DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Westwater RPG No art version
Publisher: Sacrosanct Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/17/2015 18:06:55
This is a somewhat difficult review to write. I remember that this game failed to Kickstart, and I feel that there is a much better version of this game living in the creator's mind. But this is the version we have.

The Good:
A B/X compatible Western RPG, with Gunslingers and Outlaws and rules for firearms.
Options for Historical or Fantasy campaigns
Enough monsters and treasure to run a small campaign for quite awhile, and if you run out... B/X compatible!
A semi-Sandbox adventure included that can generate multiple sessions of adventure.

The Neutral:
Beyond the cover, this game has no art. I'm OK with that, because I know art is expensive, but it does detract from the overall feel of the game.
Editorially, the game could use another pass or two. Nothing major, but a few errors here or there.

The Bad:
Nothing specific, just a general feeling that the game lacks something... some bright shiny thing to make it stand out from the rest of the B/X clones out there.
Again, the sadness that this could have been much cooler if luck and money would have been in its favor.

As a free product, this gets an easy 4 stars.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Westwater RPG No art version
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Five Year Mission
Publisher: Ivanhoe Unbound
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2015 13:21:22
A fun and interesting impulse buy priced item, Five Year Mission adds elements of Star Trek, Farscape and Andromeda to Whitestar, with a number of new classes, ship types and alien races.

There are some really fun ideas in here My favorite is the Expendable class, where the player gets to run a number of "Red Shirt" style crewmen and can expect to see them knocked off as the other players get into and barely survive dangers. My second favorite is the Living Starship class, letting the player roleplay the group's vehicle and homebase in the stars.

A few ideas don't grab me. the Exiled Ruler in particular - based I am sure on the Farscape character - seems like too narrow a character as written, portraying that specific character rather than a more broadly defined archetype.

Hey! For seventy cents this is a no brainer. If yo are playing Whitestar or any other OSR Sci-fi style game it is worthy adding to you tool box.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Five Year Mission
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

New Class Options
Publisher: Genius Loci Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/04/2015 13:09:26
I am giving this product a "Gentleman's 4" since I like many of the ideas and it is an impulse priced item.

Several of the character classes here are interesting for certain types of games: the Pixie and Mermaid are fun, the Mythwood Elf is very interesting, the Chesh and Ruca are great for folks who like faeries and anthropomorphic animal games.

However, some of the classes contain problematic or erroneous mechanics that I feel need to be corrected.

For instance, the Bloodwitch has a 60% chance per day of losing herself in the Song of Magic, during which she doesn't know what is real or what is delusion. The details of such state are never spelled out, so the character may be minorly inconvenienced or majorly incapacitated, depending on the DM... and who wants to play a character that is unplayable every other day.

Also, at each level the Bloodwitch learns 1d8 spells of the next highest level, so presumably a 2nd level Bloodwitch is learning 1d8 2nd level spells and a 3rd level Bloodwitch learns 1d8 3rd level spells and so on, which maybe a bit too quick a power escalation for some games.

All in all though, for the price I saw more good than bad here and came away with several ideas for interesting PCs and NPCs for my games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
New Class Options
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood of Pangea
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/09/2015 11:13:11
Blood of Pangea bills itself as a Sword & Sorcery genre game, but really the rules are so universal that you could easy run almost any genre of game.

Characters are described narratively ("Blunk is an expert tracker and horseman...") rather than numerically, so the type of character you can play is very broad, but actual mechanical differentiation is very shallow. Players and GMs that love mechanical heft and detailed character construction will be unsatisfied. Players and GMs that like fast play and loose detail will like this game,

This game reminds me a lot of B/X D&D, but also a bit of Fate or Heroquest as well.

I was very pleased with this game, and will make a place for it in my GM's bag for pick up games.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood of Pangea
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Drongo: Ruins of the Witch Kingdoms
Publisher: Leviathan Publishing
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/26/2015 17:17:45
This is a well written and thorough primer for a planetary romance style campaign for DCC. It gives you a number of new character classes and two new race-classes, and while a few of the new classes are a bit pedestrian, the gonzo classes more than make up for it.

This file gives you the background and a brief atlas of the Witch Kingdoms on the planet Drongo, but no maps of the world, something which I was very disappointed in.

I have not yet read Goodman Games Peril on the Purple Planet, so I cannot compare them, but for $6.99 Dronge goes a long way towards letting you add some science fantasy into your DCC game. Fans of Crawljammer and Crawling Under a Broken Moon should definitely take a look.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Drongo: Ruins of the Witch Kingdoms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Four-Color FAE
Publisher: Four-Color FAE
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/24/2015 14:57:11
This is a free product, and therefore my expectations were minimal. It has no art, basic formatting and no bells and whistles. And that is fine by me.

What it does have is well thought out advice on using Fate Accelerated to run a superhero game, including advice on power stunts, powers as permissions, and several optional rules to give you a bit more mechanical leverage to run the game.

The only downside is that each section of the writing is printed on a separate page, so most pages are 50-75% blank space. Condensed, this could've been a zippy little 10 page print out to add to your GM bag.

Still, I think it was well worth the time it took to read it and the ink it took to print it. I will use ideas I got from here to run games.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Four-Color FAE
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PowerFrame Primer
Publisher: PowerFrame Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2015 15:23:12
I am giving this 5 stars as a free primer to a new game, so i don't expect it to have everything for everyone, just to give the flavor of the full game. Which this does.

PowerFrame has a simple resolution system (1d6 + mods), character generation looks quick with a lot of options, and the combat system looks fairly light but with a number of tactical options and some crunch to spice it up.

I really like what I see of the wilderness travel system, and that alone might be enough for me to buy the main rules.

Layout wise, the primer is clean and attractive, with a mangi-ish art style that gives the game a bit of a light, almost animation feel.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PowerFrame Primer
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Cavaliers of Mars Quickstart
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/23/2015 11:39:19
I am very enthusiastic about this game and cannot wait for the full release.

The quick starter has gorgeous art, sample characters and an adventure, as well as a quick rules summary. the rules are based on Wushu, which is available for free on the net so really they don't need a lot of pages to explain (besides which, Wushu is very rules lite anyway).

What the quick start does not have and really should have (in my opinion) is a small write up of the setting. Even one page would be nice. And while you can gather bits and pieces from the adventure and sample characters, it would be nice to have something you could put in front of your players and say "THIS! This is our new world."

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cavaliers of Mars Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Gods and Monsters • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2015 17:33:02
The first reviewer gave you lots of detail... so read his review first.

I am rating this 5 stars because it is - in my opinion- the best in a string line of Fate Worlds of Adventure. It plays to Fate's strengths by allowing PCs to do things in line with their godly abilities that would be hard to model with more mechanistic games such as Pathfinder or GURPS, and also by making what the PCs do - and fail to do - effect the game world in broad, narrative ways.

However, I would also say that this game adds several levels of complexity unto Fate Accelerated that may be a bit complicated for a first time Fate player of GM to grasp. However, compared to many other RPGs a complex FAE build is still pretty crunch light!

To Summarize - 5 Stars, perfect fit between Fate's strengths and setting's focus, a bit more complex than most FAE builds.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Gods and Monsters • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Transylvanian Adventures: The Winter Home
Publisher: Land Of Phantoms
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2015 11:17:32
As a stand alone, mid-level adventure for DCC or DCC: Transylvanian Adventures, this is an excellent and probably deadly location that could probably use a longer introduction for campaign play. For a one-shot or convention play I'm fine with hand waving all the build up and getting to the meat of the adventure, but if I was using this in a campaign game I'ld like a slower build and the chance for the players to research and piece together some information before plunging to their dooms.

As an introductory adventure for Transylvanian Adventures, I think this is a bit weaker as it focuses heavily on the "horrific encounter area" , and ignores most of the background and societal details that makes Transylvanian Adventures a Victorian / Hammer Horror game and not just another muderhobo dungeon adventures game.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Transylvanian Adventures: The Winter Home
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Star Sailors: The Magical Girl Supplement for White Star RPG
Publisher: Okumarts Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/02/2015 16:59:40
Yes, this stretches the boundaries of Whitestar, and I for one think that is a good idea. Star Sailors adds Magic Girl heroes to the sci-fi universe of Whitestar, and honestly they are not much goofier than Star Knights when you think about it.

This supplement is short and quick, decently written, and gives you enough background and "stuff" to run a Star Sailor centered game, or just add one to your group of wandering stellar adventurers.

My only complaint is that each Star Sailor only gets a single power beyond basic energy blast abilities, and I would have liked to see a bit more variety or advancement, either a menu of powers to choose from or at least singular abilities that leveled up. But i guess I could always write my own... ah the beauty of OSR gaming.

A solid 4 star supplement.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Star Sailors: The Magical Girl Supplement for White Star RPG
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

PC1 - The OSR Warlock
Publisher: Jeremy Reaban
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/28/2015 14:36:22
Decades of playing D&D has left me with a "sweet tooth" for classes or various and sundry types, and this Warlock class was a nice treat. A short read, no unnecessary fluff or filler, and several different class progression charts to cover Original D&D, AD&D, B/X and Rules Cyclopedia versions of the game. The class itself has several signature spell-like abilities that may or may not unbalance your game (Fly at will at level 7 is suspect, depending on whether level 7 is low power or high power in your campaign), as well as limited access to a limited number of wizard spells.

I could see this as being a useful class for a D&D campaign, and it is easy enough to modify (say, switch the spell selections available or change some of the signature abilities) that it could spawn a whole family of related sub-classes.

For the price, this is a five star product to me.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PC1 - The OSR Warlock
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hill Cantons Compendium II
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2015 17:28:03
First off, I find the Hill Cantons material to be brilliant and great, but I acknowledge that it drifts near the gonzo end of the OSR and may not be everyone's cup of tea. That said, I think this is a great product and well deserving of 5 stars if you like your gaming a bit wilder than standard Tolkein.

The cover is gorgeous, eye catching and flavorful. It sets a mood that the rest of the product follows up on.

The background material for the hill Cantons is Vancian, odd and evocative of a faerie-Arabesque-dark-fantasy world. Short and sweet!

The new character classes include some "out there" classes that may not work for everyone (like the War Bear and the Robo-Dwarf), but even they can be normalized with some creative re-skinning. The Montebank and White Wizard make a fine edition to any D&D world.

The character generation elaboration generates some great backgrounds, but also can greatly increase some character stats, so if that bothers you change it. Zero level characters is short but usable, as is the system for using stats for skill challenges.

Overall, for a buck or more you get dreams in a handful of dust.

Well worth the price of admission.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hill Cantons Compendium II
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Plague of Storms
Publisher: Certain Death
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2015 11:20:53
Hands down, this is one of the best game pdfsI have read so far this year. I would give it six stars if I could.

The books contains a broad strokes description of a campaign area, with several dungeon areas, several adventurer-appropriate organizations, and a dozen or so NPCs with drives and motives to change the word, challenge the PCS, or cause enough problems to get their attention. The campaign world is not static... change is coming and unless the PCs get in front of it, they'll get swept away by it.

Though written for Dungeon World, I could easily see running this with D&D, Pathfinder or just about any other fantasy rpg system that isn't too outside the mainstream. And the campaign area is written in broad enough strokes that you could - with a bit of pushing and cutting - fit it in an existing campaign world so long as you have a long river valley and some nearby wilderness.

I found this pdf to be well written, easy to read, well illustrated. I enjoyed that the design is clean and easy, the illustrations added to the text instead of being overly indulgent, and there were no annoying style choices (gutter designs, page watermarking, border curliques) that distracted and wasted my ink.

I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a new fantasy campaign and anyone who is a fan of Dungeon World. I will keep an eye on this publisher for future material.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Plague of Storms
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/24/2015 14:05:31
As a lover of historical fiction, I think this is my favorite "World of adventure" for Fate so far.

Obviously, both the Roman setting and the noir genre are too big to tackle in this format, but this title gives you enough overview that you could fake your way through, and some guidance as to how to do more research. However, i was surprised that the section on Inspirational Materials did not actually mention any of the popular Roman detective series that exist in print - Lindsey Davis' Falso series, or Steven Saylor's Gordianus the Finder, or John Maddox Roberts SPQR series.

I especially like the advice on how to create conspiracies and mysteries, and how to handle things when your players solved things too fast.

Other things - liked the cover, interior art was fine, didn't notice any crazy grammer or spelling errors, game mechanics made sense, not crazy about renaming FAE approaches with Roman deity names but don't hate it....

In summation: Quick enjoyable read, a subject I like, a world I would love to play in and would consider to run as well. I would give 5 stars if it was a little longer, maybe included a map of the city and a list of Latin terms to throw around.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eagle Eyes • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 38 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates