DriveThruRPG.com
Close
Close
Browse
 Publisher Info









Back
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II $10.00 $7.99
Average Rating:4.2 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
1 5
1 9
1 1
0 0
0 0
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Click to view
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Rick K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2009 22:48:14
I've purchased this and several of the 1948 supplements. By far the best WW2 sourcebook for D20 out there! Sticks to the basics of D20 and is consistent, unlike many of the others, which are either unbalanced or too pulpy for my tastes. If you want realism with an alternate timeline, I highly recommend this product.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2007 00:06:14
good i like WW II rpgs but some mistakes and missing data like damage for the mortars. some of the stats for tanks are a little one sided makeing it easyer for if you pick an allie but if u want to be an axis you will not want to use a tank cause they super weakend them but i guess it is so it wont be to hard for players going agents them

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by sean t. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2006 00:00:00
Excellent for supportng the world of world war 2 for the d20 system.


LIKED: Very good value for money.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Dave A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/15/2006 00:00:00
It's not too easy to find d20 supplements for a WWII-era campaign. This supplement did a great job of getting my game group's PCs ready for a European theater campaign pre-1939 and early war period. I would recommend it for anyone considering running a front line or espionage type of game in the late 30's/early 40's.


LIKED: Extensive information about new classes, skills, and feats related to the era. Good optional rules for combat scenarios (rules like Suppression, etc). Nice tables for weapons and vehicles.

DISLIKED: Needed a little more editing for grammar, but it doesn't tkae away from the functionability of the booklet.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/27/2005 00:00:00
A decent supplement. While I didn't make use of many of the rules presented within, I found it a good way to add WWII technology to my game without much expense.

LIKED: Some of the added feats are great, and the equipment listings are both exhaustive and sensible.

DISLIKED: Nothing in particular. I did notice an image or two that was taken from the wrong era.

QUALITY: Very Good

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher Reply:
Thanks! Yeah, the equipmnt chapter takes up roughly half the book. Its a LOT of material. You're right that there are a couple of images taken from another era (the Korean War, to be exact).
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Troy G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2004 00:00:00
Wow is this a great D20 product. I ran ONE gaming session for a holiday all day gamathon and wow did the players love it. What I really enjoyed was that the product didn't waste a lot of time trying to get us to play in a specific way. Just here is the stuff, stats, and history. Have a ball and we did! We are going to be starting a WWII campaign in a couple months and I can't wait.

QUALITY: Excellent

VALUE: Very Satisfied


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Nicholas N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2004 00:00:00
I thought that it was fairly well written and it definitely had some things that I could use, but I was kind of hoping for more (is that such a crime?). I would still strongly recommend this to anyone looking to run a game in this era.

QUALITY: Acceptable

VALUE: Satisfied


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Mark R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/07/2004 00:00:00
Overall a nice product. Coverage of Soviet weapons is limited. There are no stats for the Mosin-Nagant or any Soviet machine guns. The hardness values for some vehicles are questionable. The feats are well-done and allow for interesting combinations.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Fernando A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/11/2004 00:00:00
Very good product for WWII gamers, plus serves also as an historical guide into the events of World War II. Good prestige classes, tons of new Feats and all the necessary equipment to play, including Tamks , Aircraft and Ships.

All in all a great sourcebook

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2004 00:00:00
This book does a good treatment of WWII material, and presents some very nice advanced classes, feats, vehicle detail, and a few expanded rules. Some of the detail, such as with vehicle hardness, depart somewhat from the d20 Modern standard in my opinion, but I think I understand the developer's reasoning behind it.

While I was not a big fan of their tables, they are usable.

All in all, a good product for those wishing to run a WWII based game with a few minor tweaks here and there to suit the flavor you are going for.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Lon F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/10/2004 00:00:00
Very nice work! A quality supplement for an interesting period.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Travis B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/27/2004 00:00:00
Over all this book is well worth the money. My only beef with it is that its FX section is a little skimpy and the timeline doesn't have enough about the Campaingn the the pacific. But if you want to play in WWII you'll want this book.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by aaaa a. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/15/2004 00:00:00
3 out of 5 -- very not bad.

Not sure that the shout-out in the OGL is adequate given how derivative some of the stuff is. That is basically irrelevant to the broader audience however.

It should be possible to run a WW2 campaign out of this book, and that is the text's primary purpose, so mission accomplished. It was good to see a suitably broad cross-section of military hardware without this book turning into yet another dull armchair expert gun book.

One gripe - the monster section. Very weak given the overall quality of the rest of the rulebook.

Still, worth its current discounted price just about.

Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2004 00:00:00
Well thought-out supplement that merges nicely with Modern D20 - just what I was looking for.

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Earth (1939-1945) World War II
Publisher: Bloodstone Press
by Ed W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2003 00:00:00
I've always loved historical role-playing, so Hell on Earth was very intriguing. This product is loaded with great information, covering the guns, tanks, etc of WWII. Lots of new material that any GM would appreciate. Good writing and editing make it fun to read. I really like this one! Good job.

Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
You must be logged in to rate this
0 items
 Gift Certificates