DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Pirates of Drinax: The Torpol Cluster
Publisher: Mongoose
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/16/2016 12:30:51

I'm using 'Pirates of Drinax' as a basis for a homebrew campaign so picked up The Torpol Cluster to use as additional inspiration, I won't be using the supplement as it stands since I'm modifying a considerable portion of the Drinax campaign.

That said this is a pretty good produce with a good deal of information on the 3 star systems that make up the Torpol cluster. For less than £5 its good value for money - though I'm not sure I'd pay the full price of £8.00 for it.

The illustrations within (epecially the system maps) are useful and the information is concise.

I also purchased the 'Pirates of Drinax Theev' supplement which is also pretty good. If other supplements come out to expand other star systems I'll probably get them as well



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Pirates of Drinax: The Torpol Cluster
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Redux Beta
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/26/2016 10:15:54

Another great set from Future Armada. Artwork is top notch as always - probably the best floorplans on the market. I already have the previous variants of the ships included in this set so I knew what to expect and all 3 vessels are different and fill a useful niche. The colony pods are really handy for my SF campaign. I hope more deckplans will follow soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Redux Beta
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

0-hr: Renegade
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2013 09:11:58

Yay another ship to add to the collection. Looks like a flexible and useful design as well. Only one thing. . . I'm not sure having a shuttle bay right behind the command centre is a good idea. Other than that this looks good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0-hr: Renegade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Talon
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2010 05:17:11

Future Armada just keeps getting better and better. The deck plans are fantastic and very atmospheric and the write up is inspiring. While I don't use either the D20 system or the exact background present in my campaign neither intrude too much.

For a very reasonable price you get 2 ship - one large and one small. The larger ship 'Talon' has a couple of possible configuration lending itself to being a simple smallish cargo vessel (suitable for something like the typical traveller tramp trader) or a warship configuration making it suitable for a more agressive party or enemy vessel.

The smaller ship 'Wyvern' is definitely meant as a hostile. While its less flexible for a campaign its essentially a bonus piece. The Wyvern feels like a taster for further future armada releases (I hope so)

My ownly complaint - theres too long between Ki Ryn releases, I'm already anticipating the next one!

All told the best deckplans on the market.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Talon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: MisFortune
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/27/2008 10:38:55

Wow what a fantastic xmas present from Ki Ryn Studios! This was an absolute must for my SF campaign. From past experience with the Future Armarda range I didn't really need to look at the demo document - I new it would be a quality product, but when I did download the demo it blew me away. All the Future Armada products have been excellent but with this has to be one of the best. Value for money is incredible - 3 different ships ranging from a small cargo shuttle up to a massive container ship. And then there are the inter-changeable containers themselves.

The floorplans themselves are top quality. Nice 'n' gritty and used looking - sure to be a real inspiration for home brew scenarios. Of course on top of that you get the ship description itself.

I can't wait to spring these ships on my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: MisFortune
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles Mapper
Publisher: RPG Objects
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2008 18:29:55

All told a fairly useful piece of software, though there are one or two drawbacks. If you have a large number of SKG tiles I'd say its almost an essential purchase. I'm currently running a SF campaign using SKGs efuture range and this product has made life much easier.

Good points:

Very simple to use. Gives a first class prieview of the SKG tile-sets Saves a huge amount of time designing maps

Bad Points (well lets call them minor gliches or oversights):

You can't flip or mirror tiles (which most modern printers are capable of). I've found this the largest drawback so far. Some tiles are missing (bonus tiles or those produced for the ronin arts run of space ships) Some tiles don't line up properly. You can correct that when the tiles are printed but its a bit annoying when your producing handouts and deckplans

I've really had gret fun using this software. With practice and alittle patience 1st class results are possible. If the 'bad points' could be addressed it would certainly be worth 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles Mapper
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Invictus
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/24/2007 04:19:20

An excellent PDF as I've come to expect from this series. The modular design of the deckplans adds flexibility especially when combined with the Argos III station.

The design of the product is very good. The quality of each individual tile is very high and the layout of the ship is interesting.

As a bonus as well as the Invictus you get a small shuttle and a single-seater fighter as well.

The write up on the ship uses D20 rules (which I don't use). Not a problem in itself since I can extrapolate from them. The various areas of Invictus get decent explanation as well and there are a couple of interesting NPCs

Negatives are generally few, its perhaps a little too big to feature fully in my current campaign - my PCs are never going to fly anything this big and as an enemy its going to blast them to atoms :-) at present anyway. Its more likely I'll be using the tiles to create other locations.

There is no 'oversize map', which is a shame, but perfectly understandable given the size of Invictus

I'd like to see a few more ships around the size of the Exceter / Jo Lynn and Drake. Vessels that the PCs may actually get to own and pilot themselves maybe, or ones that can serve as protagonists without being overpowered.

I'm looking forward to more releases in the series - hopefully soon



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Invictus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Jo Lynn
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/03/2007 00:00:00

I really like this one. Like all the Future Armarda deckplans there's lots of atmosphere to it. The ship seems suitable for a PC owned vessel.

The Future Armarda range has raised the standard of deckplans to a higher level. I haven't found any other publisher of this quality.

I'm looking forward to more Future Armarda products.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The deckplans have a nice 'lived in feel'. The ship is a reasonable size (neither too big nor too small). The bonus art is excellent. On top of that there is a military version of the ship as well.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nothing in particular. I'm not planning on using the D20 Modern stats, but I can extrapolate from them. I'd liked to have seen traveller stats instead, but that is a minor quible.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Jo Lynn
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Argos III
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2007 00:00:00

The space armarda products are of such quality that I bought this one as soon as it was released. I haven't had time to print it out yet or fully read through the 30+ pages but a quick scan suggests the excellent quality I've come to expect is being pushed even further

I'm looking forward to some capital class ships now ;-)<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: a Pretty comprehensive station. The background information sounds interesting. With a few minor adaptions I'm sure I can use it<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: nothing so far<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Argos III
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Mercury Trio
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2007 00:00:00

Excellent product. 3 very different vessels. The beast will soon be making an appearance in my campaign<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: I really like the description of the beast and her crew.

All round good artwork. Nice ship designs.

3 Very different ships<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Mercury Trio
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future Armada: Exeter
Publisher: 0-hr
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/04/2007 00:00:00

The future armarda packs are of the highest quality. The ship deck plans are lovely. The detail is excellent and the layout clear. Illustrations and elevations are well done and capture the feel of the vessel.

The written descriptions are useful and inspiring and the NPCs included are pretty useful as well (neither too generic and nor too specific)

Though I'm planning a home grown sf campaign so i won't be using the D20 stats, however their inclusion is useful for comparative purposes.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: A useful tramp style ship that can be easily used as a player vessel<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not really a complaint or anything . . . but the ship has a stairwell. I would have thought ladders would have been more sensible. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future Armada: Exeter
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

This is quite a small set with limited use, though it is well executed. The Inn is a single room, single floor building. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Details are very nice. The Inn has a lot of character<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: No really a complaint, but I'd like to see more variation on the theme - other tiles that could be added to these to create different Inns or expand the existing one<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Edventure Maps: Tavern in the Woods
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/01/2006 00:00:00

I wish my local pubs were as clean and tidy as these :-)

I've been looking forward to Ed producing some fantasy building interiors for a long time so this set was bought almost as soon as it became available. Hopefully more urban tiles will soon follow to expand the flexibility of the set.

It would be nice to see a few cottages, hovels, barns, blacksmiths . . . ooh the list is endless.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Crisp artwork to a high standard (as usual for SKG). Urban tiles Hooray <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The Inn interiors are a bit too clean for my tastes. i'd like to have seen flagstone or earthen floors covered in straw. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Adventure Town Taverns Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Oriental Sword School
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/02/2005 00:00:00

Excellent Artwork as I have come to expect from SKG. These tiles were a must have for me as I run an oriental campaign. As the first set released in the oriental series they are currently a little less flexible than some of the other SKG sets.

Hopefully other oriental tiles will follow - formal garden, pagoda, etc.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Lovely artwork as always<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Oriental Sword School
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 4 - Small Chambers
Publisher: SkeletonKey Games
by Nick M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2005 00:00:00

Good for adding small chambers to the dungeon. i wouldn't get this unless you already own other SKG packs (which are generally excellent. The set is less 'generic' than some of the others but its still pretty useful. not mind blowing or inspirational but still excellent<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Up to the usual high quality SKG standard.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I would like the doors to finish on the edge of tiles - I use 'fog of war' so (for example) a Pc has no idea what is beyond the door until he opens it - the way the SKG tiles are laid out makes this a little awkward for me as I have to cut up or modify the tiles. This isn't a major problem for me, but its slightly annoying<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
e-Adventure Tiles: Dungeons Vol. 4 - Small Chambers
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 29 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates