DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dungeons on Demand: Volume Two
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2015 12:54:01

Review for Mischief Makers scenario only.

I bought Volume Two but have only DMed Mischief Makers so far, although I intend to use as many of the other Dan Coleman Dungeons on Demand products as I can. The simple reason being, as with Mischief Makers, there's very little extraneous work for the busy DM to do, after a quick read you're on- pick-up-and-play.

That said I changed Mischief Makers a little, as the intro advises, set it on the Sword Coast in the town of Phandalin- the goblin aggressors in the scenario transformed into the Cragmaw Goblins of the WOTC Starter Set scenario, Lost Mine of Phandelver.

You can find a write up of the action here-

https://the-european-union-d-d-5th-edition-campaign.obsidianportal.com/wikis/main3b

The scenario proved to be a big hit with my players- they particularly loved the new monsters- the liked killing the goblin outriders and thought the goblin biters were much fun to have around, the goblin wild soul left them terrified; at least on the one time my dice actually allowed it to leave its mark.

The scenario is no great shakes, that's not an insult- or at least I hope it isn't taken as one, the town/village is captured- dislodge the goblins and save the trapped/captured folk. The good thing is it works, and there's lots there to fire the imagination, including a few fleshed out NPCs et al.

I thought a couple of the monsters were a little underpowered for their CRs but I've never read the rules for calculating CR and so I'm probably just swayed by the fact that I am a miser when it comes to handing out XP.

All in all another marvelous scenario, I/we look forward to playing more Dan Coleman products.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeons on Demand: Volume Two
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Bandit's Nest (Level 1 PCs)
Publisher: Dan Coleman Productions
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2015 15:04:29

DM'ed the adventure more or less as written for one of my groups, a bunch of noobs, for three of the five players this was their first chance to play any RPG. The guys had no idea what the kenku were, which was a bonus, they were suitably spooked particularly as I unleashed an axe beak on them in the first encounter. It didn't help that the axe beak took down the cleric in a matter of seconds.

The adventure took us a session and a half to play through, and with some tough fights along the way. In particular the final encounter with Chaza and his friends went awry very quickly and resulted in multiple ko's for the players- they got through it but only just and for a short while it looked like a possible TPK.

I made a little more of the hidden treasure in the well, adding a single encounter in from R&D Adventures- Forgotten Tomb, I felt the players deserved a bit more in the way of a reward.

In summary half-a-dozen well thought out encounters, some nice NPCs to mess with the players heads (and hit point totals), and a convincing story- perhaps a little familiar but the genre demands. After playing this module I went back and purchased all of the other Dungeons on Demand. I'm going to run this gang of adventurers through all of them if I can, you can follow our adventures here-

https://the-european-union-d-d-5th-edition-campaign.obsidianportal.com/wikis/main0a

Thanks DonD, good work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bandit's Nest (Level 1 PCs)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for your support and for the kind review. I am glad you enjoyed the adventure; look for Volume 3 to come out early in 2016! I\'ll be sure to keep up with your adventure blog!
Forgotten Tomb (5e)
Publisher: R&D Adventures
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/11/2015 14:51:14

Just getting in to D&D 5th edition and running a gang of noobs through a different adventure (than this one), I threw this encounter in as a hidden area for the guys and they loved it. A single chamber with a bunch of traps and a handful of skeletons- nothing massively different but it worked a treat, the guys loved the getting there as much as the adventure- I hid the Forgotten Tomb in the bottom of a well.

Still I also managed to get a few hits in, with the traps mainly- one of the guys spent more or less the entire encounter in the bottom of a pit. A nice encounter, well put together, and enough to make me rush out and buy the other 5th edition adventure collections here.

You can read about our adventures here-

https://the-european-union-d-d-5th-edition-campaign.obsidianportal.com/wikis/main0a

Thanks PDR



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Forgotten Tomb (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Hi Paul, Thank you so much for your review. It’s not only valuable to know a little about how you used the encounter, but to know a little about what happened when it was played is really enjoyable to hear as well. We hope you enjoy our other encounters and adventures as much as you did this one.
1 on 1 Adventures #2: The Star of Olindor
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fil this box in without having to put anything in this coment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #2: The Star of Olindor
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Ghosts of Goldhaven
Publisher: Venture Land Games
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fil this box in without having to put anything in this coment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ghosts of Goldhaven
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Astray in the Woodlands (Deadly Encounters)
Publisher: Nitehawk Interactive
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fil this box in without having to put anything in this coment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Astray in the Woodlands (Deadly Encounters)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Vengeance in Freeport
Publisher: Green Ronin
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fil this box in without having to put anything in this coment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vengeance in Freeport
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Publisher: Basic Action Games
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Amazing One Sheet Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
I am glad you liked it.
Quirin Adventure #2: First Challenge
Publisher: GMC
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Quirin Adventure #2: First Challenge
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you very much for the rating! GMC has updated the adventure as follows: Better adventure scaling guidelines added (adventure is for 1-8 PCs of level 1-10 now). A color NPC portrait added. Cartography reworked. Research tables added. Three new adventure ideas added. Monster stat blocks added. Player handout of the map added. Graphics-free printer-friendly version added.
1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
Publisher: Expeditious Retreat Press
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1 on 1 Adventures #1: Gambler's Quest
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Random Encounters: Roadblock
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Random Encounters: Roadblock
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Random Encounters: The Hunt
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Random Encounters: The Hunt
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Random Encounters: Rabid Monkey Troop
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Random Encounters: Rabid Monkey Troop
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blood Runs Cold
Publisher: 0one Games
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Runs Cold
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Betrayal at Shadewood Keep
Publisher: Vanishing Goblin
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2006 00:00:00

I'd like to able to fill this box in without having to put anything in this comment box, alas I cannot- I apologise but I've not got a lot of free time and yet I want to rate the products.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Betrayal at Shadewood Keep
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 20 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates