DriveThruRPG.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2017 14:00:24

Comprehensive and spot-on for the genre. When Bedrock Games describes this as "completely self-contained", they aren't kidding. Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate is an easy to read, well written, straight forward system (d10 based) and straight forward presentation. Nealry 500 pages long, WHoOG includes a fictional setting (riffing off the Song Dynasty), martial arts techniques, sects, adversaries (standard, wuxia martial artists, monsters and demons), and a sample adventure, along with plenty of genre and GM guidance. GMs would find themselves very well supported for a one-shot, campaign or all points between.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wandering Heroes of Ogre Gate
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Age Of Legends
Publisher: 6d6 Fireball
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2017 22:31:16

Great book and setting. It's filled with a mix of historical material for the period and setting along with the mythic (Olympian gods, Titans, creatures). The magic is setting-appropriate, so you won't find magic missiles and fireballs, but you will find material on ancient Greek curses, wards and herbology. The artwork is all in the style of ancient Greek. There's 6d6 material on new period-appropriate Archetypes and Paths, along with a number of new Antogonists pulled from myth (and Agent and Monster Paths).

I've run it some, and it's had a great feel in play. The mix of mundane with the epic - especially for newly invested PC Agents - was a lot of fun.

In disclosure, I did back the Kickstarter that produced AoL, and would happily do so again. 6d6 is a great ruleset, and Age of Legends is a great add to the collection.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Age Of Legends
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Publisher: Grim & Perilous Studios
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2017 01:07:02

Out of the part hit for a WFRP clone. I'm completely satisfied with my purchase. It's a big book, but comprehensive. As an experienced WFRP GM from way back (1e), I'm delighted with the system and product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ZWEIHÄNDER Grim and Perilous RPG - Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Big List of RPG Plots
Publisher: Cumberland Games & Diversions
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/11/2017 03:07:18

"If this little item isn't in your GMing toolkit yet, it's time to amend that."

Truth in adventising. I've had this gem in my GMing notebook(s) for years; it's a must have, and a bargain at twice the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Big List of RPG Plots
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Space Patrol
Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2016 21:19:48

Solid book! It wasn't quite as Terran Trade Authority as my tired brain was wanting in the moment (Space Patrol!), but a well done look at a "missing" branch. Especially well suited to plug and play into an emergent 2d6 classic science fiction "Empire" setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Space Patrol
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your excellent review!
Sig: Manual of the Primes
Publisher: Genesis of Legend Publishing
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/07/2016 23:30:40

I'm a Planescape fan from way back, and Sig totally channeled that Planescape feeling for me without being a simple rehash or clone. I love the planar cosmology that Sig presents, and love the city at least as much.

The book is colorful, well produced, and easy to digest. I enjoyed the planar races presented in it.

The book is for the Spark system (itself Creative Commons licensed), but I think it's easily hackable and adaptable to other games as a concept and setting. Fate and Whitehack both came to mind for me.

The next time I dig into running something planar / plane hopping / infiinite city, Sig will be it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sig: Manual of the Primes
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
Publisher: 6d6 Fireball
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/28/2015 09:55:10

6d6 has quickly become my go-to game (or one of my top go-to games anyway) over the last 5 months. I found it very easy to read and grok between the format and writing. It's got a nice blend of old- and new-school "-isms", and I think presents a very mature outlook on some things like game leadership, group dynamics, and open book gaming.

The use of "Potential" to drive PC actions as an "in character" throttle vs more out of character solutions (like fate points or such) seems innovative, and is working very well for my play groups. It feels like it really builds characterization as players use their potential to conduct actions, and determine how to mix and apply their PC's Advantages to solve any given challenge.

I think this is a real gem of a game system, with a lot of value, and highly recommend checking it out. The rules and materials can be read and previewed for free at the publisher's website.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
6d6 Core (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Dungeon of Demon Strata (2nd Ed.)
Publisher: 6d6 Fireball
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2015 23:28:52

This was a fun, enjoyable adventure. The isometric map worked well - I found the room descriptions and parsing of information well done, and the monsters, tricks and traps did a good job challenging my group. This started a new campaign nicely for me as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dungeon of Demon Strata (2nd Ed.)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Arrows Of Indra
Publisher: Bedrock Games
by Brian I.
Date Added: 03/30/2014 14:40:11

I bought this one in both print and digital formats, and feel I got my money's worth, easily. Overall, Arrows of Indra's an excellent entry into the OSR in a unique and fascinating way.

I definitely think the game is spot on for the author's design goals as I understand them. It's a pretty clean, self contained game with a lot of flavor that doesn't feel like (but does feel like) an early alt white box. A ton more grok-able (IMO, or for me more appropriately) than Tekumel (for instance) while having a similar sort of feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arrows Of Indra
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Blackmarsh
Publisher: Bat in the Attic Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2013 16:08:34

An outstanding old school, minimal setting. I've used it several times - it's got just enough meat and flavor to inspire and drive a game, and is light enough that as a GM, I don't sweat getting details wrong.

The map, of course, is great - all Rob's are.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blackmarsh
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Malay Coins - PDF
Publisher: Hero Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2006 00:00:00

A solid pulp adventure. I've run the Malay Coins three times, and it's never been a let down. Play groups have generally found the nps interested, the plot well sign-posted without being a give-away, and a fun time.

As a note, I'll mention I've never used the Hero System to run this adventure (a testament to it's usefulness, and not a comment on the Hero System).

Recommended for GMs running pulp.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Well put together adventure, with a nifty handout puzzle.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: N/A.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Malay Coins - PDF
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Iron Stars Rulebook
Publisher: Majestic Twelve Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2006 00:00:00

I picked this up on a lark, based on the qualitied of the Starmada game. I had only a passing interest in the period, but after sitting down with the book, found it very engaging. Good period flavor, a nice selection of ships, and a relatively easy game to boot.

<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The amount of rules in the book was surpisingly small, making it very accessible. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: I'd have liked some sample ships for all of the Great Powers, but you can't have everything. Ship design rules are included, so creating your own ships is certainly an option. I don't consider this to be a significant flaw of the product, however.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Iron Stars Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Starmada X: Brigade
Publisher: Majestic Twelve Games
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2006 00:00:00

Very well put-together starship combat game. I've seen a few handfuls of ship write-ups elsewhere on the web, and the heavy generic base for the game is something I find appealing.

The included starship designs (to match various Brigade starship minis)turned out to be more inspiring than I had counted on.

All-in-all, 100% satisfied with my purchase.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Easily read and understood. After two short readings over coffee, I taught 3 other people (two adults and one 13 yr old) in no time.

Very enjoyable.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starmada X: Brigade
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Aliens: The Ruthdii (for HardNova 2)
Publisher: Precis Intermedia
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/11/2006 00:00:00

Overall, a nice, afforadable mini-supplement for HD][.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Some more information about the HN][ baddie. Very digestable.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Not quite up to the standard of the Mini-series Alpha, in that it had only one scenario. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Aliens: The Ruthdii (for HardNova 2)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Future: 13 Xenobiological and Stellar Hazards
Publisher: Ronin Arts
by Brian I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/21/2005 00:00:00

Another nice set of sci-fi "micro-encounters". Broken into two broad categories (stellar hazards and xenobiological hazards), this pdf provides a nice set of plot ideas to toss into a d20 sf game.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Easily usable stuff. I could see dropping the hazards into most sci-fi games without a problem, either as a subplot even into a larger story, or to develop into a primary plot point.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Nada. Very happy with the product.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Future: 13 Xenobiological and Stellar Hazards
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates