DriveThruRPG.com
Browse









Back
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition $19.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
27 13
1 1
0 1
2 0
0 0
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Click to view
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Sandra H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/17/2017 17:11:12

This book is my first gaming book purchase. I absolutely love the artwork and the story-telling. The mechanics are easy to understand and follow for new and experienced gamers alike. I love the way the world is explained.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2016 07:31:55

The quality of the layout (I have the pdf, so I can't comment on the physical product) and the cogency of the updated rules themselves is very high. This is a great product, and a fantastic game. It suffers from the same crippling problem as most other White Wolf/Onyx Path products, though: it is unnecessarily vulgar.

I get it that this is the World of Darkness, and that things aren't sunshine and rainbows. This is gritty, beotches! But to make the game book try to reflect that by peppering in f-bombs and stories of homosexual relationships just ends up being suicidal to the commercial viablility of products like this, and (most tragically) keeps it from being readily passed on to new generations.

I just took my two oldest daughters (12 and 10) to see Dr. Strange. They loved it! They also love roleplaying games like Pathfinder. I would love to get them into a game like Mage, but I sure as (insert unnecessary cussword here) can't hand them the book! If I want them to play, I will have to just try to explain all the rules. That severely limits this game's (and all of the others') relevancy to future generations. No wonder Pathfinder is eating your lunch.

As edgy and dark as you think you want to be, there's really nothing in the contents of the backstory to the World of Darkness or in the flavor and rules of any of the Paths or Orders that would be considered inherently 'adult'. You can do necromancy in Skyrim, Scooby Doo has similar levels of violence and fear. The only things keeping this book out of a larger number of hands are a liberal use of profane words and a subtle homosexual undertone in the narrative that runs throughout the book before each chapter.

If some group wants to tell a depraved story about a necrophiliac Moros that kills and putrefies his victims just so he can copulate with their juicy rotten corpses, then they can do that whether or not the core rulebook has f-words all through it. Their stories are not silenced by a more broadly palatable book. There's just no reason to have profane language, deviant sexual behavior, and cartoon nudity in books like these (Mage may not have any cartoon nudity, but plenty other White Wolf books do).

You may think me prudish and ignorant or some such, but that's just not the case. From a business standpoint, you are hobbling your ability to reach a broader audience, and that just doesn't make good business sense. And from the perspective of an uber RPG fan, this kind of thing may mean that we won't have new versions of these awesome games in the future, and I hate that eventuality. I lament what's happened to the White Wolf brand already - the extreme marginalization of the greatest tabletop RPGs in the world. What if the only thing holding it all back are a few f-words and pencil-sketched tits?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Domain C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/13/2016 20:41:28

I have just received my own physical of Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition and I must say this book feels like a masterpiece. The layout of the Table of Contents is a beautiful addition that allows anyone to easily source what they are looking for without hunting through the glossary, the colour even in the Standard edition pops out and demands to be looked at. The hard cover itself is appealing to the eye and my copy seems to have arrived in perfect condition

Honestly if anyone had enjoyed playing Mage the Awakening 1e they will certainly LOVE picking up a copy of Mage the Awakening 2e and will never put it down thereafter



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Greg D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/15/2016 23:55:05

Instant classic. This is Mage as it always should have been. It all makes perfect sense and is clean and concise in its rules and explanations but provides large doses of the Onyx Path/White Wolf narrative drive and story hooks we've come to expect. The magic system is intuitive and easy to work out. Paradox has been greatly simplified. There's not a wasted word and the art is gorgeous. What are you waiting for? Buy it already.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andrea T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/14/2016 11:15:08

(At first, sorry for my bad english) Best! I like all Chronicles of Darkness 2nd Edition stuff and I was waiting this Mage 2nd edition with impatience. I was scared, full of aspectative. Nothing.To.Be.Scared!!!! Buy this at full hands, it's great, simply rebuild the concept of a Mage rendering exactly it would be. The System rapresent exactly the spirit of play a Mage and Description and Storytelling Advice gives all you need to prepare a good Chronicle for Mages. Super, nothing to say more, buy it and have fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Jessica O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2016 12:29:45

In brief: it's brilliant. A great many problems from 1st Edition have been neatly and cleanly taken care of -- not with piecemeal patchwork, but by rewriting the whole of the game so that those problems simply no longer exist. Further, it's written with a mind towards LARP right out of the gate, with mechanics that not only don't require an overhaul to work outside of a tabletop game but actually provide encouragement for that level of dramatic expression. I couldn't be happier.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Miguel R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2016 18:35:22

Personalmente no me ha convencido en general el sistema de Chronicles of Darkness en el ámbito de los "beats", aunque si en el área de "conditions". Desde siempre, mi línea preferida de WoD ha sido Mage, siendo un jugador asiduo por muchos años del MtA 1st Edition. No obstante, debo reconocer que ha sido un esfuerzo muy bueno para simplificar muchos de los elementos que hacían confuso el sistema de magia anterior, en especial en cuanto al manejo del "paradox" que terminaba siendo un dolor de cabeza en algunas ocasiones. Maravillosa la idea de los "attainments" sinceramente.

Espero con ansia la versión PoD para adicionarlo a mi colección y, espero pronto poder llevar a cabo una crónica para ver qué tal funciona.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Maxime L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2016 15:27:39

A solid new edition of the third Chronicles of Darkness (aka nWoD) game. Like Werewolf: the Forsaken, and Vampire: the Requiem before it, this new edition takes what made the game different from its predecessor and pushes it even further, while making the setting as a whole more colorful and full of game possibilities. The Paths and the Orders feel much more vibrant than before, and the setting as a whole feels enriched by the detailed description of Mage Sight and how it is used to solve mysteries. The five settings offered in the book also include interesting overarching mysteries, providing good campaign fodder. My only regret is the lack of examples NPCs, which feels like something which had to be sacrificed on the altar of the word count gods. But this remains a great product, and one which I read in its entirety in a matter of days.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/10/2016 13:09:24

Mage: the Awakening Second Edition is the third of the Big Three games to be reissued with the Chronicles of Darkness / God-Machine rules mechanic. It presents the same setting as the first edition - five Paths, the familiar Orders from the first edition, Watchtowers, the Supernal, the Abyss - but between First and Second Edition, many changes have been made.

Mages are all about Mage Sight, Obsessions, chasing down Mysteries and balancing politics with Gnosis, while trying to stave off degeneration btought about through Acts of Hubris which erode their Wisdom. Spellcasting still risks Paradox and the Abyss, but there is a major change - the separation of Covert and Vulgar magic, a holdover from Mage: the Ascension, has been done away with. The Paradox rules have been changed, and all of the trappings such as rote mudras, tools, gestures, High Speech and so on are collectively called Yantras.

The first edition caused contention in some fan circles, particularly such aspects as the art and the Atlantis monomyth. This game has incredible full-colour art, the monomyth has been de-emphasised and there is an overall fresh new approach to the game which has managed to balance elements from the first edition with newer elements, sustailably replaced new rules to replace unworkable older rules, and at the same time rewritten vast swathes of the setting yet at the same time keep the general shape of the first edition setting in a recognisable form.

This new version of Mage: the Awakening has struck gold. I recommend it to all fans of Mage. And to those who want to know what it is like to be one of the Awakened, Second Edition is the one you should definitely be playing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rand B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2016 14:36:13

For a long time people have been saying "I hear Mage is great, but the corebook is awful." So then they made this book to replace it. So, if you're wondering whether this book makes Mage sound entertaining and easy to understand and good? The answer is yes.

If you're already familiar with the present state of the setting from last edition, there are no big changes that will surprise you. It's just cleaned up and spruced out and the Atlantis myth has been chained up in an appendix rather than eating wordcount everywhere else. Little things that developed over the course of the line, like the details of the Guardian's religion, are now in the core.

Mechanically, the magic system got a big cleanup, and the divide between covert and vulgar has been eliminated. Paradox risk now derives entirely from overreaching your grasp of your magic and from the presence of Sleeper witnesses. Spells often invoke Conditions or Tilts in order to provide a standard base for effects, which you may or may not care for. Every dot of each Arcanum now seems more useful than might have been the case previously, and mastered Arcana are just ludicrous.

This is pretty much the go-to book for modern occult adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Andrew A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2016 14:34:02

I played the earlier edition and this is a great improvement. The rules are slightly different but the evocative description and the setting changes are worth a lot. It feels more open ended than the first edition - more capable of inserting Brakebills or Unknown Armies into the play.

I like the art, and the writing is stellar. If you liked other White Wolf games, if you played Unknown Armies and liked it then you will like this. And I liked it lot!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/07/2016 21:03:07

As with the previous 2nd editions of Chronicles of Darkness games, this is a highly polished effort with improved art direction, tidy rules and by it being a self contained game.The gnostic backstory is well telegraphed, however, which means holding mysteries from anyone who's seen The Matrix can be a challenge!

Notably, this Mage game is only half the size of it's intimidatingly huge cousin, Mage: The Ascension, and will be certainly easier to play for newcomers. It manages this by missing out on much of the more gonzo, philosophical and real world culture referencing material of the former though - and may feel a bit bland by comparison for the original game's fans. It's a toolkit for running modern magical stories alright, but it's not a game that seeks to make you believe in a magical world or look at the real world with a new perspective.

Regardless, it's a great addition to the Chronicles of Darkness line, which is consistently improving levels of excellence.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2016 15:28:45

The last of the "big 3" supernatural types has finally come to the Chroncles of Darkness line, Mage: The Awakening Second edition is certainly something I have found both enjoyable to read and, more importantly, play. For those not a fan of the direction that Chroncles of Darkness has taken with the Beat mechanics and subsystems may not find what they're looking for, those that have will find a wonderfully polished system and, important for Storytellers, a setting to work around with the cultures of the various Orders more flushed out, as well as a few setting locations to base games out of.

While not perfect (especially for those that strain against the tighter mechanics of Chroncles of Darkness), I find that this latest addition to the Chroncles of Darkness line well worth my time and money, and is the easily the best product Onyx Path has put out all year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2016 15:22:09

Have been waiting forever to get my hands on this book, but it was well worth it and a much tidier casting system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition
Publisher: Onyx Path Publishing
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2016 14:49:27

Doing a thorough readthrough and wanted to call out some of my favorite clarified stuff. Nimbuses are way cooler now and even have conditions attached to them. Spellcasting feels smarter and paradox is much easier to determine. All the Orders and Paths are true to what they have always been but definitely feel more rich with their individuality similar to 2nd Edition VtR. Having played a lot of tabletop Mage the Awakening nothing in here seems like a bad move. The more stringent requirements of gnosis vs. arcanum cap actually feels right after a bit of examination. The lore makes the world of 2nd Edition mage feel vibrantly alive and terrifying as it should be. There is a lot more that could be said but i'll leave it at that for now.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates