DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse









Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Dungeon Questing
Publisher: MHGames
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2016 13:38:15

This game is an inexpensive, but solid option iin the Old School gaming field.


Right up front, let me say that the game could use another editorial pass. In the descriptions of Chrisma and Wisdom it says you get an XP bonus if your stat is 13+. At the beginning of the section, it explains that stas go from -2 to +2. So obviously, someone didn't finish cleaning up some of those old references. But I will also say that sort of thing is piddly-tosh and not what would frighten a bold adventurer.


As it stats in the product description, Dungeon Questing is pretty much BX D&D, based on a 2d6 system instead of using a d20. If that sounds like your kind of game, then Dungeon Questing is for you. The rules are complete - as complete as any BX style game - with monsters and treasure and spells and everything else you need.


Dungeon Questing does not use character classes - though their is an optional appendix to do so - but instead uses a skill system that lets you build your own character as you see fit. If you do not like skill systems, then you may have a problem here, though I think you could probaby simply the game another step and eliminate most of the skills with little problem.


At $2.50 for 162 pages, this is a fantastic bargain and a must have for anyone who wants to play Old School D&D, but wants to ditch the d20.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dungeon Questing
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Thank you for spotting the error, I\'ll get right to work on correcting it! And I would like to add that there is indeed a class system in the appendix for those who do not want the skill-based system. Dungeon Questing is based on Swords & Wizardry White Box and the classes in the appendix follows the same format as its parent game, with the difference that it\'s based on the 2d6 mechanic. Best regards, MHGames
The Fate Codex - Volume 3, Issue 1
Publisher: Magpie Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/29/2016 12:26:57

A solid and useful issue of the Fate Codex.


Family Favors by John Large setails how to use the bronze rule to represent organizations in your game, and how characters can interact with them, asking for favors and being tasked with returning favors as well.


Mythos Aspects by June Shores shows how to use campaign aspects to influence issues and character aspects in your game, keeping the focus tight and the action appropriate for the type of game you are playing.


La Reina Del Sol gives you a detailed NPC to use in a variety of games.


Amber Twilight by Jima Arunsone is this issues mini-campaign, a space opera-ish game with magic and faeries and stuff. Honestly, this did not work for me. I felt like someone was describing half of a young adult movie series that I wasn't familiar with and leaving most of the details out. I don't want to be harsh. I'm sure someone will love this and play the heck out of it, it just didn't gel with me.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Fate Codex - Volume 3, Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Achtung Cthulhu - Elder Godlike
Publisher: Modiphius
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/23/2016 14:17:30

Elder Godlike is a good addition to your RPG library, and does a lot of things great, but I was hoping for a little something more...


The game does boast "A complete new rule system for superpowers in Call of Cthulhu." and this section is excellent. Just about any fan of BRP based games could use these rules to run Supers. They offer robust and varied options that should satisfy the character customizers without going into Champions hard-math territory. Savage Worlds players are also given a number of rules tweaks to flavor their super powers rules, though this is much sparser than the BRP rules.


Where I find the book lacking is "A history of Talents in the Secret War". There are indeed 6 pages of background material that blend the Talents history of Godlike into the Mythos history of Achtung Cthulhu, but this book really doesn't mix the two themes together. You are given rules for how superpowers and cthulhian entites interact, but they are never combined together into a whole. There are no Mythos related reason why superpowers exist, or superpowered reasons for Mythos things to exist. They are in the same game-bucket but they are not blended together well.


The scenario given is nicely detailed and apocalyptic, maybe too much so to launch a campaign but certainly capable of ending a campaign f the PCs goof up.


I would definitely recommend this to anyone playing Achtung Cthulhu as a source for new weird powers and such. I would recommend this to any BRP GM as a great superpowers rules kit, independent of the background material. I would hesitate to recommend this to a Savage Worlds GM that was not running Achtung Cthulhu (or a Weird War 2 type game). While the stats and NPCs could be used in other games, there is not quite enough material here for the cost in my opinion.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Achtung Cthulhu - Elder Godlike
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Guardians
Publisher: Night Owl Workshop
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2016 15:17:06

Guardians is a superhero game built on the engine of original (White Box if you will) Dungeons and Dragons.


You create a character by rolling the standard 6 attributes, then choosing an Origin (Human, Mutant, Alien, etc) and a class (Brusier, Super Agent, etc). The combination of Origin and Class determines how many Powers, Gifts (things like being a detective, or being rich, or having a gadget), Limits (vulnerabilities, inhuman appearance) and Issues (recurring enemies, vulnerable loved ones) you start with, and how many you gain as you level up. Some Powers and Gifts may be taken multiple times, to get more pwerful versions.


The game rules cover combat, hazards, and all the usual stuff. Since this is an OD&D style game, these rules are pretty fast and loose, and lots of stuff is left for the GM and Players to decide while playing. If you are looking for Champions or Mutants & Masterminds level of fdetails, you will not find them here.


Finally, the book includes a brief history of a sample superhero campaign world and several pages of sample characters.


No major editorial errors jumped out at me, though I could have just read over them if they are there.The art is sparse and mostly pictures of costumed heroes in various action poses. I liked it good enough. Layout is utilitarioan and a bit retro looking, but it did its job just fine for me. It may sound like I'm fairly cool to this book, but honestly I think this is a game that is not to be valued as an example of the graphic arts but rather as an example of a great rules light game that delivers on everything it promised.


I look forward to getting this game to the table with my players and giving it a try out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Guardians
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Search & Destroy
Publisher: Stone Mountain Press
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 14:21:54

In Summary: A good expansion to a good superhero RPG, expanding the types of games you can play. (Anyone remember Super Agent for Champions?)


A useful and interesting expansion for the SUPERS Revised RPG, giving a number of rules expansions that make the game more Action Hero than Super Hero.


The additions to the combat rules makes combat slightly more complicated (figuring out weapon damage took me a few tries to remember what gets added where and when), but the new Ammo rule is great and the chase rules are good enough to steal for other games (and I will!).


The new Organization rules are interesting for those GMs that like a bit of solo-gaming at the camapign level, letting big groups fight each other and create new problems for the PCs in a way that doesn't rely entirely on GM fiat. The organization write ups included in the book give some nice generic groups that can model a number of organized crime and law enforcement groups, as well as some fully fleshed out groups that can be dropped into - or inspire - a full campaign.


There are a few things that I feel would make this into a full 5 star product - a few fully worked out character examples, a few semi-developed camapaign ideas, and some more developed rules on how to use powers from the parent SUPERS Revised RPG in Search & Destroy. All things a decent GM can do on their own, but I feel they would really enhance this product that extra bit.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Search & Destroy
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Strange Stars Fate Rule Book
Publisher: Hydra Cooperative
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 13:34:56

Together with the main Strange Stars book, this would be a solid 5 stars. Having to buy them seperately makes me rate this at 4 stars.


What you get is a summary version of the core Fate rules, as well as very well done, very detailed examples of the Strange Stars clades (races), political groups and organizations.


Howvever, seperated from the art and fiction of the main book, this book came off as somewhat dry and text book-y.


Still, solid 4 stars, great example of Fate space opera/transhuman sci fi. I look forward to seeing more Strange Stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Strange Stars Fate Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

FT 0 - Prince Charming, Reanimator (PWYW)
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 12:36:01

After reading about how good this funnel adventure was I finally bought it, and found it to be as good as I was told. A solid adventure, good monsters, some great encounters that can be spun out into further adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
FT 0 - Prince Charming, Reanimator (PWYW)
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Skyscrapers & Sorcery White Box Rules
Publisher: Sleeping Griffon Productions
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2016 16:18:01

I really enjoyed this product, but felt it could have used just a bit more to really make it sparkle.


The game system is based on White Box Sword & Sorcery (i.e. old D&D), but the addition of a career system to flesh out the PC's background (instead of a skill system) is a really neat idea.


The game setting is post-small-apocalypse late 20th century Earth, with monsters and magic coming back in the hidden and secret places. Another really interesting idea.


Overall, I loved what was here, but felt that a little more could have made this a better product. For instance, I felt that a small (2-3 page) write up of adventure or campaign ideas could have really helped nail down the tone of the game. Similarly, I think a small section of new and unique magic items - mixing the campaign magic with the technology of the unique setting - could have helped provide a great deal of color. Admittedly, these are all things an experienced DM can think up themselves, but I always like to see the game's writer develop this kind of material.


Still, four stars and I really hope Mr Hunter and Sleeping Griffon Productions produce more material for this game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skyscrapers & Sorcery White Box Rules
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Hexcrawling: Wilderness Exploration and Random Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2016 15:54:57

Well, I only paid $2 for this, and I feel that it is worth five stars for that price point.


The first section is a nice rules summary for navigating and getting lost, and even better than the rules were the commentary on when you should and should not push the exploratory parts of the game.


Similarly, the section on random encounters presents a nice system and again several very helpful comments on what you should and should not do with the system.


I think this file is probably well worth $3.00. More than that I would only give it 4 stars or so.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hexcrawling: Wilderness Exploration and Random Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Stark Space
Publisher: Magic Pig Media
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/20/2016 15:49:56

This small but meaty supplement helps move White Star (or another OSR Sci Fi game of your liking) away from Star Wars and towards the kind of gritty sci fi seen in Aliens, Bladerunner and other films of their ilk.


It includes three new character classes and a skill system that lets those classes portray a number of different character types, and four races (well, humans and three human-centric variants). A nice selection of gear is included, with weapons, armor, drugs and survival/exploration gear featured. Cyberware also gets a nice write up.


While no detailed setting is included, there is a small precis of what the setting entails, and the rest of the book - especially the antagonists setting - include more details to flesh things out. Still, the GM will have to do the heavy lifting to fill things out.


Two minor observations.. Firstly, the book has a number of typographical and grammatical errors, not enough to make the book confusing but enough to be noticable. Secondly, the art work is a bit uneven in style, realistic in some places, comic bookish in others. Neither of these points bother me in the least, but they are there.


This product is easily worth twice the price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stark Space
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Publisher: Evil Hat Productions, LLC
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/19/2015 12:40:52

My only complaint is that I wish it were longer!


Three Rocketeers is a cinematic mash up of space opera and swashbuckling adventure, using an "even rules lighter" version of Fate!


This 40 page pdf gives you rules, including a "drill down" focus on fencing that enables you to differentiate all the different sword wielders in the game, an easy to read and expand upon background, several per-generated characters, and a complete adventure.


Admission 1: I am a patreon backer for Evil Hat, so I am the target audience for this
Admission 2: I am a HUGE Three Musketeers fan, so I really, really am the target audience for this.


I give this product 6 stars, 2 thumbs up, and my highest recommendation.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Three Rocketeers • A World of Adventure for Fate Core
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Graveyard at Lus
Publisher: InfiniBadger Press
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2015 18:00:29

OK so, RPGNOW ate my review...


In summary, good product, new spaceship gear and new alien races, good random system to randomly generate a space graveyard


For me, I would have liked to see a few random tables or suggestions on why the PCs are hexcrawling (looking for fuel? following a distress call?), random treasure, random "what's in this spacesuit corpses pockets"



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Graveyard at Lus
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Publisher Reply:
Steven, Thank you so much for the review. The stuff that you mentioned liking to see was consider for inclusion in the core book, but it was felt that the reasons for players being on the crawl should be left up to the Referee, and any particular explorations that occur while on other starships or found treasure should also be left up to the Referee, as there\'s a lot of variance in how people run campaigns. The purpose of the book was to be highly focused and do a very specific thing. However, in the free upcoming Expansions for TGAL, there is additional optional content being provided which may include elements along those lines as it bolts on lots of optional content for the White Star RPG as well as TGAL.
Have Death Ray, Will Travel
Publisher: Magic Pig Media
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/06/2015 17:42:45

Four 4 smackeroos you get a heck of a lot of game in this supplement for Whitestar.


The new classes and new rules are good, but for me the best thing was the campaign, a retro-future Flash Gordon style solar system with evil space emperors, pirates, Venusian Jungles and Martian deserts.


If you enjoyed Saturday morning serials, or Flash Gordon or John Carter or the Galaxy Rangers, this is a campaign you will want to play in.


Other stuff: Art is swingy, some clip art, some comic panels, some line art, nothing crazy bad but a bit uneven in places. I found the format and layout to be fine. If there were any typo's, I missed them because I was too excited about the Lion Men of Ganymede.


I give this book 4 Green Martian Thumbs up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Have Death Ray, Will Travel
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

The Earth Codex
Publisher: Ryan Chaddock Games
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/29/2015 16:26:18

This is a well written and broadly useful set of descriptors and Foci for modern Earth. Any Cypher campaign that focused on the modern world and society will find useful material for characters, and a cyphers to work into the game.


My only regret is that I wish there had been more suggestions for Earth based campaigns. While there are several broad overviews, a few worked examples would have really helped me get a better handle on how to use some of this material in a Strange campaign. (admittedly, I am less familiar with Strange than Numenera, so a more experienced reader may not share my opinion.)


Overall, this a really solid product, useful and well worth the price.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Earth Codex
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Barons of Braunstein
Publisher: Olde House Rules
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/28/2015 15:25:39

Very rules light and interesting RPG, written for Dark and Middle Age adventuring. The game tries to emulate historical fiction, with very little room for high fantasy tropes, but can easy handle monster heavy sword-and-sorcery campaigns.


For the price point, this is a must buy game, and I plan to keep a copy in my GM bag for quick play opportunities. Character generation takes a few minutes at most, and adventures can be spun together on the fly.


I rate it 5 stars, but I think the "low definition, high trust" nature of the rules could make this game a bit rocky with players that like crunchy rules or tricky character builds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Barons of Braunstein
Click to show product description

Add to DriveThruRPG.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 53 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates