DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Blood in the Chocolate
 
$7.99
Average Rating:4.4 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
3 8
1 0
0 0
0 0
0 2
Blood in the Chocolate
Click to view
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2017 16:54:45

The product description describes Blood in the Chocolate as "A psycho-sexual romp that pits characters not just against their enemies, but against their own twisting, melting, inflating, or poisoned bodies." It is also, obviously, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory turned into a crazy colonial-era dungeon crawl. And, moreso than any other adventure I've read, you get what it says on the tin. The dungeon hews to the plot of the 1979 film pretty closely. The Oompah-Loompahs have been reimagined as mutated cocoa-bean pygmies and the enigmatic (trademarked) Willy Wonka has been swapped out with a more sinister capitalist conquistadora, but by and large, if it's a scene in the movie, it receives a DnD-ification in Blood in the Chocolate. The result is a very recognizable factory, if less suitable for children. Blood In The Chocolate delights in turning your childhood nostalgia into twisty horror.

Most indie RPG authors seem content to rehash and emulate corporate products. But Blood In The Chocolate is unabashedly weird, and passionate, and kinky, and gruesome. If you follow Kiel Chenier's blog, you might correctly conclude that some of the horrors about to befall your adventurers are author appeal, but they are presented in a very clinical, body-horror sort of fashion, and mostly arise from the source material.

The editing is, unsurprisingly, better than any corporate product's. This is especially true of the PDF, which is clean and well-organized and well-hyperlinked. There's no filler: every line of text is useful to the adventure and Chenier never waxes purple. Just concise, vivid description. The illustrations are also marvellous-- beyond what you'd generally even see in a corporate retail book.

Lucia de Castillo is a singular villainess: ruthless but intelligent, stylish but irredeemable. Like the hit film was driven almost entirely by Gene Wilder's performance, I think that the success of the adventure very much depends on the DM's ability to portray her. Luckily, there's a full two-page psychological profile outlining her personality, desires and weaknesses, as well as a section explaining, quite neatly, how she managed to open a crazed chocolate factory long before chocolate should rightly have been discovered. Still, my sole negative note for this adventure is that it is an intimidating role for a novice DM-- but those with a few good adventures under their belts should have no trouble.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Raven S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2017 08:18:36

Blood in the Chocolate, is a well written and well thought out adventure that can be used as part of a campaign or a one shot.

I read one review calling this adventure racist and that his players would walk away from the table instead of playing it, because of the use of the word Pygmy, we must remember we are dealing with the 17th Century and like almost every European back then they would call a people something they were familar with, anyone who knows thier history well recall that Native Americans were call Indians and that was only because they thought they had reached India.

Pygmy definition. A member of any ethnic group in which the average height of the adult male is less than four feet, eleven inches. There are Pygmy tribes in dense rain-forest areas of central Africa, southern India, Malaysia, and the Philippines.

Clearly the reviewer did not actually read the description of why they were called Pygmies in the game or he would have not have written so harsh of a review and only gave it one star.

When we start calling a fictional adventure, with a fictional race racist, then something is very wrong, that means the person or persons walking away from a game that is set in the 17th Century where the majority of people were racist, that does not mean we should hide from it, it should be taken as a learning experience not to make those type of mistakes ever again.

There are movies and tv shows set in the 19th Century that do show racism, for example the TV show Underground and the movie Django, do people boycott those tv shows or movies? I think not! If we are to think this way then why do we play games such as D&D, Pathfinder or any other Fantasy RPG where there are races such as Dwarves, Elves and Orcs which show very much racism towards one another, I do not see anyone wanting to get up from the table and not play those adventures, so the same thing holds true with fine adventures such as this one.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2017 20:03:15
I pride myself on running adventures in game stores and bars for my local rpg meetup group. I have probably run over 100 different sessions for the meetup and usually with strangers. I have never had as much fun running a game for strangers as I did Blood in the Chocolate. My players were laughing and crying with horror, I played up the Wily Wonka creepiness and wtf factor of the module and I have never had so much fun with a group. What Mr Chenier has done is create one of the funniest, strangest, and most outrageous adventures I have ever come across. Other reviews have focused on the content of the adventure so I will not retell it. But I want to focus on a few critiques I have read about the adventure First off anyone complaining about the Pygmies must have not read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. The book has the Oompa Loompas as nothing more then thinly veiled racist caricatures of aborigines or Africans. Mr Chenier has obviously not only read the novel but incorporated the original Oompa Loompas for his adventure but is doing it all in good fun and jest. He shows a great love and respect for not only the book but the wonderful 1970’s movie. Since this a LOTFP product it is not offensive as it is tongue in cheek, anyone offended by this really didn't understand what they were buying. And as a personal note, Political Correctness has no place at a game table. If we as Game Masters are afraid to run games for fear of offending people we are doing nothing but censoring ourselves and I game to push boundaries and challenge people not to just kill kobolds and orcs. Anyone looking for treasure or a traditional dungeon crawl style game in a LOTFP adventure needs to reassess their priorities, James Raggi chooses adventures that provoke strong and visceral emotions in gamers but also subverts most standard D&D style tropes and Blood in the Chocolate does this in a spectacular fashion. This is also one of the better organized adventures I have come across, layout, usability at the table and ease of use are all spectacular and more designers could learn from his style. I read the adventure once before I ran it with little prep and was very satified at how easy it was run. And the Villain is just plain awesome I feel people who don't like her simply couldn't roleplay her well and need box text to be able to get across her subtleties. Sometimes there are just evil people who you want to take out in a game and do not need a reason or tortured back story to explain it. My players played the adventure ran into her right at the end in her Master bedroom and escaped to a different LOTFP setting that I won't spoil here. If you like LOTFP, grindhouse horror, satire, Willy Wonka and can realize that this adventure is trying to not only be funny and memorable but also subversive you will end up having one of the best adventures you can buy today. I for one will buy anything Mr. Chenier publishes in the future. This is a new classic that I will be running for years and can't wait to GM again. My only complaint is that I didn’t get to experience it as a player. I have never laughed as hard running this game and it has created memories I'll cherish for years.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2017 13:07:07

This adventure is essentially the 1971 musical film version of Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory written up as a dungeon crawl, except with some seriously unpleasant content added. The adventure's actual goal is to have all your PCs inflating like Violet Beauregarde because someone apparently has a thing about this. Pretty much all the hazards in the adventure have either a chance or a certainty of creating this effect.

Let's have an overview of some of the other delightful things in this adventure:

  • "Pygmies" who worshipped the master villain as a goddess because she was white, work as slaves in the factory, and attack the PCs with blowpipes. Now, ok, the Oompa-Loompas in the original Willy Wonka were pretty bad to start with, but it could have been improved a bit..
  • A scene where an NPC who is inflated like a blueberry is fastened to an altar being gang raped by 2d6 pygmies.
  • Two innocent children that the PCs can rescue from prison. A little while afterwards the PCs are asked to make a save and if they fail, there's a probability they'll be compelled to eat the kids. And yes, they're 100% real flesh-and-blood children, not made of chocolate or something like that.
  • Outside of the first 3-4 rooms, no treasure at all. Many of the rooms just have nothing in them that would be of interest to the PCs and there is no reason why they'd stick around.
  • A factory that makes chocolate which is incredibly popular all over the world and has been for years, even though it has a 10% chance of causing permanant and obvious debilitating side effects every time it is eaten. The adventure tries to hedge this by saying that it applies only to "chocolate eaten inside the factory" but nothing changes it when it leaves. On top of this, the reason it's so successful is because the factory is making chocolate bars 2 centuries earlier than they were invented in real life, but it turns out that the weird poisons and corrupted cocoa have absolutely nothing to do with this, and the factory would work perfectly well with ordinary stuff and presumably be just as successful.
  • Based on the above, a master villain who's described as being hideously evil even though she has no motivation to be nor any sense in being, and a quest that has the PCs trying to murder her and take over her factory because some other traders would like to own it instead. Oh, and the possibility that they'll meet her in the first room of the adventure and - since there is nothing in the adventure that powers up the PCs or weakens her, and a lot that harms the PCs - that's actually the best place to fight her.

The sad thing is that the layout of the adventure is great, the cheat sheets are useful, and the walkthrough comic is an excellent idea. So full marks for editing, but none at all for content.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Shane M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/22/2017 04:00:16

I know the reputation LotFP has so I guess I shouldn't have been so surprised, but reading Kiel's blog he seems pretty progressive. This adventure features some really glaring racist stereotypes - the 'pygmies'. The text weirdly emphasises they are not, in fact, pygmies, but they are short, brown-skinned, violently primitive foreigners. If I tried to run this as written at my table, half my players would walk out and not come back. Very disappointed.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
For anyone else reading, the description of what the pygmies are, and how they came to be that way, is covered in the preview pages. Judge the matter for yourself.
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Chelsea K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/31/2016 15:57:31

Best Lamentations adventure for beginners and new players!

I found this adventure via Tumblr and loved the premise. It's Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but for fantasy roleplaying games.

This adventure is so much easier to read and use than most other adventure books. All the chapters are color coded, and every dungeon room entry has a miniature map of the room, so it's easy to describe at the table. It also comes with cheat sheets in the back of the PDF, which need to become a default feature in all adventure books!

The art is a perfect mix of colorful, cute, and gruesome that fits the adventure text so well. The cover is just the beginning. There's also a huge walkthrough map in the back of the book. It's worth the price of the book alone!

I haven't played many other Lamentations adventures, but I know they have a reputation for being really deadly and difficult. Blood in the Chocolate is definitely NOT deadly if the players are smart and careful. Almost none of the eight poisons and curses in the adventure kill characters outright (except the blueberry one, which can be deadly). Instead, they slow the characters down and turn their bodies against them, making combat and escape tougher, but more interesting. Suddenly normal activities like climbing up a wall or fitting through a doorway become puzzles to be solved. This is seriously the best part of the adventure. We ended up using one character, who was inflated like a balloon, to float across a chocolate river and carry us away. Another character, who was melting into taffy and was covered in sugar crystals, used her stretched out limbs to hold onto the rest of us. It was a blast!

5/5 Stars! This has quickly become one of my favorite adventure books!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Sean P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2016 10:39:46

So good. The information is clearly laid out and easy to read. A wonderfully creative adventure that I cannot wait to run. Jason Thompson's art 100% sold it for me on this one, and been a fan of Kiel Chenier's blog for a while too. This was an instant buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2016 02:20:14

Another high-quality nightmare from Lamentations of the Flame Princess.

As a Referee, you'll enjoy running this. This is a very well designed module, on all fronts: the presentation & layout are excellent information design, the story itself has great historical-fantasy verisimilitude, and it's filled to the brim with some highly creative weirdness from the mind of Kiel Chenier. I felt ready to run it after only a quick skim, something I can't say about most modules at all.

There's minimal prep needed, if any is needed at all. There's a solid and simple "hook" to get a party involved, and although it takes place in a "real enough" historical Europe you could drop this into any Fantasy campaign just by changing a few names. There's even a thoughtful "Conclusions" portion, in case anyone survives. The superb "cheat sheet" style reference pages in the back of this should also become an industry standard.

It all involves exploring one fully-mapped and very well described location, and interacting with the people and things inside: an infamous chocolate factory. The factory itself is a funhouse of horrors, with plenty of opportunites for unforgettable death, destruction, and mayhem throughout. The fact that players will catch that this is all a riff on Charlie and the Choclate Factory right from the start means that the ensuing madness will be even more memorable, and a few elements of the adventure very directly play with this.

The bonus "illustration map" is wonderful, and depicts a step by step journey through the factory by a group of Adventuers, along with the numerous misfortunes that befall them. They have a 25% survival rate (give or take, depending on how you look at it). If your group is comfortable with grotesque candy-infused violence and hideous character death they'll have a great time playing this, and if you're looking for a one-shot that players will never forget this is absolutely a must-buy.

The rampant body horror and morbid black comedy is clearly the main attraction here, so make sure you're interested in that sort of thing before you dive in. There's a couple bits sexual content as well, but if you think you or your players might find that too objectionable it's all easily modified into something else, or simply left out entirely (You could actually replace all the "orgy" stuff with some kind of variation on a performance of the oompa loompa song, come to think of it. You'll see what I mean.)

Overall, a great module. If it's your kind of thing it simply begs to be played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Zedeck S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/08/2016 00:21:06

Would be fun to play this with a bowl of Cherry Ripes on the table. A big, never-ending bowl.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood in the Chocolate
Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/07/2016 20:55:00

This module not only is fun and clever, but easy to use. Seriously, there are some really nice reference bits in the back.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates