

About fight, if you re looking for versatile combat rules, you ll find only barehands and melee combat, yeah, you have also three firearms and no rule to create big guns.

I also read how to run an "anime" dnd campaign, and i only find you could run Naruto - Hokuto No Ken - DBZ campaign. In fact only brawling capaigns.

No DND isn't an ANIME RPG, just an RPG only about shonen manga and fighting.

so if you re looking for a versatile anime rpg : play besm, if you re looking for a simple and funny anime rpg : play OVA. If you re only (and only) looking for non-stop action, bare hands fighting anime rpg and destroy a whole planet with your ultimate attack in your ultimate form : yeah DND could be a good choice, but be warned, they re is too much lack of rules about many stuffs and you ll find easily the limits of this core rules.

<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: the transformation rules, and sorry it just the good point of this book.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: such awful illistrations once again a ''cat girl'' in anime rpg book just actions and fightings setting no real rules about driving, mecha and magic (just brawling i m telling you)<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br><BR>[THIS REVIEW WAS EDITED]<BR>



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dojos And Dragons
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

genreDiversion i Manual (Generic Quick-Fix RPG Rules)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2005 00:00:00

Genre diversion I is a quiet good tool to set a campaign or a one shot scenario. You ve evrything to start, even vehicules rules. The book is easy to read, about 20 minutes to read the basic, and 20 minutes to read the advance rules.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: * perfect for the beginer

  • easy to handle and mastering
  • easy to convert to Active Exploit<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: * rules about magic and psychic power are to short
  • no rules to create new vehicule<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
genreDiversion i Manual (Generic Quick-Fix RPG Rules)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/25/2005 00:00:00

the perfect tool to play by mail, chat or forum. PIG offer you a very good core rules book. Many setting are possible, many options.

So go on, it s free.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: - versatile and generic

  • Live action rule
  • trully diceless
  • vehicule rules
  • Free<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: - rule about magic, martial, ESP and True Faith... too messy, you have to set anything by yourself without exemple or scale. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Fringe
Publisher: Daniel Bayn
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2005 00:00:00

it s not really a wushu supplement and it could fit to any other system. with many advices and conspiracies. Yeah all characters in the fringe could be insane, but what if it was true and their trues goals are protect or open the eyes of anyone... In the end it will the GM who decide :).<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: - many conspiracies that you could mix up.

  • the fun to play the insanes in the Terry Gillian kind a way such as Brazil or Fisher King<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: - no stats, just many exemple of play.
  • once again, just one image from the french wushu edition.
  • hard to set for french audience<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fringe
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Wire-Fu
Publisher: Daniel Bayn
by jeff m. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/23/2005 00:00:00

i'm simply became wushu fan since i read the french edition. Wire-Fu is a very good guide to wushu with many hong kong movie archetypes, lots of stunts description and very interesting game sample description.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: the simplicity and the fun very versatile game ideal for one shot games or adaptation<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: one and only picture from french drawer El Theo (sorry but the french wushu edition is more sexy than the american) only for short play not for long capaingn<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wire-Fu
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2005 11:11:57

The perfect tool to play by mail on a forum. AE is pretty versatile enough to play anything herroic fantasy, super heroe or SiFi, anything is almost possible. The PIG site give some conversion to other game system as EABA, D20 and many others. such a good book. So go on, download AE ^_^.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Active Exploits Diceless Roleplaying
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Mekton Zeta Plus
Publisher: R. Talsorian Games Inc.
by Jeff M.
Date Added: 10/29/2004 10:05:45

A must have for Mekton Z fan, Mekton Z + explain how to create many mechas, super sentai, realistic, anachronique, fantasy and many other mecha such as plane, tank, battle cruiser. MZ+ aslo detail psychic power.

Now with bookmarks and an interactive table of contents. -DTRPGrunt



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mekton Zeta Plus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

EABA v1.1
Publisher: BTRC
by Jeff M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/23/2004 09:04:32

A pretty good universal systeme, easy to understand, quick to fix. Sowhere between Fuzion and D6 from WEG. The core rule lacks of more sample.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
EABA v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

GWG10000 Savage Worlds revised
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Jeff M.
Date Added: 10/19/2004 16:55:13

Savage Worlds, a quite good universal systeme, easy to understand and custom. With miniature rules, Savage World is the ideal rules for high epic saga.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
GWG10000 Savage Worlds revised
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

BESM d20 System 2004 Anime Calendar
Publisher: Guardians of Order
by Jeff M.
Date Added: 07/19/2004 13:01:12

Does BESM need an adaptation for D20 system ? i don't think so. But the level system may be cool to play if wanna run a Gamestation RPG campaign such as Final Fantasy or Xenogears.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BESM d20 System 2004 Anime Calendar
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big Ears, Small Mouse
Publisher: White Wolf
by Jeff M.
Date Added: 07/19/2004 12:58:56

A good book to run hamtaro capaingn and other mamals anime, excellent for very young player or just kawai mamals anime.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Big Ears, Small Mouse
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Fading Suns (Second Edition)
Publisher: Ulisses Spiele
by Jeff M.
Date Added: 07/19/2004 12:56:18

One of greatest epic space opera games. A rich back ground with medieval civilisation, space ships, xenomorph and mystical power. A great work for great adventures with a good Dune taste.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fading Suns (Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates