DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories











Back
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide $19.99
Average Rating:4.9 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
29 11
3 1
0 1
0 0
0 0
Adventures in Middle-earth Player\'s Guide
Click to view
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 08/30/2017 03:16:56

http://www.teilzeithelden.de/2017/08/30/ersteindruck-adventures-in-middle-earth-players-guide-auf-nach-mittelerde-cubicle-7/

Jeder Fantasy-Fan kennt Mittelerde aus J. R. R. Tolkiens Der Herr der Ringe, und viele davon würden dort gerne selber einmal ein Abenteuer erleben. Viele kreative Köpfe haben sich bereits am komplexen Stoff verhoben. Heute testen wir, wie es Adventures in Middle-Earth gelingt.

Vor etwas über fünf Jahren brachte die britische Rollenspielschmiede Cubicle 7 eines der bislang ambitioniertesten Regelsysteme auf den Markt, mit dem Abenteuer in Mittelerde am Spieltisch möglich sein sollten. The One Ring Roleplaying Game wurde zum Kritikerliebling und räumte viele Preise ab. Vor über drei Jahren hat Dirk Walbrühl das System bereits auf diesen Seiten besprochen und dabei auch einen kurzen Überblick über die Geschichte bisheriger Rollenspielsysteme zu Der Herr der Ringe verfasst, den ich mir deswegen an dieser Stelle spare. Die deutsche Version besorgte schließlich der Uhrwerk Verlag, der im Februar diesen Jahres jedoch mitteilte, die Produktreihe aufgrund mangelnder Umsätze einzustellen.

Im englischsprachigen Raum erfreut sich das System jedoch immer noch großer Beliebtheit, weswegen es sich der Publisher erlauben kann, mit dem vorhandenen Setting in eine weitere Richtung zu expandieren. Das Ergebnis ist Adventures in Middle-Earth, eine Umsetzung von The One Ring nach d20-Regeln. Manch einer mag nun skeptisch die Augenbrauen heben und das für eine unnötige Vereinfachung der Regeln und das schamlose Anbiedern an den Mainstream halten. Aber vielleicht ist es auch nur ein sinnvoller Schritt, um potenzielle neue Spieler zu erreichen. Letztlich zählt, was am Ende dabei rauskommt, und das wollen wir uns nun näher ansehen.

Die Spielwelt

Mittelerde ist wahrscheinlich eine der bekanntesten Fantasy-Welten. Fast jeder, der sich auch nur ein bisschen mit diesem Genre beschäftigt, kann sie Tolkiens Der Herr der Ringe zuordnen. Geht es jedoch in die Tiefe, können nur wenige den Überblick über die komplexe Historie Mittelerdes behalten. Ebenso verhält es sich mit der Geographie, den verschiedenen Regionen, den Völkern Mittelerdes und ihrer Kultur. In diesem Punkt sind Experten rar gesät, denn viele Details finden sich nicht in den beiden weithin bekannten prosaischen Werken Der Herr der Ringe und Der Hobbit. Wer tief in Mythos und Welt eintauchen möchte, der muss sich noch durch einige Ergänzungen wie Das Silmarillion wühlen, das vom Namen her zwar ebenfalls fast jedem bekannt sein dürfte, das aber vergleichbar weniger Leute gelesen haben.

Dementsprechend wirkt ein Rollenspiel mit Schwerpunkt auf Mittelerde mitunter regelrecht frisch und unverbraucht, scheint dabei aber dennoch vertraut. Weise Elben in tiefen Wäldern, fleißige Zwerge unter den Bergen und gutmütige Hobbits in den Auen sind jedem ein Begriff, was aber abseits der epischen Reisen einiger wohlbekannter Gefährten in ihrem Leben passiert, ist so gut wie unbekannt.

Das Regelwerk legt den Fokus auf die Zeit zwischen Der Hobbit und Der Herr der Ringe und auf die Region nordöstlich des Nebelgebirges. Die gerade erst wiedererrichteten Königreiche in Thal und unter dem Einsamen Berg, die Seestadt Esgaroth, das Reich der Elben vom Düsterwald und die Ufer des nördlichen Anduin werden als lebhafte Landstriche dargestellt, in denen die Bewohner nach Jahrzehnten der Lethargie mit Tatkraft an einer besseren Zukunft arbeiten. Wer die späteren Ereignisse aus Der Herr der Ringe kennt, der weiß natürlich, dass es nicht mehr als eine letzte wertvolle Ruhepause vor dem Ringkrieg ist, ein letzter tiefer Atemzug, bevor der alte Feind die Länder der freien Völker erneut verheeren wird.

Auch die anderen Regionen Mittelerdes werden beschrieben, aber nicht ganz so ausführlich. Da es möglich ist, auch Charaktere aus Gondor, Rohan oder ganz anderen Landstrichen zu spielen, ist dies natürlich unverzichtbar.

Insgesamt wird Mittelerde stimmig beschrieben, und es gibt an jeder Ecke Anknüpfungspunkte und Ideenspender für neue Abenteuer. Seien es nun alte Ruinen, die von neugierigen Forschern erkundet werden können und so manchen verborgenen Schatz beinhalten mögen, oder von einem finsteren Schrecken geplagte abgelegene Dörfer, die um Hilfe bitten – in Mittelerde gibt es mehr als genug klassische Abenteueraufhänger, die durch das weltbekannte Setting an Farbe gewinnen.

Die Regeln

Genau wie Mittelerde weithin bekannt ist, kennen die meisten Rollenspieler wahrscheinlich auch die d20-Regeln, die inzwischen seit über fünfzehn Jahren unter der Open Gaming License frei nutzbar sind. Deswegen will ich mich den Kernregeln an dieser Stelle nur kurz widmen: Jeder Charakter hat die Attribute Stärke, Geschicklichkeit, Konstitution, Intelligenz, Weisheit und Charisma, von denen sich weitere Werte wie Initiative, Rettungswürfe und so weiter ableiten. Hinzu kommen Fertigkeiten wie Schwimmen, Klettern, Diplomatie und Schleichen, in denen man ebenfalls einen bestimmten numerischen Wert hat.

Daneben gibt es noch Talente, die dem Charakter bestimmte Boni oder Fähigkeiten geben. Bei Adventures in Middle-Earth werden diese Talente für jede Klasse festgelegt, ebenso die Erfahrungsstufe, auf der diese aktiviert werden. Hinzu kommen noch die „Virtues“, also Tugenden. Nur wenige davon sind frei wählbar, die meisten sind an die jeweilige Kultur gebunden, die man bei der Charaktererschaffung gewählt hat.

So weit, so unkompliziert. Was aus The One Ring übernommen wurde, ist die Aufteilung der Abenteuer in eine Reise- und eine Gefährten-Phase. Vorgesehen ist, dass die Abenteurergruppe einmal im Jahr zu einer gemeinsamen Queste aufbricht. Dabei kann es sich um eine Forschungsreise zu alten Ruinen oder eine Erkundungsmission in feindliches Gebiet handeln. Neben dem eigentlichen Abenteuer spielen die Ereignisse auf der Reise eine wichtige Rolle, da sie große Auswirkungen auf die weitere Entwicklung der Charaktere nehmen können. Diese Ereignisse werden über Zufallstabellen ausgewürfelt und von der Gefahrenstufe der Reise modifiziert. Diese reicht von 1 (Auenland) bis 5 (Mordor) und beeinflusst die Wahrscheinlichkeit, mit der die Reisegruppe unter guten Vorzeichen aufbricht oder bereits am ersten Reisetag von einem Unglücksfall aus der Bahn gestoßen wird. Auch die Anzahl der Zufallsbegegnungen und deren Art werden von der Gefahrenstufe beeinflusst, also ob der Jäger der Gruppe eine besonders wertvolle und nahrhafte Beute macht, die Gruppe auf einen Ort trifft, der leider die Heimat eines uralten Schreckens ist oder unvorbereitet den Weg mit einer Gruppe Orks oder Banditen kreuzt.

Nachdem der eigentliche Zweck der Reise erfüllt ist, kommt es zur Rückreise, auf der es ebenfalls wieder zu kleinen Unannehmlichkeiten oder ausgewachsenen Problem kommen kann.

Welchen Sinn dies am Ende eines Abenteuers macht? Nun, der Clou bei Adventures in Middle-Earth ist unter anderem, dass die Abenteuer nie wirklich enden. Nach der Reisephase kommt die Gefährtenphase. In dieser Phase können die Charaktere sich eine Zuflucht suchen, sich in ihr entspannen, neue Verbündete gewinnen, in alten Schriften forschen oder einfach im nächsten Gasthaus von ihren Abenteuern berichten.

Sie können sich auch von belastenden Schattenpunkten befreien, die sie im Laufe ihrer Reise vielleicht angesammelt haben. Diese Punkte stellen dar, wie sehr der Schatten des Alten Feindes auf der Seele der Charaktere lastet. Jedes Mal, wenn sie sich durch einen Landstrich bewegen, der an den Schatten gefallen ist, laufen sie Gefahr, dass er sich im Verborgenen auf ihre Herzen legt. Doch auch Lügen, Drohungen oder Machtmissbrauch können zu Schattenpunkten führen. Ebenso kann ein auf der letzten Reise zufällig gefundener Schatz zu großer Gier führen. Hat ein Charakter zu viele Schattenpunkte angesammelt, drückt sich dies in Wahnsinn, oder auch einfach nur Neid, Arroganz oder Hinterhältigkeit aus. Ein netter Regelmechanismus, der rollenspielerische Anreize schafft, um tragische Helden darzustellen, die mit dem Schatten in sich selbst kämpfen müssen.

Charaktererschaffung

Die Charaktererschaffung weicht nicht sonderlich von den grundlegenden d20-Regeln ab. Jeder Spieler wählt eine Kultur – zur Auswahl stehen Bardinger, Beorninger, Dúnedain, Zwerge vom Einsamen Berg, Elben aus dem Düsterwald, Hobbits, Menschen aus Bree, Menschen aus Seestadt, Menschen aus Minas Tirith, Reiter von Rohan und Bewohner der Wilderland – und eine Klasse aus. Bei den Klassen handelt es sich um Scholaren, „Slayer“, Schatzsucher, Wanderer, Bewahrer und Krieger, die je zwei Unterklassen haben, je nachdem, wo der Schwerpunkt gelegt wird. Ein Scholar  muss sich zum Beispiel auf Stufe drei entscheiden, ob er sich auf die Heilkunst oder das Studium alter Schriften und Runen spezialisieren will.

Jeder Charakter wählt zudem einen Hintergrund aus, der ihn ins Abenteuerleben geführt hat. Sei es nun als loyaler Diener á la Samweis Gamdschie, der seinem Herrn ins Abenteuer folgt, oder als Vertriebener, der seine Heimat an den Schatten verloren hat. Dadurch kann jeder Spieler seinem Charakter noch etwas mehr Tiefe verleihen.

Alles in allem sollte die Charaktererschaffung schnell vorangehen, bietet aber aufgrund der vielen  Kombinationsmöglichkeiten viele Möglichkeiten, die jeden Spieler zufriedenstellen dürften.

Erscheinungsbild

Die Illustrationen wurden, soweit ich das überblicken kann – fast sämtlich aus den Büchern zu Der Eine Ring übernommen. Daran ist aber nicht viel auszusetzen, denn die Qualität ist natürlich weiterhin sehr hoch. Stimmige und wunderschöne Zeichnungen der beschriebenen Städte und Landschaften prägen den Band. Gerade die Darstellungen von Menschen, Elben, Zwergen und Hobbits rutschen aber manchmal in die Zweckmäßigkeit ab. Bei den Zwergen mache ich mir manchmal sogar ernsthafte Sorgen um deren Gelenke, wenn ich sehe mit welch dürren Beinchen sie ihre tonnenhaften Oberkörper durch die Gegend schleppen müssen. Aber das sind nur Kleinigkeiten.

Auch vom Layout her macht der Band einen aufgeräumten und übersichtlichen Eindruck. Der Platz wird großzügig genutzt, um die Regeln und den Hintergrund darzustellen, entsprechende Querverweise auf übersichtliche und kompakte Boxen sind immer vorhanden.

Fazit

Wie eingangs erwähnt wirkt Adventures in Middle-Earth trotz des altbekannten Settings fast schon frisch und unverbraucht. Das liegt sicher auch an der etwas ungewöhnlichen aber originellen Aufteilung in Reisephase und Gefährtenphase. Durch diesen Kniff schaffen die Autoren eine regeltechnische Grundlage, um zum einen den Aspekt der reisenden Gefährten als auch den erholsamen und lehrreichen Aufenthalt an behaglichen Zufluchtsorten abzubilden.

Dank dieser umfassenden Ergänzungen, wie auch den verderbenden Schattenpunkten, ist es ihnen gelungen, den bisweilen etwas platten d20-Helden etwas mehr Tiefgang zu verleihen, der sich auch in den Regeln und nicht nur durch gutes Rollenspiel ausdrückt. 

Hier sollten auf jeden Fall d20-Kenner zugreifen, die Der Eine Ring interessant finden, aber nicht einen Haufen neuer Regeln lernen wollen. Ohnehin kann ich diesen Band jedem Mittelerde-Fan empfehlen, der auch am Spieltisch endlich einmal einen stilvollen Ausflug in Tolkiens Welt der Elben und Hobbits machen möchte. Wer hingegen schon mit Der Eine Ring vollends zufrieden ist, kann diesen Band ruhigen Gewissens auslassen.

Zuviel sollte der Käufer aber nicht erwarten. Hier gibt es wirklich nur die grundlegenden Regeln und alles, was der Spieler zur Charaktererschaffung braucht. Mehr zum Hintergrund gibt es in den einzelnen Regionalbeschreibungen, mehr zu den Regeln im Loremaster's Guide, den wir im nächsten Monat besprechen werden. Da es ansonsten nicht viel zu meckern gibt und das Player's Guide ein durch und durch rundes Produkt ist, gibt es von meiner Seite aus die Bestnote. Wer d20 generell nicht gut findet, zieht einen bis zwei Punkte ab und schaut sich Der Eine Ring an.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Jacopo C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2017 05:23:11

The delivery of the pdf was very fast (even during the weekend). The pdf looks gorgeous and it contains all the useful information for character creation with the newly introduced cultures. The new rules for Journey and Shadow are also particularly nice and in theme with the Tolkien setting. I am eagerly waiting for the Loremaster's Guide.

Overall, I am very pleased with it.

One minor technical criticism, it would be nice it the table of contents had hyperlinks to directly go the different sections.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Damion J. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/23/2017 00:07:54

In general Adventures in Middle Earth is quite good. I like the changes to classes, Races and Background and I think the rules for journeys and Fellowship phases are interesting and creatively done.

However there are big mistakes made when it comes to the equipment section with many inconsistencies in the price of items, especially those items that cost copper! For example a Club costs 24 copper (which is equal to 2 silver) and a Dagger costs 2 silver. Thats an obvious mistake. Its rather embarressing that such an obvious error made it into this printing.

There is also a small rules error on one of the pregens, Trotter. He is printed as doing 1d6-1 damage with his short sword. But its a finesse weapon, so he should be doing 1d6+3 since it uses his Dex bonus...



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2016 05:42:45

I like it alot. It's pretty well written mechanics wise and is a great adaptation for 5E. However, there are some ambiguously worded text throughout. You can also tell where they changed the name to some Virtues (Feats) and forgot to change it in the text of the Virtue. An example is Piercing Sight under the Men of Minas Tirith cultural virtues is written as Piercing Gaze in the description. Overall, I very much like it and I would definitely recommend it to all my friends. Seeing as its already on version 2, I also look forward to seeing corrections.

Another thing is the Scholar class feels a little underpowered. I haven't played them yet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 11/25/2016 08:01:38

This mighty tome is beautifully presented and provides just about all you need to start adventuring in Tolkien's Middle Earth. Of particular note is the way in which the authors are not afraid to tweak exisiting game rules and even invent entire new mechanics to drive a setting that's true to its original concept yet playable by anyone who can play Dungeons & Dragons 5e. As the Foreword states, the guiding light has been to present a game that you can make your own... and if you want to add in stuff from other sources, that's fine too.

The first section is all about setting the scene. We're based in Wilderland in 2946 of the Third Age. Smaug is dead and people are reclaiming the lands he once terrorised. So here are details of the lands involved and their denizens. Then it's straight on to how to make it all work, with an Overview containing details of the changes the authors have made to the core ruleset in two areas: character creation and general game rules. Middle Earth isn't quite like any other fantasy setting (even if it inspired a lot of them!) and these rules are desisned to enable you to run a game and create shared stories that are true to the setting. It starts off with a profound difference, you choose your culture rather than your race. 'Culture' is a more precise definition - you are not just a human but a Man of Bree or a Man of the Lake, and so on for all the other races. There's a whole chapter on them later on. There are also new classes and backgrounds, and a whole new type of trait called a virtue - and each of these also gets a chapter to itself to explain all that you need to know.

The other rules changes relate to how the game itself works. Middle Earth stories are jam-packed with journeys, and the sort of quest that involves going somewhere (and braving danger along the way) as well as doing something when you get there are a mainstay of Middle Earth adventuring. Unlike the character creation rules, these supplement rather than replace the core D&D ones. This setting does not use conventional alignments, instead it relies on a corruption system to model characters' moral journey through life. In Middle Earth, strangers are often regarding warily, so there are also rules for obtaining an audience with the great and good of the land, should the party wish to do so. Finally, there is the introduction of the Fellowship Phase, an exciting innovation from The One Ring game on which this setting is based. Each of these topics too has its own chapter to provide all the necessary detail to enable you to incorporate it into your game.

That's about it, all beautifully-presented and with Loremaster (i.e. DM) and Player versions of the map and a selection of appropriate equipment to help your character look and feel like he belongs in Middle Earth. Overall, it's an elegant adaptation of both The One Ring and of course the original setting from Tolkien's stories to the latest incarnation of Dungeons & Dragons and well worth a look if you think that there's more to adventure than killing monsters and taking their stuff... although those who do want to fill their days with fighting (and even acquire some loot) will not be disappointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Konrad F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/01/2016 15:30:52

Bought the hardcopy in SPIEL/Essen got a free pdf, That's how to make costomer happy. :) Nice tolkinenies Setting it set between Hobbit and LotR. Players Characters don't have magical abilities, which is very nice. Wonderfull journey rules - NO! Random encounters but it depends on skills of the PCs to get from A to B in one piece and you have a story tell.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Dave C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/05/2016 13:53:11

I'm a relatively inexperienced DM with little exposure to 3rd party modules - but this is a fantastic product. Great content & top notch quality as far as I'm concerned. I'm really exicted to run this, and my players are really excited to play in it.

Can't wait for the loremaster's guide. Hint hint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Thomas M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/22/2016 06:42:20

I ran this for my group and we all decided that this was now our preferred way to play D&D. The journey and fellowship systems are amazing and easily produce detailed and enjoyable adventures with little prep from the DM. The added virtues (which are basically feats) are epic and allow for some highly individual characters and gives the classes a lot of replayability.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/17/2016 16:08:32

I recently received a review copy of the Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide PDF from Cubicle 7 that is compatible with Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition. I'm a big fan of Middle-earth and ran a long campaign years ago with Decipher's Lord of the Rings RPG and a few one-shots of Cubicle 7's The One Ring RPG. So the setting is near and dear to my heart.

First, the book is gorgeous and the art and layout evoke the correct feel of J.R.R. Tolkien's opus. One thing I want to call out is the Contents section in the beginning of the book which gives a concise overview of what each section contains, which I think is brilliant aid for player's coming into our hobby for the first time.

Chapter One gives you information about the significance of 2946 in the Third Age and overview of the Free Folk of the North, the Free Folk of Eriador, the Free Folk of the South and the activities of the Shadow.

Chapter Two explains how the rules of Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide (AiMe, hereafter) differs from standard DnD 5th Edition game. It contains rules for creating characters, the Cultures of Middle-earth, the classes this book introduces, Middle-earth Backgrounds, Virtues (Feats), the Game Rules, Journeys (more later), Corruption, Audiences (meeting with the movers and shakers of the Third Age), and the Fellowship Phase (more later).

Chapter Three are the Cultures of Middle-earth, which take the place of 5th Edition's Races. The cultures detailed are Bardings, Beornings, the Dunedin, Dwarves of the Lonely Mountain (further defined by Erebor and the Iron Hills), Elves of Mirkwood (mechanically their advantages are appropriate covered without making them unbalanced), Hobbits of the Shire (further defined by Harfoot and Stoor), Men of Bree, Men of the Lake, Men of Minas Tirith, the Riders of Rohan, and the Woodmen of the Wilderland. I feel that the choice of using Cultures, as opposed to Races, perfectly reflects the spirit of Middle-earth and allows the various humans of the setting to get a proper treatment.

Chapter Four introduces the Classes unique to AiMe. You should play a Scholar if you want to uncover ancient secrets and use their power, master the art of healing, be admitted into the councils of the Wise, or know much that is hidden. The two specialties of Scholars are Master Healer and Master Scholar. Neither specialty is a spellcaster in traditional DnD terms, but both channel the awe of characters presented in the fiction. Both rely upon ancient and deep lore about the world around. You should play a Slayer if you want to toss wolves and goblins from your path, take revenge upon the Enemy, fight alone, or in the front line of a company of warriors. It's specialties are the Rider and the Foe-Hammer. Slayer's hew closest to the Barbarian, but the Rider's reliance of mounted combat and the Foe-Hammer becoming a living weapon are interesting facets. I think both could be easily adapted as sub-classes for the Barbarian if a DM desired. You should play a Treasure Hunter if you want to sneak into caverns and other dark and dangerous places, spy on the movements and plans of the Enemy, or steal your foe's treasure. One interesting element to the class is that you gain night vision out to 60 feet at 1st level. The specialties are the Agent and the Burglar. The Agent is an ingenious and thoughtful sort, who outsmarts his or her opponents. You should play a Wanderer if you want to explore Middle-earth, to hunt down and destroy the servants of the Shadow, guide a company of adventurers through the wilderness. It's specialties are the Hunter of Beasts and the Hunter of Shadows. I'm going to add that I find the Wanderer encapsulates my expectations of earlier DnD Rangers and would have no qualm using them as an alternative or a replacement in a traditional 5th Edition game. You should play a Warden if you want to defend the Free Peoples against the Shadow, inspire your allies to yet greater deeds or bring hope when all seems lost. It's Expressions are Counselor (whose words hold power), Herald (whose abilities border into the realm of the Bard), and the Bounder (who focus on protecting others). I would seriously consider adding this class to fill a similar role to DnD 4th Edition's Warlord to a stander 5th Edition game. You should play a Warrior if you want to defend the Free Folk with force of arms, wear heavy armour and fight with discipline, command followers or master weapons to their fullest extent. It's Archetypes are Knight and Weaponmaster and both could be used for the 5th Edition Fighter. One final note about Classes, each presents a Shadow weakness.

Chapter Five covers Virtues which are AiMe's term for Feats. Virtues are specific to a Culture, they are well designed and constructed and could easily add new options for a standard 5th Edition game.

Chapter Six details the Backgrounds of AiME, and each includes a character's Hope and Despair to really dig deep into the lore of the setting. The Backgrounds are Loyal Servant, Doomed to Die, Driven from Home, Emissary of your People, Fallen Scion, The Harrowed, Hunted by the Shadow, Lure of the Road, The Magician (a performer), Oathsworn, Reluctant Adventurer, Seeker of the Lost, and World Weary.

Chapter Seven covers Equipment, detailing such things as Dalish Fireworks, Dwarven Toys, and Cultural Heirlooms. Cultural Heirlooms cannot be purchased, only rewarded, and they take the place of 5th Edition's magic items. Heirlooms for each Culture are provided.

Chapter Eight introduces the rules for Journeys, as travel is greatly emphasized in Middle-earth. Phase One is Embarkation and each Player is given a task as a Guide, Scout, Hunter, or Look-out. Simultaneously the Loremaster determines Peril Rating of the Journey and 10 random types of encounters are detailed. Phase Two is the Journey Events and Task Rolls. The length of the Journey determines the number of challenges the Players will face and the Loremaster is given methods to generate a DC for the Peril Rating. Additionally, 12 events are detailed. Phase Three is the Arrival Phase and rules for modifying the Arrival rule are laid out. 8 arrival results are detailed and an optional rule for Tracking Time are presented. Finally, a (sweet) hexmap of the Wilderlands is included.

Chapter Nine details the Shadow and the Corruption mechanic is fully presented. Each Classes' Shadow Weakness is detailed, as well. Consequences of Corruption, such as madness and degeneration are detailed.

Chapter Ten covers Audiences, a rules sub-system for meeting with and seeking aid from the movers and shakers of Middle-earth, those that we have all read about or watched on film. Audiences account for Cultural Attitudes, which set the DC's for the meetings and the reactions of those you are meeting with are based upon the outcome of your skill check.

Chapter Eleven covers the Fellowship Phase, which adds another rules sub-system for allowing character to recover between seasons and helps flesh out what they were up to when they have gone their separate ways, sometimes for years at a time. It includes options for Rest and Recovery, Undertakings (accomplishments important to individual heroes), Training, Gaining a New Trait (a fundamental change to the character), Heal Corruption, Meet a Patron, Open a Sanctuary, Receive a Title, and Research Lore. While the Fellowship Phase is integral to the stories of Middle-earth, I will add that I would have gladly used these rules while running a 5th Edition game that I concluded this past summer and will look at using them in future games set outside of Middle-earth.

The book concludes with Pre-Generated characters to get you up and playing in minutes.

Cubicle 7 has always impressed me with their games and Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide is no exception. They have taken the fabulous work they have done with the One Ring and adapted it to Dungeons and Dragons 5th Edition, with a supplement that both perfectly encapsulates what I want out of Middle-earth while expanding my options for standard 5th Edition. I couldn't ask for any more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2016 14:03:27

Product is an excellent adaptation of Middle-earth to the 5e OGL. Cubicle 7 also within days if the original release already released an updated and revised pdf based on fan input. Rules are new and interesting, and the product is wonderfully flavorful with regards to the setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Carol D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2016 12:49:08

I really like this supplement, there's a ton of well thought out information in it and a different look at how to play in Middle Earth! I am looking forward to running my first campaign for family members in Middle Earth. I think this supplement is inspiring and very helpful in getting me started. The culture aspect for the races and classes is really interesting and ought to help with the roleplay of the characters. The journey feature adds a lot to the play, with the roll tables to help determine how your next foray into the forest will go, its a huge help to the Loremaster! It's going to be a fun ride! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Jimmy P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/09/2016 16:18:40

ADVENTURES IN MIDDLE-EARTH is a 5th edition (Dungeons and Dragons) adaptation of The One Ring.

((Art)) The art is very Tolkienesque. For those who already own The One Ring, you will see familiar artwork. The layout is very similar to the one found in The One Ring as well. Overall, the art and layout design is very appropriate for the setting. It has this old school feel that really fits here.

((Mechanics)) In ADVENTURES IN MIDDLE-EARTH, you use the standard Dungeons and Dragons rules. The book completely re-writes the classes to capture the right atmosphere for the setting. For example, you do not have fireball tossing wizards in this game. You do have Scholars that can learn a few tricks not unlike what Gandalf could pull. You could introduce spellcasting classes, but the mood and balance could be compromised.

You start making your character by choosing a ''race'' such as Rohirrim, Dunedain, Bree-folk, Hobbit, Dwarves or Elves. Then you choose a ''class''. Then you choose a ''background''. At every step, the choices you make are again very Tolkienesque and fits the source material.

You get very interesting ''Journey'' rules - an adaptation of one of the most interesting mechanic found in The One Ring. You also get the rules for downtime called the ''Fellowship Phase'' - another great ruleset from The One Ring.

((Conclusion) Adventures in Middle-Earth Player's Guide is a great book. Now, is it the book you are looking for?

I already own The One Ring, on which AIME is based. I love the art, the system and the atmosphere of The One Ring. If I was to run a Middle-Earth campaign, I would probably prefer to use The One Ring (look it up!). Having said that, I know The One Ring is not for everybody. It uses an abstract combat system (which I love) that can deter some players. The rolls use custom dice, which is also something a lot of people loathe. This is where this book comes in.

If your group likes Middle-Earth and the 5th edition ruleset, click that Add to Cart button ASAP. If your group already owns and likes The One Ring, then perhaps this pdf might gather virtual dust in your file folders. Even if you dislike Tolkien's work, well you can still find something useful in there, such as the journey or fellowship phase rules.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventures in Middle-earth Player's Guide
Publisher: Cubicle 7 Entertainment Ltd.
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/08/2016 13:13:31

I think AiME is a great product. Not only it inherited all the great art from The One Ring (John Howe, along with Jon Hodgson and Tomasz Jedruszek), but also created great new rules and system to bring the feeling of Middle-Earth to the 5th edition of D&D. Most of the presented abilities, feats and even skills have additional narrative focus. In my oppinion, it brings the narrative verve of 13th age to the 5th edition, with a dark tone. This dark tone comes from the corruption aspect of Tolkien universe, where characters fades into a bitter end.

I'll recommend this to anyone that either wants to run a Middle-Earth campaign but rather keep using the familiar rules or disliked the rules from The One Ring; or you want to add the additional classes and rules for Journeys, Corruption, Audiences and Fellowship Phase, which are all very interesting. I also wrote a short review in Portuguese on my blog.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates